Originally posted by dotaro:Actually not, there was no country back then, so my grands were not foreign from last time point of view.
I'm not sure if you have been retrenched or out of work for a long time as a freshie, but you sound like Straits Times to me.
It's theoratically rosey, the picture you have painted.
In terms of jobscope, if both FW and local are similar, why would a boss want to pay extra when he/she could have paid lower?
Paying you extra because you upgraded yourselves? No way, I expect you to take up more responsibilities at your current pay with your additional skill-sets. No happy? The exit door is right over there.
Most immigrant were mainly from china and surrounding so call 3rd world then, and sg is under rule of England. So in short, there is country back then.
I have being work for sometime and still are. Try thinking far....
if u are worth your weight in gold, why wouldnt anyone pay you ur worth? Like you said, if one local is similar to another local but yet one is willing to be paid lower, would any boss want to pay extra?
You upgrade urself so that you fit in role which cannot be replace with someone willing to be paid less or easily source. Which is what the gov is trying to do. Upgrade the work force and leave those less desire job to FL. Human resources is the only natural resource sg have. If we are lacking in that department, why dun we import more from oversea?
the main flaw of sg gov is that they dun realise that they have created a country which local talent hate and despise. Hence the out flow or local talent.
Originally posted by EarlNeo:Most immigrant were mainly from china and surrounding so call 3rd world then, and sg is under rule of England. So in short, there is country back then.
if u are worth your weight in gold, why wouldnt anyone pay you ur worth? Like you said, if one local is similar to another local but yet one is willing to be paid lower, would any boss want to pay extra?
You upgrade urself so that you fit in role which cannot be replace with someone willing to be paid less or easily source. Which is what the gov is trying to do. Upgrade the work force and leave those less desire job to FL. Human resources is the only natural resource sg have. If we are lacking in that department, why dun we import more from oversea?
the main flaw of sg gov is that they dun realise that they have created a country which local talent hate and despise. Hence the out flow or local talent.
Those who can should just immigrate.
After all.. 6,000 H1B visa has been reserved for Singaporeans because of the Free Trade Agreement.. so why not just make good use of it.
If those visa don get filled... it will just revert back to the regular pool.
Singaporeans has become the unfavored child of SG gahmen. There's really no reason to stay and slog for it.
Let the FL/FW/FTs slog our land instead.
While Philipines and Indonesia are known for their exports of cheap labor.
Singapore should be famous for exporting their talents. Afterall.. it can be rather lucrative too.
Most immigrant were mainly from china and surrounding so call 3rd world then, and sg is under rule of England. So in short, there is country back then.
I'd like point out that we don't gain independence as a country for nothing. There wasn't country then.
Yeah, it's good start thinking a far early.
Sorry Bro, I said if one FW is similar to one local. And it's a stark reality that bosses will not pay extra even if you're worth the weight cuz costs is the main concern, and if you're good, they expect you to multi-task, take on more roles, thus bringing down your time for family or studies or hobbies.
Actually, there may be plenty of folks out there willing to take up less desired job if they are paid appropriately. However, if bosses' can easily get much cheaper labour, they will forsake the locals.
"Desired" jobs, like IT? Our frens from India can do it. Engineering, our China friends are willing to be paid cheaper. Admin? Our Philipino and Myanmese folks are easily available. Casino & MICE? Our M'sian, Macau neighbours have all the experience.
Actually, the outflow is to the developing countries. Our talents chose to remain in the developed countries.
With the FTs & FWs taking up the desired jobs in Singapore, they will gain the experience at the expense of the locals, and when the US and Europe beckons in the upturn, they will just leave our shores with the experience they gained.
The locals, sorry, please pay up for your next upgrading training.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Those who can should just immigrate.
After all.. 6,000 H1B visa has been reserved for Singaporeans because of the Free Trade Agreement.. so why not just make good use of it.
If those visa don get filled... it will just revert back to the regular pool.
Singaporeans has become the unfavored child of SG gahmen. There's really no reason to stay and slog for it.
Let the FL/FW/FTs slog our land instead.
While Philipines and Indonesia are known for their exports of cheap labor.
Singapore should be famous for exporting their talents. Afterall.. it can be rather lucrative too.
If sg have the ability to produce that much of so call talent, it gov wont b importing FT liao....
I still feel sg gov have the vision.... and where it wanna go. Just the way of getting there isnt ideal.... It forgo too much in trying to get there.... thing that are what popel us toward those goals....
i have work with both local and FT/FW in my company. Most FW are pay way lesser then local but yet perform well better. I hate to say this, but some of our local are a disgrace to us. Not only do they not perform, they expect to be pay higher for doing less simply b'coz they are born here.
If i am their boss, i dun see why i shd be lossing profit simply coz we share the same birth place. Afterall, itis a business that he is running.
If the so call protection for locals come at the expense of us being able to complete, wat will the furture of sg be?
Hey! Guys guys guys.We no need to worry about the future lah.
Singapore such a small island.Will be destroyed in a blink of eye loh.
Someday some asshole decide that Singapore they dont like and send us a little nuke.TaDa!!! We go back to stone age lah.
Y care about wat foreigner or not.
Ask everyone one question... Suppose Singapore kena attack by other countries.And u got time to make a choice... Lets make a honest vote here
1.Pack and get out of here
2.Pick up arms and ready to die
3.Hide in the house(hope ur HDB or Private house dont get bombed)
i have work with both local and FT/FW in my company. Most FW are pay way lesser then local but yet perform well better. I hate to say this, but some of our local are a disgrace to us. Not only do they not perform, they expect to be pay higher for doing less simply b'coz they are born here.
