A simple test.
Imagine you are the PM of Singapore today. 5-7% unemployed. A MNC wants to set up shop in your country, offering:-
1.1000 jobs to be held by cheap foreign labour,est $400/mth, will provide accomodation such as workers quarters in factory areas, and will maintain discipline and responsibility for the workers.
2. 200 PMETs jobs to be held by Singaporeans.
3. Rent or lease one floor of your flatted factories to set up shop.
What would you do?
No right or wrong answer. Just give credible answers, honest to yourself.
Thanks for your participation.
First of all, how much is the under table $$ given to the PM??
None, this is Singapore. Stick to the question, please, maam. Thanks
Erm. Lease one floor of flatted factories for them to set up job. This will increase the exports if the MNC is in the manufacturing industry and this increase employment by 200 jobs. Even though the 200 jobs seem quite small, it can go a long way. This also can keep some foreign workers in Singapore if they lose their jobs.
A bit not realistic question ..
I will nego for more post to be given to singaporeans by putting them also in spurs program. In a way , make sure the spur program is utilitsed at the same time give value add to the MNC by giving high quality people.
Of cos I will put ERP around the place .... haha
i would bargain to give them free rental of area for a year or so if they only hire singaporeans for all the work.
If i am the PM of sg?? answer is simple what... i will ask my MP to go think about it lor....
Only very daring MNCs would want to start investing or expanding now man....
Originally posted by xtreyier:None, this is Singapore. Stick to the question, please, maam. Thanks
Ok Uncle, since u want me to stick to the question, i re phrase my questions.
PM question to MNC
"May i know how much will our Govt gain from your investment"
MNC replied
"with 1000 workers at a levy of say $250 per pax, you get to collect 250,000 per month + Gst + foreign workers tax."
"We will also receive 23% corporate tax per year, as we targeted our profit before tax (EBIT) will be 3 millions per year, you get about $690,000 + property tax + Gst +infrastructure tax etc etc will come to approx 1 million per year"
"Next the 200 singaporeans will hv jobs and pay you tax and Gst, ERP, etc etc will make you gain another $200,000"
"We will also sponsor and support your events and function by budgeting a $50,000 per years set aside for social economy purposes"
"Therefore, in a nutshell, u/govt will gain about 1.5 to 1.8 millions just by saying yes to us, that is roughly half your annual salary, if I am not wrong"
PM asked
"Oh! got any year end gift for me???"
MNC replied
" That is not the question, we will discuss these in private"
PM replied
"Good deal, we just shake legs and got to hv 1.8millions ++ year end gift, why not?"
MNC asked
" so it is alright to employ foreigner workers here?"
PM replied
"By all means, we get to hv levies and tax too, the more the merrier"
Thank you for your responses. I do believe most if not all will make a good PM. Of course , let's not forget there are other issues that makes a good PM.
At least no one came out with an extremist view of rejecting the offer totally..at least not yet.
But for angel, I will make sure you will never even get to become a grassroot helper. Your corrupted ways stinks to the high heavens!!! :-P
Originally posted by xtreyier:Thank you for your responses. I do believe most if not all will make a good PM. Of course , let's not forget there are other issues that makes a good PM.
At least no one came out with an extremist view of rejecting the offer totally..at least not yet.
But for angel, I will make sure you will never even get to become a grassroot helper. Your corrupted ways stinks to the high heavens!!! :-P
There is nothing wrong with angel7030 reply.
I don't see it as corrupted, I see her reply as practical and realistic.
Her post may be truly possible ways which our govt thinks.
here's one.. what is that MNC in question?
Originally posted by soul_rage:
There is nothing wrong with angel7030 reply.I don't see it as corrupted, I see her reply as practical and realistic.
Her post may be truly possible ways which our govt thinks.
Practical and realistic, and not corrupted?
If she ever does that, i would personally have her head on a pike and plant it in market square for all to condemn. The highest office in our land calls for integrity and honesty, that she abused it is worse than treason.
If the top is corrupted, how much more will everyone in the system be equally so?
I would do so ONLY if i have such evidences and not just rumours or hearsay.
fortunately for me, the evidence is here and in her own words, readied herself for implication and prosecution. She had lost her moral compass and is not fit to lead.
And fortunately for you too that nickname are used here. For if you used your real name, and if i am your employer, i would sack you first because you had lost your moral compass and is a thief.
There is such thing as practical and realistic, but there is a fine moral line drawn between it and utter evil.
