http://ian.onthereddot.com/2009/06/09/singapore-is-the-girl-who-pays-to-get-laid/
Interesting take!
Originally posted by TERMINATOR2000:TO ANGEL:
AND WHY THE DISCRIMINATION IN FOREIGNERS TO SINGAPOREAN FER A PARTICULAR INDUSTRY???
IS IT IN THEIR LABOUR LAW ??AND WHY THE NEED FOR IT?AND WATS THE PURPOSE OF THE RATIO FOR???TO SHOW THE WORLD THEY NEED FOREIGNERS???IF THERE ARWE NO SPOREAN TAKERS FER JOB THEN GET ALL FOREIGNERS!
IT IS COMPLETELY ILLOGICAL WHY THE FOREIGNER TO SPORE RATIO IS EVEN NEEDED!
IT WOULD BE LIKE A CHOCOLATE CAKE....INSTEAD OF PUTTING THE RIGHT AMOUNT OF CHOCOLATE(SPOREANS) DUE TO INSUFFICIENT CHOC ...U ADD IN BUTTER(FOREIGNERS) ETC TO MAKE UP FOR INSUFFICIENT CHOC.BUT IF THERE IS RIGHT AMOUNT OF CHOC U THEREFORE DO NOT NEED BUTTER OR WATEVER TO MIX INTO CHOC TO MAKE CAKE.
FROM PAST DATA OF ALL TETIARY AND INSTITUTE GRADUATES...THERE ARE MORE THAN ENOUGH TO FILL IN MOST OF THE HIGH END JOBS WHICH ARE CURRENTLY BEING TAKEN OVER BY FOREIGNERS IN THE PAST AND PRESENT.
THE LOW END JOBS SUCH AS SHIPBUILDIN N CONSTRUCTION ARE HOWEVER LESS DESIRABLE TO SPOREANS AND CAN BE UNDERSTOOD FOR THE SIGNIFICANT AMOUNT OF FOREIGNERS IN THEM.
THE FOREIGNER TO SINGAPOREAN RATIO IS NEEDED BECAUSE SINGAPOREANS NOWADAYS ARE WEAK, PAMPERED AND TERRIBLY INSENSIBLE FOLKS.
IF SINGAPOREANS ARE WILLING TO DIG SHIT IN PUBLIC TOILETS, BECOME CONSTRUCTION WORKERS, CLEAR DIRTY PLATES IN HAWKERS/FOOD COURT, FILL IN THE ROLES FOR FOREIGN WORKERS.....THEN THERE WOULD BE NO NEED FOR FOREIGN WORKERS IN THE FIRST PLACE.
YOU MAY ARGUED ABOUT THE PAY RATE PER HOUR FOR THOSE JOBS, BUT YOU MUSTN'T FORGET THAT THE SALARY RATE ISN'T BASED ON WHERE YOU COME FROM....AT LEAST THE LEGAL RATE ISN'T.
IF A TOILET CLEANER EARNS $700/MTH CLEANING TOILETS, THE SALARY WILL NOT CHANGE REGARDLESS OF WHO IS DOING THE JOB, BE IT A SINGAPOREAN OR FOREIGN WORKER. BUT IS A SINGAPOREAN WILLING TO TAKE ON THAT JOB? PERHAPS NONE THAT YOU KNOW OF IS WILLING TO DO SUCH JOBS FOR THE SAME AMOUNT OF MONEY, BUT IT DOESN'T MEANS THAT THERE AREN'T ANY SINGAPOREANS OUT THERE THAT IS WILLING TO TAKE ON THE JOB POSITION OF A TOILET CLEANER FOR $700/MTH.
POLICES ARE CRAFTED BASED ON THIS PETTY MINDSET OF THE CURRENT GENERATION OF PEOPLE IN THE COUNTRY.
DO YOU NOT THINK THAT THE GOVERNMENT ARE AWARE OF ALL YOUR DISGUSTED "YEEEEEE....." MENTALITY?
AND DO NOT COME OUT HERE AND TELL ME BECAUSE SOME JOBS ARE LESS DESIRABLE TO SINGAPOREANS, THAT IS WHY IT IS ACCEPTABLE TO HAVE A GREATER RATIO OF FOREIGNERS ALLOCATED TO THEM.
THESE RATIOS ARE THE RESULT OF YOUR OWN MENTALITY IN YOUR OWN GENERATION.
