Originally posted by Parka:Well, it has come so far. Just by comparing with other countries we know we are living in a great country. But people always keep asking for more. Some of these things about economy are very hard to tackle because it's unstructured and no one has ever dealt with them before because every new crisis is unique. Consequences are hard to predict.
We must be grateful at least for the time being, even though life is hard.
My brother is alrdy in Chicago for good (just got his Green Card) not coming back . My sister & I now working hard to earn adequate cash to go back Perth for good. Frankly, it is " Take it or Leave it " attitude for the local scene now. I gave up complaining long ago.Originally posted by the Bear:They did something right in the past...
The old guard comprised of people who were Ordinary Joes, who fought hard to correct an injustice, for the good of their fellow-citizens. They saw the hardships and experienced it firsthand.
Now, the only thing they are doing right is for the continuation of the 1 party rule.. and the idiot opposition is not helping..
What the current lot of lea-duhs come from speaks volumes... some of them come from pampered backgrounds with platinum spoons attached to their mouths.. these are people who have never taken public transport in their lives, never seen how the common man lives, and how the common man struggles.
Power like this, isolates the powerful from the ordinary. And when isolated, they lose touch with what is real and important for the common man.
Can a man who is retrenched from his $850 a month wage be fed by a 2% increase in GDP? Can his family eat the World's Best Airport Award?
There is no voice of opposition (apologies to Chaim and Low but that is the reality) so everything conceived by our lea-duhs is rubber stamped.
If you have a place in Australia, do go there... maybe one day, my girl and I will look you up
Originally posted by CurtinNTU:My brother is alrdy in Chicago for good (just got his Green Card) not coming back . My sister & I now working hard to earn adequate cash to go back Perth for good. Frankly, it is " Take it or Leave it " attitude for the local scene now. I gave up complaining long ago.so... i assume you are not complaining singapore here... but merely experessing your love and disappointment over your personal life?
I prefer to be second class citizen but able to hv quality family life @ a much decent & cheaper cost .for every plus... there is a minus... this is the law of nature... any imbalance could only be maintained by mere brute barriers that comes at a price...
cheaper??.... better quality?? of course... its human nature to seek more at lower cost... but then... the diminishing return.. ultimately sets in... and leads to discontent...
why else do you think aussies also go tour the world?? migrate to other nations as well as? dont tell... me... they got tired of australia??
its understandable....
$250k - for a 5 rooms -3 storey landed hse with pools- own designed hse for home c/w a garden front & back for growing your own organic veg. or chicken .Its is said in the bible... man does not live on bread alone... isnt that a mere recognition that man.... can never ever be satisfied with having wat they have and nothing else... in the long term.... its simple logic....
now you no big house... so you want big house...
once you got big house... you want big pond.
after that... you will want many things... and assuming you have anything you wish... it wont be long before you want to live forever, own the galaxy or ever try to become a GOD....
fear not... its mere human nature...
$ 10-12k - for a 10 yr old toyota corolla ( don't drive a new Lexus - it will be a joke to the locals - don't be a fool they will say)who is the fool?? the fool who cant see the difference ... or the fool who dont wish to see the difference??
No need to dress up - Pp still serve you when you shop well. T-shirt & bermuda needed most time.the frog can only see so far...
all humans are the same... singaporeans, aussies or others... wat is by human actions that can be seen here... can likewise be seen at other places... just that... as humans.... we cant see everything at the same time... thus... errorneous preceptions are formed in the minds of the dim witted..
Beautiful scenery , education system, welfare system - that will last them 2-3 generations to come.for a gain.. there is a price... if you see the rose... beware... the thorns are there... even if you dont see it yet....
Pretty safe - unless you find danger yourself.
Free seafood - catch your own fish, cray fish , abalone,sotong, more than one oceans to fish from.if you catch your own fish... you obviously dont have to pay for that fish.... unless you are fishing in someone else water... but if you go to the nearest supermart.... pray tell me please... which mart in australia is giving free fish??
Much places to tour , Tasmania Hiking , Victoria skilling , western australia - whale watching , swim with dolpins.as long as you got money... you can do all the above.. dont be surprised if you should find a singaporean, malaysian or even a chinaman doing wat you are doing... right in australia... so... wat is so special about being aussies??
