Originally posted by likedatosocan:
no one said they wish them to vanish.employers certainly dont for profit reasons.
since you are concerned about FT, in addition to your postings, have you ever tried to help them find a job , say in your company? there are so many FTs, certainly 1 of these have the same skills as you ? why not you talk to your HR or give the FTs the email to write in to? or tel no? or your office address? you may also have coffee with them to listen to their stories of job seeking, the challenges and ups and downs? at least you can provide them a shoulder to cry on? or lend a helping hand or useful ear?
singaporeans are used to being told No one owes you a living. and thus.
What the hell you talking about? I just explained to the best of my knowledge why there are people with blue IC at job fairs... did i say someone wish them to vanish? I said they don't just vanish, they will try to stay on.
Now you accuse me of siding with foreigners? How about this... fuck you. fuck you too, foreigners! Is that what you want?
hmmm, so you are saying they come here as visitors, apply for job, and get to stay here?
Or you know how the process of they getting a job here goes?
You'd be surprised how easy our foreign friends can land jobs here.
Originally posted by dotaro:You'd be surprised how easy our foreign friends can land jobs here.
you work at mom or something? my dad does construction, and he simply cannot find singaporeans to work for him... the employment process is quite tedious too...
Nah, if you'd have patience to read the MOM stuff in their website, you'll realise.
I'm sorry you dad has problems with hiring our local folks...I guess your dad can;t afford to pay them.
SGD600-800. exc OT pay.
Which Singaporean would accept that?
Unless...you pay around $1500, exc OT.
Plus free insurance coverage.
Or you pay by hourly rate.
Then locals may take up.
Yes, true the foreigners are flocking here, but the there are also many being send back, and the send back ones do outweight the incoming ones. It is just a reducation in replacement of the current lots here, which is shrinking too.
Logic behind this replacement was most older one being here for 4 to 6 years, all salaries had gone up and most already know the in and out of working here, i.e know how to go lazy and hiding or mc and some can even demand for more..
The replacement is a renewal of new blood with a new yes sir mindset very much intact. Better control and of course, lower paid.
Employing local workers is a problem in heavy industries such as road works, construction and Marine or oil rigs. Our people are mostly ah pek or uncles liao, most prefer to laze in my outside joo chiat coffee shops or geyland. Not only local workers demand high paid, they also like to complaint a lot and alway show dissatifaction to bosses like me.
Originally posted by likedatosocan:
I am worried about your style of replying.'No Foreigner' is an extreme way to describe.
Does forummers mean they want no foreigners?
Of course not. They are saying "congee is scarce, monks are many".
In the 1st place, why is there a need for foreigners?
Lack of resources.
But in a crisis where retrenchments are happening? You think there is a scarcity of resources? Definitely much much much less than before. But what is the number of foreigners here already? How many are on their way coming in already? Where is the control?
So, I mean the way you reply seems to be a bit sweeping statement. Hope you don't mind my honest comment.
Great reply. Hope the reply will knock some sense into the sky.
Originally posted by Fantagf:Great reply. Hope the reply will knock some sense into the sky.
haha
Originally posted by skythewood:haha
Hope you don't get offended. Sometimes I myself don't see the pic until someone pointed it to me.
Originally posted by Fantagf:Hope you don't get offended. Sometimes I myself don't see the pic until someone pointed it to me.
i agree that too many foriegners are here in Singapore to fight with locals for jobs that locals can do.i have been to the job fair and i seen it with my own eyes.
most if not all, foriegners flock here because their government cant do a good jobs to provide them with jobs and secrurity.Their corrupted government only know how to spend the countries wealth instead of put in more passion and hardwork on how to build a strong economic to provide jobs for their citizens.without compassion towards their citizens, their corrupted government caused alot of their citizens without jobs and poor to the extend of robberies everywhere.
So, now they cant find jobs, Singaporeans had to give our ricebowl to them?Is this logical?To those who support the government policy of letting in foriegners without any check and balance, their country problem is our problem?
To show compassion to the foriegners doesnt mean we had to let go of our own citizens ricebowl.Our son and daughter are the future generations to build our country, our parents need ricebowl to feed them.Not that we lack of compassion towards the foriegners, but sometimes we need to think of reality, and reality is, protect our own citizens first before talking about helping others.
Imagine Singapore was so compassion towards Malaysia that we let in so many Malaysians into our shore to work either as operators or other jobs during the good times.i work in factory before and i know.If not for Singapore compassion, do you guys think Malaysia can create so many jobs for so many Malaysian workers during the 80's and 90's?
Now economic go downhill in Malaysia, they are stopping foriegners and that including us Singaporeans.If let's say down here we are really so short of jobs, we need to work in Malaysia, but now they are cutting down on foriegners, so aint that so called protecting their own citizens first?We help others during good times, during bad times who going to help us?
Think about it, helping foriegners and helping our citizens are 2 different things.Don't mix up reality and compassion.And compassion doesnt mean let go of our own priority. Hope my article can make some sense to some who still think we must let in as much foriegners as possible if not our economic will go bust.
