I do not support this. Our dialect is what makes us unique. Different countries have different cultures and traditions. This is what makes a specific community unique. I personally do not think it will compromise our other languages.
AND it does not add to a child's burden. It is not a MUST to learn the dialect. Learn if you want. I mainly use dialect to talk my grandmother. Thats how I learn hokkien. I think that we should keep our stand and advocate the use of dialect. To retain our culture and tradition
Nowadays, teenagers can only converse in english and mandarin. Some do not even know how to speak their dialect.
Imagine Singapore, without dialect, people ordering food or conversing in English and Chinese. What will become Uniquely Singapore?
Originally posted by Bangulzai:i quote from a book can?
u all know who is Sim Wong Hoo?
her sister 沈秀梅wrote a book about their mother 《我的妈妈》
a very touching part, when talking about how women was suppressed all along in the olden society, and the Speak Mandarin Campaign had even reduced any meagre chances for these monolingual dialect-speaking women to express their views:
她也说:“亚洲女性很多时候都没有声音,尤其是讲å�Žè¯è¿�动之å�Žï¼Œè®²æ–¹è¨€çš„妈妈没有声音”
meaning: Asian women had no voice, especially after the Speak Mandarin Campaign, dialect speaking mothers does not have a voice any more
ask her go to the wet market, alot of aunties there with dialects shouting here and there...but as i notice them, they are a happy lots...speaking mandarin will only bring us nearer to a second PRC state
must look from the point of whole society / political arena / education sector
the writer meant that in the society now, there is no place for dialects except what you said, market and home oni nia
he is obviously human, but i agree with you he is loyal like a dog, or a loyal dog, as you said.
I think he is nothing but an anglo dog.
He doesn't respect the culture of local people. Chinese but act like anglo dog.
He is not fit to be a leader of Singapore.
Comrade skythewood, do you argee?
Originally posted by Only-Way-4-Destiny!:I do not support this. Our dialect is what makes us unique. Different countries have different cultures and traditions. This is what makes a specific community unique. I personally do not think it will compromise our other languages.
AND it does not add to a child's burden. It is not a MUST to learn the dialect. Learn if you want. I mainly use dialect to talk my grandmother. Thats how I learn hokkien. I think that we should keep our stand and advocate the use of dialect. To retain our culture and tradition
Nowadays, teenagers can only converse in english and mandarin. Some do not even know how to speak their dialect.
Imagine Singapore, without dialect, people ordering food or conversing in English and Chinese. What will become Uniquely Singapore?
if you stay in , let's say guang dong, a province of china. the culture is to speak cantonese. everybody agrees.
but for singapore, i don't really agree, it's up to the parents how they want to mold their children, to pass on the culture that works best.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:he is obviously human, but i agree with you he is loyal like a dog, or a loyal dog, as you said.
I think he is nothing but an anglo dog.
He doesn't respect the culture of local people. Chinese but act like anglo dog.
He is not fit to be a leader of Singapore.
i don't know what is anglo dog.
I not sure which part of the culture of local people he don't respect. people here are not... really local. the national language is actually Malay. He gives the malay community alot of respect.
well, you may not think he is fit to be a leader, but seems like many people disagree with you... maybe post more about why you think he is not fit to convince them.
but for singapore, i don't really agree
Comrade skythewood, why you don't agree?
I not sure which part of the culture of local people he don't respect.
Dialect culture of local chinese.
Lee Kuan Yew sees no value in it.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:but for singapore, i don't really agree
Comrade skythewood, why you don't agree?
refer to the same post. i explained the reason.
Comrade skythewood, what is the reason? I don't see it.
cant imagine if LKY tells china to do the same thing. Mandarin they must keep, English is essential to connect to the world. So that means....dialects like Shanghainese, Sichuanese, Canto and Hokkien included all die la?!?!?!?!
5000 years of chinese history. congratulations.
