Originally posted by Ah Chia:World is changing.
India ready to join talks to replace dollar : Menon
http://www.commodityonline.com/futures-trading/currency/
Clinton Vows to Usher New Era in US-India Relations
http://www.voanews.com/english/2009-07-01-voa9.cfm
New era of relations also no use USA, India also join China, Russia, Brazil to end the dollar hegemony.
All empires die.
Yours will be no different USA.
No doubt that all empires raise and fall, but you got to be smart to live during their rise and glory days, never bet a penny on the fallen one.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:By the way, if some one really instigated the riots in Xinjiang to disrupt Hu Jintao's agenda at G8 summit, I think that is a futile move.
Only small tricks.
G8 summit skips dollar debate, aims lower on climate
http://in.reuters.com/article/topNews/idINIndia
Troops flood Urumqi as Chinese president quits G8 summit
http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2009/jul/08/china-hu-jintao-g8
Got riots, no riots, the dollar hegemony must still end.
the dollars will die from natural cause of their financial web.
never bet a penny on the fallen one.
LONDON
(AP) — Investors will be keeping a close eye on how far world leaders
will go in expressing support for a strong dollar at the Group of Eight
summit in Italy, amid talk that the dollar's status as the world's
reserve currency will be on the agenda.
China, Russia and India
have indicated that they want to see long-term changes in the
international monetary system in the wake of the financial crisis that
has pushed the world economy into its first synchronized downturn since
the Second World War...
http://www.latimes.com/business/nationworld/wire/sns-ap-g8-summit
What defines the situation today is a growing realization across all Eurasia from Beijing to Moscow, from Alma Ata to Ankara that the pillar of the postwar order, the United States has become an increasingly incalculable partner and force in world economic and political affairs. Some even within the US speak of a terminal decline in American influence over the coming decades, with terms such as ‘imperial overstretch.’ It’s essential to understand the extent and nature of the current economic and financial crisis of the Dollar System if we are to make any serious calculation of the future.
The crisis which broke in August 2007 as a crisis in the sub-prime or high-risk segment of US real estate credit was in fact a first manifestation of a process of debt destruction which is bringing the United States into a new Great Depression, one that will last at least a decade, perhaps several. In its severity it will be far worse than that of the 1930’s. Today the USA is the world’s greatest debtor economy. In 1929 it was the largest creditor. Today the USA public debt is over $11 trillion, growing at the fastest rate in history. The Federal deficit this year is estimated to exceed $1.8 trillion as the Treasury pours money into a bankrupt banking system to try to rescue a collapsing Dollar System. In 1929 US Public Debt was insignificant.
Since Washington abandoned the Bretton Woods Gold Exchange Standard convertibility in August 1971 it has been accepted wisdom in Washington that, as Dick Cheney put it, ‘deficits don’t matter.’ So long as the dollar was world reserve currency and the US was the greatest military power, the world would support the dollar. That era appears to have ended. The trade surplus economies of Asia, above all China are becoming increasingly concerned that the value of their dollar investments in US debt will depreciate as the volume of debt needed continues to soar.
In recent months China has begun exploring alternative investment avenues to replace their dollar investments. Russia and Brazil, seeking to reduce their dependence on the dollar, plan to buy $20billion of SDR bonds from the IMF and diversify foreign-currency reserves. Russia’s central bank said it may cut investments in US Treasuries, currently estimated at $240billion , and China says it may reduce reliance on the dollar and US bonds. China today is America’s largest foreign creditor.
This is no short-term impulse to dump dollars or a pressure tactic by the countries of Eurasia. It’s the beginning of a global tectonic shift away from a sole financial center to many regional or ‘multipolar’ centers over the next decade. As the trillions of dollars of US taxpayer bailouts have demonstrated, try as they might, Humpty Dumpty, the Dollar System can’t be put together again, as it was even three years ago. Wrong economic policies, decisions taken more than four decades ago in Washington and Wall Street, have reached their relative limits. The world is in what Joseph Schumpeter once called ‘creative destruction.’ The consequences for the future of Eurasia are enormous.
With the pillar of the US-centered Dollar System slowly collapsing, the choices for Eurasia begin to define themselves. At this point they can go one of two ways: Continue the status quo and subordinate national economic decisions to support the Dollar System. That means abiding by the rules of IMF and World Bank austerity. It means abiding by the trade rules of the G7-dominated WTO, even on issues such as GMO seeds which go against national health security. It means to subordinate national security interests to NATO, an institution created in the Cold War atmosphere of the Truman Doctrine in 1948. That, despite we are at a time the original purpose for NATO, defense against a Soviet military threat or Warsaw Pact aggression has long since become a relic of past history. Those four institutions are at the heart of the 1944 Bretton Woods Dollar System, as I have described in detail in a recent book.
