Originally posted by xtreyier:Screw Australia! Who gives a shit on what happens there anyway? They have their problems and we have ours.
It doesnt matter if others have millions homeless, but if we even have 1 homeless is one too many.
I strongly urge those who see the homeless and care enough, to call NEA or any of the town councils to help these people. We are not a poor nation and as a society, we MUST help wherever we can within our limits. The homeless are our people too, unless they truly enjoy sleeping under the stars temporary, as some folks working overtime that I know of do.
"It doesnt matter if others have millions homeless, but if we even have 1 homeless is one too many." - very well said.
Do you seriously believe that the officers at NEA, HDB, URA and other relevant Government linked agencies are blind and are not aware ?
Surely you know that not every employee is a Minister living in their own ivory towers ?
Here are a few samples to help kick-start your idea:
Lee Hsien Loong: "We have helped those who needed help..... no one will be left behind"
Lee Kuan Yew: - ''You go down New York, Broadway. You will see the beggars, people of the streets..... Where are the beggars in Singapore?''
Goh Chok Tong : - "Your worries are mine too... we are one big family."
Kishore Mahbubani : - "There are no homeless, destitute or starving people [in Singapore]..... Poverty has been eradicated."
Mrs Goh Chok Tong: - ''$600,000 is peanuts.''
DID ANYONE HERE NOTICE ANYTHINBG BOUT THE EVONY ADVERTISEMENT ON THE FORUM????ITS GOT HUGE GAZOONGA BREASTS OF GIRLS!AND ITS ASKING US TO PLAY THEM!!!
Originally posted by Atobe:
"It doesnt matter if others have millions homeless, but if we even have 1 homeless is one too many." - very well said.
Do you seriously believe that the officers at NEA, HDB, URA and other relevant Government linked agencies are blind and are not aware ?
Surely you know that not every employee is a Minister living in their own ivory towers ?
Lee Hsien Loong: "We have helped those who needed help..... no one will be left behind"
I am just as concerned as you are over the homeless.
However, wouldnt the time taken to photograph, save it, upload onto the web and post it on forums be better spent just dialing NEA's number? Is this simple task so difficult? Had NEA ever said no to look into cases?
The homeless issue are not as straightforward as we all may wish it to be. There are several reasons why they choose to sleep in the open. Poverty is one, ignorance about social welfare or even blatant senile stubborness are others. Not to forget foreigners that are not our citizens could be the homeless too.
It is senseless to continue recycle those same old tired pics over and over again. I notice that the selection of pics are of different people. Question is - had the photographer ever had the opportunity to photograph the same person, homeless on the street again, and ever wondered why not, if he/she is a caring as she/he made herself out to be?
Whatever it is, I urge all to help the authorities. It would be senseless to hire more NEA officers to seek out the destitute and homeless. Such salaries with CPF and bonus would be better spent on provided for our own poor and destitute citizens.
Beside informing the authorities, you and I can go one step better. Volunteer our services, make donations, etc. Creating awareness is one thing, but to effect real change, it must come from us - you and me. ( this is not a challenge, with all sincerity. I would prefer it done privately and not for public show, as much as your conscience would dictate )
Of course the issue is not straightforward, it's only given in a straightforward way here preciesly for the reason that lionnoisy is as simple and straightforward in mindlessly starting and spamming anti-australia threads. In these posts you see how offensive his ways are when they are transposed to us.
Originally posted by xtreyier:
I am just as concerned as you are over the homeless.However, wouldnt the time taken to photograph, save it, upload onto the web and post it on forums be better spent just dialing NEA's number? Is this simple task so difficult? Had NEA ever said no to look into cases?
The homeless issue are not as straightforward as we all may wish it to be. There are several reasons why they choose to sleep in the open. Poverty is one, ignorance about social welfare or even blatant senile stubborness are others. Not to forget foreigners that are not our citizens could be the homeless too.
It is senseless to continue recycle those same old tired pics over and over again. I notice that the selection of pics are of different people. Question is - had the photographer ever had the opportunity to photograph the same person, homeless on the street again, and ever wondered why not, if he/she is a caring as she/he made herself out to be?
Whatever it is, I urge all to help the authorities. It would be senseless to hire more NEA officers to seek out the destitute and homeless. Such salaries with CPF and bonus would be better spent on provided for our own poor and destitute citizens.
