October 24, 2009 by admin
Filed under Opinion
From our Correspondent
[This article was adapted from a reply given to a reader]
In a previous article posted here recounting the PAP’s flagrant abuse of the GRC system to serve its own partisan interests, we were criticized by a reader for harping on the past without providing any viable ideas for building the future.
The past is equally as if not more important than the future because without understanding our own history, we will be ignorant about the deficiencies in the present system and hence remain contented with the status quo.
Only when we look at ourselves from the mirror of history we will realize how much more we need to do to prepare for the future, a future when all Singapore citizens can participate freely in contributing to the nation without the constant fear of reprisals from the ruling party.
The most important factor to help the opposition make any sort of progress lie in the citizenry.
An informed, educated, thinking and proactive citizenry is absolutely essential if we want to build a two-party system in Singapore.
If the citizenry remain ignorant, they will forever be deceived and misled by the lies, spin and propaganda of the state media.
If the citizenry do not bother to think, then they will never realize the importance of their civil and political rights.
If the citizenry is not proactive, we will never get young and promising Singaporeans to join opposition politics to contest against the PAP.
That’s what we have been trying to do – to tackle the root cause of our political malaise. How can we expect the political tsunami of Malaysia to reach our shores when most Singaporeans are disinterested in what is happening to their nation?
Our site is visited by many secondary and JC school students. Sometimes we received emails from them informing us that they never knew about the PAP’s ugly past from the history books till they read our articles which change their perspective completely.
Young Singaporeans born in the 1980s and 1990s came to know about Singapore’s post-independent history only through the glasses of the history textooks, journals and media approved by the ruling party. Very few of them had heard of Tan Wah Piow, Francis Seow, Jeyaretnam or Lee Siew Choh.
So we need to get down to basics, to make sure our young generation do not forget the past, such as the detention of Chia Thye Poh for 32 years without trial, the introduction of the Newspaper Printing Act in 1975 to control the media, the castration of Singapore’s Law Society in 1988 by LKY leading to the exile of Francis Seow and the injustices perpetuated on Tang Liang Hong.
Only when we have an informed electorate will the opposition even stand any chance of disloging the PAP. The young do not owe any allegiance to the PAP. They will have an open mind to discern the rights and wrongs for themselves. It is our moral responsibility to preserve the truth for posterity.
In a way, this site will be a barometer of the political awareness of Singaporeans.
In Malaysia, the alternative news sites are all ranked within the top 100 of their nation’s traffic. Once our alexa rank reach 100 and below, then we can be sure that the new media revolution and the political tsunami which hit Malaysia will arrive here. Right now, our traffic rank is only 945 which is far off from Xiaxue’s blog (197) and Today online (502). With such a pathetic traffic, the impact of the new media will be minimal.
What does this show? That Singaporeans are still more interested in mundane stuff than politics and current affairs. How can we expect them to lend their support to the opposition when they are not even aware of its existence and relevance in the first place?
It will take time to inculcate political awareness and knowledge in our youth, but we believe we will succeed eventually because we are on the right side of history.
As Sun Yat Sen once said during his endeavors to topple the Qing dynasty – those who did not follow the world trends will soon be rendered obsolete and one-party authoritarian states are becoming obsolete just like a century earlier when feudal dynasties are being replaced by modern republics all over in the world.
Everywhere in Asia, the previously impenetratable walls of repression are showing signs of cracks and are collapsing one by one from South Korea, Indonesia, Malaysia, Taiwan and now to Japan.
It is only a matter of time before an Obama emerge in Singapore and kick the PAP out of office like what the DPJ did to LDP, the Japanese version of the PAP. It may take 10 or 50 years, but one day we will be there and our most important task right now is to keep the PAP’s unspoken legacy alive for our young minds for they are the voters of the future.