AND HAVE YOU EVER BAKED A CAKE BEFORE?
Originally posted by parn:THE FOREIGNER TO SINGAPOREAN RATIO IS NEEDED BECAUSE SINGAPOREANS NOWADAYS ARE WEAK, PAMPERED AND TERRIBLY INSENSIBLE FOLKS.
IF SINGAPOREANS ARE WILLING TO DIG SHIT IN PUBLIC TOILETS, BECOME CONSTRUCTION WORKERS, CLEAR DIRTY PLATES IN HAWKERS/FOOD COURT, FILL IN THE ROLES FOR FOREIGN WORKERS.....THEN THERE WOULD BE NO NEED FOR FOREIGN WORKERS IN THE FIRST PLACE.
YOU MAY ARGUED ABOUT THE PAY RATE PER HOUR FOR THOSE JOBS, BUT YOU MUSTN'T FORGET THAT THE SALARY RATE ISN'T BASED ON WHERE YOU COME FROM....AT LEAST THE LEGAL RATE ISN'T.
IF A TOILET CLEANER EARNS $700/MTH CLEANING TOILETS, THE SALARY WILL NOT CHANGE REGARDLESS OF WHO IS DOING THE JOB, BE IT A SINGAPOREAN OR FOREIGN WORKER. BUT IS A SINGAPOREAN WILLING TO TAKE ON THAT JOB? PERHAPS NONE THAT YOU KNOW OF IS WILLING TO DO SUCH JOBS FOR THE SAME AMOUNT OF MONEY, BUT IT DOESN'T MEANS THAT THERE AREN'T ANY SINGAPOREANS OUT THERE THAT IS WILLING TO TAKE ON THE JOB POSITION OF A TOILET CLEANER FOR $700/MTH.
POLICES ARE CRAFTED BASED ON THIS PETTY MINDSET OF THE CURRENT GENERATION OF PEOPLE IN THE COUNTRY.
DO YOU NOT THINK THAT THE GOVERNMENT ARE AWARE OF ALL YOUR DISGUSTED "YEEEEEE....." MENTALITY?
AND DO NOT COME OUT HERE AND TELL ME BECAUSE SOME JOBS ARE LESS DESIRABLE TO SINGAPOREANS, THAT IS WHY IT IS ACCEPTABLE TO HAVE A GREATER RATIO OF FOREIGNERS ALLOCATED TO THEM.
THESE RATIOS ARE THE RESULT OF YOUR OWN MENTALITY IN YOUR OWN GENERATION.
AND HAVE YOU EVER BAKED A CAKE BEFORE?
You are mistaken. Wages are proportional to labour supply. And labour is abundantly available in Bangladesh, China, India, Philippines, etc. Besides, these countries also have a weaker currency compared to the Singapore dollar.
So, if there are 10 FWs willing to do the dirty work at $400 a month, why would I hire a local guy at $800? And you should know, Singapore does not have a minimum wage policy. Which means you can get away with paying a maid about $500 a month. Tell me where you can find a Singaporean willing to work for that amount!
"there are 10 FWs willing to do the dirty work at $400 a month, "
I meant if there are 10 FWs for 1 job.
Originally posted by Cram:
You are mistaken. Wages are proportional to labour supply. And labour is abundantly available in Bangladesh, China, India, Philippines, etc. Besides, these countries also have a weaker currency compared to the Singapore dollar.
So, if there are 10 FWs willing to do the dirty work at $400 a month, why would I hire a local guy at $800? And you should know, Singapore does not have a minimum wage policy. Which means you can get away with paying a maid about $500 a month. Tell me where you can find a Singaporean willing to work for that amount!
Well, you should know that legally you can't get away with underpaying a worker for $400/month.
It's not true that there aren't minimum wage policy in Singapore. There IS minimum wage policy in Singapore, it's just that they are really minimum that's all.
The fact is that workers usually does not choose the option to bring up their low wages to the attention of the relevant authorities with fear of losing their jobs.
This fear alone is enough to ENSLAVE each and every Singaporeans out there working in Singapore. I believe you can't even imagined the fear that has gripped the hearts of those maids. Do you know if they are made redundant by their employers, they will need to get out of the country within 48 hours? Hmm...dunno if it's 24 hours or 48 hours. Anyway it's very fast and furious ok?
