Originally posted by Detached:Actually, the family of the deceased had requested for threads pertaining to their son's passing be locked/deleted.
Mods, hope you guys can respect the wishes of those bereaved.
I think people who want to respect the family wish should stop visiting this thread.
Originally posted by skythewood:I think people who want to respect the family wish should stop visiting this thread.
i think people hv the right of the opinon to understand why a doctor of a good singapore son can commit suicide, ultimately, it can become a case study for all, with all due respect to his family, i believe that we had lost a good young man..due to love, maybe.
Originally posted by meltz:must be control by saf not to disclose something secretive
Hmm, SAF researching germ warfare?
Did the VERY UNBIASED ST show the very nice newsreaders the info about his letter about SAF contract?
Anyone from ST reading this? What is your final answer?
Originally posted by likedatosocan:Did the VERY UNBIASED ST show the very nice newsreaders the info about his letter about SAF contract?
Anyone from ST reading this? What is your final answer?
nope, don't think ST has...
can you verify the source of the letter? and... is it legal to show the contract anyway? What is the contract about? How unbiased is the letter of a sucidal guy?
Originally posted by skythewood:nope, don't think ST has...
can you verify the source of the letter? and... is it legal to show the contract anyway? What is the contract about? How unbiased is the letter of a sucidal guy?
Contract can be shown, under certain circumstances, correct or not?
how unbiased? some say Dead man don't lie.
Originally posted by Detached:Actually, the family of the deceased had requested for threads pertaining to their son's passing be locked/deleted.
Mods, hope you guys can respect the wishes of those bereaved.
source?
more likely is saf says de bah.
Originally posted by strawberry_kisses:i really wonder what could have happened in aussie that led him to take his own life. he had so many things that others dun, he's a doctor (i didnt manage to get into medicine), he's a SAF scholar (i dun think i'm smart enough to be able to get a scholarship of that prestige), he came from a rich family (i don't). but yet, i'm leading a happy life, whereas he had chosen to take his own life. moreover, he's said to be sociable and well-liked. most of such similar bizarre cases normally stems from loners, isnt it?
He came from a rich family, he cant be a loner, he is educated and can get girls easily. He is a doctor and he will be more mentally stable than someone ordinary.He has everything to live a good life. Nobody ever gave me anything like what he got. But I did not even contemplate suicide even once.
So what made him suicide? Its all a mystery.
Originally posted by Worldlybusinessman:He came from a rich family, he cant be a loner, he is educated and can get girls easily. He is a doctor and he will be more mentally stable than someone ordinary.He has everything to live a good life. Nobody ever gave me anything like what he got. But I did not even contemplate suicide even once.
So what made him suicide? Its all a mystery.
Might want to read up on Ted Bundy before you start saying high education and being well to do has anything to do with mental stability.
Having more than others and access to girls doesn't neccessarily translate to being satisfied about life.
Originally posted by Stevenson101:Might want to read up on Ted Bundy before you start saying high education and being well to do has anything to do with mental stability.
Having more than others and access to girls doesn't neccessarily translate to being satisfied about life.
may i rephrase dat for u?
not all rich ppl r dat shallow.
Originally posted by the bear:Probably bullying going on in the workplace. Bullies usually target the most capable newcomers because they feel threatened by them.
These people will find all ways to frame the new guy and get him fired. In short, always be on the lookout for bullies and backstabbers. Nobody can be trusted anymore.
Originally posted by likedatosocan:
Contract can be shown, under certain circumstances, correct or not?how unbiased? some say Dead man don't lie.
how i know what circumstance? you go find out lor...
he wrote the letter before becoming a dead man, understand what that means before posting. suicidal is suicidal, no exceptions.
Originally posted by the Bear:I have very mixed feelings about this issue. PSC seems to focus all its resources 100% on attracting talent, but a big zero 0% on retaining talent. End of the day the company still winds up with mediocre people inside who gets ‘A*’ at playing petty company politics but have zero talent whatsoever.
I would suggest having an ‘internal audit’ department to weed out these kinds of behavior which cost the company hundreds of thousands of dollars every year. Imagine the cost to train and groom a scholar only to have some rogue middle manager try to kick the fella out of the company.