æ–°åŠ å�¡è®¯ï¼Œä¸€å��原ç±�ä¸å›½çš„æ‹¥æœ‰ç¾Žå›½æ–¯å�¦ç¦�大å¦å�šå£«å¦ä½�的男å�ï¼Œæ›¾åœ¨æ–°åŠ å�¡ç§‘æŠ€ç ”ç©¶å±€æ‹…ä»»é¦–å¸ç ”究员,自去年五月份å�ˆçº¦è¢«ç»ˆæ¢å�Žï¼Œå°±ä¸€ç›´æ‰¾ä¸�到工作,于是决定转行当出租汽车å�¸æœºã€‚
自称蔡明æ�°çš„å�šå£«ï¼Œåœ¨ä»Šå¹´4月6日,以“ä¸€ä¸ªæ–°åŠ å�¡å‡ºç§Ÿæ±½è½¦å�¸æœºçš„æ—¥è®°”为题目,开始在网上写å�šå®¢ã€‚他说,他å�¯èƒ½æ˜¯ä¸–界上唯一拥有斯å�¦ç¦�大å¦å�šå£«å¦ä½�的出租汽车å�¸æœºã€‚
原ç±�ä¸å›½çš„蔡明æ�°ï¼ŒçŽ°åœ¨å·²ç»�æ˜¯æ–°åŠ å�¡å…¬æ°‘了。他是在1990年获得美国å�²å�¦ç¦�大å¦åˆ†å�生物å¦çš„å�šå£«å¦ä½�的。他也在å�Žç››é¡¿å¤§å¦ç ”修了两年的å�šå£«å�Žï¼Œå¸ˆä»Žè‘—å��çš„Lee Hartwell教授。他是2001年诺è´�尔奖获得者。
ä»–å£°ç§°ï¼Œä»–åœ¨æ–°åŠ å�¡ç§‘æŠ€ç ”ç©¶å±€çš„åˆ†å�ä¸Žç”Ÿç‰©ç»†èƒžç ”ç©¶é™¢æ‹…ä»»16年的首å¸ç ”究员,å�¯æ˜¯å�´åœ¨äº‹ä¸šé¢ å³°æœŸç¦»å¼€ç ”ç©¶å·¥ä½œï¼Œè¿‡å�Žå› 为ç§�ç§�åŽŸå› æ‰¾ä¸�到å�ˆé€‚的工作。
他说,他是在2007年接到通知,指他的应è�˜å�ˆçº¦å°†åœ¨2008å¹´5月份被终æ¢ã€‚ä»–è¯´ï¼Œä»–è¢«é€¼å…¥çª˜å¢ƒï¼Œå› ä¸ºè¿™ä¸ªå¹´é¾„çª�然失业,是一场最糟的æ�¶æ¢¦ã€‚
“æˆ‘ä¸€ç›´å¾ˆåŠªåŠ›æ‰¾å·¥ä½œï¼Œå¯„å‡ºæ— æ•°ä»½å±¥åŽ†ï¼ŒåŒ…æ‹¬æœ¬åœ°å¤§å¦ã€�政府机构和ç§�è�¥å…¬å�¸ï¼Œå¤§å¤šæ•°éƒ½çŸ³æ²‰å¤§æµ·ï¼Œå�ªæœ‰å°‘数回应,å�¯æ˜¯å�´æ²¡æœ‰ç»“果。”
ç»�济è�§æ�¡ï¼Œä»¤ä»–更难找到工作。去年11月,也就是离è�Œå�Šå¹´å�Žï¼Œä»–决定当出租汽车å�¸æœºã€‚他去年12月份报读出租汽车å�¸æœºè¯¾ç¨‹ï¼Œä»Šå¹´2月份,终于å�–得执照,并æˆ�ä¸ºæ–°åŠ å�¡åœ°é“�å…¬å�¸æ——的下出租汽车公å�¸å�¸æœºã€‚
这家出租汽车公�已��实蔡明��士是该公�的出租汽车�机。
蔡明æ�°ä¹Ÿæ‹’ç»�å�‘媒体é€�露更多。他说,所有他想说的,都在å�šå®¢ä¸ã€‚其他的或许媒体å�¯å�‘分å�ä¸Žç”Ÿç‰©ç»†èƒžç ”ç©¶é™¢è¯¢é—®ã€‚
他在å�šå®¢ä¸ä¹Ÿæ„Ÿè°¢å®¶äººçš„æ”¯æŒ�和信任,ä¸�æ–在他身边鼓励他,让他有推动力继ç»ä¸‹åŽ»ã€‚
æ–°åŠ å�¡ç§‘æŠ€ç ”ç©¶å±€å�‘è¨€äººè¯´ï¼Œæ›´æ–°ç ”ç©¶äººå‘˜çš„å�ˆçº¦æœ‰å¤šé‡�å› ç´ ï¼ŒåŒ…æ‹¬åŸ¹è®å�šå£«ç”Ÿçš„æ—¶é—´ï¼Œè¡¨çŽ°å’Œå¯¹ç ”ç©¶æœºæž„çš„è´¡çŒ®ã€‚è€Œå¯¹è”¡æ˜Žæ�°å·¥ä½œçš„评估,是由外部评估机构科å¦é¡¾é—®å§”员会æ�¥è¿›è¡Œçš„,这个委员会æ��è®®ä¸�å†�和蔡明æ�°ç»çº¦ã€‚
过å�Žï¼Œç ”究院也请å�¦å¤–三å��专家æ�¥è¯„估蔡明æ�°çš„工作,三人全部支æŒ�委员会的决定。
蔡明æ�°çš„å�Œäº‹ä»¬è®¤ä¸ºï¼Œè”¡å�šå£«çš„离开是ä¸�å¹¸çš„ï¼Œä¹Ÿæ˜¯å¾ˆå¤šå› ç´ é€ æˆ�的。他们说,蔡å�šå£«ä¸�苟言笑,但确是一个è�ªæ˜Žçš„ç§‘å¦å®¶ã€‚
蔡明æ�°ä¹‹å‰�也是国立大å¦ç”Ÿç‰©åŒ–å¦ç³»çš„å…¼è�Œå‰¯æ•™æŽˆã€‚这项任命也在去年结æ�Ÿã€‚
蔡明æ�°åœ¨æ˜ŸæœŸä¸€çš„å�šå®¢ä¸è¯´ï¼Œä»–将在出租汽车公å�¸çš„å…个月的å�ˆçº¦å®Œæˆ�å�Žçš„æœ¬æœˆï¼Œä¸“注于写作,之å�Žæ›´æ�¢æ–°çš„出租公å�¸å�Žï¼Œå†™ä½œçš„å�Œæ—¶ä¹Ÿå¼€å‡ºç§Ÿè½¦ã€‚
我们是�?