Imagine Singapore was so compassion towards Malaysia that we let in so many Malaysians into our shore to work either as operators or other jobs during the good times.i work in factory before and i know.If not for Singapore compassion, do you guys think Malaysia can create so many jobs for so many Malaysian workers during the 80's and 90's?
I agreed totally with you. I worked in factory in the 80s before (there are many singaporean) now I joined back the workforce and choose to work in the factory. Do you know wat?? 90% of the production operators are malaysian holding a PR.They are drawing the same pay as we singaporean. They work here, earn sing dollars, but stay in Malaysia. I do not know why government issues so many PR. Jobs all goes to them instead of singaporean. Really very sad to see our citizens without job and foreigners earning our money and critisizing our country.
FT come here work.. they damn happy becos they can earn many times more compared to their country (are those even countries to begin with).
To a certain extent, they do take away the rice bowl of many sgreans. Maybe a FT arrival cap is really needed to stop the rot.
Originally posted by jgho83:FT come here work.. they damn happy becos they can earn many times more compared to their country (are those even countries to begin with).
To a certain extent, they do take away the rice bowl of many sgreans. Maybe a FT arrival cap is really needed to stop the rot.
Best if FT get taxed higher and has higher cpf contributions.....see still got anymore FT wanna stay in SG or not.
Special Public transport levies to be imposed on FTs Not-so-easy-liao Ezylink cards.
And all those levies collected will go into the Special DEFENCE funds against FTs.....or can distribute another round of SG shares?
Originally posted by parn:
Best if FT get taxed higher and has higher cpf contributions.....see still got anymore FT wanna stay in SG or not.Special Public transport levies to be imposed on FTs Not-so-easy-liao Ezylink cards.
And all those levies collected will go into the Special DEFENCE funds against FTs.....or can distribute another round of SG shares?
To me I feel like a lot of blame is being attributed to the FT themselves. It's like the FT are infiltrating the SG system or the system isn't able to cope with the FT without impacting us local workers. Will higher taxes or E-fuck-off-Z-link changes solve the problem? No.
I feel this is unfair, because the FT situation is a direct result of government policy. This isn't something the government needs to improve on. This is how the government INTENDS it. Whether it's for the long term good of Singaporeans or to bolster corporate income, the fact remains that the influx of FT is the intended result of government policy. Don't blame or penalise the foreigners coming in for what they thinks is a fair deal.
Originally posted by webben:To me I feel like a lot of blame is being attributed to the FT themselves. It's like the FT are infiltrating the SG system or the system isn't able to cope with the FT without impacting us local workers. Will higher taxes or E-fuck-off-Z-link changes solve the problem? No.
I feel this is unfair, because the FT situation is a direct result of government policy. This isn't something the government needs to improve on. This is how the government INTENDS it. Whether it's for the long term good of Singaporeans or to bolster corporate income, the fact remains that the influx of FT is the intended result of government policy. Don't blame or penalise the foreigners coming in for what they thinks is a fair deal.
There's really no such thing as a fair deal.
And it isn't exactly what the government has intended it like what you have mentioned.
But you can blame the government for recruiting talents who aren't "evil" enough to devise good but efficient double standards policies which will silently protects it's country's welfare against foreigners who comes to rape our country and it's people of their rights and welfare openly and globally.
FTs of course are welcome to take advantage of Singapore, but it is also necessary for the government to take back at least every 60cents for every dollar earned.
There's no such things as a free lunch or a free ride to capitalism, not even a free ride home. ![]()
Pros and cons here.For every job created in a company or factory, 8 out of 10 goes to foriegners.Take Malaysian for example, they earn our money here, bring back to Malaysia and happily spend in Malaysia.Malaysia government of course will be happy as our money goes into their retails shop and food court.Create more wealth for them.As for those foriengers who stay in Singapore, they helped provide extra income for those who rent out flat to foriegners.
Almost 90% of our foodcourt, kopitiam, sales girls are hiring China girls or Philippine girls.Not that we dont welcome them to take those jobs, but in what way can we balance up the ratio of foriegners and locals?
Unless our government really care for the locals, or else we will be seeing more China girls, China men or foriegners doing all sorts of jobs at all levels.Last time they work in factory, now they work in sales line, superstore, kopitiam, bus caption... what next?
University will be full of China professor, teachers?Our School will employ all foriegners teachers because they are cheap?Our smrt personel will soon be replace with China men?Maybe our Manpower officers will soon be replace with them.haha, then i will really see how they going close 2 eyes to let in more of their own people here.
Then Singapore will be 100% foriengers!!!Stop it or let it be..., your choice!
Originally posted by Cheowyonglee:Pros and cons here.For every job created in a company or factory, 8 out of 10 goes to foriegners.Take Malaysian for example, they earn our money here, bring back to Malaysia and happily spend in Malaysia.Malaysia government of course will be happy as our money goes into their retails shop and food court.Create more wealth for them.As for those foriengers who stay in Singapore, they helped provide extra income for those who rent out flat to foriegners.