The main problem for fast-emerging Eurasian nations with continuing this Atlantic status quo, sometimes referred to by Washington as ‘Globalization,’ is that it now means going down with the Dollar Titanic over the longer term...
the dollars will die from natural cause of their financial web.
I hope that from now on, if China or others want to discuss about dollar go fuck off, don't suddenly got this riot that riot.
I don't have patience with this type of cheap tricks.
What does a recession mean?
To politicians, it would be time to play the blame game.
To economists, it would be time to switch jobs.
To bank execs, it would be time to join soup queues.
To investors, it would be time to hide money under pillows.
To stock investors, it would be time to replay failed prediction alogarithms.
BUT to you and me, the comman man on the street, a recession would mean we would have to hold on to our jobs, or look for jobs, and work harder, to provide for our love ones, and contribute through our taxes and CPF, to the even worse off, down and outs, disheartened, old, aged, orphans, sick, etc, and together, as a society, help one another to get out of this crisis.
Will we survive, or will we die? Only you and me alone can answer this question, and it will lie in our attitudes towards life. Will we cower in fear, whine for handouts while we are still capable to provide, or work harder, smarter, not risking it all as we once did in 'guaranteed derivatives'and other forms of 'easy money', to survive, not only for our own sake, but for those around us, living simply and realistically?
Regardless of whatever political outcome, or another economist's theoratical play on words of up, down, flat, mid term, long term, the awful reality is that we all still need to work to meet ours and our loved ones' needs.
Life is never a bed of roses for anyone, not for the roadsweeper or the PM. Daily we face challenges, and it is how we overcome them that make us special, worthy of the human race that had survive for millions of years.
And it is most certain we will all pull through this crisis, as our forefathers who had survived even worse calamities, as long as we don't lose heart, and do what is necessary - get a job - and remember to have rest as well.
You and I are all that's left to save our society - our loved ones and thru our contributions, save others who are worse off than us. Whomever and wherever you are, you are not alone in this crisis. Good luck.
Originally posted by xtreyier:What does a recession mean?
To politicians, it would be time to play the blame game.
To economists, it would be time to switch jobs.
To bank execs, it would be time to join soup queues.
To investors, it would be time to hide money under pillows.
To stock investors, it would be time to replay failed prediction alogarithms.BUT to you and me, the comman man on the street, a recession would mean we would have to hold on to our jobs, or look for jobs, and work harder, to provide for our love ones, and contribute through our taxes and CPF, to the even worse off, down and outs, disheartened, old, aged, orphans, sick, etc, and together, as a society, help one another to get out of this crisis.
Will we survive, or will we die? Only you and me alone can answer this question, and it will lie in our attitudes towards life. Will we cower in fear, whine for handouts while we are still capable to provide, or work harder, smarter, not risking it all as we once did in 'guaranteed derivatives'and other forms of 'easy money', to survive, not only for our own sake, but for those around us, living simply and realistically?
Regardless of whatever political outcome, or another economist's theoratical play on words of up, down, flat, mid term, long term, the awful reality is that we all still need to work to meet ours and our loved ones' needs.
Life is never a bed of roses for anyone, not for the roadsweeper or the PM. Daily we face challenges, and it is how we overcome them that make us special, worthy of the human race that had survive for millions of years.
And it is most certain we will all pull through this crisis, as our forefathers who had survived even worse calamities, as long as we don't lose heart, and do what is necessary - get a job - and remember to have rest as well.
You and I are all that's left to save our society - our loved ones and thru our contributions, save others who are worse off than us. Whomever and wherever you are, you are not alone in this crisis. Good luck.
Actually to investors, it's time to identify fundamentally strong and sound companies, yet have their stock prices hammered to ridiculously low levels, and put money for investments
Allow me to poke fun at the other jobs:
To politicians, it would be time to say to citizens to tighten their belts.
To economists, it would be time to say there are green shoots!
To bank execs, it would be time to churn out even more analysis that turned out to be wrong. ![]()
Much as we have cross fires in the another thread, I would say objectively this time round that you are sufficiently practical.
As for me, this recession affect me little. But that's not to say I cannot start preparing for the next recession (or the next wave). In fact, I work 2 full-time jobs from 8am to 5.30pm, then from 7.30pm to 10pm, 1 of which is extremely defensive (education, in tuitioning).... 7 days a week... This is my way of preparing for rainier days.