Have another hse with a beach front -your own .Hv a boat too.you go to africa with your money... you can have 1000 house with a beach front....
In summary - not much stress provided you hv a steady income there or you hv enough $.
In australia, You won't be ultra rich in $ but will definitely rich in life - Picnic by the river, park , fresh air, free parking at many places, & also no one will judge you based on the car you drove.rich.... yes... until you recieve their income tax...
all so good but you need to leave all your friends & relatives here - will that be Ok ??- if answer is Yes GREAT !!
See you all in Australia soon.GOOD RIDDANCE... pray the lord... singapore just off loaded another idiot to australia...

Hi Master,Originally posted by Master -_-:No leh.. Quite easy wat. I prefer macro more than micro.![]()
..... 20 million aussies?Originally posted by CX:sigh... good 'ol Tripwire... always here to make a point...wat about you?? come here to make zero point??
well, everyone is entitled to his own choice of lifestyle and dreams so if our friend wants to leave it all behind and start anew in australia, good for him...i agreed.... good riddance...
its apparent that its getting increasingly difficult to make a decent living in Sg... its not something patriotic rhetoric and ra-ra flag waving can hide... but are so many of us so jaded that the only way we can see is "out"?hey.... its getting difficult to make a decent living around the world... not just in singapore..
wanna talk also must talk properly mah.... as if singapore is the only one in trouble....
"out"? aiyah.... wats the point... out of the frying pan.. right into the fire... " hot " ahh.......
i'll stay because i still see oportunities here and because its stupid to run away just because its getting a little tougher than before.true.... after all... no one wanna stay in the middle of the desert for long simply out of nationalism....
those who can't stand the heat should get out of the oven cos they'll just get in the way of those of us who got more important things to do... those who can't leave should brace themselves and make difficult (and painful) choices to remain viable.ah..... very obvious reality wat....
i for one, cannot picture myself in lazy australia... how can ANYONE live in a place where all the shops close at 5pm??? boring...
you got a better system.... say lah... dont just criticise... i also can...Originally posted by Atobe:When a Government strongly believes that ONE foreign worker can affect the jobs availability for ONE HUNDRED Singaporeans ? WITHOUT qualifying the kind of jobs that the SINGLE foreign worker is allowed to do, it is as good as telling Singaporeans that we are INCAPABLE of creating jobs for ourselves.![]()
since when govt got say like that?? dont bluff lah....
Singapore Government is probably the only Government on earth that speaks more in favor for the foreign employee than for its own national.![]()
you mean the foreign delan(squeeze ball)??
cant be help lah... there are always some stupid cows even admist the delans in the local parliament... if not among the many local board of directors....
afterall... it takes brain to realise that... talents work for those who is talented to recognize their talents... whereas... the delans work for the cows who think that they can recognize talents through paper and reccommendations.....
as the foreign delans continue to fail and leave... it clearly indicates that we need foreign TALENTS admist to take over our board of directors... so that they dont keep mistaking delans for talents...
Compared to Japan, a country with stiffer internal and external competition than Singapore, the Japanese Government does more for its Citizens job protection than the Singapore Government does.you one of the brainy talent or one of the brainless delans?? read your sentence above and see....
Even when comparing to a similar size country such as Hong Kong, there are more policies that protect the Hong Kong Citizens than there are any defining the occupations and positions that Foreigners can be employed in Singapore.because HK does it... does it means its correct and therefore singapore if not the world world should follow?? Since when HK became god?
There seems to be too much ‘double speak? on the part of the Singapore Government in these difficult times.
On the one hand it claims to drop its non-core activities of its Government Linked Companies, and allow it to be privatized.
However, their form of Privatization is to form a smaller GLC unit, headed by prominent members from the Singapore Community that has confidential dealings with the Government.
From Steel Mills to Telecommunications to Parks Management, it takes about the same form - in a smaller size.
These “new? smaller and supposedly "Private Companies" will then end up competing with the Private Sector that are wholly owned by the Singapore Citizens with true PRIVATE CAPITAL.see.... another delan argument.....
sorry hor... but i dont wish to kill my brain cells trying to help you grow a few brain cells...
From small car repair workshop to neighborhood corner provision shop to pharmacy, all end up having to compete with the Government Linked Enterprises....... ok... then lets move all the GLCs overseas and get oversea companies to compete with locals... i wonder... wat is the difference,...
oh.... the foreign competitior would probably squish you like an ant....