Almost 90% of our foodcourt, kopitiam, sales girls are hiring China girls or Philippine girls.Not that we dont welcome them to take those jobs, but in what way can we balance up the ratio of foriegners and locals?
Unless our government really care for the locals, or else we will be seeing more China girls, China men or foriegners doing all sorts of jobs at all levels.Last time they work in factory, now they work in sales line, superstore, kopitiam, bus caption... what next?
University will be full of China professor, teachers?Our School will employ all foriegners teachers because they are cheap?Our smrt personel will soon be replace with China men?Maybe our Manpower officers will soon be replace with them.haha, then i will really see how they going close 2 eyes to let in more of their own people here.
Then Singapore will be 100% foriengers!!!Stop it or let it be..., your choice!
Some of the jobs like those menial position, locals are quite reluctant to take and some of the office work also many locals like to take them. There are also some
locals buy houses in JB, Malyasia, stay there and come to here to work.
Blame our government......
U no job?
Other countries also having retrenchment, so I think other countries also cannot hire singaporeans.
Singaporeans are generally too choosy about jobs... want high pay, want relax relax, want air con... these FTs are very glad to take them if u dont like. This is the real world. Businesses must still function and if they cant hire sg, they hire FT.
Cheaper and value for money.
If u wanna fight back the jobs, all we, all u, can do is to work harder...
bro, your mindset need to change also.
If business set up in singapore do you think they doesnt know singapore labour cost is not cheapest? is labour cost the only reason? what abt the security that singaporean men sacrifice to protect the safe environment tat all enterprise love and enjoy? how abt the low tax that business in singapore enjoy other than HK?
we understand the need of globalisation trade. Do note that singaporeans are not asking for a total fullstop on foreigners, but we need to set a cap, a set of guidelines more strictly than ever?
Aust has just announce they are immigrants to preserve job for local aussie.
Do you think the foreigners that dire to work in singaproe has much choice to choose?
FOREIGNERS got the lion's share of jobs created last year, but nearly all of these were in the construction and service sectors.
Of course lah, which family feeding Singaporean are working in these lowly paid, and lowly welfared jobs? No need pay mortgage for quarter million HDB flats? No need to take care of kids? No need to go for retraining to get that piece of toilet paper, in the end, employee tells you your retraining not relevant, experience not there and age too old?
Is our government really getting out of touch?
What have our grassroots leaders been telling their MPs?
Do we have the electoral power to voice our situation?!
I read somewhere on the net that
its not just FT coming here.
Entreprenuer Pass is also available and there is an agent providing this service:
I received a pamphlet at Tanjong pagar MRT entrance / exit area , near Temasek Building/Tower and Spring Leaf tower.
The leaflet says "No Minimum Requirement" to apply to be a Entreprenuer Pass where upon approval can bring immediate family here and also apply PR.
fyi.
Originally posted by likedatosocan:I read somewhere on the net that
Entreprenuer Pass is also available and there is an agent providing this service:
I received a pamphlet at Tanjong pagar MRT entrance / exit area , near Temasek Building/Tower and Spring Leaf tower.
The leaflet says "No Minimum Requirement" to apply to be a Entreprenuer Pass where upon approval can bring immediate family here and also apply PR.
fyi.
ooo... i also received an email saying i inherited millionsof dollars..
Originally posted by aunty joanne:Imagine Singapore was so compassion towards Malaysia that we let in so many Malaysians into our shore to work either as operators or other jobs during the good times.i work in factory before and i know.If not for Singapore compassion, do you guys think Malaysia can create so many jobs for so many Malaysian workers during the 80's and 90's?
I agreed totally with you. I worked in factory in the 80s before (there are many singaporean) now I joined back the workforce and choose to work in the factory. Do you know wat?? 90% of the production operators are malaysian holding a PR.They are drawing the same pay as we singaporean. They work here, earn sing dollars, but stay in Malaysia. I do not know why government issues so many PR. Jobs all goes to them instead of singaporean. Really very sad to see our citizens without job and foreigners earning our money and critisizing our country.
Malaysian are consider Tradition source workers, unlike NTS, non tradition source. Malaysians here are mostly chinese and indians, of course minority of Malaysian Malays here.
The question to raise here is, do you think singapore can be what it is today without Malaysians contribution to our early industrialisation?. And secondly, Do you think we can survive now if the malaysian is to withdraw all their citizens back.
In my opinons, without the malaysian, we long ago had collapsed. In fact, most Chinese Malaysians have helped our economy alot, and i hv seen alot of hardworking ones. Not only malaysians workers are here, there are also alots of Executives from malaysia holding top post in Singapore. And some even build their family here to become singapore citizens, as our education is good for their childrens.
Originally posted by likedatosocan:I read somewhere on the net that
fyi.
i also received a pop up mail saying, COngradulation!!! you are our nos 1 million poster lucky winner, Click here to claim your reward of a brand new Mercede B.