Some basic things to have might be:
1. Educate staff on their rights.
2. A proper route to feedback complaints.
3. Ensure complaints are investigated promptly.
4. Even if staff do not complain, take initiative to assess the efficiency of managers, do polls often etc.
5. Provide proper counselling service, which is pretty much necessary to help newcomers ease into their job.One very common example is if the staff turnover rate under a certain manager is very much higher than other managers, then the problem might lie with the manager instead of the workers.
why not open another university to teach these scholars on how to handle office politics??? I dun mind be one of the lectureress, and they need at least 80% passing marks to pass my subject.
Singapore scholars are just too nerdy, only know how to walk straight, cannot turn and walk side ways...wonder how is their bedroom skills, F graded, must be.
who is this guy?
Originally posted by brainerror:who is this guy?
Dr. Alan Ooi, why u dun read the heading meh??
Mindef breaks silence
By Lin Yanqin, TODAY | Posted: 23 March 2009 0819 hrs
SINGAPORE: For the first time since Singapore Armed Forces doctor Allan Ooi was found dead under a bridge in Melbourne nearly three weeks ago, the Ministry of Defence (Mindef) has come forward to address the incident in detail.
In a letter to the press, Mindef stated that it wished to “clarify certain facts regarding media reports on Capt (Dr) Ooi’s service in the SAF and his scholarship bond”, and gave a rundown of the events leading to his disappearance in October.
An alleged suicide note by Capt (Dr) Ooi, which has been circulating on the Internet, has been stoking public speculation, in particular. Chinese-language daily Lianhe Zaobao had referenced the alleged letter and its contents, which touched on his dissatisfaction with his job and his bond with the SAF.
Mindef confirmed in its letter that Capt (Dr) Ooi, who studied medicine at the National University of Singapore under the SAF Local Study Award (Medicine), had last year informed his superior at the Aeromedical Centre that he was “unhappy at work and was considering leaving the SAF”.
Recipients of the scholarship are required to serve a 12-year bond after their housemanship, which Capt (Dr) Ooi completed in 2006.
“On 3 Oct 2008, his superior offered him the option of posting to an appointment which he would be interested in,” wrote Mindef spokesman Darius Lim in the letter.
“Capt (Dr) Ooi agreed to consider this option and to get back to his superior in two weeks’ time. However, he did not do so. He also did not submit any application to leave the SAF.”
Less than two weeks later, Capt (Dr) Ooi went Awol (absent without official leave). He would have been scheduled to go for his hospital posting at the end of this year.
In the letter, Mindef stated that SAF officers who take up sponsorship have a responsibility to serve the full period of their bonds as “substantial resources and time have been devoted to training them”.
“Otherwise, they will leave gaps in key positions in the SAF. Nevertheless, if an officer wishes to leave the service early, he can submit an application through a proper process. Approval to leave the service will be granted only under strong and extenuating circumstances,” wrote Colonel Lim.
Capt (Dr) Ooi was commissioned in 2006, and served for one and a half years in the Air Force Medical Service. He was sponsored by the SAF in January last year for further specialist training in Aviation Medicine in the United Kingdom. He was posted to the Aeromedical Centre after completing the course last July.
While it was not said if this would extend his stay in the SAF, a 12-year bond from a Local Study Award comprises six years spent in hospitals to acquire clinical competency in fields needed by the SAF.
The other six years are spent in command and staff positions with the SAF Medical Corps, performing duties such as the clinical care of SAF servicemen and professional development of military medicine.
Melbourne police are still investigating the circumstances of Capt (Dr) Ooi’s death.
- TODAY/yb
Originally posted by angel7030:
Dr. Alan Ooi, why u dun read the heading meh??
i read and still no understand.
I guess, only Alan would know why he suicide or died.
too bad, he is not there to help with the investigation into his death.
get what i mean?
Originally posted by the Bear:I have very mixed feelings about this issue. PSC seems to focus all its resources 100% on attracting talent, but a big zero 0% on retaining talent. End of the day the company still winds up with mediocre people inside who gets ‘A*’ at playing petty company politics but have zero talent whatsoever.
I would suggest having an ‘internal audit’ department to weed out these kinds of behavior which cost the company hundreds of thousands of dollars every year. Imagine the cost to train and groom a scholar only to have some rogue middle manager try to kick the fella out of the company.