The Singapore Citizens are then lambasted for its lack of entrepreneurship, and worst still for its lack of talent, when their enterprise is beaten down by legislations, rules and regulations, checks and fees impositions from ENV, HDB, JTC, PSA, PUB, URA and a multitude of other Government Agencies, Statutory Boards, and Departments.you think singapore bo cheng hu? every country also have rules, legislation and regulations... singapore aint that unique hor.. some countrys have more rules... than singapore...
To rub salt into the wounds, the taste of defeat is made worst, when one discover that one is beaten down by oneÂ’s own money paid in taxes and used by the Government as Capital for GLC formed enterprises to compete with Private Businesses owned by the Citizens.tell me the difference if you got beaten by a foreign company
.... as i see it... either way... you just got run over by a 5 tonner....
While the many GLC has been criticized for its lack luster performance, when compared to other similar sized conglomerates, its stifling weight on the local economy has yet to be fully appreciated by the ordinary Singapore Citizens.you so smart....
... you kidding right?
The full impact of this economic downturn and its causes have yet to be fully appreciated by the academia and the lay citizens of Singapore.you must be kidding...
how could one didnt realise they his stomach is growling for food??
Even when the truth is appreciated by the few, the publication of it will never be allowed to jeopardize the stability, and remaining confidence in Singapore.....:X
Hopefully those who remain in Singapore will get to enjoy the fruits of their hard labor, when they become debtors the moment they graduate (paying off education loan to their parentÂ’s CPF accounts), or begin their working career (being debtors to finance companies for credit cards, housing and car loans).
Not all shops closed at 5pm nowadays - it is a history past fact arldy . Anyhow it is not a place for city slickers - that is why most S'poreans chose Melbourne not Perth, Bris. Tas.Originally posted by CX:sigh... good 'ol Tripwire... always here to make a point...
well, everyone is entitled to his own choice of lifestyle and dreams so if our friend wants to leave it all behind and start anew in australia, good for him...
its apparent that its getting increasingly difficult to make a decent living in Sg... its not something patriotic rhetoric and ra-ra flag waving can hide... but are so many of us so jaded that the only way we can see is "out"?
i'll stay because i still see oportunities here and because its stupid to run away just because its getting a little tougher than before.
those who can't stand the heat should get out of the oven cos they'll just get in the way of those of us who got more important things to do... those who can't leave should brace themselves and make difficult (and painful) choices to remain viable.
i for one, cannot picture myself in lazy australia... how can ANYONE live in a place where all the shops close at 5pm??? boring...
Originally posted by Atobe:Amen !!!
Originally posted by Atobe:
[b]When a Government strongly believes that ONE foreign worker can affect the jobs availability for ONE HUNDRED Singaporeans ? WITHOUT qualifying the kind of jobs that the SINGLE foreign worker is allowed to do, it is as good as telling Singaporeans that we are INCAPABLE of creating jobs for ourselves.
Reply inserted by Tripwire![]()
Where have you been for the last ten days? Did you not read what SM Lee say in his recent lecture to the Tertiary Students, which was telecast twice on TV and published widely in the local press.
Compared to Japan, a country with stiffer internal and external competition than Singapore, the Japanese Government does more for its Citizens job protection than the Singapore Government does.
Reply inserted by tripwireyou one of the brainy talent or one of the brainless delans?? read your sentence above and see....
Maybe you should try reading the text slowly, comprehend in real time English – instead of reading with Singlish – then maybe you can understand the context better.
Even when comparing to a similar size country such as Hong Kong, there are more policies that protect the Hong Kong Citizens than there are any defining the occupations and positions that Foreigners can be employed in Singapore.
Reply insert by Tripwirebecause HK does it... does it means its correct and therefore singapore if not the world world should follow?? Since when HK became god?
You make too much assumption in reading my post. If you prefer HK to become “God” so be it. The comparison of Hongkong protecting jobs for their own residents is exemplary. While in Singapore, PhD holders who lost their job is expected to clean toilets instead of being RE-TRAIN to be Supervisors or Managers in a Restaurant or Hotel Housekeeping or some other useful job to tap his talent. Meanwhile, a lowly job such as a Restaurant Manager is open to a Foreign Talent (talent needed for such a post?).
