A FORMER full-time national serviceman, who helped foreign navy personnel smuggle duty-unpaid cigarettes out of Changi Naval Base, was given a stiff jail term on Wednesday. Ee Jin Liang, 23, who was a lance corporal and military driver, appeared stunned after a judge meted out a prison sentence of four years and five months.
Explaining the tough sentence given to the first-time offender, Senior District Judge Tan Siong Thye said a deterrent sentence was clearly called for as Ee had assisted foreign personnel to circumvent the security precautions at a military installation on five occasions.
He said: 'If not deterred, some other national serviceman could be bribed to look the other way...We can ill-afford such security compromise in today's context, as terrorism is very real and terrorists will exploit security lapses and cause massive public mayhem and destruction of human lives and property.'
The judge also pointed out that the amount of contraband involved was one of the highest to come before the courts: The excise duty and goods and services tax unpaid on the cigarettes exceeded $3 million.
Besides Ee, who pleaded guilty last week and has been in military detention since his arrest, two other former military drivers were also involved: Ang Zi Heng, 22, who was a lance corporal, was jailed for a year and four months in March on one count of corruption; and Adrian Tan, 23, who was also a lance corporal, is awaiting trial.
During Ee's trial last week, the court heard that meetings between representatives of the Singapore and Indonesian navies are held every month, with the two navies taking turns to host these meetings. When meetings are held at Changi Naval Base, drivers like Ee are assigned to ferry the Indonesians.
In August last year, an Indonesian officer asked Ee if it was safe to take contraband cigarettes out of the base. Ee replied that he did not know, but allowed the Indonesians to load the cigarettes onto the minibus that he and Ang took turns to drive.
The pair went on to make five or six trips to a carpark outside the base, where the contraband was loaded onto lorries. For their work, Ee and Ang were given 20 cartons of cigarettes.
Two months later, Ee repeated the favour. As the minibus was too small, he obtained a larger vehicle and made three trips to transport the contraband out of the base. That time, he received a chest of tea in addition to 20 cartons of cigarettes.
The smuggling operation went up in smoke last December, when Customs officers intercepted two lorries loaded with the smuggled cigarettes and caught Ee while his vehicle was being loaded with contraband at the wharf. Investigations revealed that the Indonesians were in cahoots with a syndicate that sold the cigarettes here.
Sinkies are forced to perform Full time NS at a young age of 16-18. They train hard, force to become a killing machine but not taught soft skills, matters of heart - Corruption is a Crime but robbing one's innocent mind is Also a Crime!
Look at this one, he is just a Boy!
Boys, Welcome to Yellow Ribbon Party!
the first things NS "boys" learn is that they have to face the consequences of their actions...
so.. what part of that are you against?
dumbass
even if he had done this out of NS, he will get his punishment anyway.
he made a bad choice, he suffers.
nothing to do with ns leh
I don't know what you're trying to say here
He made a decision to commit a crime so he is paying for it now.
Nothing to do with NS at all
Okay.... let's change things a little.
What if he was a civillian transport driver working with a cargo shipping company that was receiving some visitors from its Indonesian office....
.... and those Indonesians hired him to help them smuggle their goods?
How now, TS? Don't punish him? It's the exact same crime!
they probably get to work for the ahtansh transportation company where the boss will tell everyone that no one should bear responsibility for smuggling or anything like that...
in fact, it's the MIW's fault that he's smuggling
*$&# it lah.. we live in a worl where no one wants to take personal responsibility for their own actions.. and dumbasses jump to the defence of those who commit crimes because... society is at fault for putting the cigarettes in their trucks, putting the money in their hands and being born
p.s. i wonder what would ahtansh say if the idiots ended up smuggling more than just cigarettes in there.. say.. there was semtex hidden in the contraband cigarettes for some sleeper terrorist cells in Singapore?
u wanna punch people then prepare to kena punch
tats wat i always believed in
thus even when my father wanna do me harm i also never show him any mercy,his is probably feeling sore after his defeat and will advoid me for the time being
so ??
i dun see tat ns kill tat boy future
rather is that boy kill his own furture just like my father kill his relationship with me
Ai yo... he stupid mah... if other offences that can be covered up, most probably no charge... But then this is like smuggling cig in lor... against the law one wor... how to cover up?
Originally posted by ahtansh:
Sinkies are forced to perform Full time NS at a young age of 16-18. They train hard, force to become a killing machine but not taught soft skills, matters of heart - Corruption is a Crime but robbing one's innocent mind is Also a Crime!
