inherent capabilities to recover, we have got the liquidity to meet it,
to make such an investment," Lee, 84, said in a Bloomberg Television
interview late yesterday. "We will not rule it out."
"We are
buying something that we intend to keep for the next two to three
decades and grow with them", he said, adding that GIC was a long-term
investor.
http://utwt.blogspot.com/2008/04/lee-kuan-yew-aint-no-warren-buffett.html
There is just too much nonsense coming out from Lee Kuan Yew's mouth.
I just cannot take his views seriously.
to serve the country lah
But why 60,000 yearly?
Why not 80,000, 50,000 or 40,000, why must 60,000?
Maybe females should enlist to top up numbers.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:well short of the 60,000 births the country needs each year.
Why Singapore needs 60,000 babies each year?
for this, dumb fuck.
There's this paper titled: The Functional Prerequisites of a Society.
A main point in the paper is that we need 'new' people to replace those who will eventually die in order for a society to NOT become extinct. These 'new' people can be gotten either by reproduction, or the 'recruiting' of 'new' members.
if no 60000 babies a year (or whatever the numbers) to maintain a certain number of singaporeans in singapore, you'll have to get that number from immigrants
Yes, but why 60,000?
Why not 50,000, 40,000, 90,000 or 100,000?
Why 60,000?
What is the formula?
Originally posted by Ah Chia:But why 60,000 yearly?
Why not 80,000, 50,000 or 40,000, why must 60,000?
Maybe females should enlist to top up numbers.
60,000 is the estimate shortage, if we can make it to 80,000 or more the merrier. Currently is only 30,000 offsprings, and some are belong to foreigners who become singapore citizens, in comparing to the death which is figure at 45,000 per years, we are going to lose 15,000 peoples per year. And in the long term, with gradual reduction in birthrates and higher death rate due to old ages, we are history.
There's this paper titled: The Functional Prerequisites of a Society.
Can you provide me with a link to the paper? Thanks.
60,000 is the estimate shortage, if we can make it to 80,000 or more the merrier. Currently is only 30,000 offsprings, and some are belong to foreigners who become singapore citizens, in comparing to the death which is figure at 45,000 per years, we are going to lose 15,000 peoples per year. And in the long term, with gradual reduction in birthrates and higher death rate due to old ages, we are history.
Can you provide me with sources on your data? Thanks.
can. give me your email address, i'll email it to you. don't give me the email address and i won't be able to. so there.
wherever the hell you got the 60000 from. obviously that's the break even number.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:60,000 is the estimate shortage, if we can make it to 80,000 or more the merrier. Currently is only 30,000 offsprings, and some are belong to foreigners who become singapore citizens, in comparing to the death which is figure at 45,000 per years, we are going to lose 15,000 peoples per year. And in the long term, with gradual reduction in birthrates and higher death rate due to old ages, we are history.
Can you provide me with sources on your data? Thanks.
you go death registrar and pay $5 for the info lah. Me last year poly do the project on demograhic got these figures from classmates, cos me very lazy one.
wait. insert this into google: "functional prerequisites of a society aberlee".
there should be a JSTOR link. see if you can read it from there. if you can't i'll email it.
in fact, here it is. linked.
http://www.jstor.org/sici?sici=0014-1704(195001)60%3A2%3C100%3ATFPOAS%3E2.0.CO%3B2-D
i hope u r not in political science...
one- for Singapore to sustain itself, it has to have a birthrate that can cover those who are approaching the 'retirement age' and to replace the mortality rate. Doing so would require extra-ordinary 'pro baby' policies, which I feel the present bonuses aren't sufficient enough to beckon married ladies into motherhood.
Surprisingly though, when i was having a conversation with my Vietnamese friends about birthrates and stuff, their country has not rolled out 'pro-family' policies to incentivize engaged couples into forming families. On the contrary, the government is warning against creating a family too large a size in other words,limiting families to 1 or 2 children. Funny that they are taking the same route which we did in the 1970's.
So far, there seem to be no universal solution to tackle population crisis.
Originally posted by 2cansam:one- for Singapore to sustain itself, it has to have a birthrate that can cover those who are approaching the 'retirement age' and to replace the mortality rate. Doing so would require extra-ordinary 'pro baby' policies, which I feel the present bonuses aren't sufficient enough to beckon married ladies into motherhood.
Surprisingly though, when i was having a conversation with my Vietnamese friends about birthrates and stuff, their country has not rolled out 'pro-family' policies to incentivize engaged couples into forming families. On the contrary, the government is warning against creating a family too large a size in other words,limiting families to 1 or 2 children. Funny that they are taking the same route which we did in the 1970's.
So far, there seem to be no universal solution to tackle population crisis.
Think it is because it hints too heavily of foreign intervention to the countries that are experiencing the highest population growth.(Middle east, Africa).
For these countries a high population growth is neccessary for economy growth and also related to a country strength, both military and industrial. Asking them to control it is akin to telling an Olympic runner to go slower and let the others catch up.
It's also against the teachings of Christianity (Or at least the Roman Catholic Church) to use contraception.
The logical choice would be to introduce birth control and stop our population from furthur exploding. However, the main obstacles are probably going to be political and religious.
It's funny how our government is trying to encouraging population growth while some crazy single woman is actually the mother of fourteen kids.
Importing foreigners can temporarily solve the problem of population shortage and help boost the economy.
If you-know-who won't stem the tide of emigration, how will importing foreigners going to solve the problem of national security risk?
He fucked up !
why ppl migrate?
1 obvious reason is that they cannot find the living they wan in their own country n i dun think they are loyal to the country they migrated
so can immigrants solve our problems? - i doubt much
The dog doesn't care about preserving local culture and welcomes foreigners to settle here and mess up the population mix, that is another uniquely Singapore phenomenon.