Beside informing the authorities, you and I can go one step better. Volunteer our services, make donations, etc. Creating awareness is one thing, but to effect real change, it must come from us - you and me. ( this is not a challenge, with all sincerity. I would prefer it done privately and not for public show, as much as your conscience would dictate )
If you are as concerned about the homeless in Singapore, you would have taken the trouble to confront the statements made in such straigtht forward manner by LKY and his cronies - as quoted with the photos posted.
Do you seriously believe that the various government agencies are unaware of the problems that exist everyday and night in the public eye ?
The government agencies and ministries are staffed by ordinary Singaporeans, who lived in the HDB neighborhood and are daily witnesses to these homeless people.
Do you seriously believe that this situation does not flow through the grapevine upwards ?
MM LKY has established an elaborate grassroot team of foot-soldiers through the Resident Committees that are controlled by the People's Association, and overseen by a trusted PAP appointee.
The statements made by the PAP leadership is part of the hard sell to gloss over the hard facts of life in Singapore and to continue with the party spirit that they wish will last long enough to fill the bubble with some substance before the bubble burst.
Why will MM LKY accept the loss of US$100 Billion without any fuss, when it was obvious to more sensible investors that this was a hopeless chase of ownership with some small percentages in the sinking financial institutions of Europe, UK and the USA ?
Should Singaporeans overlook this US$100 Billion lost when the funds were found to have been used to pay the run-away wages of the top executives managing these depleted institutions ?
This fact alone is atrocious to the conscience of Singaporeans when LKY refused to allow any money to help Singaporeans unemployed during the recession in 2002 through 2004, and when Social Welfare is a dirty word in his vocabulary even as the funds are needed to look after the downtrodden, aged, sick and infirmed.
Lee Kuan Yew: - ''You go down New York, Broadway. You will see the beggars, people of the streets..... Where are the beggars in Singapore?''
Goh Chok Tong : - "Your worries are mine too... we are one big family."
Kishore Mahbubani : - "There are no homeless, destitute or starving people [in Singapore]..... Poverty has been eradicated."
Mrs Goh Chok Tong: - ''$600,000 is peanuts.''
This are not homeless, some are professional beggars, and some are die hard workers of the last century who dun want to rest with their families and care for their grandchildrens. Some are having sanity problem and run away from hospital and homes.
No doubt you can pity them, but i bet they are richer than some of us, and by the way, to be homeless in Singapore is good and better than other countries, cos we got good parks, bus stop, shelter etc etc, so in fact they got a home, and that is Singapore home
if all the homeless is to gather around Lee's house and be like undead walkers, i think it might scare the hell out of him
Homeless down under increases rapidly.How abt in SG?
so far,no one tell me how many homeless in SG.
July 13, 2009 12:00am
THE fight against Queensland's high rate of homelessness is being frustrated by "non-persons" - people with no official record of their existence.
Rockhampton authorities have noted a small but growing number of young people without a birth certificate or Medicare Card, and who are unknown to Centrelink.
A spokesman for Rockhampton-based Federal MP Kirsten Livermore said some of the city's homeless had not so much fallen through society's cracks as disappeared entirely.
Ms Livermore, at the forefront of a fight against a problem that is spreading into the state's central and northern communities, is trying to get a new shelter for Rockhampton's homeless, many of whom are reduced to sleeping in concrete pipes near the Fitzroy River.
"These are the people not known to Centrelink," the spokesman said. "They miss the safety nets altogether."
The problem was exposed when young, mainly male, homeless youths faced a judge who directed they participate in an alcohol or drug program as a last resort before jail...........................
http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,27574,25770560-3102,00.html
Originally posted by valentinoo:i just bought a home in australia. its impossible for me to get a flat in spore..still under 35 and single :p
congra.so long u can get a secured job.u can buy anytime.
Another misleading effort by the resident pussy to make more orgasmic noise in support of a government that had "filled the pussy's stomach to dull the brain" - as so avidly preached by LKY.
Why are there no clear data on the homeless in Singapore, when such data is made openly available in other First World Countries ?
