Originally posted by charlize:I think the rage these days is for PRs to write to the papers and requesting to have certain privileges from the government.
Quite a few recently.
Such voice will get louder n louder as they shed their inhibitions....
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:No roots.
Everywhere he goes, people say he foreigner.
If this person can contribute, where ever he goes, ppl will welcome him, despite the term 'foreigner'....
It is only when he can't contribute, ppl will 'foreigner' him in degrading term....
Root is subjective.....esp with the younger generation...
That is due to the policies of PAP regime.
Now the PAP regime flood the island with foreigners, the children grow up in this type of environment, the identity will be weakened further.
Quite worthless at nation building, this PAP regime.
The leader also cannot speak local dialect or language, only ang moh, so this is what you get.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:That is due to the policies of PAP regime.
For me, it is not about politic...
It is about strategic positioning myself as the political, economical gravities of the world changes....
It is about stretegic positioning myself as the political, economical gravities of the world changes....
What do you mean?
read my previous post....
What are your views on PAP destroying the local identity?
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:What are your views on PAP destroying the local identity?
What local identity ?
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:What are your views on PAP destroying the local identity?
I like this kind of question. It assume the worst before you even started.
Like the question, "Bush, great or greatest president?"
or "CSJ, madman or idiot?"
"What are your views on the stupidity of Einstein?"
What local identity ?
That is a good answer.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:That is a good answer.
Exactly there is no identity...we Singaporean chinese are not allowed to spit anywhere we want unlike our forefathers. We are not allowed to cut queues. You are conversing with me in English now instead of å�Žè¯..what identity you want ?
You are chinese?
there is no place like home, where ever it is.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:You are chinese?
what does "we singaporean chinese" sound to you ?
mandarin has never been the mainstream language until mao zhedong enforce it.
if u migrate to a new place and things work out there, u will stay there.
and if not, u have the option to move back.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:That is due to the policies of PAP regime.
Now the PAP regime flood the island with foreigners, the children grow up in this type of environment, the identity will be weakened further.
Quite worthless at nation building, this PAP regime.
The leader also cannot speak local dialect or language, only ang moh, so this is what you get.
Well, what you expect, it a globalise economy here, first to fall, first to rise. Just like me, from primary sch to poly, me was sent to so many exchange program, taiwan, china, india, japan, thailand, indonesia, australia, USA, Canada, Korea, HongKong etc etc..as such we young thinking are global, unlike our uncles and aunties who think only of singapore, we are easily able to except foreigners here, cos we know their countries too.
Got school so power meh.....can afford to send students to so much exchange programs...
Originally posted by Stevenson101:Got school so power meh.....can afford to send students to so much exchange programs...
Parent paid lor, school also got edusave, if you do not use finish, MOE take back, so as co payment, my Dad paid half and edusave paid half lor, at least can completely utilise the edusave and dun hv to give back to govt.
Originally posted by angel7030:Well, what you expect, it a globalise economy here, first to fall, first to rise. Just like me, from primary sch to poly, me was sent to so many exchange program, taiwan, china, india, japan, thailand, indonesia, australia, USA, Canada, Korea, HongKong etc etc..as such we young thinking are global, unlike our uncles and aunties who think only of singapore, we are easily able to except foreigners here, cos we know their countries too.
u mst be kidding me. Exchange program for how long? 1- 6 months?
Please, people have stayed for years over there like me... And those who went overseas to study uni and to work for years is NOT EXCHANGE PROGRAM
U ARE NOT GOING TO LEARN MUCH WITH YR SHORT AND PROTECTED STAY SO CALLED SPOSNSORED BY YR SCHOOL.IT IS JUST A SHORT HOLIDAY TRIP U WENT FOR GOD'S SAKE!
I am, AND MANY OTHERS HERE unlike u, I have stayed overseas for many years, worked, did business and lived life on the streets and among their society. EXCHANGE PROGRAM is not going to give u this expereince.
GROW UP U YOUNG XMM>
easily able to except foreigners here, cos u know their countries too?!!. Big Joke
Will u still accept them when they come to steal yr jobs?
btw I DONT REALLY BELIEVE U AS YR SCHOOL BEING SO GENEROUS TO SEND U TO SO MANY COUNTRIES?
Originally posted by angel7030:Well, what you expect, it a globalise economy here, first to fall, first to rise. Just like me, from primary sch to poly, me was sent to so many exchange program, taiwan, china, india, japan, thailand, indonesia, australia, USA, Canada, Korea, HongKong etc etc..as such we young thinking are global, unlike our uncles and aunties who think only of singapore, we are easily able to except foreigners here, cos we know their countries too.
yes, exchange program is good experience, better than being bogged down in a single countries for years, and having limited views on just the host country and home country.
People who gets bogged down for a few years tend to get full of themselves, and think they are better than others for no good reasons...
However, they are also losing in the aspect of experience in their home country, which will change very quickly, while the experience they gain may not be relevant and is misguided in the home country anyway...
Originally posted by skythewood:yes, exchange program is good experience, better than being bogged down in a single countries for years, and having limited views on just the host country and home country.
People who gets bogged down for a few years tend to get full of themselves, and think they are better than others for no good reasons...
However, they are also losing in the aspect of experience in their home country, which will change very quickly, while the experience they gain may not be relevant and is misguided in the home country anyway...
wish to clarify, what changes in singapore?. Nothing. it has been the same for years.. wht u mean by misguided?
The expereince in a different environment is itself will be useful for the rest of yr life.
Originally posted by Worldlybusinessman:wish to clarify, what changes in singapore?. Nothing. it has been the same for years.. wht u mean by misguided?