If i am their boss, i dun see why i shd be lossing profit simply coz we share the same birth place. Afterall, itis a business that he is running.
If the so call protection for locals come at the expense of us being able to complete, wat will the furture of sg be?
Yes, you are right. We should reward based on performance, irregardless of nationality. Unfortunately, many companies here are unwilling to go along this path, they would rather bring in new foreign blood, willing to slog.
If an employee knows that the effort you put in will not be rewarded, instead will be replaced anytime by a cheaper source, why work hard? I'm not finding excuses for these type of people, but that's human pysche which many local companies don't understand, still having the local towkay concept, can squeeze you at a minimum price, the better.
Originally posted by Worcer:Hey! Guys guys guys.We no need to worry about the future lah.
Someday some asshole decide that Singapore they dont like and send us a little nuke.TaDa!!! We go back to stone age lah.
Ask everyone one question... Suppose Singapore kena attack by other countries.And u got time to make a choice... Lets make a honest vote here
1.Pack and get out of here
2.Pick up arms and ready to die
3.Hide in the house(hope ur HDB or Private house dont get bombed)
You should worry exactly because of that, bro. If someone bombs, everything's over in a flash, nothing to worry.
Now imagine no one bombs Sg for another 50 yrs. Imagine your life here....rising bills, more crowds, fewer jobs, more stress, more pressure, declining quality of life....you keep waiting for a bomb but nothing happens.
Meantime, everyone who can leaves, but you are stuck here - unable to go, unable to compete, unable to touch your CPF money...that's worse, and quite possibly the reality of the future.
Moral of story: Don't wait for an attack...try and plan your future now.
Hey! Guys guys guys.We no need to worry about the future lah.
Someday some asshole decide that Singapore they dont like and send us a little nuke.
TaDa!!! We go back to stone age lah.
Everyone thinks like you Singapore sure die.
Originally posted by dotaro:Yes, you are right. We should reward based on performance, irregardless of nationality. Unfortunately, many companies here are unwilling to go along this path, they would rather bring in new foreign blood, willing to slog.
If an employee knows that the effort you put in will not be rewarded, instead will be replaced anytime by a cheaper source, why work hard? I'm not finding excuses for these type of people, but that's human pysche which many local companies don't understand, still having the local towkay concept, can squeeze you at a minimum price, the better.
it is either regard or regardless, there is no such word as irregardless...failed. Carry on slogging with the Bangalas..
Originally posted by EarlNeo:If sg have the ability to produce that much of so call talent, it gov wont b importing FT liao....
I still feel sg gov have the vision.... and where it wanna go. Just the way of getting there isnt ideal.... It forgo too much in trying to get there.... thing that are what popel us toward those goals....
of course govt hv a vision lah, if not vision, what are they doing, shake legs and play cards at PAP club house ar??
Its is good to bring in talents, the problem is how you define talents?? are you really bringing in talents or just to make up the nos?? it does not mean you study high high means you got talent, some are goondos and cannot work and some bought their certificates just to show that they are talents. So, singapore hv to becareful of what talents they bring in...1st or 3rd tier talents?? Talent Time
What jojobeach said is very true, our forefathers came to settle here in Singapore which was once an empty land, did not came here to reap any profits from here, but to work hard and develope the land here. Our forefathers did not get anything but as generations passed, the land became fruitful and prosperous. Now foreigners coming here, very obviously are doing the reverse, which is reaping the profits and prosperity which our forefathers had gathered and gained for the past many generations. Our hardwork has attracted many parasitic people coming like bees attracted to honey.
My relatives who flew from changi last month came back and told me that even security have employed foreigners and other nationalities, she is so surprised. Wonder if it is safe to travel nowadays as other countries they dont hire other nationalities.
Originally posted by Lyn2010:My relatives who flew from changi last month came back and told me that even security have employed foreigners and other nationalities, she is so surprised. Wonder if it is safe to travel nowadays as other countries they dont hire other nationalities.
Really?
Are you sure? ![]()
Absolutely. She was very impressed by their uniforms, so she told them: I am very proud of you all Singaporeans here and changi, you all have very smart uniforms. But they replied: Sorry Mdm, we are all malaysians here, not Singaporeans!
Originally posted by Lyn2010:Absolutely. She was very impressed by their uniforms, so she told them: I am very proud of you all Singaporeans here and changi, you all have very smart uniforms. But they replied: Sorry Mdm, we are all malaysians here, not Singaporeans!
Eh, maybe some foreign airline counter lah.
Can't be security. ![]()
Sometimes I took MRT and think that, am I in my own country???
Cause the whole MRT is filled with foreigners..
I don't have that feeling when I am in bus.
if im not wrong..they consider permanent residents as "citizens" as well in their statistics?
i stand to be corrected though
if im not wrong..they consider permanent residents as "citizens" as well in their statistics?
i stand to be corrected though
You are correct.
And there are many PRs working in the Gov sector drafting our national policies.
And internal surveys of these PR Gov employees shows an overwhelming unwillingness to convert to citizenship.
Thanks, Gov!
Originally posted by dotaro:You are correct.
And there are many PRs working in the Gov sector drafting our national policies.
And internal surveys of these PR Gov employees shows an overwhelming unwillingness to convert to citizenship.
Thanks, Gov!
PRs can work in civil service? ![]()
PRs can work in civil service?
You'd be surprised
Originally posted by dotaro:You'd be surprised
Which departments? ![]()
Know what you need to know can liao![]()
Don't think too much![]()
Originally posted by dotaro:
Know what you need to know can liao
Don't think too much
How to believe when you don't show evidence?
How? ![]()
How to believe when you don't show evidence?
How?
You have a choice to believe or not to believe, just like a choice to vote or not to vote, remember?![]()