Originally posted by skythewood:how come hokkien become cantonese?
hokkien movies there is not alot. taiwan normally produce tv series more then movie.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:tell me one hokkien movie that was screened in singapore that was popular.
Money No Enough.
Got a lot of hokkien.
But all censored when shown on state media.
By the way comrade, you are which ethnic group?
-
Originally posted by Ah Chia:tell me one hokkien movie that was screened in singapore that was popular.
Money No Enough.
Got a lot of hokkien.
like that also can? =.=
Originally posted by youyayu:hokkien movies there is not alot. taiwan normally produce tv series more then movie.
sure, which one more popular, hokkien one or mandarin one?
That sickening anglo freak and his disgusting policies.
Money No Enough.
Got a lot of hokkien.
what is state media? tv is it? tv i have discussed before. next.
sure, which one more popular, hokkien one or mandarin one?
My parents enjoy Hokkien shows and songs more.
The younger generation less so, since that anglo freak suppressed the dialects.
what is state media?
State media also cannot understand, then I won't bother arguing with you.
Your standard is too low already, like talking to three year old on politics.
You go and study a bit more on politics then come back and argue with me.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:what is state media?
State media also cannot understand, then I won't bother arguing with you.
Your standard is too low already, like talking to three year old on politics.
sure, don't reply to my post. again.
But if you make errors, I will still point them out; otherwise others will be misled.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:sure, don't reply to my post. again.
But if you make errors, I will still point them out; otherwise others will be misled.
sure, the guy who said dialects are banned in state media, sure, you can point them out. But do not argue with me about opinions.
Originally posted by youyayu:hokkien movies there is not alot. taiwan normally produce tv series more then movie.
if you realised, the reason that the mandarin one is more popular is because they put in more effort to make it nice, as compared to the hokkien ones, and it is geared towards the youth audience, but not so much towards the older generations.
So, since taiwan places more emphasis in tv shows for mandarin, is taiwan losing it's culture?
they put in more effort to make it nice, as compared to the hokkien ones,
Really?
So, since taiwan places more emphasis in tv shows for mandarin, is taiwan losing it's culture?
That is not the same, they still have dialect shows and there is no policy of suppressing dialects.
One heaven one earth.
Don't try to smoke out people here.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:they put in more effort to make it nice, as compared to the hokkien ones,
Really?
That is not the same, they still have dialect shows and there is no policy of suppressing dialects.
One heaven one earth.
Don't try to smoke out people here.
don't talk cock.
you confident just reply this: taiwan is not losing the culture even though more emphasis on mandarin than dialect.
i asking the question, just answer.
taiwan is not losing the culture even though more emphasis on mandarin than dialect.
I am not that sure about cultural developments in Taiwan.
You have to go ask the local people there.
I only know about the policies and suppressions and its effects of our local anglo dog in Singapore.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:taiwan is not losing the culture even though more emphasis on mandarin than dialect.
I only know about the policies and suppressions and its effects of our local anglo dog in Singapore.
me half taiwanese mah, taiwan all speak hokkien one lah, only show and news read in mandarin, they can even read news in hokkien words for words...their hokkien is very original and pure, ours is mix up with other dialect and languages liao, so to them, hokkien is one of their language, and the nation language is mandarin, they also got tribe dialect like ah li san, fu tao shan..Fujian tang etc etc...
eg: when i speak to my cousin..Alamak, mana A sai?? (Oh! how can like this). To them, she dun understand what is alamak and mana, these are malay words mixed with our dialect. She thot i go chia sai..wee!
Originally posted by Ah Chia:He is really quite worthless as a national leader; Lee Kuan Yew.
Imagine Hu Jintao or Ma Ying Jeou go tell their people their dialect is worthless, stick to english and mandarin.
He is a souless, cultureless, money minded freak.
hmm...ange chia, if you are a chinese, you should know that Emperor Qing made all Chinese write the same Chinese 汉å—。He did the job for Hu Jintao, and all his predecessors, even the Korean and Japanese were using æ±‰å— in their early history. China is united today because because all Chinese know 普通è¯�。Dialects are retained because the people value the culture that is associated with them. otherwise chinese would be like indians, with so many dialects, they have to use english as a common language.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:taiwan is not losing the culture even though more emphasis on mandarin than dialect.
I think this you should know, Taiwan never had problem with cultures before ah bian came on stage. the old taiwanese who were jap educated, the local hakka and hokkien, and the tribal aborigines, and those who came from the many provinces in China, all speak mandarin, AND their dialects.
later ah bian came into power, too much emphasis on the use of taiwanese, and 去ä¸å›½åŒ–, actually tore the country into blue and green, north and south, wai shen ren and ben shen ren.
Please do not use dialects for your own political agenda!
The cantonese value their dialects, most overseas chinese in the US, Canada, Australia, .... speak cantonese, you think the local government allow the use of chinese dialects?
teaching of dialects is the responsibility of the parents, the hokkian culture, the cantonese cultures, the Chinese culture in general, It is all up to the family. If the government provide a conducive enviornment for you to learn dialects, call it bonus. But in most cases, the learning of a language like english which would help you to get better job is much more attractive to you than learning mandarin or dialect to retain your cultural identity. Dont' agree? ask your parents why they never teach you dialects?
or if you are old enough to have children, and if your parents speak to your children in dialect and they reply in english, would you tell them to speak to them in dialects?
Dialect of course.