To find such data about the homeless in Singapore, one has to depend on studies made by other organisations that collate information from various SG Government departments to see the whole picture:
As with Hong Kong, there is no official poverty line in Singapore. There is little data on the number in the ‘Left-Behind Class’. If going by the recent number of street people picked up by the authorities, about 170-300 people in Singapore make the streets their home every year. Many (50%) are old (60 and above years old) and have no family, employment or skills.
Others are abandoned by their own families. In one report, the Singapore Department of Statistics has released a figure of about 4 per cent of Singapore’s resident population (or 120,000) living at or close to the poverty line in 1998 (The Straits Times, 31 May 2000).
Income distribution as measured by the Gini coefficient was 0.481 in 2000.
In the most recent population census (2000a), 12.6 per cent of households (116,300 households) in Singapore earned less than S$1000 a month (average household income was S$4943 per month).
The lowest 10% of households excluding those with no income earners had an average monthly income of S$459 in 2000 (average household size was 3.7) (Singapore Census of Population, 2001).
The unofficial national definition of poverty drawn from the income qualifying criteria in various public assistance schemes seems to cover those surviving on less than S$10 per person per day.
By contrast, there are fewer homeless people in Singapore. The lowest income citizens are not excluded from the housing system.
Data from the public housing authority, the Singapore Housing and Development Board (HDB), showed that as of Dec 2004, 37,823 households could not afford to buy their own flats or rent homes in the open market and occupied heavily subsidized 1- and 2-room public rental flats under the Public Rental Scheme. Through the HDB set up in 1960, housing is provided under the government’s shelter for all policy.
Over time, poor quality overcrowded housing and temporary mass self-help housing in unimproved squatter settlements has been progressively cleared and replaced by high-rise accommodations and improved facilities in public housing estates and new towns.
In the process, the public housing sector has grown to become the predominant housing sector and stock of affordable housing in Singapore. This has encouraged the formulation of policies aimed at reducing the cost of housing and easing access to owner occupation in public housing, even for the lower income residents.
Is there any reason NOT to believe that there are no homeless in Singapore ?
The supposedly subsidised HDB flats are not exactly subsidised when these flats were built with the CPF savings from Singaporeans.
After using the cheap CPF funds at 2.5 per cent interest paid to Singaporeans - the Government will sell these HDB flats to Singaporeans at profits that bloat the HDB Bank Account.
Can those 116,300 households who earn less then $1,000 a month afford to buy these inflated HDB public houses ?
How many from the 37,823 households can continue to rent the supposedly heavily subsidized 1 to 2 room public homes - when they cannot afford to buy HDB units or even rent houses in the open market ?
Is this not a vicious cycle where the Government evict the low income families from their traditional kampung homes in the rural areas, and forced them to abandon their rural life living on agriculture and primary farming, to live in urban housing and work as a factory hand with low wages - and only to serve the PAP propaganda of advancing Singapore's industrialisation and public housing program ?
Most of such rural families were evicted from their homes that had passed on through several generations, and given miserly compensation per square foot of land repossessed by the Government.
It is disgusting to note that the same land is resold to Singaporeans who will pay 200 to 300 times the amount of the compensation given to the original title holders - even as the Government claim to have given subsidies for the public housing built.
Another misleading effort by the resident pussy to make more orgasmic noise in support of a government that had "filled the pussy's stomach to dull the brain" - as so avidly preached by LKY.
Why are there no clear data on the homeless in Singapore, when such data is made openly available in other First World Countries ?
To find such data about the homeless in Singapore, one has to depend on studies made by other organisations that collate information from various SG Government departments to see the whole picture:
Is there any reason NOT to believe that there are no homeless in Singapore ?
The supposedly subsidised HDB flats are not exactly subsidised when these flats were built with the CPF savings from Singaporeans.
After using the cheap CPF funds at 2.5 per cent interest paid to Singaporeans - the Government will sell these HDB flats to Singaporeans at profits that bloat the HDB Bank Account.
Can those 116,300 households who earn less then $1,000 a month afford to buy these inflated HDB public houses ?
How many from the 37,823 households can continue to rent the supposedly heavily subsidized 1 to 2 room public homes - when they cannot afford to buy HDB units or even rent houses in the open market ?