Originally posted by Rock^Star:cant imagine if LKY tells china to do the same thing. Mandarin they must keep, English is essential to connect to the world. So that means....dialects like Shanghainese, Sichuanese, Canto and Hokkien included all die la?!?!?!?!
2200 years actually. Considering Mandarin was implemented by Qin Shi Huang and current dialects evolved from it ...
cant imagine if LKY tells china to do the same thing. Mandarin they must keep, English is essential to connect to the world. So that means....dialects like Shanghainese, Sichuanese, Canto and Hokkien included all die la?!?!?!?!
But that is taking advice from an anglo dog.
Why should China take cultural advice from an anglo dog?
Doesn't make any sense to me.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:I not sure which part of the culture of local people he don't respect.
Dialect culture of local chinese.
Lee Kuan Yew sees no value in it.
i don't really care about lee kuan yew, you can bash him whatever, more interested in the dialect part.
i see no future of dialect in singapore. The african americans are from.... africa. they don't speak like africans. the white americans don't speak like the british. are you saying they have no culture? why must dialect = culture?
sure, it's cool if you can speak dialect, but for practical reasons, i don't see the value of dialects.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:refer to the same post. i explained the reason.
don't call me comrade.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:refer to the same post. i explained the reason.
Comrade??? OMG, communist. Nowadays still got communist meh, me thot extinct here liao..
why must dialect = culture?
Dialect is = culture.
That is true comrade skythewood.
Culture means the way of life, how people live their lives.
Language is how a people communicate with each other daily.
It is part of a people's way of life. It is culture.
It seems you don't have a proper definition of what is culture comrade skythewood.
Originally posted by Rock^Star:cant imagine if LKY tells china to do the same thing. Mandarin they must keep, English is essential to connect to the world. So that means....dialects like Shanghainese, Sichuanese, Canto and Hokkien included all die la?!?!?!?!
haha... the language of chinese evolved alot over the years. in the past, people in one part of the country won't travel too far from their village. now, if the china government don't do something about it, they will have a country with fragmented by language barriers.
the no dialect approach is not applicable in china, singapore is a very very different scenario.
Originally posted by Stevenson101:
2200 years actually. Considering Mandarin was implemented by Qin Shi Huang and current dialects evolved from it ...
Hmm is it? I dun think so. Dialects had a closely interlinked relationship but ultimately, they evolved on their own. Mandarin was just one of them. It was only in a vote in the 1920s that established mandarin as the national language with cantonese following closely behind.
Originally posted by Stevenson101:
English also evolved from latin and greece, so we should study latin and greece too.
so english is also a dialect??
Originally posted by skythewood:haha... the language of chinese evolved alot over the years. in the past, people in one part of the country won't travel too far from their village. now, if the china government don't do something about it, they will have a country with fragmented by language barriers.
the no dialect approach is not applicable in china, singapore is a very very different scenario.
Same ma.....ultimately the whole of china will become developed enough to connect to the world. What's the point of dialects by then right? According to LKY's theory.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:why must dialect = culture?
Dialect is = culture.
yawn... fuck you. i told you don't call me comrade
nope, dialect is not culture. that is just a language. last time the chinese words damn complicated. than they simplify it. is that losing their culture? time to move on with the times.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:why must dialect = culture?
Dialect is = culture.
Culture means the way of life, how people live their lives.
Language is how a people communicate with each other daily.
It is part of a people's way of life. It is culture.
It seems you don't have a proper definition of what is culture comrade skythewood.
me call ISD
Originally posted by angel7030:
English also evolved from latin and greece, so we should study latin and greece too.
so english is also a dialect??
Ah come on lady, get ur facts right la......English just adapted latin and greek and many other languages into its own but to say evolved? Too far fetched.
Originally posted by Rock^Star:
Same ma.....ultimately the whole of china will become developed enough to connect to the world. What's the point of dialects by then right? According to LKY's theory.
If you got a whole province speaking the same dialect, it is easy to carry on. if you got an island crowded with many races, and many dialects, it is not that easy to carry on. spot the difference.