Originally posted by Batistuta 010:I just signed up because i wanted to comment on this topic.
I have a friend who was a regular in the force, also commited suicide few months back. Though his case was an identified depression case and the force did allow him to be released, but that did not prevent him to end his life.
For those who have served the force before will understand how the jail term is like. It is the main cause of all the factors that leads to a person like Mr MO to end his life.
Just like Mr MO, my fren had other problems too that caused him to com, but all i know is before he signed on, he was never a person to do it.
I think i have to conclude this by saying what my fren had told me, if you are someone who have aspiration, dont sign on, you will regret like me.
You sign up just to say these?? well, we long long ago knew it liao.
GoT sign PM or not??
Originally posted by Batistuta 010:I just signed up because i wanted to comment on this topic.
I have a friend who was a regular in the force, also commited suicide few months back. Though his case was an identified depression case and the force did allow him to be released, but that did not prevent him to end his life.
For those who have served the force before will understand how the jail term is like. It is the main cause of all the factors that leads to a person like Mr MO to end his life.
Just like Mr MO, my fren had other problems too that caused him to com, but all i know is before he signed on, he was never a person to do it.
I think i have to conclude this by saying what my fren had told me, if you are someone who have aspiration, dont sign on, you will regret like me.
but you already signed up,..u lack of aspiration hor.
You sign up just to say these?? well, we long long ago knew it liao.
GoT sign PM or not??
but you already signed up,..u lack of aspiration hor.
Comments smack of Insensitiveness, young man
Batistuta 010, no need to regret. At least, you have a job which provides you with steady income.
Talking about aspirations, it depends what you aspire to be.
You don't need to fulfill your aspirations through the Force.
You can work out your way outside work.
Just treat your current job as a source of income for you to pursue whatever aspirations you might have.
Keep low profile and don't mix with people with negative thoughts.
-ve People who keep saying "sian" or talk bad things about other ppl. This are the people who finds solace in pessimism and will be stuck in their state of pessimism.
You DO NOT want to be in a state of pessismism, right?
maybe just forget about the matter la. I mean, everyday got ppl unhappy la.
My work boss don't like me, colleague bully me shout at me also like that. Think i like?
Sometimes no choice wan mah. lol. But i still young, still got chance to improve myself and work in other place next time.
This is not the first time the Ooi family has been hit by scandals. His father is a gynae and was affected by a molest case many years back. He had to shut down his clinic for a few months as a result.
My source is from someone 30 years in the health industry.
Maybe what i comment here is a little unrelated depending on how u look at it. SAF should stop these crap, glamour ads on how cool it is to be a soldier. The worst ad depicted how SAF evolved from an elite phalanx chinese unit into a modern revolutionary armed forces.
The feedback i gather and from my own personal experience, dun sign up with the force at all unless u r a military die hard. The long term exposure to weapons, tanks and artillery will only make u feel useless compared to ur peers who are already in the "real world" working as engineers, doctors, lawyers etc.
If u r an aviation enthusiast, by all means sign up to be a pilot. But other than that, no pls.
Dr Allan Ooi seems to be a man of ideals. He signed on probably becos he saw a bright future with SAF. But look what happened? Long hours of admin work and those of us NS men, we know how they work right? A monkey also can dispense the medicine the way they do.
Fever? Rapidol
Cold? Rapidol
Pain in the body? Rapidol
Cough? Cough mixture
SAF docs work within very rigid guidelines. Creaitvity is stifled to the max.
SAF should stop those glamour ads cos they mislead.
Dr Ooi's parents have replied. Some of their points have to be addressed by the govt or SAF. Matters like -
1) why his service was extended by another three years because he attended a six months specialist course;
2) under what sort of condition can one breaks his bonds;
3) what really transpired when Dr Ooi asked for transfer.
These are matters of public interest.
Originally posted by dotaro:Comments smack of Insensitiveness, young man
You too, a complete lack of gender identification that you cannot even differentiate between a young gal and a young man.