Some basic things to have might be:
1. Educate staff on their rights.
2. A proper route to feedback complaints.
3. Ensure complaints are investigated promptly.
4. Even if staff do not complain, take initiative to assess the efficiency of managers, do polls often etc.
5. Provide proper counselling service, which is pretty much necessary to help newcomers ease into their job.One very common example is if the staff turnover rate under a certain manager is very much higher than other managers, then the problem might lie with the manager instead of the workers.
lot of politics and backstabbing in civil service.
i would advise new employees to be careful and be stern and strict with people who try to discredit u.
MINDEF lose a PR war.
They shall react earlier.
@@@@@@@@@@2
23 Mar 09 - Mindef breaks silence on dead doctor [Channel NewsAsia]
''Mindef breaks silence on dead doctor Allan Ooi
By Lin Yanqin, TODAY | Posted: 23 March 2009 0819 hrs
File picture of Allan Ooi |
||||||
SINGAPORE: For the first time since Singapore Armed Forces doctor
Allan Ooi was found dead under a bridge in Melbourne nearly three weeks
ago, the Ministry of Defence (Mindef) has come forward to address the
incident in detail.
In a letter to the press, Mindef stated that it wished to “clarify
certain facts regarding media reports on Capt (Dr) Ooi’s service in the
SAF and his scholarship bond”, and gave a rundown of the events leading
to his disappearance in October.
An alleged suicide note by Capt (Dr) Ooi, which has been circulating on
the Internet, has been stoking public speculation, in particular.
Chinese-language daily Lianhe Zaobao had referenced the alleged letter
and its contents, which touched on his dissatisfaction with his job and
his bond with the SAF.
Mindef confirmed in its letter that Capt (Dr) Ooi, who studied medicine
at the National University of Singapore under the SAF Local Study Award
(Medicine), had last year informed his superior at the Aeromedical
Centre that he was “unhappy at work and was considering leaving the
SAF”.
Recipients of the scholarship are required to serve a 12-year bond
after their housemanship, which Capt (Dr) Ooi completed in 2006.
“On 3 Oct 2008, his superior offered him the option of posting to an
appointment which he would be interested in,” wrote Mindef spokesman
Darius Lim in the letter.
“Capt (Dr) Ooi agreed to consider this option and to get back to his
superior in two weeks’ time. However, he did not do so. He also did not
submit any application to leave the SAF.”
Less than two weeks later, Capt (Dr) Ooi went Awol (absent without
official leave). He would have been scheduled to go for his hospital
posting at the end of this year.
In the letter, Mindef stated that SAF officers who take up sponsorship
have a responsibility to serve the full period of their bonds as
“substantial resources and time have been devoted to training them”.
“Otherwise, they will leave gaps in key positions in the SAF.
Nevertheless, if an officer wishes to leave the service early, he can
submit an application through a proper process. Approval to leave the
service will be granted only under strong and extenuating
circumstances,” wrote Colonel Lim.
Capt (Dr) Ooi was commissioned in 2006, and served for one and a half
years in the Air Force Medical Service. He was sponsored by the SAF in
January last year for further specialist training in Aviation Medicine
in the United Kingdom. He was posted to the Aeromedical Centre after
completing the course last July.
While it was not said if this would extend his stay in the SAF, a
12-year bond from a Local Study Award comprises six years spent in
hospitals to acquire clinical competency in fields needed by the SAF.
The other six years are spent in command and staff positions with the
SAF Medical Corps, performing duties such as the clinical care of SAF
servicemen and professional development of military medicine.
Melbourne police are still investigating the circumstances of Capt (Dr) Ooi’s death.
- TODAY/yb''
I just signed up because i wanted to comment on this topic.
I have a friend who was a regular in the force, also commited suicide few months back. Though his case was an identified depression case and the force did allow him to be released, but that did not prevent him to end his life.
For those who have served the force before will understand how the jail term is like. It is the main cause of all the factors that leads to a person like Mr MO to end his life.
Just like Mr MO, my fren had other problems too that caused him to com, but all i know is before he signed on, he was never a person to do it.
I think i have to conclude this by saying what my fren had told me, if you are someone who have aspiration, dont sign on, you will regret like me.