If the government provide a conducive enviornment for you to learn dialects, call it bonus.
There shouldn't be suppression of dialect in state media. I oppose that policy.
Anyway, behind all this suppression of dialects lies a sinister political agenda by the anglo dog.
But in most cases, the learning of a language like english which would help you to get better job is much more attractive to you than learning mandarin or dialect to retain your cultural identity.
I think that is Lee Kuan Yew's bullshit propaganda, being the anglo dog that he is.
I don't see Japanese people learning english.
And also, the chinese had quite a big business community in colonial malaya and Singapore. They were all dialect speaking.
You should change the economic system instead of the language.
But then, Lee Kuan Yew is an anglo dog, you can't expect him to change economic system to a dialect or mandarin oriented one.
His power base would be weakened.
The hokkien dialect speaking chinese in 1950s/60s would follow people like Lim Chin Siong, not anglo dogs like Lee Kuan Yew.
The only way is to weaken that group and to strengthen the anglo group.
Which of course, is what we have today.
The largest Chinese dialect group in the late nineteenth century were the Hokkien, who were traditionally involved in trade, shipping, banking, and industry. The next largest group, the Teochiu, engaged in agricultural production and processing, including gambier, pepper, and rubber production, rice and lumber milling, pineapple canning, and fish processing. Cantonese served as artisans and laborers and a few made their fortunes in tin. The two smallest groups, the Hakka and Hainanese, were mostly servants, sailors, or unskilled laborers. Because wealth was the key to leadership and social standing within the Chinese community at that time, the Hokkien dominated organizations such as the Singapore Chinese Chamber of Commerce and supplied most of the Chinese members of the Legislative Council and the Chinese Advisory Board. The latter, established in 1889 to provide a formal link between the British government of the colony and the Chinese community, served as a place to air grievances but had no power.
The affluent among Singapore's Chinese community increasingly saw their prosperity and fortunes tied to those of the crown colony and the British Empire. Western education, customs, and pastimes were adopted, and the sons of Chinese businessmen were often sent to Britain for university training. The Straits Chinese British Association was formed in 1900 by Baba Chinese leaders to promote loyalty to the British Empire as well as to advance the education and welfare of Singapore's Chinese. Visiting British royalty were warmly received and British causes and victories enthusiastically supported. The Straits Chinese contributed generously to the British war effort in World War I.
Although the Chinese upper class, particularly the Straits-born Chinese, grew increasingly Westernized, the homeland exerted a continuing pull on its loyalties that increased during this period. Visits to China by Singapore Chinese became more common with the advent of steamship travel.
http://countrystudies.us/singapore/6.htm
In his memoirs, Lee Kuan Yew refers to his immigrant background as a fourth-generation Chinese Singaporean: his Hakka great-grandfather...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lee_Kuan_Yew
In his political memoir The Singapore Story, Lee offered ungrudging praise to Lim's "hypnotic" oratory: "...a ringing voice that flowed beautifully in his native Hokkien.
The girls adored him, especially those in the trade unions. Once he got going after a cold start at the first two meetings, there was tremendous applause every time he spoke. By the end of the campaign, Lim Chin Siong was seen as a charismatic figure and a person to be reckoned with in Singapore politics and, what was of more immediate concern, within the PAP."
http://www.thinkcentre.org/article.cfm?ArticleID=977
The largest Chinese dialect group in the late nineteenth century were the Hokkien, who were traditionally involved in trade, shipping, banking, and industry.
The next largest group, the Teochiu, engaged in agricultural production and processing, including gambier, pepper, and rubber production, rice and lumber milling, pineapple canning, and fish processing. Cantonese served as artisans and laborers and a few made their fortunes in tin.
The two smallest groups, the Hakka and Hainanese, were mostly servants, sailors, or unskilled laborers.
Because wealth was the key to leadership and social standing within the Chinese community at that time, the Hokkien dominated organizations such as the Singapore Chinese Chamber of Commerce and supplied most of the Chinese members of the Legislative Council and the Chinese Advisory Board.
http://countrystudies.us/singapore/6.htm
Enche' Chia Thye Poh: Sir, when the Prime Minister talks of
defending our country, we find it hollow. This Government has betrayed
all the vital interests of the people to the British. It has no right
to talk of defending the nation. This Government is oppressing the
people; more than 200 political leaders and trade unionists are in the
jails of Singapore. Our Secretary- General, Mr Lim Chin Siong, is in
Changi and political dwarfs like Mr Lee Kuan Yew can strut around and
talk big only when giants like Mr Lim Chin Siong are kept out of the
political arena (interruption).
why must malay and tamils learn mandarin?
In the end, the issue was probably a political one, not an economic one.
Don't be naive.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:In the end, the issue was probably a political one, not an economic one.
Don't be naive.
I know, it is 对牛弹� all the while.
Originally posted by angel7030:
Is it, OOOHhhhh!!! the son handsome or not ar???
If i can be his wife...WOW!!!! Ho Ching become my mother in law and LHL my father in law and LKY my...granpa in law...wow!!! rich liao...and powerful liao..
His son in which unit and camp ar??
U become part of their family ah? Dun day dream lah! Anyway, they are public enemy (公敌) you know?
I am not so updated about this guy but i did read his letter to Ministry Of Defence, complaining his fellow 2LT buddy about not taking over his duty on time and so on.... sounds childish though.
If u want to know more, you can google it. His name is Lee Hong Yi.