Originally posted by reyes:deino,
I guess u dont read what TS has said. if he is having trouble to pay for cash upfront, u think buying private property is viable?
u need to be realistic bro.
yesh i was lazy to read...besides i said it was if he could afford it... :)
Originally posted by maxtor:do you even have your own flat? how old are you?
The threadstarter obviously has his preferences which are different from your ideals. why do your remarks need to sound so condescendingly derogatory?
the choice of a matrimonial home is a huge decision and a heavy financial commitment. if the threadstarter so decides that resale flats are out of his reach and decides that new flats offer more value, who are you to say his decision is wrong?
are you paying for his flat? do you know that resale flats are (imho: unneccessarily) more expensive than new flats in the same area? (which doesnt make sense to me, esp on a 99 year lease)
Yes I'm in my late 20s, married for 3 years, got my flat 1.5 years ago. It's a new flat, I just happened to be lucky in succeeding in balloting for the first time, and its a mature estate. But so what, things don't always go your way in life. Soemtimes yuo get lucky, sometimes, life deals you a bad card. You have to move on.
In short, be solution-focussed, not problem-focussed.
Happy?
Resale flats are undoubtedly more expensive than new ones. But if you have no choice, you have no choice. Singapore is not a welfare state. If you want to live in a welfare state, you have to get out of here. No point complaining.
There are lots of oher people in worse predicament especially in this economic climate. Some people don't even have the money to put food on their tables for their kids.
It may not be ideal to get a resale flat given the T&C's among other things. But many things in life aren't ideal. TS is in 30s and a father and still is thinking like a child.
By the way,the title should be:
Not enough NEW HDB flats
Originally posted by foxwalk:Yes I'm in my late 20s, married for 3 years, got my flat 1.5 years ago. It's a new flat, I just happened to be lucky in succeeding in balloting for the first time, and its a mature estate. But so what, things don't always go your way in life. Soemtimes yuo get lucky, sometimes, life deals you a bad card. You have to move on.
In short, be solution-focussed, not problem-focussed.
Happy?
Resale flats are undoubtedly more expensive than new ones. But if you have no choice, you have no choice. Singapore is not a welfare state. If you want to live in a welfare state, you have to get out of here. No point complaining.
There are lots of oher people in worse predicament especially in this economic climate. Some people don't even have the money to put food on their tables for their kids.
It may not be ideal to get a resale flat given the T&C's among other things. But many things in life aren't ideal. TS is in 30s and a father and still is thinking like a child.
By the way,the title should be:
Not enough NEW HDB flats
Right, people should just accept the despots losing a hundred billion gambling away the people's hard earned money instead of building new HDB flats... and if not, they are childish? Sheeesh... asslicking dog.
I am also married and a baby due soon. Yet i choose to stay with my parents. Family warm is much better for me. Because i am the only child to look after my parents.
I would suggest you to think about it in buying a flat. The market is very bad now. You and your wife hold on with your both current job and wait for 1-2years to get enough savings and consider ba. Currently stay with your parents lor.
Originally posted by since1976:Hi everyone,
Let me relate my story. I am 30+ this year, married for three years. My wife and I have been very supportive of the government's baby policy and we already have a baby.
We would like to have more kids, but our current situation does not allow us to do so. I will elaborate further.
Since 2004, I have been balloting for HDB flat. And the queue number has been always extraordinary long. From not married, to married and now having a baby. I am a avid subscriber of HDB news, and a loyal HDB balloter. 5 years have passed and no flat.
I have brought up my case to my MP and MCYS and the reply from HDB is always to same...that is too look out for resale market. Now the problem is....a young married couple like us, and especially now with a new member in our family...how could we afford the upfront cash involved in resale flat transaction. To be honest, I am very disappointed with the kind of insensetive answers from the authority. To quote the actual word used by my MP, he thinks that I am super "suay". And also another quote from him, "Yes, you are first timer applicant, but first timer applicant with first timer priority does not guarantee you a first timer flat".
There are other disadvantages of resale flat, which I will explain further.
1. Possibility involvement of high cash payment, pending to the seller. Which equate to no more money to pay for renovation.