November 6, 2009 by admin
Filed under Chinese section
Leave a comment
å¼ å…ƒå…ƒäº‹ä»¶å�‘生å�Žï¼Œå¼•æ�¥äº†ä¼ ç»Ÿåª’ä½“å¯¹æ–°åŠ å�¡æ°‘间的批评声浪。å�„ç§�è¯„è®ºå‡ ä¹Žéƒ½é›†ä¸åœ¨è°´è´£æ–°åŠ å�¡äºº“ç‹éš˜”。其ä¸ï¼Œè�”å�ˆæ—©æŠ¥è®°è€…明永昌评论é�“:“æ°‘é—´è¦�求海外人æ‰�摒弃他们对原ç±�地的çƒçˆ±ï¼Œ“èž�å…¥”本地社会的诉求,是å�¦ç¬¦å�ˆå®žé™…或许需è¦�作一番检讨。”(è�”å�ˆæ—©æŠ¥ï¼Œ12-10-2009)
严åŸè¾¾å‰¯æ€»ç¼–辑也写é�“:“新国人士å�‘以“èž�å…¥”为准绳,求诸新æ�¥ä¹�到之移民,以致ä¸�å�£æ“�æ–°å¼�英è¯ä¸�足示其èž�入,ä¸�数典忘宗ä¸�足示其èž�入,ä¸�日日作èž�入状,ä¸�足示其èž�入。èž�入二å—å‡ æˆ�ç´§ç®�咒,新之移民颇å�—折腾。”(è�”å�ˆæ—©æŠ¥ï¼Œ17-10-2009,言论版)
ä½†æ–°åŠ å�¡çš„æ°‘间真的如椓ç‹éš˜”,心里如æ¤çš„容ä¸�下移民的到æ�¥å�—?
对我们这些独立å�Žæˆ�长的一代æ�¥è¯´ï¼Œç§»æ°‘一直是我们生活的一部分。我从å°�å¦åˆ°å¤§å¦çš„å�Œå¦é‡Œå¤´ï¼Œå°±æœ‰è®¸å¤šæ�¥è‡ªé©¬æ�¥è¥¿äºšçš„å�Œå¦ã€‚求å¦è¿‡ç¨‹ä¸å�—过æ�¥è‡ªé©¬æ�¥è¥¿äºšçš„è€�师和教授的指导。工作ä¸ä¹Ÿå’Œæ�¥è‡ªé©¬æ�¥è¥¿äºšçš„å�Œäº‹å…±å�Œå¥‹æ–—ã€‚æ–°åŠ å�¡ç¬¬ä¸€ä»£æ”¿åºœé¢†å¯¼äººå¦‚æ�œè¿›æ‰�和拉惹勒å�—都æ�¥è‡ªäºŽé©¬æ�¥è¥¿äºšã€‚现任å�«ç”Ÿéƒ¨é•¿è®¸æ–‡è¿œï¼Œå›½ä¼šè®®å‘˜æ�Žç¾ŽèŠ±ï¼Œå�Œæ ·æ˜¯æ�¥è‡ªäºŽé©¬æ�¥è¥¿äºšã€‚就连å‰�æ€»ç»Ÿè’‚æ¢µé‚£ï¼Œåœ¨æ–°åŠ å�¡ç‹¬ç«‹çš„æ—¶å€™è¿˜ç»§ç»æ‹…任马æ�¥è¥¿äºšçš„è�”邦众议员。
对于这些æ�¥è‡ªå¼‚国的å�Œå¦ï¼Œå�Œäº‹ï¼Œæ”¿åºœå’Œæ°‘é—´é¢†å¯¼äººï¼Œæ–°åŠ å�¡æ°‘间从æ�¥éƒ½æ²¡æœ‰è¡¨è¾¾è¿‡å��弹的情绪。记忆ä¸ä¹Ÿæ²¡æœ‰ä»€ä¹ˆ“新移民”,“è€�移民”çš„è¯´æ³•ï¼Œä¹Ÿæ ¹æœ¬æ²¡æœ‰æ‰€è°““èž�å…¥”的问题。