Intergity and morals is taught by parents and school... And although he looks young, he's still 23... Old enough to know wat's wrong and wat's not... Dun quite involve the NS...
So let's say he didnt corrupt and smuggle ciggies but instead murder, rape, rob ppl... Can we say it's not his fault becoz NS dun teach them abt not to do those?
And the part where the indos ask him whether it is safe already implies it's not OK... If given a half-half answer like "I dun know" means innocent then ppl smuggle drugs can just say "I dun know" too...
Well unless he has some mental problems or learning difficiencies(check spelling), there's no excuse for his actions...
He did not even take money,he just accepted free cigarettes as gift,Sigh!
I dont know whether SAF did tell their servicemen can not take bribe or not,but i know SPF very particular on that.
Actually this NS boy also got no brain de.
He should have acted crazy and get admitted to woodbridge hospital so his lawyer can say that NS has made him gone crazy and he smuggled ciggies in because he heard a voice telling him to do so.
Than he will have a lighter sentence and maybe don't even need to go to jail. Go woodbridge hospital instead still got chio bu nurses to take care of him.
After stay for 1 year act normal again than can get discharged liao
Originally posted by the Bear:they probably get to work for the ahtansh transportation company where the boss will tell everyone that no one should bear responsibility for smuggling or anything like that...
in fact, it's the MIW's fault that he's smuggling
*$&# it lah.. we live in a worl where no one wants to take personal responsibility for their own actions.. and dumbasses jump to the defence of those who commit crimes because... society is at fault for putting the cigarettes in their trucks, putting the money in their hands and being born
p.s. i wonder what would ahtansh say if the idiots ended up smuggling more than just cigarettes in there.. say.. there was semtex hidden in the contraband cigarettes for some sleeper terrorist cells in Singapore?
Lemme guess....
'It's all the gahmen's fault for putting the poor innocent boy in a position where he may be tempted by smugglers with the promise of ciggies and teh!'
'It's all the gahmen's fault for putting him in a position where he might be transporting explosives for Mas Selamat!'
'It's all the gahmen's fault! He did not do anything wrong by thinking in a stupid manner!'
Oh, and by the way, who changed the title of the thread?
Everything was loaded onto this 'boy' - who obviously is from one of those 'deficient' family that should have got him into The Boys' Town Rehab School as a permanent resident. How did he ended up with the SAF ?
What about the Indonesian sailors who initiated the entire criminal acts ?
Nothing was mentioned about the actions taken against them and the Naval Ship that brought the contraband into Singapore.
Obviously, diplomacy and military relations takes precedence and it seems that the Singapore 'boy' will be made a scapegoat for all other NSF to learn the consequence.
In any case, with good behaviour - this 'boy' will be out in half the time served.
However, Singapore society will be paying a long term social price for incarcerating a 'boy' into prison that expose his impressionable mind to the hard tricks of life from more hardened offenders.
Brilliant reformative sentence.
Wat's wrong with him going to jail sia?
U commit mistake u go in, simple as that.
Originally posted by Atobe:
Everything was loaded onto this 'boy' - who obviously is from one of those 'deficient' family that should have got him into The Boys' Town Rehab School as a permanent resident. How did he ended up with the SAF ?
Nothing was mentioned about the actions taken against them and the Naval Ship that brought the contraband into Singapore.
Obviously, diplomacy and military relations takes precedence and it seems that the Singapore 'boy' will be made a scapegoat for all other NSF to learn the consequence.
In any case, with good behaviour - this 'boy' will be out in half the time served.
However, Singapore society will be paying a long term social price for incarcerating a 'boy' into prison that expose his impressionable mind to the hard tricks of life from more hardened offenders.
Ok, I also want to know what happened to those Indo scumbags. I want to know whether they would be charged as well, or would they be simply declared PNG.
On the other hand, bear in mind that this fella knew what was in it for him. This wasn't just a few packs of ciggies - we are talking about a consignment of ciggies whose duty and taxes is worth over $3 million. The utterly correct thing for him to do would be to simply say no, report the incident to his MTO or MT Spec, and flash the finger at the Indo smugglers for good measure.
But did he do that? No. Don't blame justice if he's too stupid to understand that.
You talk about him being impressionable - well, he's 23 years old! He would have been 22 last year at the time of the incident. In short, he's already a full-fledged adult expected to take responsibility for his own actions! How much longer does he need to mature?!?!
In the end, the only price that we pay as a society for his incarceration is..... the cost of room and board and medical benefits at Changi Prison. In the end, he's a crook who's a full adult who can take full responsibility for his actions. There's no denying that.
fantastic.. all the PRs in SG wont go thru this kind of "temptation".