There seems to be too much ‘double speak? on the part of the Singapore Government in these difficult times.
On the one hand it claims to drop its non-core activities of its Government Linked Companies, and allow it to be privatized.
However, their form of Privatization is to form a smaller GLC unit, headed by prominent members from the Singapore Community that has confidential dealings with the Government.
From Steel Mills to Telecommunications to Parks Management, it takes about the same form - in a smaller size.
These “new? smaller and supposedly "Private Companies" will then end up competing with the Private Sector that are wholly owned by the Singapore Citizens with true PRIVATE CAPITAL.
Reply inserted by Tripwiresee.... another delan argument.....
sorry hor... but i dont wish to kill my brain cells trying to help you grow a few brain cells...
Why do you even bother to post at all, if you have no wish to kill your brain cells, and no thanks for your effort to help me grow mine; I have no wish to end up with “tripwire cells”.
Originally posted by Tripwiretell me the difference if you got beaten by a foreign company
.... as i see it... either way... you just got run over by a 5 tonner....
If my business enterprise is run over by a foreign 10 tonner, in fair competition, I will feel more satisfied that I have competed and loss based on the same rules. Do you think it is fair for our familiar “traditional family run” neighborhood provision store to compete with the likes of NTUC Fairprice or Cheers?
The full impact of this economic downturn and its causes have yet to be fully appreciated by the academia and the lay citizens of Singapore. Inserted by Tripwireyou must be kidding...
how could one didnt realise they his stomach is growling for food??
Yes, the common person, the lay Singaporean Citizen will only understand the economic downturn only by the pathetic growling of his stomach. Beyond the growl of his empty stomach, will he understand that he is being squeezed out of a job, as some government GLC has been less competitive, or that a GLC has brought his Company to its knees through unfair competition?
Orignal posted by Tripwire
you got a better system.... say lah... dont just criticise... i also can...![]()
Unfortunately, you started without even knowing the big speech of SM Lee trying to convince our tertiary students – that ONE foreigner employed in Singapore, can create 100 other jobs.
Perhaps the Tertiary Students had more grey cells than you, which explain their reluctance to put forth any sensible questions to SM Lee during the Q+A session; and which everyone seems to have criticized the Tertiary Students present - for the loss of a supposedly golden opportunity.
Did the Tertiary Student really lost a golden opportunity to tap the mind of SM Lee?
The Tertiary Students present probably were smarter, knowing that it is pointless to enter into a debate with an old man, who is dead set on his views, irregardless of any other alternative opinions.
They are also probably aware that SM Lee is not "GOD", and had made several major mistakes in his personal views – with regards to 2 Child Policy, Woman’s Charter, Dogmatic implementation of the 40% CPF ruling, and other policies that have resulted in major structural impact to Singapore
[b]When a Government strongly believes that ONE foreign worker can affect the jobs availability for ONE HUNDRED Singaporeans ? WITHOUT qualifying the kind of jobs that the SINGLE foreign worker is allowed to do, it is as good as telling Singaporeans that we are INCAPABLE of creating jobs for ourselves.
Reply inserted by Tripwire![]()
Where have you been for the last ten days? Did you not read what SM Lee say in his recent lecture to the Tertiary Students, which was telecast twice on TV and published widely in the local press.![]()
aiyo..... you never open your ears and listen carefully.... SM lee say... IF we send those 1 MILLION (not one!!) foreigner balik kampong... many singaporeans would loose their jobs as well.... which is quite simple and true....
true in that... many so call foreign delans only talent is cheap salary... and if there are not enough workers in singapore... the labour cost will go up.. and many company would leave to seek lower cost of production...
take for example.... wats the point of having officers and generals.. if there are no cheap privates?
Compared to Japan, a country with stiffer internal and external competition than Singapore, the Japanese Government does more for its Citizens job protection than the Singapore Government does.
Reply inserted by tripwireyou one of the brainy talent or one of the brainless delans?? read your sentence above and see....
Maybe you should try reading the text slowly, comprehend in real time English ? instead of reading with Singlish ? then maybe you can understand the context better.![]()
well.... japanese govt does more for its citizen....hmm.... if i not wrong... their unemployment figure is much higher then singapore...
maybe they should try harder
Even when comparing to a similar size country such as Hong Kong, there are more policies that protect the Hong Kong Citizens than there are any defining the occupations and positions that Foreigners can be employed in Singapore.
