Originally posted by Dave2000:Some ppl are suitable for Army,some are not.Becoz we dont forget,Army is also a "job".And when comes to job,we will tend to find those that suit us.
Just like now,u call Lou Lee,Lou Goh n Ah Long to go n do throw rubbish job,u see they want or not?
throw rubbish, you ask lou lee, lou Goh and Ah long go throw rubbish, i think they dun mind if they are paid millions for it. They may add on to sweep the floor too, as a compliment.
You paid millions to them to take care of a multi billions nation, not to throw rubbish ya
Originally posted by angel7030:
I knew it, i knew you will wait for me...as always
now, this should be in the jokes forums...
Originally posted by Dave2000:Next general election,i will certainly vote for opposition.
But then again,i feel strange that some PAP ministers n leaders would actually have the idea that once opposition parties win the GE,it will be a disasterous for them n the whole Singapore.
Actually,from what i see,it is actually good if other party win GE coz all the critics from the public will diversify to the opposition as well.Not like now,all the critics mostly concentrate on the PAP.Becoz since the PAP control everything in Singapore,once got anything goes wrong,we dont blame PAP,we blame who?
And also,it will lighten the burden on PAP also,so it is a Win-Win situation.Why some ppl in the PAP party are so narrow-minded.
Taiwan can end conscription cos now they are pro-china. Singapore still cannot......but it would be advisable to shorten NS to 1 year.
Originally posted by Rock^Star:Taiwan can end conscription cos now they are pro-china. Singapore still cannot......but it would be advisable to shorten NS to 1 year.
And how do we train our soldiers? Less than a year, the recruits don't need to eat and sleep liao.
Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:
And how do we train our soldiers? Less than a year, the recruits don't need to eat and sleep liao.
i guess he means full confinement for 1 whole year...
but still im not sure if that's enough..
1 yr ?
seriously.. what can they do. Maybe all train as grunts o.k la.Train as cannon fodder.
hahaha
Specialised technical ppl ? I dun think so...
Originally posted by Dave2000:Some ppl are suitable for Army,some are not.Becoz we dont forget,Army is also a "job".And when comes to job,we will tend to find those that suit us.
Just like now,u call Lou Lee,Lou Goh n Ah Long to go n do throw rubbish job,u see they want or not?
that is purely ur imagination...
Why dun u go ask Obama go throw rubbish too...purely no link and make no sense
Originally posted by GHoST_18:now, this should be in the jokes forums...
the way life can evolved here is already one of the big joke
Originally posted by Rock^Star:Taiwan can end conscription cos now they are pro-china. Singapore still cannot......but it would be advisable to shorten NS to 1 year.
i suggest one year NS too, and one more year doing social work.
Originally posted by angel7030:...,some are not.Becoz we dont forget,Army is also a "job".And when comes to job,we will tend to find those that suit us. Just like now...Goh n Ah Long to go n do throw rubbish job,u see they want or not? throw rubbish, ...
nice to be cloned
Taiwan rightfully should end conscription. Taiwan belongs to China. No reason for a standing army of a quarter million for a province. She can get all the troops she wants from China, and save the money for the people of the taiwan province.
Hongkong belong to China. Which is why Hong Kong citizens dont need conscription, and saved tons of money. China provides the troops.
Singapore dont belong to China. She dont belong to anyone but us! When shit happens, who will defend us? Next, we live amongst not exactly friendly neighbours whom love to rattlesabers when their political leadership is having problems.
Our military might may be small, and there is no denying that we will not last forever in a major conflict, but each and everyone of us males know we are there to buy time - time to evacuate our loved ones to safety, time to appeal to UN, and meanwhile make the enemies pay a high price and delay them as long as possible with our own blood.
Each generation of Singaporean males had known that fact, held that torch with courage, and pass it to the next generation with honour when the time was due. As such, anyone who dares make a move against our country knows well that price they will have to pay, and so far, those previous generation had done well.
That torch is now held with the new generation. Some may be pampared and believe a standing proffesional army will do the job. But the cost for a proffessional army is high and unfavorable compared to lower cost if everyone pitches in.
Some would prefer to run and flee when conflicts arise. Such options are limited to the rich few. Many more will not have that ability. It will be a sad day for a nation when the poor, children and old folks grab sticks to challenge enemies' tanks while its youth goes into hiding elsewhere.
Some claims that NS is unnecessary because when the times to fight arrives, they will fight. But that is a flawed theory. If they know nothing about organisation, logistics and weaponery, how to fight? More likely be canon fodder.
Or just stand by and helplessly watch as frenzied mob loot, rob, molest and rape their loved ones as actually happened in Indonesia.
No need for extended rhetorics: Here's a simple answer.
Singapore do not have a large population, Taiwan does. Stopping conscription would not dent their overall force, if Singapore ditch conscription, we would not even have enough men to protect even one GRC.
What we need is better incentives for serving NS and reservist liabilitY(100 bucks extra for serving NS, WTF?), Make a new law to prevent companies from firing NSmen who have to do ICT, Make Singapore worth dying for by making these so called "foreign talents" do military or paramilitary training for a least a year before getting citizenship or PR. Oh, and make the entrance tests harder. etc, etc. If i am suppose to feckin die for my country, at least give me some motivation for it. Call me mercenary, but my life is not cheap, in fact none of our lives are. if the PAP elites want us to go to combat, they better be totting an assault rifle with me or else my barrel will be pointing somewhere else....and it wont be at the so-called "enemy".