Furthermore, as stated earlier in this thread before it was disrupted by Atobe, I mentioned that I put my money into defensive dividend yielding stocks... My main aim is to increase my net monthly cashflow so that I can survive on lower margins in my bank savings account... Money flows to these equities, money market funds, but little on things like clothes, etc... but I do spend a lot on food :D
How about you? Care to share? ;)
Good luck as well :D
In fact, I work 2 full-time jobs from 8am to 5.30pm, then from 7.30pm to 10pm, 1 of which is extremely defensive (education, in tuitioning).... 7 days a week...
Take care of your health man.
The way you cheong is like what my father used to do, work from 7am to 12mn.
In the end health suffered.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:Take care of your health man.
good that you know and appreciate, just make sure that all your father's hard work and suffering for you does not go down the drain.
just make sure that all your father's hard work and suffering for you does not go down the drain.
That is why I despise the PAP regime.
Only know how to increase costs.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:Take care of your health man.
Thanks a lot
Thing is, right after uni, an 8 to 5 job is too relaxing for me... at night nothing much to do... I'm too used to waking at 6 and sleeping past midnight, doing work in uni... for 4 yrs...
Tuition is fun though... :D
Health is still ok so far (or I hope)... at least IPPT still silver, weights training still maintaining well
Originally posted by eagle:Actually to investors, it's time to identify fundamentally strong and sound companies, yet have their stock prices hammered to ridiculously low levels, and put money for investments
Allow me to poke fun at the other jobs:
To politicians, it would be time to say to citizens to tighten their belts.
To economists, it would be time to say there are green shoots!
To bank execs, it would be time to churn out even more analysis that turned out to be wrong.
Much as we have cross fires in the another thread, I would say objectively this time round that you are sufficiently practical.
As for me, this recession affect me little. But that's not to say I cannot start preparing for the next recession (or the next wave). In fact, I work 2 full-time jobs from 8am to 5.30pm, then from 7.30pm to 10pm, 1 of which is extremely defensive (education, in tuitioning).... 7 days a week... This is my way of preparing for rainier days.
Furthermore, as stated earlier in this thread before it was disrupted by Atobe, I mentioned that I put my money into defensive dividend yielding stocks... My main aim is to increase my net monthly cashflow so that I can survive on lower marings in my bank savings account... Money flows to these equities, money market funds, but little on things like clothes, etc... but I do spend a lot on food :D
How about you? Care to share? ;)
Good luck as well :D
I'm just an ordinary 9 to 5 joe, single and with not much committment, totally insignificant, someone whom no one would ever give so much as a second glance if ever we pass by streets.
But I am not blind to what is happening now in our society. Everyday I had watch families struggling to make ends meet, disheartened job seekers sweating under the sun, disgruntled uncles at coffee stalls complaining of their jobs being taken over by foreign workers, the old and aged worse off, orphanages getting low on funds, etc.
Too late to blame anyone, if there is even anyone to be blamed, for no one pointed a gun to our heads to make the financial crisis happened. My salary aint much and cannot possibly do much, but I do know that collectively, you and I and everyone can do more with our contributions and encouragements. No one else can help us other than ourselves, and we must never give in to frustrations or surrender to circumstances. The time to prove our worth has come.
This is as much as i can do to help here. Cheers to all, we aint dead yet.
I was told that USA
was a country bless by God...
but it seems that not true after all
Originally posted by noahnoah:
I was told that USA
ha ha ha ha ha! don't believe crap about god. ![]()
Originally posted by Ah Chia:That is why I despise the PAP regime.
Only know how to increase costs.
how to stop the rate of inflation from going up? which government in this world has the power to do that?
unless you are in a communist country lor. all decided by the central government. all earn the same amount of money and all pay the same price for food, house etc.
I was told that USA
but Osama says differently ![]()
Whoever wins, who can say God is on his side.
Originally posted by Stevenson101:Whoever wins, who can say God is on his side.
with or without recession and god, life goes on
When recession hits
the poor suffer
the rich only earn lesser
it dun kill them one
Originally posted by Fantagf:
with or without recession and god, life goes on
Meh no arguments from me there.
Life always go on.
Originally posted by Stevenson101:Meh no arguments from me there.
Life always go on.
Be it rain or shine, life goes on, recession goes on
I was told that USA
USA is a country where its people believe in God.....
