how does one speak chinese ? i don't.. i speak mandarin. and i do see the point of LKY, a few of my 'white' friends here in Canada are learning how to speak chinese. opps, mandarin i meant.. my bad.
i do see the point of LKY
He is quite old already, I seriously doubt whether he is sane enough to be in government.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:i do see the point of LKY
He is quite old already, I seriously doubt whether he is sane enough to be in government.
He is still clinching his position just like clinching his dear life and not willing to let go.
Time to let go, old fart! Or else your son might blame you for not letting him fully take over.
Lee Hsien Loong: Life would be easier if Lee Kuan Yew is not my father
Originally posted by Ah Chia:Lee Hsien Loong: Life would be easier if Lee Kuan Yew is not my father
I help you post, so more people easier to read...
March 20, 2009
By Eugene Yeo
Life would be easier if the mainstream media stop spinning such disgusting lies to spoil my day.
Below is an excerpt of PM Lee’s interview with BBC in which he defended his family’s heavy involvement in Singapore’s sovereign wealth fund.
Source: Straits Times, 19 March 2009
Save for the Lee family themselves, I seriously doubt anybody in their right mind will buy the words of PM Lee.
PM Lee is insulting the intelligence of all Singaporeans by proclaiming that MM Lee is the best man to lead GIC. GIC is a financial institution charged with overseeing our reserves.
With due respect to MM Lee, he is a lawyer and was never trained in finance. Neither had he worked in any of the reputable financial giants such as Morgan Stanley, Goldman Sachs or Citibank. How can somebody with literally no experience in the finance industry be allowed to manage our largest SWF?
I am sure there are many more Singaporeans out there who can replace MM Lee as Chairman of GIC and do a better job than him. He is not irreplaceable. In fact, he should be replaced soon.
Figures don”t lie. GIC has lost some S$50 billion dollars (and probably more) so far under the leadership of MM Lee and this is the result of paying top money for the wrong “talent”.
In other countries, the Chairman will be sacked or forced to step down to take responsibility for the disastrous results. Will PM Lee please do the right thing and hold his father accountable for the losses?
PM Lee can still afford to laugh because his position is so secure that there are nobody from within and outside his party who can challenge him. Life is so much easier for him precisely because his father is MM Lee.
This is the way the PAP has exerted its control over all the important pillars of the nation such as the media and civil service to make its system work. Sorry Mr Lee, but I do not understand how the PAP system is working for the benefit of the people.
Singaporeans are desperate to render their judgement when elections come if only PM Lee is bold enough to abolish the GRC system and allow single ward contests in all constituencies in Singapore.
The PAP never had the mandate of the people to change the rules as and when it likes to suit its own partisan interests. Not when almost 50% of the electorate has no chance to vote and one third of those who did so voted for the opposition.
Either PM Lee is living in his own ivory tower when he said those words or he is merely putting up a “wayang” to sound credible.
There is a Chinese idiom called “Pointing the deer as a horse” - even when the truth is laid blatantly naked for all to see, they persist in believing in the untruth.
When will PM Lee finally wake up from his deep slumber?
Life would be easier for all Singaporeans if he resigns from his post now and call for a free and fair election with immediate effect. Don’t you agree with me?
Think LSL still can't forget his 1st wife.... "...Ho Ching was not my wife..."
Originally posted by Hawk Eye:Think LSL still can't forget his 1st wife.... "...Ho Ching was not my wife..."
He has a first wife? Now that's something I don't know...
Originally posted by Vendettus:He has a first wife? Now that's something I don't know...
Yes! His first wife gave birth to an Albino son.
Rumours has it that she brings bad luck to the family and LKY dun like her.
In the end, she committed suicide due to pressures and stress.
Originally posted by Hawk Eye:
Yes! His first wife gave birth to an Albino son.Rumours has it that she brings bad luck to the family and LKY dun like her.
In the end, she committed suicide due to pressures and stress.
COMMITED SUICIDE?!
...why am I always the last to know?
Originally posted by Vendettus:COMMITED SUICIDE?!
...why am I always the last to know?
That was dunno how many yrs liao.
Now LHL got Ho Ching and also another son.
This son is the 2LT that made alot of noise in mindef.
Some Malays and Tamils know dialects, but the Powerful Ruler LKY wants people to speak more Mandarin. How Can Stop? I dont know, but if he is the Big Winner Again, then where will our Victory Treasure end up? I hope there is Zero Gravity, because then we will fly at full speed and Huat Chai.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:I feel deeply ashamed to have Lee Kuan Yew as a leader of Singapore.
