Originally posted by bratpig:Democracy is a form of government in which state-power is held by the majority of citizens within a country or a state. It is derived from the Greek δημοκρατία (dÄ“mokratía (info)), “popular government”, which was coined from δῆμος (dêmos), “people” and κράτος (krátos), “rule, strength” in the middle of the fifth-fourth century BC to denote the political systems then existing in some Greek city-states, notably Athens following a popular uprising in 508 BC.
Thanks.
I thought it was used by the noisy Romans cast their votes who to be fed the lion.![]()
SOLUTIONS GENTLEMEN!!!SOLUTIONS!!!
WE ARE RUNNING OUT OF TIME AND MONEY!!!WE CANT BE TALKING N HAVING THEIR PROBLEMS FOREVER!
WHAT ARE THE SOLUTIONS?
the solitions are tweaks in the system, thats all u want to see.
Originally posted by MINIGUN2000:SOLUTIONS GENTLEMEN!!!SOLUTIONS!!!
WE ARE RUNNING OUT OF TIME AND MONEY!!!WE CANT BE TALKING N HAVING THEIR PROBLEMS FOREVER!
WHAT ARE THE SOLUTIONS?
Well for starters, why don't I pop a nine mil in that shit filled head of yours so that you can stop being a drain on society? Would you like that?
Originally posted by Socialist:I am trying to make u understand, western liberal democracy was found on christian principles. Christianity or similar religions were the main foundation in that countries. So it took on a civilised and stable form up till today, In ethnic singapore, we have different religions, ethnic groups with their own set of separate beliefs. We cannot establish the style of democracy seen in western countries. Simply not possible. trying to do so will have a negative effect as democracy itself will bring about chaos and disorder with one set of beliefs ( religion, ideology or racial) trying to establish and overshadow itself over the other..
Since when was "western liberal democracy" founded on "Christian Principles" ?
Are you not being ridiculous to bring in "religious precepts" into a "political form" - and contradicting yourself with the idea that "western liberalism" can be linked to some "Christian Principles" that are more conservative than being liberal ?
Are you being confused or attempting to befuddle the situation with your ill considered thread that attempted to be provocative but now trying to salvage your untenable position when exposed for the very weak foundation that it intend to build itself on ?
If the style of western democracy cannot be accepted in Singapore, why should this supposedly pragmatic PAP Government attempt to continue with any semblance of the Westminster Parliamentary System ?
Is this not an entire charade that has been continued since 1957 - the year that LKY took over the reins of political power and continue to manipulate the legislations to his own and his PAP's advantage ?
If the concept of Democracy is a Western Liberal and Christian idea - why should this be continued by a politically secular state propounded by LKY, and forced onto a multi-ethnic and multi-religious Singapore ?
Why will this PAP Government then selectively implement a two-tier political system that he hoped will ease the hunger for more citizen "involvement" in the Singapore political process - by allowing Singaporean to have a bigger say on local politics at the Town Council level, and take any political sting from Singaporean's involvement at the National Level ?
If this whole idea of Democracy is a Western Liberal and Christian idea - why will Communist China even begin to attempt to institute democracy to be practiced at the village level, when the very concept of liberalism will undermine the authority of the long held acceptance to the singular domination of the CCP over all political affairs in China ?
The concept of Democracy is to have each and every Citizen to participate and be responsible for all political events and decisions that affect the community which the Citizen is part of.
It is supposed to be government by the people - especially rule of the majority - a government in which the supreme power is VESTED IN THE PEOPLE and exercised by them directly or indirectly through a system of representation usually involving periodically held FREE elections.
It is neither liberal nor western nor Christian in its beginning, as the idea of Democracy had begun thousands of years ago - in the centuries Before Christ - in ancient Greece.
Singapore's practice of Democracy is only in form and not in substance - as can be seen by the single minded political attempt to cut down the development and support for any Alternative Political Parties, blocking citizen's involvement in the POLITICAL LIFE of Singapore, and the constant manipulation of the political process to ensure the ONE Party dominance of the PAP as the only Government in Singapore.
i am not really referring to individual freedom and rights but rather the democratic processes linked to economy.
Like what?
Well, what LKY wanted (i beleive) is the enginnering of a disciplined society through his principles. If he allow too much democracy , there will be rifts and different sections within society which will make social cohesion difficult. he wanted a society of common beliefs and values needed for a society to function in a stable and constant form. This was absolutely necessary in the 1960s to 80s.
A long long long time ago, when I started reading up on political affairs, I used to hold the above view.
I don't hold those views anymore.
Now, I know that all of it is nothing but Lee Kuan Yew's mother fucking bullshit propaganda to brainwash people.
Originally posted by MINIGUN2000:SOLUTIONS GENTLEMEN!!!SOLUTIONS!!!
WHAT ARE THE SOLUTIONS?
Solution!!! Oh!,...the only solution now is to shake legs and wait fot he old man to go.
Originally posted by Gedanken:You're kidding, aren't you? Please tell me you're kidding.
The fact of the matter is that this iron grip is what's caused the current mess where the government is scrambling around on a ludicrous mission to teach people to be creative and to retool at last-minute notice. They spent forty years beating every last ounce of original thought out of everyone to create a submissive population, and now they've realised that they've royally screwed the pooch by creating a society that's too expensive to compete with the Indians, Thais and such, and aren't bright enough to take Singapore in a direction commensurate with its price bracket.
For the first 25 years, yes, the government did the right thing by pointing everyone in the same direction. However, by the early to mid 80's, the economy had stabilised to the point where if people were given some free rein, they could have been on the cutting edge by now. Instead, all we get is a whole lot of bullshit about hub this and hub that, and a shitload of foreign talents brought in because the government systematically bred all talent out of Singaporeans by controlling everything.
