Originally posted by Ah Chia:I envy that you have papers there where people can give independent and diverse views.
Although there is also a limit to that.
Yeah..well.. good thing LKY is confined to a little red dot.
Somebody's gota write that constitution.. and LKY ain't that person who's willing to do that obviously.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Yeah..well.. good thing LKY is confined to a little red dot.
Somebody's gota write that constitution.. and LKY ain't that person who's willing to do that obviously.
Don't think he can handle others, Singaporeans are subservient for his rule.
good thing LKY is confined to a little red dot.
True.
More people will suffer his mental torture and soulless society if otherwise.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Yeah..well.. good thing LKY is confined to a little red dot.
LKY did mention that given a big country he may not manage well
Originally posted by Fantagf:
Ah, he was just being modest. Hitler and Stalin managed to control large countries quite easily, so how hard can it be?
Perhaps his wisedom did come in small pulse.
Originally posted by Gedanken:Ah, he was just being modest. Hitler and Stalin managed to control large countries quite easily, so how hard can it be?
LKY does not have the ability to influence the masses like Hitler and Stalin.
Don't think he can handle others, Singaporeans are subservient for his rule.
He is afraid of us also.
He is a baba in a sea of dialect speakers, malays, tamils.
The bastard even worked for the Japs.
That is why the repression.
James Puthucheary, who was in charge of PAP publicity for the elections recalled the first rally held in a remote Chinese village.
http://singaporegovt.blogspot.com/2006/07/
I can't speak hokkien...
They don't understand my english...
If they know of my past dealings with the Japs...my political career...
Some hokkien orator can easily unseat me....
How...how...how...how to win..how...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Operation_Coldstore
Gedanken, and chew bakar
May be he realise that his ways of managing can only be effective in small country like singapore.
Originally posted by Gedanken:As I said earlier, to be fair, tight control was required during the early days to keep the ship afloat. The problem is that by the 80's, such control went from being a necessity to being a liability, but few people noticed.
Aye.. the boiling frog story.
Originally posted by Gedanken:Yeah, I have and I did. By the time I was in JC something already struck me as being not quite right, and as I went along I looked at how excessive control was being exerted in a situation where the example of Japan's expanding economy had already shown five years prior that people needed to be pushed forward, not yanked back by leashes. Yet Singapore's culture was one of adamant complacency that "yes sir, no sir, three bags full" was the way to go, and actively went out of its way to stamp out independent thought.
That was 1992, and that's when I decided that my energy was better spent a place without control freaks who would evetually run the ship aground, and I started putting together my plans to leave. I'm not going to rub it in by describing my circumstances in detail, but suffice to say I'm living very comfortably, and this is the product of foresight, not of the hindsight with which you assume I speak. Let me know if you ever come to Melbourne and I'll show you exactly what I mean.
You don't see it, do you? After all of this talk about Singapore being an economic miracle, making it to First World status and all that jazz, don't you think that by definition, it's out of place for a First World country to be talking about mere survival?
I do wish people would make up their minds - has Singapore made it, or has Singapore not made it?
If Singapore has made it, it's time to get past the "we must do this to survive" nonsense because the name of the game need to be advancement, and not survival.
If Singapore hasn't yet made it, then for the love of God can we stop drinking the "LKY made Singapore a miracle" Kool-Aid?
Either way, you're right. The past doesn't count. You know as well as I do it's today, and the MoM figures I've posted already show that trouble's past brewing, it's spilling over the edge. It's time to wake up and smell the coffee instead of falling back on rose-tinted recollections of the 60's - 80's.
I am personally glad that you had found happiness in other countries and became their citizens, contributing to their society instead to us that had nurtured you, just like many others who had left on petty issues and feel most free to condemn us who are living in our nation honourably, serving our people as best as we can collectively.
Utimately, no society is perfect and it takes us citizens, to work together to find solutions to our crisis, no matter what form it takes, be it health or economics.
Minister Mentor Lee K. Y is but a politician, and dependant on votes which we citizens hold the right and full freedom of choice. Whatever that had happened in the past and policies that will happen in the future, we as citizens will have to take the responsibility for the choices made, for we have only ourselves to depend on, unlike you and other ex-singaporeans who are dependant on the goodwill of your pledge loyalty to your adopted countries.
