Final Message to the Singaporean Youths
In
a rare public interview in 1997 Radio Corporation of Singapore, Dr Toh
passionately bemoaned the lack of idealism and creativity among the
young and its implications for the future of Singapore. He said:
“I would say the generation of the ‘50s and ‘60s took the plunge into politics without ever calculating the costs of the risk and the benefits to be gained. They were driven by ideology. Today’s generation has no culture and averse to taking political risk. Really, an interest in politics is very necessary for the future. But I cannot blame the present generations, because they see the heavy-handed response by the government to dissenting views, even though they know that these matters involve their daily lives.
So the result is that we have produced a younger generation who are meek and therefore very calculating. They are less independent-thinking and lack in initiative. It does not bode well for the emergence of future leaders in politics and business. Robots and computers can be programmed or if you like, can be trained. But the trouble, of course, is that computers lack soul and what we need in Singapore is soul. Because it is soul that makes society.”
http://singaporegovt.blogspot.com/2006/02/part-ii-true-founders-of-singapore-man.html
Originally posted by Ah Chia:Singapore turned into a freak by Lee Kuan Yew?
SINGAPORE is a "freak", because it is lacking in terms of geopolitics, economics, size, population and culture, said former communist leader Fang Chuang Pi, dubbed the "Plen" by Mr Lee Kuan Yew.
He added that, in his assessment, the country had "narrow room for manoeuvre in various areas and will run into difficulties in future".
He gave this assessment of Singapore as an unnatural country, a freak of history, in an interview with Malaysia's Chinese-language newspaper, Nanyang Siang Pau, in which he disclosed that he had discussed the Republic's prospects with the Senior Minister when they met in Beijing in August 1995.
Mr Fang and his wife at the interview in
Thailand. Pic/ Nanyang Siang PauHe told Mr Lee: "I said that Singapore was a 'freak', but a 'freak' was often a genius, and most geniuses died young. For in terms of geopolitics, economics, size and population, Singapore is congenitally deficient."
The two men also discussed the issue of culture, he added.
"I said that using a certain language to create a culture, the culture created can at best be a commercial culture, or technology culture, or we may call it pasar culture. It has no roots, and identifies itself with a certain material interest. It is the product of expediency.
"It is like duckweed, floating at the harbour. When it absorbs fertilisers, it will flourish very quickly. But once it rains and floods set in, it will perish," he said in an interview conducted in a restaurant in Haadyai, near the Thai-Malaysian border.
Mr Fang, 71, was a powerful linkman for the now-defunct Malayan Communist Party (MCP) in the 1950s and 1960s. He held several secret meetings with Mr Lee, one of which led to the cooperation between the MCP and the People's Action Party (PAP) in fighting against British colonialism.
He became a legendary figure for his ability to "disappear" and avoid arrest and was reported to have left Singapore in 1961 for Indonesia, from where he directed the MCP's underground activities.
He and more than 20 Singaporeans who were ex-MCP members now live in Thailand, following a peace accord signed in 1989 by the MCP, and Thai and Malaysian governments.
Nanyang's editor Lee Soo Puang and senior feature writer Kua Kim Teck, who interviewed him, described him as "no longer the mystery underground man or the guerilla fighter", noting that he had worn a long-sleeved shirt and long pants, and carried a handbag.
"His simple attire made him look like a retiree," said the interviewers, adding that "his mind remains alert and he is also sharp-tongued".
In the wide-ranging interview, Mr Fang acknowledged the economic progress that Singapore had made over the past three decades under Mr Lee and his People's Action Party.
The country was "economically advanced", he noted, adding that it might not have achieved this progress if the leftist forces had taken control in the 1950s and 1960s.
"If we look at the experiences of communist countries, Singapore could be chaotic and its economy very bad today.
"But I will dispute this statement: If there was no Lee Kuan Yew, Singapore would sink. This was only a possibility.
"Singapore now is economically advanced, but politically backward ... If they (Mr Lee and PAP) were not there to rule, Singapore's politics could be very active and vibrant," he said in the interview, published in several parts over the past week in the Malaysian newspaper.
Asked about the merger between Malaysia and Singapore in 1963, he said that the issue had created a "serious sense of distrust" between him and Mr Lee because it was raised suddenly. All along, he had believed the merger was "merely an objective, not an item on the agenda", he said.