It didn't start when the Internet came about, it started a helluva lot earlier, and guess what? If the Singaporean government had been watching what had been happening in Japan by the early 80's, they would have realised that the manufacturing game upon which the economy was originally built was always a time-limited game, and they would have started trying to figure out what the nextstage of Singapore's evolution was. But nooooo, they were too busy fucking around with people's lives and playing petty political games in court.
If you want to know where all the current brouhaha about foreign talents came from, look at what happened between 1980 and 1986, and how it relates to growth over the subsequent 15-20 years. Then come back and tell me how fucking smart Harry is.
Excellent excellent piece. However, I daresay we would be a lot worse off without him in the initial stages but perhaps a lot better without him after say 1980s.
They spent forty years beating every last ounce of original thought out of everyone to create a submissive population, and now they've realised that they've royally screwed the pooch by creating a society that's too expensive to compete with the Indians, Thais and such, and aren't bright enough to take Singapore in a direction commensurate with its price bracket.
This Lee Kuan Yew really killed off the fighting and innovative spirit of the people, put them under fear and propaganda. A real bastard, this fellow.
If you want to know where all the current brouhaha about foreign talents came from, look at what happened between 1980 and 1986, and how it relates to growth over the subsequent 15-20 years.
Care to share your information?
What are the origins of the mother fucking bullshit foreign talent scheme?
Singapore would had developed into a better place if Lee Kuan Yew had stepped down in 1980.
But nooooooooooooooo.
The power hungary bastard wouldn't.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:Singapore would had developed into a better place if Lee Kuan Yew had stepped down in 1980.
But nooooooooooooooo.
The power hungary bastard wouldn't.
oH! IS it??? but now, we are also ok mah, can post happily in our own room with aircon and maid serving us. I think if LKY is to step down, I may be a pros now, and you may be a pimp.
Originally posted by angel7030:
oH! IS it??? but now, we are also ok mah, can post happily in our own room with aircon and maid serving us. I think if LKY is to step down, I may be a pros now, and you may be a pimp.
I thought you are already a pros? ![]()
I think if LKY is to step down, I may be a pros now, and you may be a pimp.
Usual filth, longinchjohn.
Originally posted by deepak.c:
I thought you are already a pros?
yo there is a different btw professionals and non professionals ya
Originally posted by Ah Chia:Usual filth, longinchjohn.
well, Uncle, pros and cons,
let be objective, we got to be realistic about it, because of LKY, we are here, like it or not, u have lived so long in peace and harmony, and yet the education provided you the opportunity to surf the world and post in here. You gotta give the man credits lah, give the man a tiger.
not tamil tiger hor
Originally posted by angel7030:
yo there is a different btw professionals and non professionals ya
Oops.
Forgot you are mamasan and not a pros. ![]()
Mamasan is a person living off the immoral earnings of women? ![]()
But then again, what price morality these days. ![]()
Oops.
Forgot you are mamasan and not a pros.
Mamasan is a person living off the immoral earnings of women?
But then again, what price morality these days.
me not mama san, please lah, time change already, we hv to stay relevent, guess u are out of date, today where got mamasan, only those dirty karaoke bar, even the jap mamasan also get retrenched liao, we call our Public Relation Officer ya.
let be objective, we got to be realistic about it, because of LKY, we are here, like it or not, u have lived so long in peace and harmony, and yet the education provided you the opportunity to surf the world and post in here. You gotta give the man credits lah, give the man a tiger.
I would credit those to Goh Keng Swee, not the bastard.
On a PAP ticket, Goh successfully contested the Kreta Ayer seat in the 1959 Legislative Assembly elections, and joined the first government of Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew as Minister of Finance. In this role, he was to assume stewardship of Singapore's economy, and in the following decade, Goh was to serve as the chief architect of the country's economic development.
Originally posted by angel7030:me not mama san, please lah, time change already, we hv to stay relevent, guess u are out of date, today where got mamasan, only those dirty karaoke bar, even the jap mamasan also get retrenched liao, we call our Public Relation Officer ya.
I must have struck the right chord. ![]()
I am not into technical terms like you.
So directly or indirectly you are still a PROs. ![]()
Credit Singapore economy to a bastard that lost 50 billion?
Sorry, I am senile hor.
I must have struck the right chord.
I am not into technical terms like you.
So directly or indirectly you are still a PROs.
aiya, whatever lah, as long as the cashier rings, that's it. Whatever designation is just for show lah.
Yo, Goh Keng Swee coming on board, let get back to the original thread, if not, i will get scolding again.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:Credit Singapore economy to a bastard that lost 50 billion?
Sorry, I am senile hor.
Uncle, u dun hv to be sorry, we knew.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:
I would credit those to Goh Keng Swee, not the bastard.
On a PAP ticket, Goh successfully contested the Kreta Ayer seat in the 1959 Legislative Assembly elections, and joined the first government of Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew as Minister of Finance. In this role, he was to assume stewardship of Singapore's economy, and in the following decade, Goh was to serve as the chief architect of the country's economic development.
Look Uncle Chia,
Politics is dirty, maybe the dirtiest of all trade or prof. Someone got to go to the top, hardly you find a nation run by 2 heads, sooner or later, chaos will take over. Even the thais disagree that thaksin runs the north and abhisit runs the south. No doubt Mr Goh and all other old guards which i read in nets and history do play an important parts in the making of Singapore, you have to agree that who dare wins. To me, Mr Goh is a economist, not a politician.
To me, Mr Goh is a economist, not a politician.
To me you are a filthy person, longinchjohn.