How to get rid of the foreigners? Increase productivity. Pay Singaporeans high wages to do the jobs nobody wants to do. Automate, robotize, mechanize.....
There are many ways to do it but with dishonorable despots in power, they will be for example, jealous of people paid high wages doing jobs that nobody wants to do... only they can take massive amounts of public money
...apparently they are very jealous of taxi drivers as well and make sure they can barely survive......
Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):90 per day, 30 days per mth, 12 mth per yr... that's 32,400 already... x 5 yrs= 162,000.... and how much a car cost???? .... now u know why government dun allow taxi driver to have their own cab already right?
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
How to get rid of the foreigners? Increase productivity. Pay Singaporeans high wages to do the jobs nobody wants to do. Automate, robotize, mechanize.....
There are many ways to do it but with dishonorable despots in power, they will be for example, jealous of people paid high wages doing jobs that nobody wants to do... only they can take massive amounts of public money
...apparently they are very jealous of taxi drivers as well and make sure they can barely survive......
i don't think thats a correct thing to do, as a boss who would want to pay more for labour when you can pay less? unless you have a good reason to do so we shouldn't penalise the bosses since they are singaporeans as well.
but i do agree the taxi rentals need to come down.
Originally posted by oldbreadstinks:i don't think thats a correct thing to do, as a boss who would want to pay more for labour when you can pay less? unless you have a good reason to do so we shouldn't penalise the bosses since they are singaporeans as well.
but i do agree the taxi rentals need to come down.
Apparently so, if you only look at the surface, that it is better.
What is good for the country is not necessarily good for bosses, cronies dogs and despots.
That is why it is essential that a country has honorable leaders and not money grabbing despots.
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:Apparently so, if you only look at the surface, that it is better.
What is good for the country is not necessarily good for bosses, cronies dogs and despots.
That is why it is essential that a country has honorable leaders and not money grabbing despots.
what is good for the country is not necessarily good for the people, it applies to everyone, not just bosses. bosses are people too. it may come as surprise to you but most of those "things" sitting in the parliament are people too.
Originally posted by oldbreadstinks:what is good for the country is not necessarily good for the people, it applies to everyone, not just bosses. bosses are people too. it may come as surprise to you but most of those "things" sitting in the parliament are people too.
...you think that just because it is not "good" then it must be "bad"... like I said, bosses can raise productivity if they have no access to cheap foreign labour.
Those things sitting in parliament are are asslicking dogs... tasting the sh!t of a cursed despot so that they can split the massive amounts of public money taken from the average man.
well says.
Without PAP,do u think 1,200,000 foreigners (EP,WP,S pass,Students Pass
holders) will come to SG to earn a living or study?
Do u think 490,000 (excluding the above 1.2 million)would become PR?
Do u think 3,300,000 citizens can put foods on the table in this barren island,
if not a rock?
Do u think 500,000 foreign medical tourists would come here
for treatment last year?
There is no perfect policy.There is only best policy which
canNOT make every one happy.But in the long term,it is the best
policy---for current and future generations.
@@@@@@@@@
wat are your perfect solutions?
eg wat is yr suggested pay per month for SG citizens
for HDB rubbish movers from HDB blocks to dust bin center ?
Note i am not referring to cleaners sweeping streets.
i trefer to those mobing rubbish ,cleaning HDB drains ,blocks etc
Without PAP,do u think 1,200,000 foreigners [in Singapore]
Something is seriously and deeply wrong.
‘No’ to sending foreigners back: PM Lee Hsien Loong
Monday • February 23, 2009
ESTHER NG
SENDING back foreign workers now will backfire on Singapore, Prime
Minister Lee Hsien Loong has warned. In some countries, he said, there
are emotional protests by workers and unions against foreign workers
and immigrants. In the United Kingdom, for instance, Polish workers are
resented by the local labour force.
“But taking away one foreign worker does not mean one more job
for a Singaporean worker. Without foreign workers, the company may
close down, or decide to shift the entire business out of Singapore,” he told unionists at the Singapore Tripartism Forum held yesterday.
This would harm our reputation and deter MNCs from bringing future investment and jobs to Singapore, he added.
In fact, PM Lee pointed out that foreign workers are crucial to
the economy — they take on jobs many Singaporeans do not want to do,
like shift work.
“The first shift is all done by Singaporeans, the second shift
— we have a mix of Singaporeans and foreign workers, but the night
shift is all done by foreign workers,” said PM Lee.
It was, perhaps, the strongest endorsement on foreign workers
to have emerged in recent weeks, amid populist clamour that getting rid
of foreign workers will help save jobs for Singaporeans.
Instead, the right thing to do is to make Singaporean workers
more attractive to businesses, through Spur and the Jobs Credit scheme.
But “everyone has to work together to help Singapore pull through”, he
added.
Unionists whom Today spoke to agreed.
“For the hotel industry in particular, certain positions like
cleaners and chambermaids are difficult to fill,” said Mr Abdul Subhan
Hussein, the president of the Food, Drinks and Allied Workers’ Union.