Is this not a vicious cycle where the Government evict the low income families from their traditional kampung homes in the rural areas, and forced them to abandon their rural life living on agriculture and primary farming, to live in urban housing and work as a factory hand with low wages - and only to serve the PAP propaganda of advancing Singapore's industrialisation and public housing program ?
Most of such rural families were evicted from their homes that had passed on through several generations, and given miserly compensation per square foot of land repossessed by the Government.
It is disgusting to note that the same land is resold to Singaporeans who will pay 200 to 300 times the amount of the compensation given to the original title holders - even as the Government claim to have given subsidies for the public housing built.
u seem looking for a perfect society that every household owns a home.
I think we have one of the highest,if not the highest,home ownership .
Is it abt 80% of local residents stay in HDB?Out of them,abt 90% owns their home.
read here...Not bad lah...Interesting.These info in FAS web site!!
http://www.fas.nus.edu.sg/ecs/scape/doc/SEPC2008.pdf
"Singapore’s social safety net"
Ms Tan Li San, Director, Social Programs, MOF
http://www.fas.nus.edu.sg/ecs/scape/doc/24Oct08/Tan%20Li%20San.pdf
sorry citizen abt 3.30 million
correction---3.30 citizens
DUN FORGET,,,,,,,,,THEY DUN WEAR SHOES N SLIPPERS WHEN WALKIN IN TOWN FOR SOME ANG MO.....
A JOB CAN BE SECURED ANYTIME AND ANYWHERE IN OZ.THEIR LOWEST GRADE JOB IN OZ EARN MORE THAN MNC MANAGER IN SPORE.IF .U ARE NOT CHOOSY U CAN GET THAT JOB....SAME AS APPLYING FOR DUMB SUPERVISOR JOB IN SPORE THAT PAYS LIKE ROADSWEEPER JOB IN OZ.THERE ARE MANY SPORE PERMANENT RESIDENTS WHO THREW AWAY THEIR SPORE PERMANENT RESIDENCE INTO CHANGI AIRPORT DUSTBIN TO GO TO OZ.THEY ARE NOT HOMELESS!
THE HOMELESS IN OZ ARE THOSE WHO DONT WANT TO WORK.......TO LAZY TO WORK.........DRUG ADDICTS...........VIOLENT CRIMINALS...........JOB HOPPER.THESE ARE THE SAME KIND OF JOBLESS PEOPLE U CAN ALSO FIND IN SPORE.
DO U THINK JOBLESS PEOPLE CAN HAVE A ROOF EVEN IN SPORE?
I DUN KNOW WAT LIONNOISY IS DOING.............IS HE WERKING FOR SPORE GOV OR OZ GOV?....WAT IS POINT OF SAYING SO WHEN MOST EDUCATED PEOPLE IN OZ HAVE HOUSES OR LIFESTYLE SAME AS SPORE OR BETTER.
I KNOW OZ ISNT A PERFECT PLACE WITH COMPANY POLITICS ETC SAME AS WAT U WOULD GET IN SPORE............MAYBE LIONNOISY SHOULD SETUP BUSINESS INSTEAD OF WERKING FOR OTHER PEOPLE.
U CANM NEVER OWN A PLACE TO CALL HOME BY WERKIN FER OTHER PEOPLE EVEN IN YOUUR OWN SPORE COUNTRY.
LION NOISY:
ANSWER THE QUESTION.
LION NOISY:
PEOPLE BUILDING THEIR OWN HOUSE WIV SWIMMING POOL..N U TALKING ABOUT PRISON CELL IN SPORE HOUSING BOARD .
PEOPLE BUILDING PLANS FOR OWN BUSINESS TO PROSPER N U TALKING SECURING JOB SO HARD WHICH IS EVIDENT.LOOK AT MOST OF SPORE ..SO MUCH EDUCATION BUT CANT SETUP LOW COST PRODUCTION FACTORY FROM SCRATCH.
LION NOISY...........HOW DO U EXPECT TO SURVIVE IN NEXT 10 YEARS LIKE THAT IF U KEEP ON WANTING PEOPLE TO STAY IN SMALL ROOM N LIVE IN YOUR SPORE ENVIROMENT WHERE ITS HARD TO SETUP A FACTORY FROM SCRATCH OR GO ANYWHERE EXCEPT SELLING KACANG PUTEH?!!
