Bottomline is that foreigners need time to be fully assimilated into our society. 3 or 4 generations later, their descendents will be like us
Rubbish. So the youngsters now like the older generation?
You can't build a state with this type of rubbish policies.
Filthy crap from PAP.
PAP now coming out with more and more rubbish.
The rubbish coming out from them is increasing daily.
They are not solving problems but creating problems.
Mother fucking bastard People Action's Party.
Originally posted by 4sg:
Assimilation is a word politicians or cunning ppl use it to suit their convenience. What is assimilation? Intermarriage? Give up own culture? Form a new culture?
If you look back at our history, there is no such thing as assimilation. Such word weren’t part of our national psychic when we started.
We started out with a social contract among the three races of live and let's live. We agreed not dominate or interfere with each other.
We didn’t have assimilation as a social contract. Not then, not now will never in the future.
Well, that's your opinion. i happen to have different opinion on this issue.
Originally posted by Cram:"Like these foreigners, our forefathers had no intention of planting their roots in Singapore."
"Like these foreigners, our forefathers had to face the wrath of the local population as they strive to feed their families."
I think you're wrong on both. It was a lot more difficult to travel between Singapore and China, or India, in those days, so new migrants - mostly indentured labour - didn't have much of a choice. To say they had no intention of planting roots is disingenuous, to say the least. No one really thought about planting roots - it just happened.
And those were completely different times - China was divided among the imperial powers, as was India. Everyone was under colonial rule - life was hard. People were more occupied with daily bread and butter. There was no question of facing the locals' wrath because everyone was brought here by, and ruled, by the white man.
You think the native Malay population who were present in Singapore during the 1800s were happy to share their land and whatever jobs available with the Chinese and Indian immigrants?
You think our forefathers came to Singapore with the intention of never going back to their homeland in China or India? My great gandfather died in Singapore but was buried in his native village in Fujian province (as requested by himself) - that's where his root was. I am sure he is not the only one that did that during that era.
So immigrants from China during the imperial time to seek economic opportunity in Singapore is more acceptable that current immigrants who are here for the same reason?
I don't see the logic in your argument.
Originally posted by Hbbo:You think the native Malay population who were present in Singapore during the 1800s were happy to share their land and whatever jobs available with the Chinese and Indian immigrants?
You think our forefathers came to Singapore with the intention of never going back to their homeland in China or India? My great gandfather died in Singapore but was buried in his native village in Fujian province (as requested by himself) - that's where his root was. I am sure he is not the only one that did that during that era.
So immigrants from China during the imperial time to seek economic opportunity in Singapore is more acceptable that current immigrants who are here for the same reason?
I don't see the logic in your argument.
Back then Ofcors the native malays buay song wat.
You donno about the racial riot meh ?
History alredy made it so clear.. why the gahmen don't learn the lesson from it ?
When people feel displaced.. how to be song ?
Last time are the native malay.. because they are borned. here... then new generation Singaporeans are not borned in Singapore issit ?
Originally posted by jojobeach:Back then Ofcors the native malays buay song wat.
You donno about the racial riot meh ?
History alredy made it so clear.. why the gahmen don't learn the lesson from it ?
When people feel displaced.. how to be song ?
Last time are the native malay.. because they are borned. here... then new generation Singaporeans are not borned in Singapore issit ?
Finally you agree with me that this is history repeating itself. Took a while for you to realise that.
Originally posted by Hbbo:Finally you agree with me that this is history repeating itself. Took a while for you to realise that.
History repeating part of it... maybe.
But new gen Singaporeans are very docile.. we will never be as brave as our forefathers. They riot, they are very destructive.. they burn tires.. they are very noisy and no good for economy. They made their anger known in very extrovert ways.
But we will wait.. we will be patient.. we will cast our votes instead.. in the manner the current gahmen wants us to.
No, history will not repeat itself.. not in our generation.
Originally posted by Hbbo:Finally you agree with me that this is history repeating itself. Took a while for you to realise that.