How did he end up in the SAF ? .....ermmmm .... let me try ...... ah ! ... I know ! ..... that thing called National Service in Singapore ? ... which everyone who's not mentally disturbed ... nor retarded .... and has a penis, have to undergo ? .......
As far as I am concerned, if you commit a crime, screaming "not fair ! ... you didn't punish the others as much !" doesn't exonerate you of your crime ...... how is he a scapegoat ? ... do you mean he's not guilty ? .....
And how do you propose to "punish" the indonesians ? .... impound the Indonesian Naval Warship, like we do any sampan or tongkang who smuggles in cigarettes ? ... threaten war ? .....
Originally posted by fudgester:Ok, I also want to know what happened to those Indo scumbags. I want to know whether they would be charged as well, or would they be simply declared PNG.
On the other hand, bear in mind that this fella knew what was in it for him. This wasn't just a few packs of ciggies - we are talking about a consignment of ciggies whose duty and taxes is worth over $3 million. The utterly correct thing for him to do would be to simply say no, report the incident to his MTO or MT Spec, and flash the finger at the Indo smugglers for good measure.
But did he do that? No. Don't blame justice if he's too stupid to understand that.
You talk about him being impressionable - well, he's 23 years old! He would have been 22 last year at the time of the incident. In short, he's already a full-fledged adult expected to take responsibility for his own actions! How much longer does he need to mature?!?!
In the end, the only price that we pay as a society for his incarceration is..... the cost of room and board and medical benefits at Changi Prison. In the end, he's a crook who's a full adult who can take full responsibility for his actions. There's no denying that.
Originally posted by Fatum:How did he end up in the SAF ? .....ermmmm .... let me try ...... ah ! ... I know ! ..... that thing called National Service in Singapore ? ... which everyone who's not mentally disturbed ... nor retarded .... and has a penis, have to undergo ? .......
As far as I am concerned, if you commit a crime, screaming "not fair ! ... you didn't punish the others as much !" doesn't exonerate you of your crime ...... how is he a scapegoat ? ... do you mean he's not guilty ? .....
And how do you propose to "punish" the indonesians ? .... impound the Indonesian Naval Warship, like we do any sampan or tongkang who smuggles in cigarettes ? ... threaten war ? .....
Firstly, my apologies to both for making a single joint reply to the different responses, but will respond separately when necessary.
You are both correct in that the Lance-Corporal is an adult at age 22 at the time when the crime was committed.
How many of us at that age truly thought of ourselves as an adult ?
Perhaps at the present time looking back into the mirror, we have forgotten how we looked like at age 22.
You should step back and take a look at the photo placed by TS - is that an adult's face looking like anyone mature ?
He looked like someone with a serious deficiency in judgment.
Yes, it was too bad that he made a mistake and deserve to be punished for the offense committed.
What was the gravity of the crime that was committed to warrant such a sentence for a first time offender ?
At its very worst, the crime was serious in that he had co-operated with foreign military personnels to breach military security and had undermined Singapore's Revenue Collection efforts.
Yes, the incarceration will cost the State resources to keep him for the duration in prison and the efforts to re-educate him if such program exist.
Are there no longer term implications for Singapore - if the sentence make this "boy" into a potential hardened criminal ?
Being a first time offender, incarcerating this "kid" in the company of more hardened criminals can only result in long term social costs for Singapore, if this "kid" should come under their influence to hit back at society for the injustice that maybe felt.
There are a few options available to "punish" the Indonesians - without the need to let the war-mongering imagination of a child become a real nightmare to the adults.
Impounding the Naval Warship for the duration of the investigation would have been the first option. It has been done before by other countries, with China and North Korea - facing down a mightier US Naval Force - when they had separately impounded US Naval Warships that trespassed their respective sovereignty.
Other commercial vessels would have been impounded and even confiscated if the Captain and the crew were found to be involved with the conspiracy.
The Indonesian naval personnels should have been arrested for the contraband being brought onto our sovereign soil, and considering that the Indonesian naval personnels were already on Singapore soil and not on their naval vessel when the SAF truck was stopped by the Singapore Customs Officials.
The Indonesian naval personnels should have been prosecuted in Singapore for an act that had contravened Singapore Laws on smuggling contraband.