2. Yes, you can use CPF to pay the loan (whether bank or HDB). However, you need to use cash to pay for the cummulative interest accumulated over the period you have loan. And this means, that when you are old, make sure you have lots of cash to pay for the interest accumulated over 20 to 30 years. It could amount to $1000 a month for a period of 3 years.
3. As a first timer, you are entitled government grant if you buy resale flat. When you decide to give up this resale flat for a new HDB flat, you have to pay back this government grant.
4. The unknown history of the flat, whether wear, tear or others.
In the HDB reply, they also point out that we can go for BTO (Build To Order) flat. Again, problem is we are already married with baby, how can we wait 3 years?
In addition, HDB also point out that they have shorten my queue number. In the last balloting exercise for 149 flats, my queue number is half of the total 1500++ application. My God! there are bascially 10 applicants competing for 1 HDB unit. Does the head of HDB even aware there is an extreme shortage of flats in Singapore.
And with queue number of 700 for 149 flats, it does not even get me any place nearer to choose a flat. So we continue our live as modern nomad...till the next balloting exercise we will try our luck again.
The morale of the story is...(in my opinion)
There is extreme shortage of HDB flats in Singapore, but if you are rich and can afford a condo or if you have lots of cash on-hand then you will not face housing problem like an average Joe.
Don't get married, because you will not have flat problem
Don't have kids, because it does not prioritize your chances of getting a flat.
Thank you for your attention and please share your thoughts.
Hi guys,
I didn't expect lots of responses. But here are my thoughts after readings. Yes I must admit, I am a cry baby now....I am crying for HELP!
1. Yes, I did ballot for Jurong West and even Lakeside flats. In fact, my last application was Lakeside which is so far west from ours parent's place. And my queue number is still 800++ out of 1500
2. The reason why I didn't choose Sengkang and Punggol is because they are not available for balloting.
3. In my first mail, I mentioned BTO is not an option for us. We have started my family and we already have kids. I am not quite choosy for place, but because we have kid now, we want to stay near our parents like mine is in SengKang and hers is in Jurong West. So place like Punggol is not quite an ideal option. I mean no offence but the big plan for Punggol 21 started in 1997 and now after more than 10 years, its still Punggol 21. So the reality is I am really skeptical about the development of Punggol despite the fact that the government has pushed for it three times. If its just the two of us, then any place will do. But now having a kid, we definitely need some place nearer to our parents.
4. Of course we married for love. But We are frustrated. We have gotten married and no flat. We have kid and no flat. It seems the state does not give us priority at all. Or like the multi-million dollar tax payer paid MP mentioned, "You are damn super suay"
Cheers,
Originally posted by since1976:Hi guys,
I didn't expect lots of responses. But here are my thoughts after readings. Yes I must admit, I am a cry baby now....I am crying for HELP!
1. Yes, I did ballot for Jurong West and even Lakeside flats. In fact, my last application was Lakeside which is so far west from ours parent's place. And my queue number is still 800++ out of 1500
2. The reason why I didn't choose Sengkang and Punggol is because they are not available for balloting.
3. In my first mail, I mentioned BTO is not an option for us. We have started my family and we already have kids. I am not quite choosy for place, but because we have kid now, we want to stay near our parents like mine is in SengKang and hers is in Jurong West. So place like Punggol is not quite an ideal option. I mean no offence but the big plan for Punggol 21 started in 1997 and now after more than 10 years, its still Punggol 21. So the reality is I am really skeptical about the development of Punggol despite the fact that the government has pushed for it three times. If its just the two of us, then any place will do. But now having a kid, we definitely need some place nearer to our parents.
4. Of course we married for love. But We are frustrated. We have gotten married and no flat. We have kid and no flat. It seems the state does not give us priority at all. Or like the multi-million dollar tax payer paid MP mentioned, "You are damn super suay"
Cheers,
i don't mean to be judgemental but don't you think you should plan your life according to the situation rather than expect the situation to fit into your life?
those balloting, bto, up front cash, etc don't appear overnight, so don't you should have taken these into consideration before you start your family?
So you mean I should wait till I got my flat before I got married.
If that's the case, I would have delayed my wedding for 2 years. Would not have a kid right now. Perhaps you are right, we should have waited ....and till our hair got white.