To Bear: Just an example only. Legal MNCs and not from the porn industry, illegal drugs or tainted milk ones.
To Angel: You forgotten to add at least $1.4million annually will circulate for our domestic economy when the foriegn workers spend at least $30 per person per week, helping the non - PMET earn a living. And that's just based on 1000 workers alone. Have not counted in the est 1.5million here now ;-)
Originally posted by xtreyier:A simple test.
Imagine you are the PM of Singapore today. 5-7% unemployed. A MNC wants to set up shop in your country, offering:-
1.1000 jobs to be held by cheap foreign labour,est $400/mth, will provide accomodation such as workers quarters in factory areas, and will maintain discipline and responsibility for the workers.
2. 200 PMETs jobs to be held by Singaporeans.
3. Rent or lease one floor of your flatted factories to set up shop.
What would you do?
No right or wrong answer. Just give credible answers, honest to yourself.
Thanks for your participation.
simple answer: take up the offer.
Monsanto is legal too..
but it's probably more horrific than all the terrorists and drug traffickers in the world..
Originally posted by xtreyier:Practical and realistic, and not corrupted?
If she ever does that, i would personally have her head on a pike and plant it in market square for all to condemn. The highest office in our land calls for integrity and honesty, that she abused it is worse than treason.
If the top is corrupted, how much more will everyone in the system be equally so?
I would do so ONLY if i have such evidences and not just rumours or hearsay.
fortunately for me, the evidence is here and in her own words, readied herself for implication and prosecution. She had lost her moral compass and is not fit to lead.
And fortunately for you too that nickname are used here. For if you used your real name, and if i am your employer, i would sack you first because you had lost your moral compass and is a thief.
There is such thing as practical and realistic, but there is a fine moral line drawn between it and utter evil.
To Bear: Just an example only. Legal MNCs and not from the porn industry, illegal drugs or tainted milk ones.
To Angel: You forgotten to add at least $1.4million annually will circulate for our domestic economy when the foriegn workers spend at least $30 per person per week, helping the non - PMET earn a living. And that's just based on 1000 workers alone. Have not counted in the est 1.5million here now ;-)
I see. So earning 4 to 5 times more than the US president is not corruption? Having relatives in top positions in various companies is not corruption?
*shrugs* you are an idealistic person. Not practical at all.
Every organization does things with multiple objectives. Donate to charity? Raise awareness of company. Best do charity that is a focus of the current govt so that there is a greater possibility of getting that elusive govt contract.
evidence? There are so many open secrets in Singapore. Right in front of you, but cannot openly condemn it, or you will be hauled to court.
This IS Singapore. CREATED by LKY, who puts every form of control into our law.
Can't help you if you are too idealistic.
There is no need to curse and swear on this forum. You can't achieve your objective pissing everyone off, if you even have an objective at posting in this forum in the 1st place.
So earning 4 to 5 times more than the US president is not corruption?
Legal corruption.
Suck people's blood.
As long as you have money, they will think of a way to drain you clean.
Suck you dry and spit you out.
http://en.wikiquote.org/wiki/Lee_Kuan_Yew
Without someone to give him a few slaps across his fucking face, this bastard will continue to talk cock. He won't wake up.
Quite sad, Singaporeans have to suffer for 50 years under this yellow bastard.
Chinese cannot speak.
Hakka dialect cannot speak.
Only know ang moh, so he impose ang moh on us, want us to follow him.
Ang moh dog come and rule us for 50 years.
This 50 years, Singapore don't have a single native hokkien come and lead us.
Someone we can identify and support.
This 50 years it's all the same bastard - Lee Kuan Yew.
How many countries, after 50 years still the same bastard, you tell me?
The same lan jiao bin appear on your fucking TV?
You come and fucking tell me lah.
Wah liew ... Cant you people stick to the topic.
Bei sian talking about the same thing in every topic ?
ello, it is different topic. nothing wrong
Originally posted by Fantagf:ello, it is different topic. nothing wrong
You mean Mr Pok posting on corruption is relevant to the topic ?
Originally posted by Ice Dive:
I refer to the thread by the threadstarter not poh. it has not been posted here before
Originally posted by Ice Dive:
I refer to the thread by the threadstarter not poh. it has not been posted here before
Originally posted by Fantagf:
** scratch head and scratch backside ???
I am refering to Ah Poh talking on his stand against PAP.