He added that Mr Lee had explained when they met in 1995 that he had not lied or misled him intentionally. But when the Tengku agreed to cooperate suddenly, he decided to go ahead with the plan for a merger.
Asked what he thought of a merger now, he said: "I think Singapore and Malaysia must merge.
"It was an illegitimate split. The brief period of merger during 1963 showed that conditions were not conducive then.
"Thirty years have passed and both Singapore and Malaysia have since developed in their own directions. It looks like the separation is final.
"But more people will begin to realise that a merger will benefit both countries as well as their people. If both sides are separated, both parties are being weakened."
* On the Republic:
"Singapore was a 'freak', but a 'freak' was often a genius, and most geniuses died young. For in terms of geopolitics, economics, size and population, Singapore is congenitally deficient ... I think that Singapore has narrow room for manoeuvre in various areas and will run into difficulties in the future."
* On progress made by Mr Lee and the PAP:
"If we look at the experiences of communist countries, Singapore could be chaotic and its economy very bad today. But I will dispute this statement: if there was no Lee Kuan Yew, Singapore would sink."
* On merger with Malaysia:
"But more people will begin to realise that a merger will benefit both countries as well as their people. If both sides are separated, both parties are being weakened."
actually it would be funny is malay/tamil know how to speak in chinese but no idea how to speak in malay/tamil
and funnier is chinese no idea how to speak chinese
i actually don't like ppl who is chinese but no fucking idea how to speak it..
Money minded, power obsessed, cultureless, soulless anglo freak.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:Final Message to the Singaporean Youths
In a rare public interview in 1997 Radio Corporation of Singapore, Dr Toh passionately bemoaned the lack of idealism and creativity among the young and its implications for the future of Singapore. He said:http://singaporegovt.blogspot.com/2006/02/part-ii-true-founders-of-singapore-man.html
when culture is fully gone.. i wonder will the govt start taking away our technology ![]()
“I would say the generation of the ‘50s and ‘60s took the plunge into politics without ever calculating the costs of the risk and the benefits to be gained. They were driven by ideology.
Today’s
generation has no culture and averse to taking political risk.
Really, an interest in politics is very necessary for the future.
But I cannot blame the present generations, because they see the
heavy-handed response by the government to dissenting views, even
though they know that these matters involve their daily
lives.
So the result is that we have produced a younger
generation who are meek and therefore very calculating. They are
less independent-thinking and lack in initiative. It does not bode
well for the emergence of future leaders in politics and
business. Robots and computers can be programmed or
if you like, can be trained. But the trouble, of course, is that
computers lack
soul and what we need in Singapore is soul. Because it is soul that
makes society.”
Also, it takes away the child's time and energy from mastering English and Mandarin, he said In addition, English and Mandarin differ in their vocabulary, phonetics and syntax and adding on dialects will cause 'negative interferences' in the learning of the two languages, he added.
In defending the decision to promote Mandarin over dialects, he also noted that the value of a language is its usefulness.
I won't allow my children to grow up and turn into money minded, power obsessed, cultureless, soulless anglo freaks like Lee Kuan Yew.
I won't allow that.
culture changes... last time if a guy gets a girl pregnent, both are drowned in the river... 浸猪笼.. "drowning pig cage", for disgracing the village. having sex before marriage is against the chinese values
now they accept abortion and marriage..
last time girls can not wear revealing stuff, it goes against the value of 礼义廉耻, in the early days, people kao bei kao bu, say it erodes the chinese value, losing our culture.
now they are ok with it.
if you are a guy who bang your girlfriend before marriage, condone your family and friends to wear revealing clothes, do not respect your elders and teachers as per doctrine of confucious, did you lose your culture?
Double standards. one set of standard for yourself, one set of standards for others.
In defending the decision to promote Mandarin over dialects, he also noted that the value of a language is its usefulness.
With Mandarin, the reach is far greater than dialects: 'If you speak Hokkien or Cantonese, you reach some 60 million in Fujian and Taiwan, or about 100 million in Guangdong and Hong Kong. With Mandarin, you can speak to 1,300 million Chinese from all provinces in China,' he said.
Mr Lee was speaking at the launch of the annual Speak Mandarin Campaign, which he introduced 30 years ago.
Since then, most Chinese Singaporeans have adopted Mandarin over other dialects.
Robots and computers can be programmed or if you like, can be trained.