I still cannot believe when you mentioned you don't think there isn't any Singaporean who is willing to work for $500 a month. I'm sure you do not have any friends who are really poor and still residing in the old 1-2 bedrooms HDB estate with their entire family.
But just because you don't know any of them doesn't means these people doesn't exist at all.
Have you ever shopped at Salvation Army before? Ya...go ahead and laugh, I don't think you have.
Anyways, foreign workers are not called foreign talents.
Foreign talents mean those who work as executives.
Foreign expats are also excluded from this category.
What I am concerned is since those foreign talents who come from other ASEAN countries come here to eat, live, breathe and sleep, they don't mess with Papa Singaporeans. They don't try to PLAY OFFICE POLITICS, BACKSTAB or BOSS PEOPLE AROUND.
As long as they eat humble pie, act less aggressive and don't create a high profile for themselves, it's fine.
They should be barred from being proud.
One of the 5 pillars for Total Defence - Social Defence should be used to protect more Singaporeans from losing their ricebowls to foreigners, especially executive levels.
TO PARN:
IT APPEARS U HAVE NO EXPOSURE TO HIGH END SIDE OF INDUSTRIES HERE IN SPORE.
FOREIGNERS BY THOUSANDS EXISTS ALSO IN ULTRA HIGH TECH INDUSTRIES WHICH SINGAPOREANS CAN FILL IN.
PLEASE READ ON JOBS THAT ARE MEANT FOR EDUCATED PEOPLE.I DIDNT COME HERE N WRITE STUFF FOR PEOPLE WHO NEVER BOTHERED EDUCATING N MAKING THEIR SALTS WORTH.IM NOT HERE TO FIGHT FIR PEOPLE WHO DONT FIGHT FOR THEMSELVES N MAKE SENSE OF THEIR USEFULNESS.IM ONLY HERE FIGHTING FOR PEOPLE WHO UPGRADED THEMSELVES N FOUGHT HARD FOR A CAUSE.
YOUR TOILET CLEANER ETC CAN GO FLY A KITE.ONE STEP INTO THEIR GRAVES.....PERHAPS ZOMBIE ALREADY.
I CAN BAKE A CAKE..A DELICIOUS CHOC CAKE AND PROGRAM N DESIGN INDUSTRIAL SOFTWARE AND HARDWARE AS WELL.
TECHNOLOGY AND INNOVATION ARE THE KEY TO THE FUTURE.
IF YOU STOP .............U ARE DEAD.
Yes of course I agree with Terminator.
However, we will still lose to those foreign talent even if we possess them.
They learn things fast and do things fast as well.
HDB is allowing PRs to buy flats, so now my neighborhood is full of foreigners. My immediate neighbor is a family from Vietnam. Along the corridor there are filipinos, PRCs and burmese.
My Neighborhood is starting to feel like tiny ASEAN town already!
Welcome them... They have invaded this country several years ago, we have no choice but to "Live" with them!
Talking about PRs, they stay in HDB, yet cannot vote for their MPs. Like that my block will have very few voters rite?
Foreign Terrorist surrouding me,
the one behind is some crap getting 2.5K from black people's land.
the one left side is noisy loud header who talk on the phone non stop, in his hometown language. getting 2.5K from some black people's land.
the one right side is some crap getting 2.5K too, from blackie land.
the one infront. 3K from blackie land, all noisy bastards.
they claimed to have degree from blackie land.
i, the centered one, getting lesser then them. and end up i doing more work then them. knn, they can take turns go unpaid leave to blackie land. when i got call up for reservice, my boss come and scew me saying why i so many reservice..
my degree is not from singapore (because singapore uni don't accept me), i got from australia.
TO DARE82:
SAY WHAT????MAYBE IM A FOREIGNER TO U TOO.I LEARN FASTER THAN FOREIGN TALENTS...ITS WHAT U HAVE UP THERE THAT COUNTS.EDUCATED FOREIGNERS GENERALLY ARE NO BETTER THAN THE EDUCATED SINGAPOREANS.SKILLED FOREIGNERS ARE ALSO NO BETTER THAN THE SKILLED SINGAPOREANS.
UNLESS U ARE BORN A GENIUS ...ABLE TO RECITE AN ENTIRE ENCYCLOPAEDIA BOOK AFTER A FEW HOURS OF READING...THEN U SHOULD SETUP YER OWN COMPANY THIS MINUTE.OTHER THAN THAT A SKILLED FOREIGNER IS MORE OR LESS THE SAME AS A SKILLED SPOREAN DEPENDING ON HOW LARGE THE INDUSTRY THEY HAVE IN THEIR OWN COUNTRY.