Originally posted by BadzMaro:1 yr ?
seriously.. what can they do. Maybe all train as grunts o.k la.Train as cannon fodder.
hahaha
Specialised technical ppl ? I dun think so...
train as commando... passed out == ord
train as ociffer... passed out == ord
train as SDU.... you get the idea...
TW has once again done something great.
1. reducing intake of their ns man and increasing the number of professional soldiers is good not just for the young male citizens who can use this time to do build their career.
2. it also will help lower the unemployment rate as more can sign-on.
3. the other great thing they did was Being the First in Asia to implement the Consumer Voucher for its citizens , regardless of education level, income level and age. Absolutely no discrimination. This scheme officially was proven to have a boosted its economy by a certain extent. More may be given out later.
Other countries have seen the effectiveness of consumer vouchers and have implemented or considering to implement as well.
So, I urge countries to learn from TW.
There are other things people around the world can learn from TW. look at the news and you may learn too. ;)
Originally posted by likedatosocan:TW has once again done something great.
1. reducing intake of their ns man and increasing the number of professional soldiers is good not just for the young male citizens who can use this time to do build their career.
3. the other great thing they did was Being the First in Asia to implement the Consumer Voucher for its citizens , regardless of education level, income level and age. Absolutely no discrimination. This scheme officially was proven to have a boosted its economy by a certain extent. More may be given out later.
Other countries have seen the effectiveness of consumer vouchers and have implemented or considering to implement as well.
There are other things people around the world can learn from TW. look at the news and you may learn too. ;)
Depending on perspective i suppose, i don't really think what they do is anything great and is more a "feel good" measure than of any practical purposes.
Socially speaking, there is no productive uses for a military. Reducing the unemployment rate via hiring through the military is no different from putting them on full welfare because you have to feed/cloth/house them.
Unless you intend to use them to rob resources from others a military contributes nothing to society because essentially they produce nothing nor do they provide any helpful services.
Giving out the Consumer Vouchers is no different from the government using our money to spend on useless projects or gambling on stocks. It's STILL our money, just because it came from the government doesn't make it any different from them taking it straight from our wallets.
Undoubtedly, there are things we can learn from Taiwan. But not for the reasons you've brought up. Get a few Taiwanese in here and i bet they'd bitch just as much as us about their own government.
Originally posted by likedatosocan:TW has once again done something great.
1. Taiwan depend very much on electronics manufacturing sectors, now it is not doing well, they are starting to create jobs by introducing army professionism instead of getting FDI. In the end, you will find army doing production work for the govt.
2. Unlike singapore who emphasis on education, train and retrain, they seek other way out to get people employed, in the army, after few years, you lack the skill and experience of the outside world.
3. We do offer back to school vouchers, MRt voucher, govt rebates, NTUC discount voucher, transport voucher etc etc, all these targeting on the poorer peoples thru CDC, CC and other religion insitution like Sinda, Muis, Chinese chamber etc etc, unlike taiwan who give equally to all, so the rich get richer.
One thing about taiwan to learn about is their pretty gals, notorious underworld gangsters, mafias, and of course, taiwan porridge and sausages. Other than that, try out their bing lang mei mei or for me, look out for their handsome hunks.
Angel
Taiwan PR
i suggest one year NS too, and one more year doing social work.
Females shd do NS in hospitals, right? Then we no need filipinos.
Originally posted by Rock^Star:
Then, you've got to pay much more money when you go to hospital.
Originally posted by Alan Lee:Then, you've got to pay much more money when you go to hospital.
Not if the females NS are paid 450 per month(Eh, what's the current NS pay now?) to do it.
if no NS, we'll be easily bullied by some neighbours being having a small army
dun ever forget back in day 1 of independence, our water supply was never secured
Originally posted by Rock^Star:
Huh? No females like me should take care of the economy of Singapore when our males counterpart serve NS, we can be enginneers, elite professionals, managers and even bosses. Then when our males counterpart finished NS, we can guide them and be their boss or supervisor, so to speak.
So, each of us must play their role and contribute to the progress and peace of Singapore.
PS me former NCC, brownie and also red cross before...me can do CPR too
Originally posted by sbst275:if no NS, we'll be easily bullied by some neighbours being having a small army
dun ever forget back in day 1 of independence, our water supply was never secured
with NS, they can also bully and attack you, no big deal, afterall, we got a lame army force who are built up of mommy boys wearing thick glasses just waiting to book out or long weekend, no one care about what the f about it, they just go thru the motion, serve the law and kiss the General butt bye bye...
As a gal, i dun trust our army, large or small, when real war arrive, guess most would had prepare their own battleplan of escaping rather then defending.
Huh? No females like me should take care of the economy of Singapore when our males counterpart serve NS, we can be enginneers, elite professionals, managers and even bosses. Then when our males counterpart finished NS, we can guide them and be their boss or supervisor, so to speak.
So, each of us must play their role and contribute to the progress and peace of Singapore.
PS me former NCC, brownie and also red cross before...me can do CPR too
you sure your CPR up to date or not? come practice on me, I help you check...
Originally posted by Stevenson101:
Not if the females NS are paid 450 per month(Eh, what's the current NS pay now?) to do it.
Oh my gosh, $450 per month??? not enough for my weekend shopping and personal glooming, please lah, $450 can use for Gst only.