Wait...didn't you just mention, "Shouldn't we plan our life according to situation"?
I have colleagues who actually postponed their weddings for 2 years to wait for their flat. Eventually one of them migrated to U.S and the other is still staying with parent like me.
TS. This is what I understand. There is a shortage of flats but they are only in the areas that you want e.g. near your parents. No great shortage in areas you don't want (Punggol 21). There are flats BTO and resale but you cannot afford them. So your thread title is misleading.
I dunno how much is your combined income TS but it seems more like a lack of financial planning to me .....
Originally posted by foxwalk:Yes I'm in my late 20s, married for 3 years, got my flat 1.5 years ago. It's a new flat, I just happened to be lucky in succeeding in balloting for the first time, and its a mature estate. But so what, things don't always go your way in life. Soemtimes yuo get lucky, sometimes, life deals you a bad card. You have to move on.
I now understand why you would feel the way you feel. A lottery player who strikes 4D the very first time he plays the game would naturally feel that 4D is very easy to strike.
But should that lottery winner look down on others for not striking?
I rest my case.
Originally posted by since1976:Hi everyone,
Let me relate my story. I am 30+ this year, married for three years. My wife and I have been very supportive of the government's baby policy and we already have a baby.
We would like to have more kids, but our current situation does not allow us to do so. I will elaborate further.
Since 2004, I have been balloting for HDB flat. And the queue number has been always extraordinary long. From not married, to married and now having a baby. I am a avid subscriber of HDB news, and a loyal HDB balloter. 5 years have passed and no flat.
I have brought up my case to my MP and MCYS and the reply from HDB is always to same...that is too look out for resale market. Now the problem is....a young married couple like us, and especially now with a new member in our family...how could we afford the upfront cash involved in resale flat transaction. To be honest, I am very disappointed with the kind of insensetive answers from the authority. To quote the actual word used by my MP, he thinks that I am super "suay". And also another quote from him, "Yes, you are first timer applicant, but first timer applicant with first timer priority does not guarantee you a first timer flat".
There are other disadvantages of resale flat, which I will explain further.
1. Possibility involvement of high cash payment, pending to the seller. Which equate to no more money to pay for renovation.
2. Yes, you can use CPF to pay the loan (whether bank or HDB). However, you need to use cash to pay for the cummulative interest accumulated over the period you have loan. And this means, that when you are old, make sure you have lots of cash to pay for the interest accumulated over 20 to 30 years. It could amount to $1000 a month for a period of 3 years.
3. As a first timer, you are entitled government grant if you buy resale flat. When you decide to give up this resale flat for a new HDB flat, you have to pay back this government grant.
4. The unknown history of the flat, whether wear, tear or others.
In the HDB reply, they also point out that we can go for BTO (Build To Order) flat. Again, problem is we are already married with baby, how can we wait 3 years?
In addition, HDB also point out that they have shorten my queue number. In the last balloting exercise for 149 flats, my queue number is half of the total 1500++ application. My God! there are bascially 10 applicants competing for 1 HDB unit. Does the head of HDB even aware there is an extreme shortage of flats in Singapore.
And with queue number of 700 for 149 flats, it does not even get me any place nearer to choose a flat. So we continue our live as modern nomad...till the next balloting exercise we will try our luck again.
The morale of the story is...(in my opinion)
There is extreme shortage of HDB flats in Singapore, but if you are rich and can afford a condo or if you have lots of cash on-hand then you will not face housing problem like an average Joe.
Don't get married, because you will not have flat problem
Don't have kids, because it does not prioritize your chances of getting a flat.
Thank you for your attention and please share your thoughts.
thought punggol is near sengkang?
anyway if you had tried for a BTO, you may already have gotten it by now. You should have planned for the housing before you went for a baby or when you got married. If the marriage and baby was due to an accident, then my condolences.
lazy to go through the rest. gettign married, having kids, even growing old requires planning.
New HDB flats so ex these days.
All the BTO types are like half a million or more.
I'm like wtf.![]()
Originally posted by charlize:New HDB flats so ex these days.
I'm like wtf.