ITS HARDWERK AND SKILLS JUST LIKE THE JAPS.
AND MOTIVATION FACTORS PLAY AN IMPORTANT ROLE TOO AS IN PSYCHOLOGY.NO SUCH THING AS U CAN DO IT FASTER OR SLOWER.ITS THE PUSH/PULL FACTOR.
DAMN...ITHINK I SHOULD GO SIGN UP AS A PAP MINISTER N MAYBE ONE DAY BECOME PRIME MINISTER!
nowdays when u are inside a mrt train
You will get to see rojak. from banga to china
to ang mo to jap to korean and lastly some aliens
which dun dun even know which planet earth they
were from.
you will begine to wonder are you in a place call Sg
?
Originally posted by Tan.john52:
nowdays when u are inside a mrt train
You will get to see rojak. from banga to china
to ang mo to jap to korean and lastly some aliens
which dun dun even know which planet earth they
were from.
you will begine to wonder are you in a place call Sg
?
You are too sensitive, Terminator.
I am not on the side of foreign talent.
You misunderstand my point.
to dare:
im on no ones side.just me observations.
it will be interesting if every town consists
of various of groups of people, then we sillyporeans
will soon get to see hawker start selling taiwan , jap,
korean, turkish , pasta, phil dishes , ect or maybe
fried scorpio fried ants also
Welcome to "The land of Food Heaven"
Originally posted by Tan.john52:
it will be interesting if every town consists
of various of groups of people, then we sillyporeans
will soon get to see hawker start selling taiwan , jap,
korean, turkish , pasta, phil dishes , ect or maybe
fried scorpio fried ants also
Welcome to "The land of Food Heaven"
Change your sentence, you are the sillyporeans, NOT we.
Should not say sillyporeans and disgrace our country in front of those foreigners
As a Singaporean, I am deeply sadden by the blatant display of racism seen here practiced by my fellow singaporeans, and can only hope it is a minority, disaffected by the amount of money they earn.
We as a society are already exclusive members, with the power of vote to determine the direction where we will be heading to. There is never any fear of the presumed 'foriegn invasion'. They have no power to even suggest anything, and anything that we as a society give, is out of goodwill and charity to them.
We had often pride ourselves of being the only truly mult-cultural nation on Earth, welcoming people from all lands and being color blind. The only colors we see are the notes of the dollar denominations.
Rather than to be xenophobic bigots, we can always try to reach out and understand the foreigners in our midst. It will help expand our limited horizons and discover new worlds and heritages unknown, by just a simple hello.
That indian construction worker my be have a body odour, but it is thru a honest day's sweat, is a fellow human. Everyone needs friendship, and one will never know which day an extended hand will be returned, in our hour of need.
That China worker speaks loudly into the phone, but is only a cultural thing, which can easily be resolved by telling him politely to lower his volume.
That Filipino is too cliche, and sticks to his own group, but is only due to shyness or misplaced presumptions of our own aloofness..
If it is an employment issue, then let us turn to our elected representatives for solutions such as qoutas, but never, ever to resort to demeaning racism.
We are all one race - the human race.
TO TAN:
HAVE SOME RESPECT ............DUN NEED TO GIVE YERSELF OR CITIZENS UNPLEASANT NAMES
SILLYPOREANS CONSISTS OF ONLY U AND WHICHEVER SECRET SOCIETY THAT SPRUNG U OUT FROM.
ACTUALLY WE ALREADY HAVE THOSE KINDA FOOD LONG B4 THOSE FOREIGNERS CAME IN!
TO XTREIYER:
YAH...N WE HAVE ONE JOB...ONE AND ONLY GOOD JOB!
I don't mean to be that nationalistic or racist.
I just don't wish to see any foreigners, especially those from the poorer ASEAN countries to come and openly try to chase us out.
This is from my experience.
They should learn to be humble and not demand anything much as if they are damn rich.
Originally posted by dare82:I don't mean to be that nationalistic or racist.
I just don't wish to see any foreigners, especially those from the poorer ASEAN countries to come and openly try to chase us out.
This is from my experience.
They should learn to be humble and not demand anything much as if they are damn rich.
Normally rich one are very hard to be humble
If one from poor to rich , still want to be humble
for sure will start showing off