But the trouble, of course, is that computers lack soul and what we need in Singapore is soul. Because it is soul that makes society.”
Freak, everything turns to freak., because of one man.
He is the cancer of Singapore.
But he outlived most of his adversaries, how can he be a cancer freak???
Last time, me pri school, they told me Mandarin is Second language, later at upper primary grade, they changed to mother tongue, i thot mother tongue should belong to what mother speak, my mom speak Hokkien, so i should learn hokkien...why they call it mother tongue??
Originally posted by angel7030:But he outlived most of his adversaries, how can he be a cancer freak???
Last time, me pri school, they told me Mandarin is Second language, later at upper primary grade, they changed to mother tongue, i thot mother tongue should belong to what mother speak, my mom speak Hokkien, so i should learn hokkien...why they call it mother tongue??
ya lor... my mum talk to me in hokkien also leh hardly heard her speak in chinese
Originally posted by youyayu:ya lor... my mum talk to me in hokkien also leh hardly heard her speak in chinese
now they said mother tongue is mandarin, whose mother are they talking about leh??? why no father tongue??
Originally posted by angel7030:
now they said mother tongue is mandarin, whose mother are they talking about leh??? why no father tongue??
ya lor whos mother
Originally posted by angel7030:
mother tongue is the language of your mother land, the place of your origin.
tamil for indians, malay for.... malays. mandarin for chinese. Since there are fucking alot of dialect, the lesson is conducted in mandarin. This is to follow the format of taiwan and china. who also conduct lessons in mandarin
so... is taiwan losing it's culture since it doesn't conduct majority of lessons in hokkien?
Originally posted by youyayu:
ya lor whos mother
yalor, when i visited my malaysian relatives, i told them i learned mother tongue in singapore, they all laughed too, they asked what the hell is there to learn about mother tongue?? They thot i was cracking a joke as i do like to joke. Real malu.
so... is taiwan losing it's culture since it doesn't conduct majority of lessons in hokkien?
Did the government suppress dialects in media there in Taiwan?
Originally posted by skythewood:mother tongue is the language of your mother land, the place of your origin.
tamil for indians, malay for.... malays. mandarin for chinese. Since there are fucking alot of dialect, the lesson is conducted in mandarin. This is to follow the format of taiwan and china. who also conduct lessons in mandarin
no cause at least taiwan govt don't ban hokkien to be use in taiwan tv programme
Their leaders are proud of their culture, want to promote it, unlike our local anglo freak here.
Sad.
Why can't we Singaporeans have a normal leader like other countries?
Why must we have an anglo freak?
Why?
Originally posted by youyayu:no cause at least taiwan govt don't ban hokkien to be use in taiwan tv programme
so singapore should use which dialect in tv? cantonese hokkien hakka hai nan? the easiest way is to use language that all chinese can understand. agree or not.
now answer the taiwan question. are they losing their culture since majority of lesson is not taught in dialect?
double standards. one set of standard for yourself, one set of standard for others.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:no cause at least taiwan govt don't ban hokkien to be use in taiwan tv programme
Their leaders are proud of their culture, unlike our anglo freak here.
yea..
so singapore should use which dialect in tv? cantonese hokkien hakka hai nan?
Majority is Hokkien.
So the answer is obvious.
I turn on the tv and see no tamil or malay local channels... was there a ban on malay or tamil?
i turn my cable tv and i see cantonese drama serial. wait, some guy said there was a ban, so why am i seeing this on a tv channel shown in singapore? was some guy lying?
double standards. one set of standard for yourself, one set of standard for others.
What do you mean comrade?
What double standard?
Freak is freak, there is no double standard.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:so singapore should use which dialect in tv? cantonese hokkien hakka hai nan?
Majority is Hokkien.
So the answer is obvious.
say it out. which dialect should be shown on tv? why never answer taiwan question? especially after i answered your question?
Originally posted by skythewood:I turn on the tv and see no tamil or malay local channels... was there a ban on malay or tamil?
i turn my cable tv and i see cantonese drama serial. wait, some guy said there was a ban, so why am i seeing this on a tv channel shown in singapore? was some guy lying?
so are they singapore programme?
i turn my cable tv and i see cantonese drama serial. wait, some guy said there was a ban,
Stop lying, I am talkiing about state media, you go talk cable Tv.
Please lah, argue also argue properly lah.
Sheesh.