Ooops, I have doubt in history repeating itself, yes, we are immgrants too, Singapore make up of immigrants, now there is a new immigrants and the old one flocking out, not bad for a change of taste, the problem is last time, we attracted young strong manly men and pretty gals. Today we attracted Gay, Lesbian, Homosexual and mostly lame Men. We are attracting more Men than Gals other than PRC gals, so in a coconut shell, we will see more men in the future, and that is why Gay is encourage to come
Originally posted by angel7030:
Ooops, I have doubt in history repeating itself, yes, we are immgrants too, Singapore make up of immigrants, now there is a new immigrants and the old one flocking out, not bad for a change of taste, the problem is last time, we attracted young strong manly men and pretty gals. Today we attracted Gay, Lesbian, Homosexual and mostly lame Men. We are attracting more Men than Gals other than PRC gals, so in a coconut shell, we will see more men in the future, and that is why Gay is encourage to come
Actually.. more immigrants I don't really mind lah. But for goodness sake lah.. chose the handsome ones mah...
Me start a new male pageant... only PR and Work permit holders may apply.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Actually.. more immigrants I don't really mind lah. But for goodness sake lah.. chose the handsome ones mah...
Me start a new male pageant... only PR and Work permit holders may apply.
Oh, i saw a few handsome ones down shenton way, those computer geeks, PR India men from the north quite good looking but they look up only, and i taught they are very high class, but damn it, they just go hawker centre for food, and OMG, they like hold hands,...Gay.
Same goes to some handsome PRC men who are lecturers, businessmen and Dr here, eating in restaurant also talk very loud, and when they knock yr chair, it is like nothing happen, i taught courtesy is our way of life, so i walk pass him and knock harder, he turned but carry on with his loud talking as tho nothing happen, guess that is their way of life.
Originally posted by angel7030:
Oh, i saw a few handsome ones down shenton way, those computer geeks, PR India men from the north quite good looking but they look up only, and i taught they are very high class, but damn it, they just go hawker centre for food, and OMG, they like hold hands,...Gay.
Same goes to some handsome PRC men who are lecturers, businessmen and Dr here, eating in restaurant also talk very loud, and when they knock yr chair, it is like nothing happen, i taught courtesy is our way of life, so i walk pass him and knock harder, he turned but carry on with his loud talking as tho nothing happen, guess that is their way of life.
You see ah. That's why we women must play our part.
These men are not very civilized yet. They need to be taught some manners by the women.
It is our job to teach them.. educate them.
Without women.. men are just savages. That's why God gave us the power to mesmerize men with our body.. our scent and our beauty. And the intelligence to make men do the dirty work.. we just enjoy mahjong and high tea.
The foreigners will be sending the Singapore dollars they earn back home. Think about that!!!!
Originally posted by jojobeach:History repeating part of it... maybe.
But new gen Singaporeans are very docile.. we will never be as brave as our forefathers. They riot, they are very destructive.. they burn tires.. they are very noisy and no good for economy. They made their anger known in very extrovert ways.
But we will wait.. we will be patient.. we will cast our votes instead.. in the manner the current gahmen wants us to.
No, history will not repeat itself.. not in our generation.
Hey, don't change the topic. When I said history is repeating itself, I was referring to the cycle of immigants settling down in Singapore. Not about new generation vs old generation.
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
The foreigners will be sending the Singapore dollars they earn back home. Think about that!!!!
Yes, i agree. Just like what our forefathers did when they first came to Singapore from their villages in China and India.
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
So ? The things you buy are mostly made in China also wat.
When you buy their products.. arn't you also sending SG dollars to them too ?
Think about that !!!
Originally posted by kopiosatu:we are already foreigners.
Yes, Yes. How ironic. The generations who was here is now tainted by foreigners. Very soon we shall be the foreigners.
To TS,
why crystal ballah the future?
I go mrt, I see crowdedness.
I go Expo, PC Show, I see crowdedness to the extreme.
I hear of Pig Flu, I scared crowd.
Who shall address this crowdedness?
Can the public infrastructure handle not just the future population (includes tourists and all) but the current population?