U SIAO ARRR!
Originally posted by lionnoisy:u seem looking for a perfect society that every household owns a home.
I think we have one of the highest,if not the highest,home ownership .
Is it abt 80% of local residents stay in HDB?Out of them,abt 90% owns their home.
read here...Not bad lah...Interesting.These info in FAS web site!!
http://www.fas.nus.edu.sg/ecs/scape/doc/SEPC2008.pdf
"Singapore’s social safety net"
Ms Tan Li San, Director, Social Programs, MOFhttp://www.fas.nus.edu.sg/ecs/scape/doc/24Oct08/Tan%20Li%20San.pdf
How much is the Oz PM paid compared to SG's PM ?
For the amount paid to SG's PM do you not expect him to solve the housing problems with better results that borders closer to zero homeless ?
What does a noisy pussy know about HDB home ownership when it lives in a hole ?
Do Singaporeans actually own the HDB unit that they pay for with their hard earned cash - whether from the CPF or from their monthly wages ?
The lease of the home is for a maximum of 99 year lease, which makes it no better then the price that an entrepreneur pays for the property that he build for himself.
Many home owners have no say when the HDB decide to pull the units down for the purpose of re-development even before the flats reached 50 year old, which still have 49 year lease remaining.
While new laws have been passed to protect private home owners in the situation of en bloc sales that affect their individual rights, such laws are not extended to protect the HDB home owners.
The claim of Singapore achieving 90% home ownership due to public housing is nothing more then propaganda that only a pussy will loudly proclaim in the usual orgasmic noise.
Originally posted by lionnoisy:
sorry citizen abt 3.30 million
correction---3.30 citizens
Is it not pathetic that even when making a correction, a mistake can be repeated ?
If only the pussy can learn to be less noisy, perhaps it will learn to be less impulsive.
It is 3.03 citizens for the Year 2005.
Is this accurate - when added to the claim of 450,000 Permanent Residents ?
The Department of Statistics had published in its report - Demographic Trends – Singapore, end-June 2005 - that the population was 4,351,400 residents.
Taking the numbers given at its face value for the total number of 3.03 citizens and 450,000 PRs being part of the 80 per cent staying in HDB homes, of which only 90 per cent owns these home.
From the 80 per cent claimed to be living in HDB units, there remains 278,400 residents not owning homes.
This seems to be a high proportion of residents NOT owning the homes that they live in despite the housing program having existed since the late 1960s.
Only the undiscerning noisy pussy will be ecstatic with such results
Of the 278,400 residents not owning HDB, I am one of them. Of those remaining 20% of who not own HDB, a significant would own landed properties and condos. I am not even one of them.
I rent my apartment, and am single, living alone, for years and have a fat CPF account. It might be stupid not to be like my fellow property crazed citizens who goes after property speculation, I prefer a simplier life, and shift locations as and when I like - Hill tops, beachfront, city, shifting overseas for work, etc.
Am I considered 'homeless' too, as I dont own my home?
Originally posted by xtreyier:Of the 278,400 residents not owning HDB, I am one of them. Of those remaining 20% of who not own HDB, a significant would own landed properties and condos. I am not even one of them.
I rent my apartment, and am single, living alone, for years and have a fat CPF account. It might be stupid not to be like my fellow property crazed citizens who goes after property speculation, I prefer a simplier life, and shift locations as and when I like - Hill tops, beachfront, city, shifting overseas for work, etc.
Am I considered 'homeless' too, as I dont own my home?
If you can afford to rent a roof over your head, you do not qualify to be homeless.
However, if you own an apartment but prefer to live your life wandering from hill tops to beachfront or the city, shifting overseas for work - and live in the outdoors and not even in a camper van or a tent - but on park benches, or some counter tops - then you will be welcomed to the noveau riche vagabond club of The Drifters.
As a noveau riche vagabond, you will bring shame to the true vagrant, who cannot afford a roof or even a shelter and will be in the exclusive club of The Homeless.
There is a difference between "Drifters" and "Homeless".
<105,000
And gahment want to fine those sleeping on public areas when they are not able to provide a home for the homeless...
Aiyah... talk so much also no use...
Spend the time go earn more, then donate to charity to help these people la...
Earn more to donate more.
Charity or their CEO?