Everywhere all political leaders are proud of local culture, want to preserve or spread it, people are dubious about letting in too many foreigners -- except our Singapore dog.
Please don't turn my country into a freak; ah dog.
Sad.
Toh Chin Chye on how the dog turned Singapore into a cultureless, soulless society:
I would say the generation of the ‘50s and ‘60s took the plunge into politics without ever calculating the costs of the risk and the benefits to be gained. They were driven by ideology. Today’s generation has no culture and averse to taking political risk.
Really, an interest
in politics is very necessary for the future. But I cannot blame the
present generations, because they see the heavy-handed response by the
government to dissenting views, even though they know that these
matters involve their daily lives.
So the result is that we have
produced a younger generation who are meek and therefore very
calculating. They are less independent-thinking and lack in initiative. It does not bode well for the emergence of future leaders in politics
and business. Robots and computers can be programmed or if you like,
can be trained. But the trouble, of course, is that computers lack soul
and what we need in Singapore is soul. Because it is soul that makes
society.
http://singaporegovt.blogspot.com/2006/02/part-ii-true-founders-of-singapore-man.html
If the dog continues his ways of destroying and weakening local culture, continue to destroy political, intellectual life, continue to import foreigners, Singapore society will be destroyed.
Become an empty shell.
Singapore has always been an immigrant enclave, is, and always will be. Its destiny.
Even before Raffles "discovered" Singapura, there were already Chinese, Javanese, Boyanese, Achinese, Thais, and others at the river mouth barter trading.
Raffles saw this and decided to come in in a big way.
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
The cursed despot started a "STOP at Two" Campaign. NOW he talks this cock.
Andrew,i think u were born few decades ago.
I think u know how was the life of SG in 1950 to 1960 and 1970.
High employment,slums every where,gangsters,gavamn no money,
majority of people depends on street water taps,etc
Yes,no water and flush toilets in each flat---
self contained residences.
@@@@@@@@@@@
In any particular situation,u need to do some unpleasant policy
to deal with the problems.
Wat is your valuable comments on our neighbours who have
plenty of populations and they did not implement Stop at TWO policy?
How is their life ?
@@@@@@@@@@@
Other young guys just take for granted of water taps and toilets
inside your 99 years lease HDB.
I think PAP shall retain 1950 to 1960's style public toilets
where u can see toilets bugs and human waste of others people
when u doing your business.
Every one shall use this kind of toilet once in a year to review the progress
of SG since 1959,when PAP first in power.
If PAP did not promote STOP at TWO policy,
SG will looks like our neighbouring countries.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:Toh Chin Chye on how the dog turned Singapore into a cultureless, soulless society:
I would say the generation of the ‘50s and ‘60s took the plunge into politics without ever calculating the costs of the risk and the benefits to be gained. They were driven by ideology. Today’s generation has no culture and averse to taking political risk.
Really, an interest in politics is very necessary for the future. But I cannot blame the present generations, because they see the heavy-handed response by the government to dissenting views, even though they know that these matters involve their daily lives.
So the result is that we have produced a younger generation who are meek and therefore very calculating. They are less independent-thinking and lack in initiative. It does not bode well for the emergence of future leaders in politics and business. Robots and computers can be programmed or if you like, can be trained. But the trouble, of course, is that computers lack soul and what we need in Singapore is soul. Because it is soul that makes society.http://singaporegovt.blogspot.com/2006/02/part-ii-true-founders-of-singapore-man.html
If the dog continues his ways of destroying and weakening local culture, continue to destroy political, intellectual life, continue to import foreigners, Singapore society will be destroyed.
Become an empty shell.
ha ha ha--
Yore forefathers were also imported foreigners,unless u are Malay!!
Originally posted by lionnoisy:Andrew,i think u were born few decades ago.
I think u know how was the life of SG in 1950 to 1960 and 1970.
High employment,slums every where,gangsters,gavamn no money,
majority of people depends on street water taps,etc
Yes,no water and flush toilets in each flat---
self contained residences.
@@@@@@@@@@@
In any particular situation,u need to do some unpleasant policy
to deal with the problems.
Wat is your valuable comments on our neighbours who have
plenty of populations and they did not implement Stop at TWO policy?
How is their life ?
@@@@@@@@@@@
Other young guys just take for granted of water taps and toilets
inside your 99 years lease HDB.
I think PAP shall retain 1950 to 1960's style public toilets
where u can see toilets bugs and human waste of others people
when u doing your business.
Every one shall use this kind of toilet once in a year to review the progress
of SG since 1959,when PAP first in power.
If PAP did not promote STOP at TWO policy,
SG will looks like our neighbouring countries.
The reason why the neighboring countries did not progress as fast is because they refused to be Western Powers coolies. Lee Kuan Yew had only money in his eyes and he decided that Singaporeans should be coolies of the West.
Originally posted by lionnoisy:ha ha ha--
Yore forefathers were also imported foreigners,unless u are Malay!!
haha...uncle, even the Malays here are mostly from Indonesia, javanese, bugis etc etc, so dun think Malay are not imported hor, tho i flung my history, i still remember Prince Sha ri la Utama from Aceh.
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
The reason why the neighboring countries did not progress as fast is because they refused to be Western Powers coolies. Lee Kuan Yew had only money in his eyes and he decided that Singaporeans should be coolies of the West.
No, because of LKY, we are debt free, most of the countries are in heavy debts with IMF Bank, so they find it hard to progress as they need to keep paying interest and allow the west to use up it resources.
yo IMF interest is lower than yr CPF