Other leaders defend their culture and love their culture, but Lee Kuan Yew says that my hokkien dialect culture has no "value".
I feel disgraced by him.
Originally posted by Timaeus:
I quite agree with you here. It seems that MM Lee seems to place importance on the major powers of the world currently..does this mean if some random alien country prospers, we will have to learn that alien language? How sad..
hmmm... did MM Lee ask people to learn a new language?
haha, you have just been tricked by the anti-Lee propaganda.to believe something that he didn't propose. even the topic of this thread is fake. nice alien country analogy, it helps everyone understand the misconception.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:According to Lee Kuan Yew, the value of a language is based on its usefuless, not on culture or identity.
That is why he suppresses dialect and promotes mandarin.
Will malay and tamil singaporeans be missing out if they can't speak mandarin?
Should Malays and Tamils Singaporeans learn Mandarin?
I would like to hear the views of fellow malay and tamil singaporeans.
This is what he knows value, but does he know about heritage.
What profit is there when you gain the world, but loses your soul.
That's what Singapore is , soul-less.
Originally posted by Timaeus:
I quite agree with you here. It seems that MM Lee seems to place importance on the major powers of the world currently..does this mean if some random alien country prospers, we will have to learn that alien language? How sad..
you go to school because you want to be an educated person.
you learn a language because you want to communicate with more people.
you speak your mother tongue, to be identified with your cultures.
if you do all that just because you want to make money, and be a major power, you will end up like the big fat cats at the wall street, the blood suckers in AIG, you would make a lot of money, but you have no morale, or like mancha said, NO SOUL.
He is really quite worthless as a national leader; Lee Kuan Yew.
Imagine Hu Jintao or Ma Ying Jeou go tell their people their dialect is worthless, stick to english and mandarin.
He is a souless, cultureless, money minded freak.
Originally posted by Hawk Eye:
That was dunno how many yrs liao.Now LHL got Ho Ching and also another son.
This son is the 2LT that made alot of noise in mindef.
Is it, OOOHhhhh!!! the son handsome or not ar???
If i can be his wife...WOW!!!! Ho Ching become my mother in law and LHL my father in law and LKY my...granpa in law...wow!!! rich liao...and powerful liao..
His son in which unit and camp ar??
Originally posted by Ah Chia:He is really quite worthless as a national leader; Lee Kuan Yew.
Imagine Hu Jintao or Ma Ying Jeou go tell their people their dialect is worthless, stick to english and mandarin.
He is a souless, cultureless, money minded freak.
Uncle Chia, like it or not, your existence here is because of LKY, and you said he is worthless?? C'mon la Uncle, give the man some credits ok.
Originally posted by sgdiehard:you go to school because you want to be an educated person.
you learn a language because you want to communicate with more people.
you speak your mother tongue, to be identified with your cultures.
if you do all that just because you want to make money, and be a major power, you will end up like the big fat cats at the wall street, the blood suckers in AIG, you would make a lot of money, but you have no morale, or like mancha said, NO SOUL.
There are alot of peoples with no more soul,..what you expect, they sold their soul to greed and power..and end up with no self too. Peoples are willing to lost their identity and morale in return for richness and power.
If God created the world,
Angel will look over it, and
Men will destroy it
Uncle Chia, like it or not, your existence here is because of LKY,
and you said he is worthless??
My existence here is because of Lee Kuan Yew?
He is not my father.
Please don't insult my parents.
They are not cultureless, power hungry money minded freaks.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:
Uncle Chia, like it or not, your existence here is because of LKY, and you said he is worthless??My existence here is because of Lee Kuan Yew?
He is not my father.
Like it or not, he build singapore as what it is today, and you got the luxury to post, surf internet and make comment in your home sweet home is also part of his creation. Therefore your existence here is connected to LKY.
And frankly speaking, Uncle, without LKY, guess you got nothing to post.
Singapore turned into a freak by Lee Kuan Yew?
SINGAPORE is a "freak", because it is lacking in terms of geopolitics, economics, size, population and culture, said former communist leader Fang Chuang Pi, dubbed the "Plen" by Mr Lee Kuan Yew.
He added that, in his assessment, the country had "narrow room for manoeuvre in various areas and will run into difficulties in future".