“All these cleaners and chambermaids are retired or mature workers who
started when they were young girls. There is no replacement rate for
these Singaporean workers,” he said. “If we don’t have foreign workers,
we won’t be able to run a hotel.”
Likewise, Singapore Industrial and Services Employees’ Union
president Tan Peng Heng feels that foreign workers act as a “cushion
for Singaporeans” by helping businesses stay afloat.
...you think that just because it is not "good" then it must be "bad"... like I said, bosses can raise productivity if they have no access to cheap foreign labour.
Those things sitting in parliament are are asslicking dogs... tasting the sh!t of a cursed despot so that they can split the massive amounts of public money taken from the average man.
you think everyone open factory ah? increase productivity? i'm working in a place where there's no way i can increase productivity. i'm already doing the jobs of 2 persons, hardly have time for meals also. its unlikely to get singaporeans to work here considering the work load and my boss not willing to hire singaporeans because most want high pay but not willing to do work hard.
like that how? foreign worker lor.
or you want to pay more for a less hardworking singaporean?
my job requires me to communicate with people so it can't be automated, robotized or mechanize
Impose higher tax on FT/PR. Reduce expenditure and resources on nuturing Foreign students and spend more Spurs and similar programs.
The fund obtained from the taxes can be used on improving social welfare.
What's there to solve when goverment just overwrite our suggestion even thou by slight chance it might reach him?
Last week i took cab home 2 times after work cause i wasnt feeling well, guess wat? Both the taxi driver complaining SG having too many FTs and wanting to migrate which one of the uncle is going to in 2 months time. .. Some even wanna be taxi driver when
1. they dun freaking know the road well in SG
2. Not everyone understand there accent.
3. I would said most of them are pretty rude buggers.
So nuff said, Mr Lee overwrite all suggestion. Talking about freedom, soon we wun even have freedom of typing online.
Originally posted by Smosh:Impose higher tax on FT/PR. Reduce expenditure and resources on nuturing Foreign students and spend more Spurs and similar programs.
If you're willing to accept higher costs for all our living expenses i'm all for it. But i'm betting the costs will eventually snowball to affect locals too. But that's just my opinion.
I've heard the huge reduction in costs for courses nowadays, so i'm pretty up for more SPUR and similar programs. If the government likes to harp so much on us upgrading to be more competitive, let's see them put the money where their mouths are.
Originally posted by Stevenson101:
If you're willing to accept higher costs for all our living expenses i'm all for it. But i'm betting the costs will eventually snowball to affect locals too. But that's just my opinion.I've heard the huge reduction in costs for courses nowadays, so i'm pretty up for more SPUR and similar programs. If the government likes to harp so much on us upgrading to be more competitive, let's see them put the money where their mouths are.
I'm just suggesting that the government should review their expenditure and allocate more funding into such programs so as to enhance the local's competitiveness, not just in singapore but also gobally.
From my conversation with the international friends, i know most of them would serve their bonds here and would eventually leave this country for tastier pasture. My boss would leave Singapore once he had saved enough money for his retirement, though he had stayed here for more than 10 years.
I'm suggesting that the government to conserve their limited resources and invest on people with CITIZENSHIP. How will you feel when you feel when your leader is not taking care of you and not listening to your suggestion ? It will tends to develop into a estranged relationship & this is precisely what is happening now.
Maybe people will work harder when they see a glist of hope and improve altogether as a whole when we feel that the government is really taking care us..but of course not pampering us..
Singapore currently is facing two big issues,
1. the economic crisis
2. ah ma and ah kong population.
At the rate of greying population and lower birthrate, today we has one young person serving 2 old peoples, by 2020, we will see one young person is to 3 old peoples and by 2030, 1 young is to 5 oldies, by then me only 50 years old, auntie liao
What i am trying to say is that without FTs, be it bonds or taking singapore as a stepping stones, our economy will not rise to be competitive, there is no choice, you simply cannot ask old peoples to struggle and work in their golden years, ah ma and ah kong also need retirement mah. Therefore, like it or not, let embrace FTs here, rather than getting jealous over them or argueing to put them away, why not we make the full use of them to our advantages so as to strike a win , win, and win situation. If let say all FTs are to leave tomorrow by a new laws set by govt after taking those who oppose Foreign peoples here, imagine how deeper the deep will we be in including the current crisis.
Originally posted by angel7030:Singapore currently is facing two big issues,
1. the economic crisis
2. ah ma and ah kong population.
At the rate of greying population and lower birthrate, today we has one young person serving 2 old peoples, by 2020, we will see one young person is to 3 old peoples and by 2030, 1 young is to 5 oldies, by then me only 50 years old, auntie liao
What i am trying to say is that without FTs, be it bonds or taking singapore as a stepping stones, our economy will not rise to be competitive, there is no choice, you simply cannot ask old peoples to struggle and work in their golden years, ah ma and ah kong also need retirement mah. Therefore, like it or not, let embrace FTs here, rather than getting jealous over them or argueing to put them away, why not we make the full use of them to our advantages so as to strike a win , win, and win situation. If let say all FTs are to leave tomorrow by a new laws set by govt after taking those who oppose Foreign peoples here, imagine how deeper the deep will we be in including the current crisis.
bond? bound?
oic
so quick all young sgporeans go marry n produce 10 babies...