Wear you specks
Originally posted by 4sg:Dr Ooi's parents have replied. Some of their points have to be addressed by the govt or SAF. Matters like -
1) why his service was extended by another three years because he attended a six months specialist course;
2) under what sort of condition can one breaks his bonds;
3) what really transpired when Dr Ooi asked for transfer.
These are matters of public interest.
No, we are interested in it. Whatever happen, there is no excuse for suicide, especially to a well educated man who even have had psychology training. To me, it is the taxpayers demises, his case shall serve as a warning to the govt or SAF to be more vigilant and strict in choosing future candidates for scholarship.
Originally posted by angel7030:
No, we are interested in it. Whatever happen, there is no excuse for suicide, especially to a well educated man who even have had psychology training. To me, it is the taxpayers demises, his case shall serve as a warning to the govt or SAF to be more vigilant and strict in choosing future candidates for scholarship.
He clearly stated in his suicide letter that he was not under the influence of drug or mental depression.
But he did stressed that he hated his work because the bulk of his duties were administrative in nature, like writing non medical publication report, and he had to spent long hours on them.
Yes, a demise of a doctor is a lost to the tax paying public but using a well trained doctor for administrative duties is a greater lost or a greater waste in the deployment of talent.
Originally posted by 4sg:He clearly stated in his suicide letter that he was not under the influence of drug or mental depression.
But he did stressed that he hated his work because the bulk of his duties were administrative in nature, like writing non medical publication report, and he had to spent long hours on them.
Yes, a demise of a doctor is a lost to the tax paying public but using a well trained doctor for administrative duties is a greater lost or a greater waste in the deployment of talent.
He is under a bond, a contractual agreement signed with eyes open, what do you expect?? And most likely, if i am not wrong, he might not be performing to his boss liking, therefore seconded him to do admin jobs. This is usually the case in working life too, if you are not performing, and yet you cannot be removed/terminated, the only thing yr immediate boss will do is to take you out of the main role.
As far as you and me are concern, we are just assuming things here, there were so many issues happening before he ended his life that we dunno. But terminating one own life is bad bad sin in term of all religion, great saddness and grief for his parents and family members, and lastly, we, the singaporeans. What a shame!
He is under a bond, a contractual agreement signed with eyes open, what do you expect?? And most likely, if i am not wrong, he might not be performing to his boss liking, therefore seconded him to do admin jobs. This is usually the case in working life too, if you are not performing, and yet you cannot be removed/terminated, the only thing yr immediate boss will do is to take you out of the main role.
As far as you and me are concern, we are just assuming things here, there were so many issues happening before he ended his life that we dunno. But terminating one own life is bad bad sin in term of all religion, great saddness and grief for his parents and family members, and lastly, we, the singaporeans. What a shame!
He signed the bond at 18 years old. I think his parents have the right to ask why the term of exit or the exit clause was not explained to him - at 18 yrs old.
I said this because when you read Mindef's reply - it reeked of double-speaks, there was no exit clause for him.
Put it this way, if his superior really thought he sucked, Dr Ooi really must have done the right think by asking for the exit. He did it the correct and gentlemently way.
Also, a doctor has gone thru' six years of training. No matter how sucked he was, how to justify the 14 to 16 (hrs - correction) of administrative workload?
Originally posted by 4sg:He signed the bond at 18 years old. I think his parents have the right to ask why the term of exit or the exit clause was not explained to him - at 18 yrs old.
I said this because when you read Mindef's reply - it reeked of double-speaks, there was no exit clause for him.
Put it this way, if his superior really thought he sucked, Dr Ooi really must have done the right think by asking for the exit. He did it the correct and gentlemently way.
Also, a doctor has gone thru' six years of training. No matter how sucked he was, how to justify the 14 to 16 years of administrative workload?
His family so rich, still sign bond, that is his FAMILY's issue. deprive someone else of the chance to have the scholarship, and at the same time tie him down for the contract. Issues that his parents should have condulted him about.
18 sounds like a decent age to decide. how old should he be than? 21?