He gave this assessment of Singapore as an unnatural country, a freak of history, in an interview with Malaysia's Chinese-language newspaper, Nanyang Siang Pau, in which he disclosed that he had discussed the Republic's prospects with the Senior Minister when they met in Beijing in August 1995.

Mr
Fang and his wife at the interview in
Thailand. Pic/ Nanyang Siang Pau
He told Mr Lee: "I said that Singapore was a 'freak', but a 'freak' was often a genius, and most geniuses died young. For in terms of geopolitics, economics, size and population, Singapore is congenitally deficient."
The two men also discussed the issue of culture, he added.
"I said that using a certain language to create a culture, the culture created can at best be a commercial culture, or technology culture, or we may call it pasar culture. It has no roots, and identifies itself with a certain material interest. It is the product of expediency.
"It is like duckweed, floating at the harbour. When it absorbs fertilisers, it will flourish very quickly. But once it rains and floods set in, it will perish," he said in an interview conducted in a restaurant in Haadyai, near the Thai-Malaysian border.
Mr Fang, 71, was a powerful linkman for the now-defunct Malayan Communist Party (MCP) in the 1950s and 1960s. He held several secret meetings with Mr Lee, one of which led to the cooperation between the MCP and the People's Action Party (PAP) in fighting against British colonialism.
He became a legendary figure for his ability to "disappear" and avoid arrest and was reported to have left Singapore in 1961 for Indonesia, from where he directed the MCP's underground activities.

He and more than 20 Singaporeans who were ex-MCP members now live in Thailand, following a peace accord signed in 1989 by the MCP, and Thai and Malaysian governments.
Nanyang's editor Lee Soo Puang and senior feature writer Kua Kim Teck, who interviewed him, described him as "no longer the mystery underground man or the guerilla fighter", noting that he had worn a long-sleeved shirt and long pants, and carried a handbag.
"His simple attire made him look like a retiree," said the interviewers, adding that "his mind remains alert and he is also sharp-tongued".
In the wide-ranging interview, Mr Fang acknowledged the economic progress that Singapore had made over the past three decades under Mr Lee and his People's Action Party.
The country was "economically advanced", he noted, adding that it might not have achieved this progress if the leftist forces had taken control in the 1950s and 1960s.
"If we look at the experiences of communist countries, Singapore could be chaotic and its economy very bad today.
"But I will dispute this statement: If there was no Lee Kuan Yew, Singapore would sink. This was only a possibility.
"Singapore now is economically advanced, but politically backward ... If they (Mr Lee and PAP) were not there to rule, Singapore's politics could be very active and vibrant," he said in the interview, published in several parts over the past week in the Malaysian newspaper.
Asked about the merger between Malaysia and Singapore in 1963, he said that the issue had created a "serious sense of distrust" between him and Mr Lee because it was raised suddenly. All along, he had believed the merger was "merely an objective, not an item on the agenda", he said.
He added that Mr Lee had explained when they met in 1995 that he had not lied or misled him intentionally. But when the Tengku agreed to cooperate suddenly, he decided to go ahead with the plan for a merger.
Asked what he thought of a merger now, he said: "I think Singapore and Malaysia must merge.
"It was an illegitimate split. The brief period of merger during 1963 showed that conditions were not conducive then.
"Thirty years have passed and both Singapore and Malaysia have since developed in their own directions. It looks like the separation is final.
"But more people will begin to realise that a merger will benefit both countries as well as their people. If both sides are separated, both parties are being weakened."
* On the Republic:
"Singapore was a 'freak', but a 'freak' was often a genius, and most geniuses died young. For in terms of geopolitics, economics, size and population, Singapore is congenitally deficient ... I think that Singapore has narrow room for manoeuvre in various areas and will run into difficulties in the future."
* On progress made by Mr Lee and the PAP:
"If
we look at the experiences of communist countries,
Singapore could be chaotic and its economy very bad
today. But I will dispute this statement: if there
was no Lee Kuan Yew, Singapore would sink."
* On merger with Malaysia:
"But more people will begin to realise that a merger will benefit both countries as well as their people. If both sides are separated, both parties are being weakened."
Like it or not, he build singapore as what it is today, and you got the luxury to post, surf internet and make comment in your home sweet home is also part of his creation.
I would rather follow someone like Lim Chin Siong than a freak like Lee Kuan Yew.
freak or not freak...you have to give that man a Tiger