We may fail, or we may succeed, as a society, believing more we will succeed, for we are the generations of hardworking winners who had created a reality seen with our eyes, even for you as a child when you were still a citizen. Failure will never be an option for us.
I thank you personally for your concern for our nation, but i must say it will be better that you and your kind keep your counsel and loyalty to your own nation that you had pledge your loyalty and life to.
I can only guess that you and your kind must be either lonely or Unaccepted by your chosen society that you and your kind must keep comming here on our Singaporean site.
You and your kind are most welcome and need not beg on your knees to join here to present your views, for we Singaporeans are a republic and believe fully on equality for everyone, even outsiders like you and your kind, nor do we expect your kind to step upon our heads to make yourselves egoistically taller and deign to tell us how we should behave or what we should do, we as a society whom you had rejected and foresworned against.
We citizens will find our way, just as our forefathers had and given us what we had today, in the complexities of life under the brutual regimes of China, groveling before Malaysian kings, being treated as dogs by the brits before finally founding our freedom. Freedom from starvation, freedom from poverty,freedom from diseases. and freedom from illiteracy.
Cheers and farewell.
Originally posted by xtreyier:I am personally glad that you had found happiness in other countries and became their citizens, contributing to their society instead to us that had nurtured you, just like many others who had left on petty issues and feel most free to condemn us who are living in our nation honourably, serving our people as best as we can collectively.
Utimately, no society is perfect and it takes us citizens, to work together to find solutions to our crisis, no matter what form it takes, be it health or economics.
Minister Mentor Lee K. Y is but a politician, and dependant on votes which we citizens hold the right and full freedom of choice. Whatever that had happened in the past and policies that will happen in the future, we as citizens will have to take the responsibility for the choices made, for we have only ourselves to depend on, unlike you and other ex-singaporeans who are dependant on the goodwill of your pledge loyalty to your adopted countries.
We may fail, or we may succeed, as a society, believing more we will succeed, for we are the generations of hardworking winners who had created a reality seen with our eyes, even for you as a child when you were still a citizen. Failure will never be an option for us.
I thank you personally for your concern for our nation, but i must say it will be better that you and your kind keep your counsel and loyalty to your own nation that you had pledge your loyalty and life to.
I can only guess that you and your kind must be either lonely or Unaccepted by your chosen society that you and your kind must keep comming here on our Singaporean site.
You and your kind are most welcome and need not beg on your knees to join here to present your views, for we Singaporeans are a republic and believe fully on equality for everyone, even outsiders like you and your kind, nor do we expect your kind to step upon our heads to make yourselves egoistically taller and deign to tell us how we should behave or what we should do, we as a society whom you had rejected and foresworned against.
We citizens will find our way, just as our forefathers had and given us what we had today, in the complexities of life under the brutual regimes of China, groveling before Malaysian kings, being treated as dogs by the brits before finally founding our freedom. Freedom from starvation, freedom from poverty,freedom from diseases. and freedom from illiteracy.
Cheers and farewell.
Nothing but egoistic rants.
What "you and your kind"... geesh..
You don't be stupid can ?
You think we got no family and friends in Singapore har ? You think we are orphan like you meh ?
Sure you don't like "foreigners" to come point out the mistakes and problems. Ofcors doing that is damaging to your puny ego.
Oh heaven forbids.. we are now CASTE AWAY.... because somebody here couldn't take the criticism like a big man.. boo hooo....
"Freedom from starvation, freedom from poverty,freedom from diseases. and freedom from illiteracy." You sure these social/natural illnesses are TOTALLY eradicated in SG ?
Just because you didn't see it.. doesn't mean it's not there.. your pastor never say this to you ah ?
What the fuck.. get out there and open your freakin eyes.
....As the devil say to you " Close your eyes.. now you see the truth".......
Originally posted by xtreyier:
Yes, while no society is perfect - can an imperfect society like Singapore allow the citizens any free-hand to find solutions to a crisis - when it is dominated by a culture of Elitist dominance - ?
Has it not been a fact that the PAP Government conduct meet-the-people sessions as avenues to propagate their policies prior to implementation - more than as avenues to gain and consolidate views from Singaporeans ?
