Originally posted by angel7030:
Damn, i am suppose to make you angry,....why r u laughing????,
Shit, human psychology failed??
Anyway, my post do strike a chord, wake up OPPOSITIONS, it has been years and years of failure...and matter make more worst with Uncle Ah Chia, Uncle Andrew etc etc...
I don't think Andrew Yap and Ah Chia got big influence to the nation lah. No doubt oppositions failed but they should never give up and we (oppositions supporters) should never give up supporting them too. Its also very difficult to influence mindless citizens who just go with the flow and don't have opinions on their own.
Anyway, nothing last forever. Lee Regime will be demolished one day.
My answer is a big NO as the Malays and Indians are losing their own languages to English. All languages are useful, therefore if individual Malay or Indian wants to learn Mandarin it is ok. I also admire individuals who can speak more than 2 languages.
and with the closing of nantah, the market value of nantah graduates plummeted. now with the rise of china, he is asking us to master the chinese language. how hypocrite of him!
A dog will always remain a dog.
That is fate.
Wayang here, wayang there, talk cock here, talk cock there, in the end still remain nothing but a dog.
If you are brought up as anglo dog, forever will be anglo dog. That is fate.
Go ang moh place, they say you are foreigner who speaks ang moh. Go local place, they say you are anglo dog.
No root.
That is why I won't allow my children to grow up to be anglo dogs.
You anglo dog you alone go and enjoy be dog, don't come and corrupt my children or the youth.
Dog will forever be nothing but dog.
Originally posted by Hawk Eye:I don't think Andrew Yap and Ah Chia got big influence to the nation lah. No doubt oppositions failed but they should never give up and we (oppositions supporters) should never give up supporting them too. Its also very difficult to influence mindless citizens who just go with the flow and don't have opinions on their own.
Anyway, nothing last forever. Lee Regime will be demolished one day.
ya, just hope that my Uncles can last to the day the Lees get demolished
Originally posted by Ah Chia:and with the closing of nantah, the market value of nantah graduates plummeted. now with the rise of china, he is asking us to master the chinese language. how hypocrite of him!
A dog will always remain a dog.
That is fate.
Wayang here, wayang there, talk cock here, talk cock there, in the end still remain nothing but a dog.
If you are brought up as anglo dog, forever will be anglo dog. That is fate.
Go ang moh place, they say you are foreigner who speaks ang moh. Go local place, they say you are anglo dog.
No root.
That is why I won't allow my children to grow up to be anglo dogs.
You anglo dog you alone go and enjoy be dog, don't come and corrupt my children or the youth.
Dog will forever be nothing but dog.
Dog of cos always be a dog lah, how can dog become a man??? me Kindergarden also learned liao
Joo Chiat PAP kindergarden, 1994 to 1996
ya, just hope that my Uncles can last to the day the Lees get demolished
your uncles...?
Originally posted by angel7030:Dog of cos always be a dog lah, how can dog become a man??? me Kindergarden also learned liao
given the above, did you accidentaly reveal your age?
25 years old ah...
Originally posted by Hawk Eye:
your uncles...?
ya, my uncles ah chia thai pooh, andrew yap, poh, etc etc..
Originally posted by Hawk Eye:
given the above, did you accidentaly reveal your age?
did I? Oopss when i was 5 years old, i go kindergarden mah, me now 20++
Originally posted by lotus999:i think you are barking at the wrong tree. the damage he did to dialects can't beat the wrong he did to the chinese language. did you know that he once killed chinese education in sg? we used to have english and chinese schools but sometime, maybe in the 70s, he abolished all chinese schools and even took control of nantah. nantah was set up by a few philantropic chinese businessmen with some contributions from ordinary folks. after he took over nantah he turned it into a university specialising in technology and changed its name to nanyang technology university. needless to say it caused quite a outcry then. and with the closing of nantah, the market value of nantah graduates plummeted. now with the rise of china, he is asking us to master the chinese language. how hypocrite of him!
nantah graduates market value plummeted meh? in the early days, nantah graduates had no values in the eyes of the colonial government and the Singapore Government. But if you go to university in the US, you wound find more recognition of nantah degree. if you said you were from nantah, the US angmoh would say, arh..the Singapore univisity. That was because the bright nantah graduates, many of them from Malaysia, Indonesia all went overseas for further studies, the bright SU grads stayed to work for their colonial master, or join the civil service.
The rest of the nantah graduates would join private Chinese companies, join their family business, started their own business....different route to success.
When China opened, the nantah graduates gained recognition from companies venturing into China. They value was enhanced further.
When the government tried to merge the nantah alumi with that of NTU, they then realized, these two weren't the same university. tried to get the real nantah to contribute money....good try.
the real world is outside Singapore, with values that is far greater than those recognized by the Singapore government.
Originally posted by sgdiehard:nantah graduates market value plummeted meh? in the early days, nantah graduates had no values in the eyes of the colonial government and the Singapore Government. But if you go to university in the US, you wound find more recognition of nantah degree. if you said you were from nantah, the US angmoh would say, arh..the Singapore univisity. That was because the bright nantah graduates, many of them from Malaysia, Indonesia all went overseas for further studies, the bright SU grads stayed to work for their colonial master, or join the civil service.
The rest of the nantah graduates would join private Chinese companies, join their family business, started their own business....different route to success.
When China opened, the nantah graduates gained recognition from companies venturing into China. They value was enhanced further.
When the government tried to merge the nantah alumi with that of NTU, they then realized, these two weren't the same university. tried to get the real nantah to contribute money....good try.
the real world is outside Singapore, with values that is far greater than those recognized by the Singapore government.
eehhh...eh..excuse me, what is nantah??? I heard Nanta de coco, indian nantahi dishes and Nano Tahnology...but nantah??? kind of orthodox school hor??
did I? Oopss when i was 5 years old, i go kindergarden mah, me now 20++
wah... so young...