Originally posted by 4sg:bond? bound?
oic
so quick all young sgporeans go marry n produce 10 babies...
Given the right moment, right atomsphere, right enviroment and the right nest to produce and hatch, peoples will reproduce more as reproduction and existence is natural system of evolution.
Existency shall discontinue once the all the above are not met leaving only the old, sick and helpless, who will go on grumblings, complaining and in the end, illusion set in.
FT as ministers will be ideal, coz they get lower pay n we still still dun get the job done
Originally posted by frakfrakfrak:The use of a foreign workforce in Singapore stems from 2 main factors:
1. Lack of local expertise
2. Cost of employing locals
The argument that foreigners are employed because Singaporeans do not want to do the job is a straw man argument. We have all seen Singaporeans who are willing to work as toilet cleaners, road sweepers and refuse collectors. The majority of Singaporeans are not a haughty lot. The truth is some jobs now pay too little as to make it impossible for Singaporeans to cover the costs of living in public housing, feeding themselves modestly and commuting to work. Foreign workers who are housed and fed by employers and whose only consideration is to send money back to their families are more open to these low paying jobs. Hence, the "unwanted jobs issue" is actually a misdirection of point 2.
To address point 1, let it first be acknowledged that a foreign education is often inferior to a local education. A Singapore educated polytechnic student is superior to a China educated graduate student both in terms of work attitude and in terms of exposure to industry wide practises. The problem is that employers are too fixated on paper certification and do not give enough credit to the quality of graduates from our world class educational system. As Singapore invests more in training local talent we will see more and more of this gap between capability and employabilty. Some foreign workers are indeed leaders in their field and possess training which cannot be easily replicated in local workers but these do not make up to 50% or more of the workers in an industry. If the interests of Singapore citizens are to be given equitable measure, MOM should at the very least, look into recommending a point based systems to HR managers as a guideline for employment. What is so bad about a basic assumption that employing Singaporeans is better than employing foreigners, especially in at a time where a long term financial crisis are staring us point blank in the face?
To address point 2, I have observed that talented foreign workers are not at all paid less that local workers of similar calibre and so the argument that locals professionals are paid more is moot. In fact, sometimes foreign talents are paid more because there is a prestige factor that goes with employing a foreign "talent". Therefore the issue of costs among the professional classes does not exist.This leaves the issue of foreign workers who are employed in low paying industries where there is a ceiling to the amount an employer can pay in order for the business model to work. In such a case, reduction of local living costs like reduction of transport charges do help but more can be done to creatively address these problems. For example, government can introduce tax breaks for companies who organize transport for their workers and who employ more Singaporeans. Other creative measures can be put in place if only one were to take the time to look into the various factors that increase the costs of employing citizens. This is a better approach to helping Singaporeans than to just simply give handouts.
As it stands the Foreign Talent/Worker situation has evolved from a situation that sacrifices national interests for expediency and cronyism. To do this at a time of plenty is excusable, to continue to do so going into a long term crisis that warrants early elections is dangerous.
Going into the elections, I believe whoever can address these points effectively and cogently will manage to gain more popular support.
I think you have given good suggestions and a good analysis of the current situation based on your observance.
Yeah Foreign Talent is over-rated.
We need Foreign manpower because our economy needs them to sustain.
I wonder if the red - is really true. Our local graduate might lack the skills and experience but they probably will pick things up fast due to the education that they have received. . assuming that they are willing to worker hard.
Will investing on relearn, unlearn and learn programme actually helps the local to even out the differences between a foreign working professional with much experience? Will it eventually make a strong impact on the job market.. eh? I
Singaporean should jolly get out of this dot and roam the world and become foreign talent themselves lol
Originally posted by Smosh:Impose higher tax on FT/PR. Reduce expenditure and resources on nuturing Foreign students and spend more Spurs and similar programs.
If you increase business costs on employers by taxing foreign workers bosses will simply move their business out of the country. Singaporeans should be realistic: foreigners are catching up fast in the skill gap. Do you really think that your boss cannot train a foreigner to take over your job?
Originally posted by Smosh:Singaporean should jolly get out of this dot and roam the world and become foreign talent themselves lol
If Singaporeans think they can get a better job overseas, they should do so. Nobody's stopping you...
Originally posted by oxford mushroom:If you increase business costs on employers by taxing foreign workers bosses will simply move their business out of the country. Singaporeans should be realistic: foreigners are catching up fast in the skill gap. Do you really think that your boss cannot train a foreigner to take over your job?
I agreed that increasing the labour costs make singapore a less-attractive place to invest in. If i'm not wrong, there are already taxes implemented on FW- though not sure of the entire mechanism and how it works.
Sure anyone can take over my job. It does not have to be a foreigner.