Do Singaporeans have any free-hand to find solutions to the crisis that was poured onto us in some careless manner - like oil splashing off a frying pan ?
The hallmark of the PAP Rule has been the insistence on the population being single minded in towing the official sanctioned thinking of the day, and any alternative views are seen as a challenge and clear opposition to the PAP rule.
With the Singapore Government being the largest single employer of Singaporeans - is there any free opportunity for Singaporeans to be politically independent from the PAP dogma ?
Will any Singaporean dare to risk breaking his rice bowl that is dependent on keeping the good grace of the PAP Government ?
While Singapore Citizen has the right and supposedly full freedom of choice - are there any real choices when the PAP starve any person of ability from entering politics with the Alternative Political Parties ?
Do Singaporeans possess the power of the ballot - when the PAP Government has full control in manipulating with the electoral boundaries that can neutralize or disperse the concentration of political dissenters that will vote for the Alternative Parties ?
Are there any choices for Singaporeans - when legislations are regularly changed and updated to serve the agenda of the Ruling Party that can only serve to handicap the Alternative Political Parties ?
This refers in particular to the GRC concept that allow a losing candidate to benefit from the success of his fellow GRC members.
The political parties are kept in a state of being wrong footed at each election - when the numbers that form the GRC has seen increases in size over the last 20 years. The GRC had begun with a 3-member Grouping and now we have the 6-member GRC.
With financial contributions to all political parties being monitored and the amount of political contribution being limited by legislation, the Alternative Political Parties are stymied in their efforts to grow in financial strength.
Is this not obvious that failure can never be an option in Life ?
However, can Singaporeans prevent failure when the self-acclaimed Elitist political leadership insist on having things done their way - with policies already settled while debate and approval is but a formality ?
The reality is that after 52 years of PAP rule with LKY at the helm, life today in Singapore continue to be a struggle, and the future as uncertain as our forefathers were in 1957.
Life then was less hard, as inflation was much lower and the currency values then had real meaning compared to the worth of the Singapore currency today.
In the 1950s, those who were 60 years of age would have retired - compared to those who are now expected to work till 70 or more.
Many of these 70 year olds are now eking out a living from collecting cardboard cartons, newspapers, tin cans and plastic bottles - and has become such a common sight that one can only ask if this is the hallmark of a First World a'la Singapore style ?
Cheers and farewell.
Is the regime in China brutal towards its population - when PM LHL will tell Singaporeans that it is NOT the Government responsibility to look for jobs for Singaporeans - while China's Premier Wen Jia Pau can tell China's displaced workers that the China Government will ensure that workers will find employment ?
Both statements were made in 2004 - and only one day apart.
If that is brutality - then it is the ironical quality between both ONE-Party State.
In place of groveling before any Malaysian Kings, we have as many carpet beggars in Singapore that grovel for crumbs at the tables of the Political Elites.
Why do you think that the PAP Government cannot have the Government divesting itself from being involved in industries and commerce - which should have been the space reserved for Singaporean private entrepreneurship ?
Is it not obvious that all the PAP faithfuls have been duly rewarded for their years of patient groveling, and now rewarded with senior positions that pays them annual remunerations topping the $1,000,000 mark and more ?
Do you seriously believe yourself that Singaporeans are free from starvation, free from poverty, free from diseases and free from illiteracy ?
Looking into this Speaker's Corner alone - do you seriously believe that Singapore is free from illiteracy with the fair number of educated illiterate present ?
Do you dare to hold your position when LKY is more cautious now in repeating the same boast that he made before - and now made by you ?
Originally posted by xtreyier:I am personally glad that you had found happiness in other countries and became their citizens, contributing to their society instead to us that had nurtured you, just like many others who had left on petty issues and feel most free to condemn us who are living in our nation honourably, serving our people as best as we can collectively.
Cheers and farewell.
Ah, the ad hominem attack - domain of the Singaporean. If somebody says something that you don't agree with, why waste time addressing the issues when you could simply discredit everything with a barrel full of red herrings?
I see you have been very well trained by the powers-that-be. That's how they got JBJ, that's how they got everyone who ever questioned them, that's how they will keep themselves in their well, and you, my friend, have guzzled down the Kool-Aid. Model citizen, you are.