Obviously, the Singapore Authorities preferred to take a softer approach by dealing with this "incident" in the most diplomatic manner, but allowing the Captain of the Indonesian naval vessel to deal with his crew members, and at the same time sending a diplomatic note to the Indonesian Government concerning the incident.
fuck lah.. atobe.. everything also not his fault..
it's all the MIW's fault
it's all Singapore's fault..
it's all his parents' fault
it's all society's fault
it's EVERYONE'S FAULT except his own...
diplomatic?
if he was let off, would you be here ranting that "democracy wasn't served" because he wasn't treated equally?
frankly, you ought to get off your high horse.. dumbass..
Firstly, my apologies to both for making a single joint reply to the different responses, but will respond separately when necessary.
You are both correct in that the Lance-Corporal is an adult at age 22 at the time when the crime was committed.
How many of us at that age truly thought of ourselves as an adult ?
Perhaps at the present time looking back into the mirror, we have forgotten how we looked like at age 22.
You should step back and take a look at the photo placed by TS - is that an adult's face looking like anyone mature ?
He looked like someone with a serious deficiency in judgment.
Yes, it was too bad that he made a mistake and deserve to be punished for the offense committed.
What was the gravity of the crime that was committed to warrant such a sentence for a first time offender ?
At its very worst, the crime was serious in that he had co-operated with foreign military personnels to breach military security and had undermined Singapore's Revenue Collection efforts.
Yes, the incarceration will cost the State resources to keep him for the duration in prison and the efforts to re-educate him if such program exist.
Are there no longer term implications for Singapore - if the sentence make this "boy" into a potential hardened criminal ?
Being a first time offender, incarcerating this "kid" in the company of more hardened criminals can only result in long term social costs for Singapore, if this "kid" should come under their influence to hit back at society for the injustice that maybe felt.
There are a few options available to "punish" the Indonesians - without the need to let the war-mongering imagination of a child become a real nightmare to the adults.
Impounding the Naval Warship for the duration of the investigation would have been the first option. It has been done before by other countries, with China and North Korea - facing down a mightier US Naval Force - when they had separately impounded US Naval Warships that trespassed their respective sovereignty.
Other commercial vessels would have been impounded and even confiscated if the Captain and the crew were found to be involved with the conspiracy.
The Indonesian naval personnels should have been arrested for the contraband being brought onto our sovereign soil, and considering that the Indonesian naval personnels were already on Singapore soil and not on their naval vessel when the SAF truck was stopped by the Singapore Customs Officials.
The Indonesian naval personnels should have been prosecuted in Singapore for an act that had contravened Singapore Laws on smuggling contraband.
Obviously, the Singapore Authorities preferred to take a softer approach by dealing with this "incident" in the most diplomatic manner, but allowing the Captain of the Indonesian naval vessel to deal with his crew members, and at the same time sending a diplomatic note to the Indonesian Government concerning the incident.
wow ! ... so are you saying that he looks dumb, and so he must be ? .... you can tell all that from a picture ? .... .
Actually, he does not look intellectually subnormal to me, ... he can't help how he looks of course, you may want to take it up with his parents.
so, to you, what is the threshold ? How smart does a person has to be, before you'd consider him fit to be responsible for his own actions, and fit to be punished for the crimes he's committed ? ... does he have to be freaking einstein ? At what age, and at what level of cognitive ability, did personal responsibility begin for you, since you didn't feel like an adult at 22 ?
You said so yourself, and I quote "At its very worst, the crime was serious in that he had co-operated with foreign military personnels to breach military security" How is that not a serious offense, pray tell.
And it gets funnier .... so ..... you really want to impound a warship of a neighbouring country ? ..... That's powerful stuff you've been smoking, where did you get it ? ....
but hey, I guess that's enough for a saturday morning .... cos the bear's said it all ....
I was 22 just four years ago.
At that age, I was in my second year of undergraduate studies. I looked like a student, I felt like a student, and I was indeed a student. However, at that age, I also knew that if I were to commit a crime, I would be tried as an adult no matter what.
I'm 26 now, and I'm still a student. Can I be tried as a juvenile if I were to commit a crime?
So, let me get this straight - he looks young and he feels young, he should be tried as a young person? So if Leonardo diCaprio or Christiano Ronaldo were to commit a crime, we should treat them as juveniles? They look so baby-faced!
If you tell me that a psychiatrist had certified him to be mentally challenged, I might still sympathise with him. But the bottom line is, he's a full-grown adult who has to take responsibility for his own actions. If he can't even understand that till now, then that's not the problem of the law.
If you don't set the lower bar for adulthood at 21, where do you want to set it then - 35?
it's all ahtansh and atobe's fault