Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
You are not suggesting that the cursed despot will still be alive 30 years down the road and continues to flood the country with foreigners?
you never know
Originally posted by jojobeach:History ? Not so.
Back in those days. There's no such thing as NS. Perhaps when NS is abolished, youngsters will no longer feel pushed into a corner.. disadvantaged due to this mandatory obligation.
Back in those days, there's room for everyone and newcomers. Now, we live on reclaimed land, work our ass off to pay for a small HDB pigeon hole.
Back in those days, there's plenty to go around, as long as you are willing to slog it out and be thrifty. Today.. we are competing for our livelihood, wages going down , cost of living going up.
Back then, our forefathers could farm for their daily meal. Now, what do we do to get food on the tables ? A job, and who competes with us ? The stakes are much higher now.
Our forefathers came to a fishing village. Now, the foreigners come and enjoy the fruits of our forefathers, stepping their filthy feet on the children of those who developed this land.
How can we welcome them with open arms ?
Right, we pay the price, the foreigners reap the benefits, just so that some people and their cronies and dogs can grab more public money than the massive amounts that they are grabbing now.
Originally posted by eagle:you never know
hehehe... I doubt, with my eat, drink, exercise and be merry lifestyle, I will still be around.
Originally posted by jojobeach:History ? Not so.
Back in those days. There's no such thing as NS. Perhaps when NS is abolished, youngsters will no longer feel pushed into a corner.. disadvantaged due to this mandatory obligation.
Back in those days, there's room for everyone and newcomers. Now, we live on reclaimed land, work our ass off to pay for a small HDB pigeon hole.
Back in those days, there's plenty to go around, as long as you are willing to slog it out and be thrifty. Today.. we are competing for our livelihood, wages going down , cost of living going up.
Back then, our forefathers could farm for their daily meal. Now, what do we do to get food on the tables ? A job, and who competes with us ? The stakes are much higher now.
Our forefathers came to a fishing village. Now, the foreigners come and enjoy the fruits of our forefathers, stepping their filthy feet on the children of those who developed this land.
How can we welcome them with open arms ?
This is true only if your forefather came to Singapore in the 1800s. My forefather came to Singapore in the early 1900s. By then, Singapore is no longer the sleepy fishing village it used to be. How to afford a plot of land for farming if he can't even afford a decent meal?
Originally posted by Hbbo:This is true only if your forefather came to Singapore in the 1800s. My forefather came to Singapore in the early 1900s. By then, Singapore is no longer the sleepy fishing village it used to be. How to afford a plot of land for farming if he can't even afford a decent meal?
Oh 1900s, got the HDB scam already ? The scheme started in 1960s, if he got in before or during that time.. I am sad to say.. you are so screwed.
Gahmen wants to welcome foreigners to earn revenue.. can lah.
But first..
Give all Singaporeans free housing .
All Singaporeans at birth gets free education and priority to public school systems, starting from Kindergarten to University.
All Singaporean children gets free medical care.
When all basic neccesities are taken care of.. they can welcome as many foreigners as they want.
Perhaps by then.. no need FTs, Singaproeans will start to have more babies.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Oh 1900s, got the HDB scam already ? The scheme started in 1960s, if he got in before or during that time.. I am sad to say.. you are so screwed.
I don't remember mentioning anything about HDB. You may want to revisit my posts to confirm. Thanks
Originally posted by Hbbo:I don't remember mentioning anything about HDB. You may want to revisit my posts to confirm. Thanks
If he can't afford a meal.. he must be living in a squatter or slum , yes ?
Please go read this.
Thanks for directing me to the HDB wiki site. But what's your point?
Originally posted by Hbbo:Thanks for directing me to the HDB wiki site. But what's your point?
Good question.
Back then the gahmen cared for the people.
Today, all they cared about is money.
Yeah and most of the foreigners will be from LDCs (Lesser developed countries).
It's really interesting to see how citizens/people choose to migrate to better "core" countries. European countries and America/Australia are core countries, with superior industrial/labour relations and higher quality life. Lesser developed countries like India and China and Thailand are periphery countries. Singapore is semi-periphery since it tries to dominate with mercantilistic practices (trying to implement the growth triangle programme and buying up foreign assets).