The expereince in a different environment is itself will be useful for the rest of yr life.
example: you go to australia... you learn to be racist against chinese... you come back to singapore... useful for life?
example: you leave singapore... singapore introduce new law, or make all the government system online. you come back, you lost like old man left behind by technology.
Assuming a place will be the same for the rest of your life, especially a place like singapore, is weird.
Assuming whatever you learn will be useful for life is laughable.
Originally posted by skythewood:example: you go to australia... you learn to be racist against chinese... you come back to singapore... useful for life?
example: you leave singapore... singapore introduce new law, or make all the government system online. you come back, you lost like old man left behind by technology.
Assuming a place will be the same for the rest of your life, especially a place like singapore, is weird.
Assuming whatever you learn will be useful for life is laughable.
Exactly, some people equate their life experience as The Experience, that the previous will also be the future, that one's life experience as a universal to all, that older means knowing more......
Originally posted by Worldlybusinessman:u mst be kidding me. Exchange program for how long? 1- 6 months?
Please, people have stayed for years over there like me... And those who went overseas to study uni and to work for years is NOT EXCHANGE PROGRAM
U ARE NOT GOING TO LEARN MUCH WITH YR SHORT AND PROTECTED STAY SO CALLED SPOSNSORED BY YR SCHOOL.IT IS JUST A SHORT HOLIDAY TRIP U WENT FOR GOD'S SAKE!
I am, AND MANY OTHERS HERE unlike u, I have stayed overseas for many years, worked, did business and lived life on the streets and among their society. EXCHANGE PROGRAM is not going to give u this expereince.
GROW UP U YOUNG XMM>
easily able to except foreigners here, cos u know their countries too?!!. Big Joke
Will u still accept them when they come to steal yr jobs?
btw I DONT REALLY BELIEVE U AS YR SCHOOL BEING SO GENEROUS TO SEND U TO SO MANY COUNTRIES?
Hey, lau Uncle, me also visit their kampong places, and till now, many still contact me when they come to singapore or when i go there, i also can contact them, we also stay at their houses, and they also come and stay at our houses, live like we do, attend our school, exchange programme is only about 2 weeks.
From Pri 3, I started to go china shanghai during my school holidays and so on in Upper pri, sec sch, etc etc . Now i can travel on myself, and for example, it is good for us as we can also communicate in the nets, on the other hand, it is good for our business, as we grew up, we share business and culture talks that help us alot in our daily business.
We must learn to live in a compassionate way, i hv seen the slum places in most of these countries where the disparity of rich and poor is damn far apart. That brighted our insight that we alway have an open arms instead of a close one and more important we should appreciate what our govt had done for us.
Me live in Indian Mumbai slum places before, thai kampong, vietnam padi field etc etc, in India, i met my pal in school, she was wearing slipper, i chose to be her pal, because i want to know more about poor human life, imagine for the whole week, i got only rice, shit squatting with people collecting my shit, wake up with dirty dogs, go to school walking 5km of dirt road...and 1000 slum people keep looking at me. Omg, what an experience. But we will young, and the best of part of young is there no feeling of poor or rich, just enjoy life whatever it takes. I played cricket with backstreet indian boys too.
And when they cannot manage to come to singapore, i begged my grandmother to sponsor them, and when they arrived and visit my school and my joo chiat house, OMG!, they thought they are in Heaven, today she is a determine beautiful lady like me, cos she saw the differences, she is determine to help and to get out of the slum. She travelled alot to do her works (IT programmers), my grandma sponsor here too, and when she visited us with her mother, she will kneel and bow down to the floor to greet my grandma in the morning, afternoon and night. That is the spirit of friendship in an international arena. Thru sisterhood or brotherhood, together we strife the comadarieship.
Originally posted by angel7030:Hey, lau Uncle, me also visit their kampong places, and till now, many still contact me when they come to singapore or when i go there, i also can contact them, we also stay at their houses, and they also come and stay at our houses, live like we do, attend our school, exchange programme is only about 2 weeks.
From Pri 3, I started to go china shanghai during my school holidays and so on in Upper pri, sec sch, etc etc . Now i can travel on myself, and for example, it is good for us as we can also communicate in the nets, on the other hand, it is good for our business, as we grew up, we share business and culture talks that help us alot in our daily business.
We must learn to live in a compassionate way, i hv seen the slum places in most of these countries where the disparity of rich and poor is damn far apart. That brighted our insight that we alway have an open arms instead of a close one and more important we should appreciate what our govt had done for us.
Me live in Indian Mumbai slum places before, thai kampong, vietnam padi field etc etc, in India, i met my pal in school, she was wearing slipper, i chose to be her pal, because i want to know more about poor human life, imagine for the whole week, i got only rice, shit squatting with people collecting my shit, wake up with dirty dogs, go to school walking 5km of dirt road...and 1000 slum people keep looking at me. Omg, what an experience. But we will young, and the best of part of young is there no feeling of poor or rich, just enjoy life whatever it takes. I played cricket with backstreet indian boys too.
And when they cannot manage to come to singapore, i begged my grandmother to sponsor them, and when they arrived and visit my school and my joo chiat house, OMG!, they thought they are in Heaven, today she is a determine beautiful lady like me, cos she saw the differences, she is determine to help and to get out of the slum. She travelled alot to do her works (IT programmers), my grandma sponsor here too, and when she visited us with her mother, she will kneel and bow down to the floor to greet my grandma in the morning, afternoon and night. That is the spirit of friendship in an international arena. Thru sisterhood or brotherhood, together we strife the comadarieship.
hhmm
what about a film, title "Mother Angie"
starring Angel7030?
director Skythewood?