Originally posted by Stevenson101:Just out of curiosity, what exactly do you suggest?
That the minorities be given special attention so that they would, in the end enjoy more rights and attention than the majority? Would it not make business sense to hire someone who can converse with the majority of the population especially in a sales job?
If a minority is capable of speaking Chinese fluently but still couldn't get the job then yes there would be discrimination. Knowledge of a language is, in my opinion should be treated like a skill just like C++ or engineering. If you don't have it, then i won't hire you.
Short of the army(even then, just Malays), minorities have no obstacles in being on par with a Chinese Singaporean as long as they work hard enough. School systems do not attempt to marginalize minorities, they study their own mother language and are tested accordingly.
How fair would it be to have a system that gives the minority more privileges and rights in an attempt to force them to be on par with the majority ?
Just out of curiosity, what exactly do you suggest?
Fair Employment Practice
That the minorities be given special attention so that they would, in the end enjoy more rights and attention than the majority?
Where did I state that Minorities should be given special attention so that they would enjoy more rights and attention than the majority?
Would it not make business sense to hire someone who can converse with the majority of the population especially in a sales job?
Offcourse Yes, wouldn't english more than good enough? why there is need of extra language mandrin? Are you implying that majority of the chinese population in singapore are not english educated?
Knowledge of a language is, in my opinion should be treated like a skill just like C++ or engineering. If you don't have it, then i won't hire you.
Unless you need extra language as a requirement for some solid reasons, otherwise it is a racism
Short of the army(even then, just Malays), minorities have no obstacles in being on par with a Chinese Singaporean as long as they work hard enough. School systems do not attempt to marginalize minorities, they study their own mother language and are tested accordingly.
I didn't state that Army and Schools marginalizing minorities
How fair would it be to have a system that gives the minority more privileges and rights in an attempt to force them to be on par with the majority ?
Introducing a quota system would be fair enough.
personally i see this as an act of racism especially when i see most job requirements requires people to be able to communicate in mandarin or heard from my friend's job interview that the interviewer will ask if wheter they could communicate in mandarin.
this of course would give our chinese friends an upper hand at finding jobs while our indian and malay friends are losing out because of the so called "job requirement"
should'nt the government enforce the use of english more?? since most of the singaporean citizens are thought basic english , is'nt it more easier to understand?
even China are enouraging their citizens to pick up english language so that they are on the same page as the rest of the develop countries in the world in terms of ability to speak internationaly
so in conclusion i'd say no to the question as it is seen as an act of racism in my opinion. where ever has the meaning of our national anthem has been man???
Originally posted by Stevenson101:
Depending on the job in my opinion, if it's a sales job then speaking mandarin would be essential to be able to communicate with the majority of your customers.But if it's a tech job or manufacturing then yes, it would be racist. However, i don't see it being a requirement on the classifieds. Have you seen such a requirement on a job that should by right have no need of knowledge of Chinese?
Not trying to be accusational, but i'm curious.
nope...but a colleague of mine(an indian) who went for an interview to be a technician was asked that question...
Yes, other race in Singapore should learn Mandarin to communicate with the PRCs sales people who can't speak English for convenience .
Ha ha ha ha!
Frankly, I have not come across any native Indians who work in Singapore who don't know how to speak English. Chinese from China . . . . . . . ????? ha ha ha! "Thank you" lee kuan yew.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:i do see the point of LKY
He is quite old already, I seriously doubt whether he is sane enough to be in government.
I together with many agree absolutely with you. He is senile. inconsistent in his words these days. If he continues to be MM he is not doing Singapore good.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:Lee Hsien Loong: Life would be easier if Lee Kuan Yew is not my father
He
Originally posted by Ah Chia:Lee Hsien Loong: Life would be easier if Lee Kuan Yew is not my father
He talks rot! Without LKY as his father he will not be given the opportunity to be PM. He is where he is today because of his father, LKY.
Originally posted by angel7030:
now they said mother tongue is mandarin, whose mother are they talking about leh??? why no father tongue??
your lau hero is always right.
dun waste yr time learning any language lah, learn how to do business and count money is the best.
Originally posted by Fantagf:Yes, other race in Singapore should learn Mandarin to communicate with the PRCs sales people who can't speak English for convenience .
WHY is that so?!
its the PRC who should learn english...!!