Don't try painting yourself as the heroic stayer - without addressing the issues, you simply come off as the guy who's busily rearranging the deck chairs on the Titanic.
I'm glad that you're glad that I'm glad, but that's beside the point. Strip away your passive-aggressive tactics, and you underlying message is, "I don't like the look of you, and because I don't like you I'm not going to bother checking my pants when you tell me that my arse is on fire".
It's a chickenshit defence - you know it, I know it. Regardless of where my interests lie, you haven't done a single thing to address the problems raised by someone who's been there and knows what they are firsthand. The question now, my heroic patriot, is this: are you going to actually look at the problems or are you going to plan grandiose distractions by shooting the messenger? When all is said and done, who's left with the mess?
So please, do grow up and be just that little bit more mature than your government is.
By the way, xtreyier, did you ever pause and consider why droves of highly-motivated, achievement-oriented people would suddenly and uncharacteristically drop their bundle and leave? Did you ever consider that maybe they didn't just drop their bundle and leave? Did you consider that perhaps they did try to do something about the situation and were repeatedly told, "Shut up and do as you're told", and so made the entirely and perfectly rational decision to head where people wouldn't resist progress? Did you consider that these people in fact stopped depending on a lifetime's support structure built up in Singapore, started depending on themselves and ventured out to rebuild it all from scratch? Did you consider that perhaps the ones who stayed are the ones who are dependent?
I suspect that you'd never considered any of the above, because you still have Goh Chok Tong's "quitters" speech playing on infinite loop in your head, loudly enough to drown out any whisper of conscience or common sense.
Why don't you take a step back, strip away all of the comic-book "truth, justice and the Singaporean way" rhetoric and review what you've said from the perspective of rational behaviour? Go ahead, I dare you - you certainly won't like what you see lying underneath the jingoistic veneer.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Nothing but egoistic rants.
You think we got no family and friends in Singapore har ? You think we are orphan like you meh ?
Sure you don't like "foreigners" to come point out the mistakes and problems. Ofcors doing that is damaging to your puny ego.
Oh heaven forbids.. we are now CASTE AWAY.... because somebody here couldn't take the criticism like a big man.. boo hooo....
"Freedom from starvation, freedom from poverty,freedom from diseases. and freedom from illiteracy." You sure these social/natural illnesses are TOTALLY eradicated in SG ?
Just because you didn't see it.. doesn't mean it's not there.. your pastor never say this to you ah ?
Easy, jojo - that might be a bit too much common sense for our friend to handle. ![]()
Gedanken, if you fail to comprehend my post or prefer to close your eyes, then it is a loss of either yours or mine or both.
Thank you for your views. Everyone has opinions. Even a village idiot like the spiteful jojobeach has one.
But you and your kind's view are just what they are - opinions, or condemnation, that doesnt matter to us Singaporeans, more so on ones who had rejected our society.
You and your kind can talk all you want, till the cows come home, but it is us Singaporeans who will have to live with the consequences or the harvests of our choice we still freely make, without fear or favour, for the sake our own people whom we love and cherish, to make Singapore better unlike those who flee at the the slightest drawback or petty self inflicted irrationalities.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Nothing but egoistic rants.
Another interesting post from you.
"we are now CASTE AWAY" - I thought you guys migrated at your own will?
"As the devil say to you " Close your eyes.. now you see the truth"....... - so you see the truth, by listening to the devil? good for you.
Originally posted by xtreyier:Gedanken, if you fail to comprehend my post or prefer to close your eyes, then it is a loss of either yours or mine or both.
Thank you for your views. Everyone has opinions. Even a village idiot like the spiteful jojobeach has one.
But you and your kind's view are just what they are - opinions, or condemnation, that doesnt matter to us Singaporeans, more so on ones who had rejected our society.
You and your kind can talk all you want, till the cows come home, but it is us Singaporeans who will have to live with the consequences or the harvests of our choice we still freely make, without fear or favour, for the sake our own people whom we love and cherish, to make Singapore better unlike those who flee at the the slightest drawback or petty self inflicted irrationalities.
just following this exchange, it is you who needs to open your mind. you are completely out of depth.
as the few above have explicitly explained; leaving doesn't connote cutting of ties completely, nor loyalty to a large extent. and we no longer have a right to subscribe to our views on the red dot? wow, i guess they have successfully cooked your brain. many times over, if i may add.