Even if we manage to get used to a quality of life of squeezing at each other,
what happens and how can the infrastruture handle a , say, flu pandemic that gets passed from human to human Asymptomatically and then 1 fine day, kabooom, it is triggered? Is overcrowded place the Ideal place for human to human communicability of diseases? Can systems detect Asymptomatic diseases , fast enough? From the definition of Asymptomatic, i have a pessimistic view on this.
What is the solution given there the plan to increase population WAS executed some time ago? How can MRT be widened when it was already built? How much more could it expand and how much cost and inconvenience can it cause if expand the infrastructure? What about safety and security ?
Where is MSK?
Originally posted by jojobeach:So ? The things you buy are mostly made in China also wat.
When you buy their products.. arn't you also sending SG dollars to them too ?
Think about that !!!
he uses RMB to buy mah
Originally posted by likedatosocan:To TS,
why crystal ballah the future?
I go mrt, I see crowdedness.
I go Expo, PC Show, I see crowdedness to the extreme.
I hear of Pig Flu, I scared crowd.
Who shall address this crowdedness?
Can the public infrastructure handle not just the future population (includes tourists and all) but the current population?
Even if we manage to get used to a quality of life of squeezing at each other,
what happens and how can the infrastruture handle a , say, flu pandemic that gets passed from human to human Asymptomatically and then 1 fine day, kabooom, it is triggered? Is overcrowded place the Ideal place for human to human communicability of diseases? Can systems detect Asymptomatic diseases , fast enough? From the definition of Asymptomatic, i have a pessimistic view on this.
What is the solution given there the plan to increase population WAS executed some time ago? How can MRT be widened when it was already built? How much more could it expand and how much cost and inconvenience can it cause if expand the infrastructure? What about safety and security ?
Where is MSK?
I suggest you stay at home, dun come out.
Why can't anyone enjoy peace now?
Anyway I would rather die than to surrender to China if they attack Singapore in the future.
Say like World War III?
Bottomline is that foreigners need time to be fully assimilated into our society. 3 or 4 generations later, their descendents will be like us
He trying to say foreign blood will mix with sacred blood. Therefore it is filthy blood that will run through our country's veins in the future. Oh my god, I sound like Hitler now.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:Rubbish. So the youngsters now like the older generation?
You can't build a state with this type of rubbish policies.
Filthy crap from PAP.
PAP now coming out with more and more rubbish.
The rubbish coming out from them is increasing daily.
They are not solving problems but creating problems.
"So the youngsters now like the older generation?"
That's not what I said. That's just your own rubbish.
Originally posted by ClaT:
He trying to say foreign blood will mix with sacred blood. Therefore it is filthy blood that will run through our country's veins in the future. Oh my god, I sound like Hitler now.
That's not what I meant. Please read my entire post in full instead of quoting a sentence from it.
Originally posted by skythewood:new PR scheme so they won't have to serve NS?
I thought it is always the second generation serve NS? Has there been a change?
There was a change the year after I got PR in about 2005 or so. I found that out because i've met a lot of foreign students at NUS who get automatic PR upon graduation in SIngapore, they are bonded to work in Singapore for 3 years ofcourse, but no army at all. If i had waited a year i could have gone on that scheme, it is new. But the end result is still the same, foreigners that get the right to stay without seriously serving time. I feel its unfair and PR has little use now, i sweat for nothing.
"MY master will never allow Leevis to get away with this TREACHERY... jk" ;)
Yeah funny old world innit?
Originally posted by LordoftheLamers:
There was a change the year after I got PR in about 2005 or so. I found that out because i've met a lot of foreign students at NUS who get automatic PR upon graduation in SIngapore, they are bonded to work in Singapore for 3 years ofcourse, but no army at all. If i had waited a year i could have gone on that scheme, it is new. But the end result is still the same, foreigners that get the right to stay without seriously serving time. I feel its unfair and PR has little use now, i sweat for nothing.
"MY master will never allow Leevis to get away with this TREACHERY... jk" ;)
Yeah funny old world innit?
Wah, even PRs can feel short changed at the government's policies.
And they don't even have to serve NS. ![]()