Originally posted by Arapahoe:
USA is a country where its people believe in God.....
sweeping statement. not all believe in god in USA
for anyone who's looking to put cash into STI tmr, do beware. Base on my counts, it seems like today's rise was there to touch the 61.8% retracement line... For those who bother, I'm on minute ii of minor C, where minute ii has exactly touched 61.8% fibo retracement of minute i... And it might signify a reversal... Me already sold some of my capitaland on today's rise...
However, there's still a small chance of reaching near 95% retracement... Still, it signifies that within these 1 to 2 weeks, there's more downside to come...
Let's hope I'm wrong... afterall, I'm only of juvenile mind ![]()
It's so fun to practice TA during recessions, because it is much more challenging... ![]()
Originally posted by eagle:for anyone who's looking to put cash into STI tmr, do beware. Base on my counts, it seems like today's rise was there to touch the 61.8% retracement line... For those who bother, I'm on minute ii of minor C, where minute ii has exactly touched 61.8% fibo retracement of minute i... And it might signify a reversal... Me already sold some of my capitaland on today's rise...
However, there's still a small chance of reaching near 95% retracement... Still, it signifies that within these 1 to 2 weeks, there's more downside to come...
Let's hope I'm wrong... afterall, I'm only of juvenile mind
It's so fun to practice TA during recessions, because it is much more challenging...
A single day away, and the attempts to hijack the thread for some self-indulgent exercise continues - amazing.
It is certainly a big deal to a small investor when the stock move 10 cents in an entire day , when such movements are small change for the big investors looking for "ikan bilis to complement their desire to go for cheap beer".
For all your self-indulgent advertising of your TA skills - did you manage to make any real gains yesterday by cashing in some of your previous purchases ?
With all the technical expertise trumpeted, you should have scored several rounds making the daily or weekly margin gains that would have sufficiently cushioned your life - instead of sweating out with two jobs a day.
How contradictory can you be in your statements to Ah Chia that you will put your "money into defensive dividend yielding stocks" which you claimed will help with - "My main aim is to increase my net monthly cashflow" ?
Is the juvenile mind attempting to con the Speaker's Corner ?
Dividends are paid once a year, and unless you hold a substantial size in each counter, and holding several different counters - can the dividend actually help you to "survive on lower marings in my bank savings account" ? - (marings ???)
With your admitted limitation in investment capital, you could not possibly be holding any sizeable volumes or even spread your risks with multiple counters.
Obviously you have not made any impact with your boasted investment skills, which require you to sweat out in two jobs.
Without all the TA humbug - if you are what you claimed to be, you would have taken a position with one of the leading Blue Chip counter alone yesterday, and with one single lot taken in the morning, and released in the afternoon, you would have a net gain of $600.
You need some pointers ?
How contradictory can you be in your statements to Ah Chia that you will put your "money into defensive dividend yielding stocks" which you claimed will help with - "My main aim is to increase my net monthly cashflow" ?
Dividends are paid once a year, and unless you hold a substantial size in each counter, and holding several different counters
Yawns, yet another long post to disrupt the thread that was already flowing well without you disrupting.
Your take. I don't need to point out how wrong your sentences are (again) or spoonfeed you where you are wrong (again) this time. All I can say is my average monthly dividends is sufficient for most students' pocket money, and my next target is to increase it to match my expenditure.
Or perhaps you can go read another thread on dividends in CNA Market Talk forum.
For all your self-indulgent advertising of your TA skills - did you manage to make any real gains yesterday by cashing in some of your previous purchases ?
Regarding cashing my realised gains, yes, but do I need to tell you? I sold a particular stock at $3.50 at its resistance point. Duh. Then again, would you believe?
Also, from your words and insults, your understanding of TA is totally haywired. Again, I'm not going to explain.
Obviously you have not made any impact with your boasted investment skills, which require you to sweat out in two jobs.
Even more duh. I don't need to further explain. Only you regard me as boasting because your main aim is not here to share. Do I need to explain to you as well on why I'm accelerating my income streams?
Without all the TA humbug - if you are what you claimed to be, you would have taken a position with one of the leading Blue Chip counter alone yesterday, and with one single lot taken in the morning, and released in the afternoon, you would have a net gain of $600.
Wow, talking big when on hindsight.
That's doing a dumb thing when general sentiments are bad. Did that in May when the sentiments were super bullish, but not now. In fact, I posted my live trades in Money forum at that time, not talking big on hindsight like you did. Do go and take a look at my posts there for proof. Or do you need me to spoonfeed you with the particular thread as well?
Anyway thanks for pointing out my typo error. Happens often when you are typing fast enough.
And anyway, none of the sharing posts were meant for thick skulled people like you with limited brain capacity to add on as well.