`live with the consequences' - good choice of words. dun forget, mostly with hands tied to your back.
`harvest of our choice we can still freely make' - are you serious in every sense of the word? the old ford adage, "you have have it in any color, as long as it is black" is a more an accurate descriptor to the free choice singaporeans have than you implied.
Originally posted by sgdiehard:Another interesting post from you.
"we are now CASTE AWAY" - I thought you guys migrated at your own will?
"As the devil say to you " Close your eyes.. now you see the truth"....... - so you see the truth, by listening to the devil? good for you.
Tsk tsk.. another annoying post from ya.
Yer school bell is ringing.. send my regards to your primary school teacher eh..I bet he/she's having a hard time educating ye to pass that PSLE exam.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Tsk tsk.. another annoying post from ya.
Yer school bell is ringing.. send my regards to your primary school teacher eh..I bet he/she's having a hard time educating ye to pass that PSLE exam.
this sicko is a Malaysian making hell of a noise telling Singaporeans off. He has no right to tell singaporeans off.
When singaporeans talk about the facts and reality of policies, the ways of the PAP, he is not happy, tell people no happy then get lost , migrate.
Migrated singaporeans voice out views also he is not happy.
If u ever read his posts, u will know how condescending, self righteous he is. He comes here purely to find fault with people without intention to contribute positively.
He is a troll.
Originally posted by redDUST:just following this exchange, it is you who needs to open your mind. you are completely out of depth.
as the few above have explicitly explained; leaving doesn't connote cutting of ties completely, nor loyalty to a large extent. and we no longer have a right to subscribe to our views on the red dot? wow, i guess they have successfully cooked your brain. many times over, if i may add.
`live with the consequences' - good choice of words. dun forget, mostly with hands tied to your back.
`harvest of our choice we can still freely make' - are you serious in every sense of the word? the old ford adage, "you have have it in any color, as long as it is black" is a more an accurate descriptor to the free choice singaporeans have than you implied.
By all means, I accept your criticism. If i am wrong then I humbly apologise.
But what are the chances that I, who live in this country, a son of the soil and attempting to make my own country better and stronger, am wrong, as compared to those who flee and use all sorts of condemnation to justify their abandonment of our people, people and forefathers who had nutured them in the first place?
Who is the one wrong and pardon the pun, OUT of depth? In the end, while we appreciate you and your types' view, we have our own lives to live. As we seek not to condemn foriegn nations and what they do, so too do we dislike foreigners, more so ones who had abandon the toil of our forefathers, interfering and to telling us how we should behave or make our own choices.
Enjoy your abandonment of our country, but do know that we, at least me personally, will welcome you and your kind back with open arms should you find that the grass is not as green as you foolishly thought it was, and build a better society here without fear or favour, or the dogmas of religion or politics of other nations. We only want what is right for the progress and evolution of our motherland, and more critically, our resiliant people.
this sicko is a Malaysian making hell of a noise telling Singaporeans off. He has no right to tell singaporeans off.When singaporeans talk about the facts and reality of policies, the ways of the PAP, he is not happy, tell people no happy then get lost , migrate.
Migrated singaporeans voice out views also he is not happy.
If u ever read his posts, u will know how condescending, self righteous he is. He comes here purely to find fault with people without intention to contribute positively.
He is a troll.
Whew.. what a sad piece of shit he is. Calls himself SGdiehard.. no sense of shame.
I bet his SG gf dumped him .. dats why he comes here and ko ko di.
I might actually pity him if he shows me a permanent tattoo of Singapore flag on his pot belly.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Whew.. what a sad piece of shit he is. Calls himself SGdiehard.. no sense of shame.
I bet his SG gf dumped him .. dats why he comes here and ko ko di.
I might actually pity him if he shows me a permanent tattoo of Singapore flag on his pot belly.
what business is his when he is a Malaysian? he has no right, no good reasons come here oppose people and tell people to get lost. his behaviour is absolutely uncalled for. We have every right to tell him to get lost since he is a foreigner.
He is a sore loser la.