So Singaporeans choose to emigrate to better core countries like Europe or Australia, which is coincidentally what Middle Easterners are doing. While citizens from peripheries in Asia migrate to Singapore, since a semi-periphery is better than a periphery. Singapore is fab compared to the lesser developed countries in Southeast Asia. But Singapore is crap compared to EU states and Oz.
Yes. It is unsurprising the bulk of people here will be foreign, and chances are they would not have served their NS because of the new PR scheme. I see masses of citizens from LDCs are the ICA offices, no Europeans at all.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Good question.
It's always been about money.
Originally posted by LordoftheLamers:Yeah and most of the foreigners will be from LDCs (Lesser developed countries).
It's really interesting to see how citizens/people choose to migrate to better "core" countries. European countries and America/Australia are core countries, with superior industrial/labour relations and higher quality life. Lesser developed countries like India and China and Thailand are periphery countries. Singapore is semi-periphery since it tries to dominate with mercantilistic practices (trying to implement the growth triangle programme and buying up foreign assets).
So Singaporeans choose to emigrate to better core countries like Europe or Australia, which is coincidentally what Middle Easterners are doing. While citizens from peripheries in Asia migrate to Singapore, since a semi-periphery is better than a periphery. Singapore is fab compared to the lesser developed countries in Southeast Asia. But Singapore is crap compared to EU states and Oz.
Yes. It is unsurprising the bulk of people here will be foreign, and chances are they would not have served their NS because of the new PR scheme. I see masses of citizens from LDCs are the ICA offices, no Europeans at all.
new PR scheme so they won't have to serve NS?
I thought it is always the second generation serve NS? Has there been a change?
Originally posted by jojobeach:Good question.
Ok noted your point. Could have been more direct instead of going one big round to make a point. Got me confused initially
It's always been about money.
Probably true.
It has ALWAYS been about money.
Since from the beginning the aim was money, can't blame people migrate hor.
to the TS,
assuming it comes true that by 2015 majority are FT and their dependents or relatives, is that not good? I mean, if they like here then they come here. So, those who come here generally should like what they see. So, they will support. and what does this imply? i have no idea.
is that not good?
Good for them maybe, bad for us local Singaporeans.
Hey but then PAP regime wouldn't give a fuck about that!
As long got the money.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:
Good for them maybe, bad for us local Singaporeans.
Hey but then PAP regime wouldn't give a fuck about that!
As long got the money.
my style is "is that not good" = " is that good"
technically speaking, the equation is true.
The way the PAP regime is doing things now, it is becoming more and more worthless to be born as Singapore citizen.
Like that people for sure will have thoughts of migrating.
Then as usual, our beloved PAP will come and blame us.
Really worthless this type of government.
Originally posted by likedatosocan:o the TS,
assuming it comes true that by 2015 majority are FT and their dependents or relatives, is that not good? I mean, if they like here then they come here. So, those who come here generally should like what they see. So, they will support. and what does this imply? i have no idea.
Good mah.. like that.. less Singaporeans to kao peh kao bu.
What good is a Singaporean.. really ?
If migrate will be branded as quitters, but sad to see that these quitters are highly qualified professionals. They quit probably because they see a bleak future with the regime.
I guess in all authoritarian regimes, emigrants will always be branded as quitters, think Burmese and North Korean government would have done the same. ![]()
This PAP government really is destroying this country, the way they are doing things.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:This PAP government really is destroying this country, the way they are doing things.
That's ecology. Things are built after being destroyed and then destroyed again. The cycle goes on.
PAP is the one that must go.
They are the cancer of this country.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:
PAP is the one that must go.
They are the cancer of this country.
Things comes, thing goes. One day it will happens but when depends on how malicious the cancer be.
Bottomline is that foreigners need time to be fully assimilated into our society. 3 or 4 generations later, their descendents will be like us
Assimilation is a word politicians or cunning ppl use it to suit their convenience. What is assimilation? Intermarriage? Give up own culture? Form a new culture?
If you look back at our history, there is no such thing as assimilation. Such word weren’t part of our national psychic when we started.
We started out with a social contract among the three races of live and let's live. We agreed not dominate or interfere with each other.
We didn’t have assimilation as a social contract. Not then, not now will never in the future.