http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking%2BNews/Asia/Story/STIStory_347888.html
TAIPEI - TAIWAN will phase out its decades-old military conscription policy over the next five years, the defence minister said on Monday, amid warming ties with China.
Currently all men aged over 20 are required to do one year's military service.
But Defence Minister Chen Chao-min told reporters that the structure of Taiwan's military manpower will undergo a dramatic change over the next few years.
'From 2011, the number of conscripts will be reduced by at least 10 percent each year, to be replaced by professional soldiers,' Mr Chen said.
'That is to say, eventually, conscript measures will come to an end by 2014.' Critics have argued that the island's armed forces have struggled to enhance their defence capabilities because conscripts are unable to become proficient in high-tech weaponry in their short military service.
However, the new proposals sparked concerns over whether the defence ministry would be able to recruit sufficiently qualified professional soldiers at a monthly salary of NT$35,000 (S$1,550).
The plan to phase out conscription was a campaign pledge of President Ma Ying-jeou during the 2008 election.
The number of service personnel in Taiwan stands at around 275,000, down from a peak of 600,000 during the Cold War.
Taiwan's relatively large army is a legacy of decades of tensions with China, which has regarded the island as part of its territory awaiting reunification since the two sides split at the end of a civil war in 1949.
However, ties between Taiwan and China have improved dramatically since Mr Ma's Kuomintang party took office last May promising to boost cross-strait trade and tourism. -- AFP
sg should follow suit since ns has disadvantaged us in our working life against foreign workers.
Nice,Taiwan go one step ahead further than Singapore after reaching Democracy state.No army conscription,i think Taiwan will become one of the favourite Singaporeans migration country.
Originally posted by lotus999:sg should follow suit since ns has disadvantaged us in our working life against foreign workers.
I agree,if Lee Kuan Yew n his son like army so much,they should serve permanent army themselves.Not to drag the whole Singapore male citizens to join army whereby they enjoy air-con in the office.
Originally posted by Dave2000:I agree,if Lee Kuan Yew n his son like army so much,they should serve permanent army themselves.Not to drag the whole Singapore male citizens to join army whereby they enjoy air-con in the office.
oh, that would be bad for sg would come under military rule!
Originally posted by lotus999:oh, that would be bad for sg would come under military rule!
LOL,arent we under military rule already?Look around us,Law+Fine+Law+Fine,even chewing gum also ban,what can be worse?
Originally posted by Dave2000:LOL,arent we under military rule already?Look around us,Law+Fine+Law+Fine,even chewing gum also ban,what can be worse?
no doubt but if father and son in army it would be: order+jail+execution!
Originally posted by Dave2000:LOL,arent we under military rule already?Look around us,Law+Fine+Law+Fine,even chewing gum also ban,what can be worse?
Very true. Correct me if I am wrong, I read it that they in a way don't allow the pap ministers to be investigated by the public.
Somehow, it is worse than military rule.
Originally posted by Fantagf:
Very true. Correct me if I am wrong, I read it that they in a way don't allow the pap ministers to be investigated by the public.Somehow, it is worse than military rule.
whatever it is... just make ur vote counts at the next general election
2 years NS is still ok. But please SCRAP THE STUPID ICT!!!
The 10 years cycle is really the one that makes us lose out to foreigner.
and once a year u go back few weeks.. How proficient can we be in our previous 2 years NSF vocation? All the crap that I learn has totally forgotten. I am just a civilian wearing a military uniform when i go back ICT. Worst than a recruit.
It just wasting our time and a big wayang.....
I think Taiwan president ma ying jeou is not doing good for Taiwan if he allow conscription policy to end. China never say it will not use force to take back Taiwan if necessary and still consider Taiwan as part of China.
Unlike Taiwan, Singapore don't really have any immediate threat, yet we still have mandatory NS.
lol...kudos to those who think NS is crap. I myself enjoy every moment during my NS.
I rather think of NS as quite a good experience myself, but i do think there needs to be adjustments made. NS pretty much make any formal education before entering redundant to pursue.
Taiwan and China share the same language and have many cultural similarities. As long as Taiwan do not insist on being a seperate country, China wouldn't care less how it's run.
While we're surrounded by countries who speak a different language, believe in the pursue of one dominant religion and generally dislike the race that's the majority in Singapore.
Who do you think is in more danger?
i think that is the main reason why we have NS, after so many yrs of diplomatic policies with regional countries, the relationship is still considered volatile and thats y we cant put down our guard. We must still stay relevant and vigilant although things seem to be fine.
i think NS is still necessary for Singapore.
the only change about NS is the mindset of the ppl and the way NS should be conducted...
singapore should learn from tw, again.
i recommend having all new citizens or wannabees sons and daughters allow them the flexibility to sign on as professional soldiers and this is the best way to show loyalty after the conscripted soldiers have done their part.
just my view. don't silence me , the lamb. mehhhhh!
HAHA,everyone is entitled to their own view, so no silencing is allow
Originally posted by lotus999:sg should follow suit since ns has disadvantaged us in our working life against foreign workers.
dun like this lah, later soldiers in singapore also make up of foreign workers, they can take home $300 can liao, just yes sir and no sir.
Originally posted by GHoST_18:i think NS is still necessary for Singapore.
the only change about NS is the mindset of the ppl and the way NS should be conducted...
ya, NSmen should learn to be more gentlemen and stop going to red light district
Originally posted by Rednano:
whatever it is... just make ur vote counts at the next general election
Next general election,i will certainly vote for opposition.
But then again,i feel strange that some PAP ministers n leaders would actually have the idea that once opposition parties win the GE,it will be a disasterous for them n the whole Singapore.
Actually,from what i see,it is actually good if other party win GE coz all the critics from the public will diversify to the opposition as well.Not like now,all the critics mostly concentrate on the PAP.Becoz since the PAP control everything in Singapore,once got anything goes wrong,we dont blame PAP,we blame who?
And also,it will lighten the burden on PAP also,so it is a Win-Win situation.Why some ppl in the PAP party are so narrow-minded.
Originally posted by Dave2000:Next general election,i will certainly vote for opposition.
But then again,i feel strange that some PAP ministers n leaders would actually have the idea that once opposition parties win the GE,it will be a disasterous for them n the whole Singapore.
Actually,from what i see,it is actually good if other party win GE coz all the critics from the public will diversify to the opposition as well.Not like now,all the critics mostly concentrate on the PAP.Becoz since the PAP control everything in Singapore,once got anything goes wrong,we dont blame PAP,we blame who?
And also,it will lighten the burden on PAP also,so it is a Win-Win situation.Why some ppl in the PAP party are so narrow-minded.
in the past, turbulent times, it could tear the nation apart... but now, it should be ok. see what happens...
Originally posted by citymax:lol...kudos to those who think NS is crap. I myself enjoy every moment during my NS.
Some ppl are suitable for Army,some are not.Becoz we dont forget,Army is also a "job".And when comes to job,we will tend to find those that suit us.
Just like now,u call Lou Lee,Lou Goh n Ah Long to go n do throw rubbish job,u see they want or not?
Originally posted by skythewood:in the past, turbulent times, it could tear the nation apart... but now, it should be ok. see what happens...
Ya lor,our PAP government must try mah.Everything say no,how can?
Originally posted by angel7030:
ya, NSmen should learn to be more gentlemen and stop going to red light district
i knew these kinda replies will come from u..
i dun wanna quote the other guy u know...
Originally posted by GHoST_18:i knew these kinda replies will come from u..
i dun wanna quote the other guy u know...
I knew it, i knew you will wait for me...as always