Reply insert by Tripwirebecause HK does it... does it means its correct and therefore singapore if not the world world should follow?? Since when HK became god?
You make too much assumption in reading my post. If you prefer HK to become “God? so be it. The comparison of Hongkong protecting jobs for their own residents is exemplary. While in Singapore, PhD holders who lost their job is expected to clean toilets instead of being RE-TRAIN to be Supervisors or Managers in a Restaurant or Hotel Housekeeping or some other useful job to tap his talent. Meanwhile, a lowly job such as a Restaurant Manager is open to a Foreign Talent (talent needed for such a post?).![]()
come on lah.... what is so great about PHD?? PHD is nothing ok... there are so many faculties of studies... and many degrees nowadays are bought over the counter version one... i got double major degree from local U, i also never flash here flash there... in fact... i recognize the fact that... degree or no degree... i am still human.. meaning... i still make mistake, i cant cook and certainly dont know how to repair car...
so... even if i have a degree... i still need ITE techs to help me now and then...
as for tapping local talents... let me be frank... just becos you have a PHD.. does not make you a talent... talent is something that i believe... can only be born with, raised with and augmented with education...its more to do with character and attitude then qualification...
furthermore... for me to get the PHD is damn freaking easy... just go into areas where there no other experts.. you can write stories so wild in your report... the sun can rise from the south... and viola!! PHD!!
in fact... when i was in NUS.. i read so many crappy garbage thesis in many journals that it makes claims like that the sun was square more belieavable!!
These “new? smaller and supposedly "Private Companies" will then end up competing with the Private Sector that are wholly owned by the Singapore Citizens with true PRIVATE CAPITAL.
Reply inserted by Tripwiresee.... another delan argument.....
Why do you even bother to post at all, if you have no wish to kill your brain cells, and no thanks for your effort to help me grow mine; I have no wish to end up with “tripwire cells?.![]()
because brain cells needs challenge... needs exercise.. not because i wanna help you grow your brain cells... anyway... braincells dont divide...
the rest of your post i deleted aways... simply because they not worth mentioning... as anyone with an IQ of 100 should be able to counter it easily...
Originally posted by tripwire:
the above are the views of someone who....Originally posted by the Bear:You know what? have you been there?
Don't kick what you don't know...
I'm from Singapore... I love my country.. But I've been ground up and left a mess by my country..
In the past, when I was young and naive, I thought my country would love me as much as I love it.
Then I grew up a little bit more. I thought maybe my country would look out for the people because that's the sacred duties of the elected.
Now that I'm older, and made much more cynical by my country, I just hope that when my worthless dessicated carcass has been wrung dry, they would not take the dried up husk and render it down for phosphates and raw protein.
Face it, we are CHATTEL to our lea-duhs... our children's lives are not even worth $200,000 each. Whatever happens, our lea-duhs have taught us that they will not look out for us and will screw us whenever they can.
Would you have a relationship with a "partner" who will continually wring you dry without putting in any effort?
I love my country. But I would not want my progeny to grow up in an environment like this... where every step from the time they enter a primary school is a struggle.. where they are all running to stand still.
With a heavy heart, I would have to go...
And with citizens like you, it is better that my children never have to face people like you...
Originally posted by tripwire:the above are the views of someone who....
1... thinks he knows all and everything about singapore... or at least he believe he knew more then the ordinary singaporean...![]()
and that we who are the naive... are not in any position to express our views OR question his views....
(wow... MFicker...and i thought that SM LEE is megalomaniac...
)
2....he believe that he love this country... but later claimed that the country (aka... the soil.. the sea.. and the air) grounded him up and spit him out like shit!!![]()
(pretty imaginative i would say
)
3.... furthermore.. he failed to realise that .. his problem is not with the country.... but with his people to people relationship!! and seriously... i wonder is he the problem... or the people around him is the problem![]()
I mean... hey... many chinese left their country when times are bad... the country is run by bad people... or worst.. in arnachy... yet... they NEVER NEVER forget the land of their birth... and many continue to express their love for their country even when they are forced to leave their land of birth.... many... would hold their last breath... just to die in the land of their birth...
and lastly... he can make watever choice he want... cos in the end... its his children who will reap wat he sow....![]()