Originally posted by skythewood:His family so rich, still sign bond, that is his FAMILY's issue. deprive someone else of the chance to have the scholarship, and at the same time tie him down for the contract. Issues that his parents should have condulted him about.
18 sounds like a decent age to decide. how old should he be than? 21?
Yes, his family is wealthy. Age is also not the factor here.
But he or his family would not have or let him signed the bond if they knew that there is no exit clause in the bond. That was the one of the points his family wrote to the press.
We have to wait for Mindef reply to see if this is true.
Originally posted by 4sg:Yes, his family is wealthy. Age is also not the factor here.
But he or his family would not have or let him signed the bond if they knew that there is no exit clause in the bond. That was the one of the points his family wrote to the press.
Yup, the family can say what they want. Heck, they can even smuggle the guy to australia, and could theoretically hide him there forever.
Is it a big surprise that there is no exit clause? Do people sign bond with the intention of breaking it? If really that is the intention, than ask about it loh.
If the scholar is a poor kid, not a rich kid, the story will be very different.
Performance not good, the poor kid has to improve himself and solve the problem. He won't even think about breaking the bond because he can't afford to pay back the money AND he is grateful for the chance to pursue his studies with the aid of the scholarship. And run away to Australia is not an option, as he have to live up to the expectations of his parents and give them a good life.
Think should stop giving scholarship to rich kids. they won't appreciate the scholarship, and will deprive of someone who does.
Originally posted by 4sg:He signed the bond at 18 years old. I think his parents have the right to ask why the term of exit or the exit clause was not explained to him - at 18 yrs old.
Also, a doctor has gone thru' six years of training. No matter how sucked he was, how to justify the 14 to 16 years of administrative workload?
dun tell me this is like another lemon kind of bonds structure. And even lemon bonds only repaid those who are old and uneducated, deemed as mis selling.
Of course at 18yo, u need your parents consent, same goes to me and you during our application for teritiary studies..the law stipulated that you (including yr parents or guardians) you signed with yr eyes opened and not closed.
Working life or even army life should be the same, once you get a suck up boss, that is it, you have to take it, if you cannot beat him/her, join him/her better. But our friend choose to end his life, that is really no excuses to do that...dun tell me he thot life is alway a silver plate presented in front of him, it is so lame to take his own life just like this, even if he can get transferred out, i wonder how on earth is he able to take his other aspect of life.
And frankly, i hope i dun get a bf like this.
dun tell me this is like another lemon kind of bonds structure. And even lemon bonds only repaid those who are old and uneducated, deemed as mis selling.
Of course at 18yo, u need your parents consent, same goes to me and you during our application for teritiary studies..the law stipulated that you (including yr parents or guardians) you signed with yr eyes opened and not closed.
Working life or even army life should be the same, once you get a suck up boss, that is it, you have to take it, if you cannot beat him/her, join him/her better. But our friend choose to end his life, that is really no excuses to do that...dun tell me he thot life is alway a silver plate presented in front of him, it is so lame to take his own life just like this, even if he can get transferred out, i wonder how on earth is he able to take his other aspect of life.
And frankly, i hope i dun get a bf like this.
you still single meh?
Originally posted by skythewood:you still single meh?
Ya, Why?? u want to be my bf ar??? u no scare my nagging and teasing ar?? Me go work liao. bye bye
reading at all the reply make me laugh
Ya, Why?? u want to be my bf ar??? u no scare my nagging and teasing ar?? Me go work liao. bye bye
haha, yup, your nagging and teasing can scare guys away. have fun at work!
Originally posted by 4sg:Yes, his family is wealthy. Age is also not the factor here.
But he or his family would not have or let him signed the bond if they knew that there is no exit clause in the bond. That was the one of the points his family wrote to the press.We have to wait for Mindef reply to see if this is true.
I curious cause when late Dr Ooi decided to go to Australia n stayed there for five months, how come nobody from his family flew to Australia to persuade him to come
back?
We don't know, nobody here knows. To say I know would be a smack of arrogance.
But maybe he hide his problem from his family...maybe....