Originally posted by Hawk Eye:wah... so young...
young...??? wrinkle come out liao lor...stomach also bloating...legs wobbling and all looks sagging liao. hmmm...must go exercise.
All these symptoms are because u dunno how to take care of yourself mah. Still spend time sitting infront of the computer, reading forums! Of course stomach bloating, legs wobbling, wrinkle come out lah! =p
But you're young at age.![]()
Originally posted by Hawk Eye:All these symptoms are because u dunno how to take care of yourself mah. Still spend time sitting infront of the computer, reading forums! Of course stomach bloating, legs wobbling, wrinkle come out lah! =p
But you're young at age.
cannot come out, later people ask me how much?? i feel very awkward...anyway I was asked to go back to geyland, so see you
Your pub at Geylang?
Originally posted by BJK:My answer is a big NO as the Malays and Indians are losing their own languages to English. All languages are useful, therefore if individual Malay or Indian wants to learn Mandarin it is ok. I also admire individuals who can speak more than 2 languages.
lol...speaking more than two languages is quite common de...
I can speak English, Malay, Indonesian and some basic Japanese...
I do agree that Most malays or Indians this generation has got speaks improperly.
I think learning to speak Mandarin is ok le...Many people think that speaking English becoz its an international language is ok and would make noise when asked to speak Mandarin coz they think Singapore is turning into a little China...i think thats kinda racist in a way...though another racist bit would be companies who employ their workers based on the language they can speak rather then skill or experience..
We learn languages to communicate with our neighbours and that would be a great advantage for us..
Originally posted by Deino:lol...speaking more than two languages is quite common de...
I can speak English, Malay, Indonesian and some basic Japanese...
I do agree that Most malays or Indians this generation has got speaks improperly.
I think learning to speak Mandarin is ok le...Many people think that speaking English becoz its an international language is ok and would make noise when asked to speak Mandarin coz they think Singapore is turning into a little China...i think thats kinda racist in a way...though another racist bit would be companies who employ their workers based on the language they can speak rather then skill or experience..
We learn languages to communicate with our neighbours and that would be a great advantage for us..
It would depend, can you imagine how hard is it to run a company if you can't communicate to your employee clearly what you mean ?
Even if they have skill and experience, it's rather difficult for a company to utilize them properly if you can't tell them what you want.
Originally posted by Stevenson101:It would depend, can you imagine how hard is it to run a company if you can't communicate to your employee clearly what you mean ?
Even if they have skill and experience, it's rather difficult for a company to utilize them properly if you can't tell them what you want.
wouldn't it be better if they used english, the "most common language" to communicate with their employee here?
its just lame to have the first question asked to a malay or indian whether or not he/she can speak chinese(mandarin)...most companies do this and its quite racist if you see it from the employee point of view...in some cases that is
Originally posted by Deino:wouldn't it be better if they used english, the "most common language" to communicate with their employee here?
its just lame to have the first question asked to a malay or indian whether or not he/she can speak chinese(mandarin)...most companies do this and its quite racist if you see it from the employee point of view...in some cases that is
I agree with you here, most of the shopping centres in Jurong Point, Orchard etc are only filled with chinese employees. Thanks to the introduction of mandrin, a very good excuse to discriminate minorities (Malay and Indians) in singapore. Though some reputable companies look for mandrin speaking candidates for a very good reason
Some retail companies like Lee Hwa Jewellery, Taka Jewellery, GoldHeart, Aspial, Hugo Boss etc are more prominent when it comes to discrimination.
Mandrin a very good weapon to marginalize minorities here in singapore, like how Malaysia and Indonesia marginalize chinese over there. It is a tit for tat action.
Originally posted by F-22A Raptor:I agree with you here, most of the shopping centres in Jurong Point, Orchard etc are only filled with chinese employees. Thanks to the introduction of mandrin, a very good excuse to discriminate minorities (Malay and Indians) in singapore. Though some reputable companies look for mandrin speaking candidates for a very good reason
Some retail companies like Lee Hwa Jewellery, Taka Jewellery, GoldHeart, Aspial, Hugo Boss etc are more prominent when it comes to discrimination.
Mandrin a very good weapon to marginalize minorities here in singapore, like how Malaysia and Indonesia marginalize chinese over there. It is a tit for tat action.
Just out of curiosity, what exactly do you suggest?
That the minorities be given special attention so that they would, in the end enjoy more rights and attention than the majority? Would it not make business sense to hire someone who can converse with the majority of the population especially in a sales job?
If a minority is capable of speaking Chinese fluently but still couldn't get the job then yes there would be discrimination. Knowledge of a language is, in my opinion should be treated like a skill just like C++ or engineering. If you don't have it, then i won't hire you.
Short of the army(even then, just Malays), minorities have no obstacles in being on par with a Chinese Singaporean as long as they work hard enough. School systems do not attempt to marginalize minorities, they study their own mother language and are tested accordingly.
How fair would it be to have a system that gives the minority more privileges and rights in an attempt to force them to be on par with the majority ?
Originally posted by Deino:wouldn't it be better if they used english, the "most common language" to communicate with their employee here?
Depending on the job in my opinion, if it's a sales job then speaking mandarin would be essential to be able to communicate with the majority of your customers.
But if it's a tech job or manufacturing then yes, it would be racist. However, i don't see it being a requirement on the classifieds. Have you seen such a requirement on a job that should by right have no need of knowledge of Chinese?
Not trying to be accusational, but i'm curious.
If dialect is suppressed and they all learn chinese... how are we gg to say bad things about other race in front of them when we dun wan them to know? ![]()