Cheaper to go for resale this way
Anyway older flats are bigger
And some are very nice renovated too
erm, anyone knows for sure, how much is the cost of constructing 1 x 3-room HDB?
I want to know why flats are said to be heavily subsidised given the pricings.
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
Right, people should just accept the despots losing a hundred billion gambling away the people's hard earned money instead of building new HDB flats... and if not, they are childish? Sheeesh... asslicking dog.
you're always pulling in unrelated topics.
Originally posted by likedatosocan:erm, anyone knows for sure, how much is the cost of constructing 1 x 3-room HDB?
I want to know why flats are said to be heavily subsidised given the pricings.
their subsidized means the 30k grant., the low income 40k grant...
nothing to do with construction.
Oh man. I think there's a terrible shortage of HDB flats in Singapore. But the posers who mentioned about being choosy over location - you guys are quite right. I'm gonna try my luck balloting when I return to Singapore but I'm so adverse to staying in Punggol! It's so, far. Nevertheless, I don't think supply is meeting demand to be honest.
To the OP: I think I can understand your pains. With a kid in your marriage, you are quite limited in the sense that you have to live near your parents so that they can help take care of your child? (I'm assuming you don't wanna pay for childcare). So I think your best bet is a resale flat. To be honest, I think they would be bigger and in more convenient locations and on the plus side you probably get it soon. With regards to upfront cash payment, I know banks probably ain't loaning anymore so you have got to settle for a zero cash above valuation flat I guess. I believe there should be quite a number out there, you gotta take a compromise on quality and furnishings though.
Alternatively, you could work out a better system of picking your kid up after work from your parents before heading home? That way you dont have to stay near your parents and have more options in choosing resale flats. I mean, SIngapore is still quite well-connected after all. Ultimately, i think you have options, you just need to really consider what you want. You don't have to buy a new HDB after you got your resale flat, I mean - just continue living in it I guess :)
I guess one of the lessons I'll be taking away from your example is to start early... which is why I'm 21 and going to try this year!
Originally posted by la luce nella piazza:Oh man. I think there's a terrible shortage of HDB flats in Singapore. But the posers who mentioned about being choosy over location - you guys are quite right. I'm gonna try my luck balloting when I return to Singapore but I'm so adverse to staying in Punggol! It's so, far. Nevertheless, I don't think supply is meeting demand to be honest.
To the OP: I think I can understand your pains. With a kid in your marriage, you are quite limited in the sense that you have to live near your parents so that they can help take care of your child? (I'm assuming you don't wanna pay for childcare). So I think your best bet is a resale flat. To be honest, I think they would be bigger and in more convenient locations and on the plus side you probably get it soon. With regards to upfront cash payment, I know banks probably ain't loaning anymore so you have got to settle for a zero cash above valuation flat I guess. I believe there should be quite a number out there, you gotta take a compromise on quality and furnishings though.
Alternatively, you could work out a better system of picking your kid up after work from your parents before heading home? That way you dont have to stay near your parents and have more options in choosing resale flats. I mean, SIngapore is still quite well-connected after all. Ultimately, i think you have options, you just need to really consider what you want. You don't have to buy a new HDB after you got your resale flat, I mean - just continue living in it I guess :)
I guess one of the lessons I'll be taking away from your example is to start early... which is why I'm 21 and going to try this year!
my friend tried at 24. than his girlfriend broke up with him.
Originally posted by charlize:New HDB flats so ex these days.
I'm like wtf.
live in bus stop, parks, mrt station or foreign dormitory lah
Originally posted by skythewood:my friend tried at 24. than his girlfriend broke up with him.
lucky for him, 24yo is too young to marry, he still available hor, rich or not??? handsome or not??? me dun mind second hand dude
TS damn stupid one lah, can alway register first, then book a house, put the traditional marriage one side, use birthcontrol stuffs for sex, and when the house arrive, slowly renovate it, can even rent is out, then after all stabilised liao, perform the traditional marriage and remove all birthcontrol stuffs, got extra past it to me.
Marriage needs planning hor, not suka suka out of desperate and wanted to build a family anyhow go and marry and get yourself unprepare. If you plan, you got direction and most likely you will be successful, if you dun plan, it is also a kind of plan, you planned for diseaster