对于外æ�¥ç§»æ°‘å½±å“�了本地人的就业机会的疑虑,政府也一å†�çš„ä¿�è¯�引入的å�ªä¼šæ˜¯é«˜ç´ 质的人æ‰�。客工和å¦ç”Ÿéƒ½æ— 法æˆ�为永久居民。当时,æ¯�天都有大é‡�的马æ�¥è¥¿äºšå®¢å·¥å’Œå¦ç”Ÿï¼Œç™½å¤©ä»Žé•¿å ¤å½¼å²¸è¶Šè¿‡æµ·å³¡åˆ°æ–°åŠ å�¡å·¥ä½œï¼Œæ±‚å¦ï¼Œæ™šä¸Šå›žåŽ»ã€‚ä¸€ç›´åˆ°ä»–ä»¬åœ¨æ–°åŠ å�¡ç«™ç¨³äº†è„šè·Ÿï¼Œå»ºç«‹äº†äº‹ä¸šï¼Œæ‰�会得到永久居民的机会。
å�¯ä»¥è¿™ä¹ˆè¯´ï¼Œè¿™æ ·çš„æ�¥è‡ªé©¬æ�¥è¥¿äºšçš„移民在æˆ�为永久居民之å‰�就已ç»�åœ¨æ–°åŠ å�¡ç”Ÿæ´»å’Œå¦ä¹ è¿‡ç›¸å½“é•¿çš„æ—¶é—´ï¼Œå’Œæ–°åŠ å�¡äººå�¯ä»¥è¯´æ˜¯æ°´ä¹³äº¤èž�çš„å¦ä¹ 和生活在一起。
è¯´æ–°åŠ å�¡äºº“ç‹éš˜”,å��对移民,从何说起?
但从90年代䏿œŸå¼€å§‹ï¼Œæ”¿åºœå®½æ�¾çš„移民政ç–引入了大é‡�çš„æ�¥è‡ªä¸å›½çš„移民。ä¸�但数é‡�大,而且给予永久居民的速度也相对快了许多。而许多在这个过程ä¸å¾—到永久居民的新移民有许多也很快的æˆ�功申请到了公民的身份,æˆ�ä¸ºæ–°åŠ å�¡å…¬æ°‘的一员。
ä»¥å¼ å…ƒå…ƒä½œä¸ºä¸€ä¸ªæ¡ˆä¾‹æ�¥çœ‹ï¼Œå¥¹çš„å¦åކå�ªæ˜¯è�Œä¸šä¸“ç§‘å¦æ ¡ï¼ˆç›¸ç‰äºŽæ–°åŠ å�¡çš„ITE),唯一的工作ç»�历就是å¦å‰�幼儿的å�Žæ–‡è€�师。å�¯æ˜¯å°±å‡è¿™æ ·çš„资历,她在çŸçŸçš„ä¸¤å¹´å†…å°±ç”³è¯·åˆ°äº†æ°¸ä¹…å±…æ°‘ã€‚ç…§æ–°åŠ å�¡çš„国ç±�法,æˆ�为永久居民的两年å�Žå°±å�¯ä»¥ç”³è¯·å…¬æ°‘。也就是说,一个没有å¦åŽ†æ²¡æœ‰äº‹ä¸šæ²¡æœ‰ç‰¹æ®ŠæŠ€èƒ½çš„å¼ å…ƒå…ƒï¼Œå�¯ä»¥åœ¨çŸçŸçš„4年内就æˆ�ä¸ºæ–°åŠ å�¡å…¬æ°‘ï¼Œäº«æœ‰å’Œæœ¬åœŸå…¬æ°‘ä¸€æ¨¡ä¸€æ ·çš„æ�ƒåˆ©å’Œæœºä¼šã€‚
å�Œæ—¶ï¼Œå¤§é‡�客工被引进到å�„行å�„ä¸šï¼Œä¹Ÿè®©æ–°åŠ å�¡äººå�‘现ä¸�但是劳工密集的行业里头需è¦�客工,连超市的收银员,é¤�馆的æœ�务员,都å�˜æˆ�了和我们ä¸�ä¸€æ ·çš„å¤–å›½äººã€‚
å¾ˆå¤šæ–°åŠ å�¡äººå‡ 乎是一觉醒æ�¥ï¼Œæ‰�忽然å�‘现周围多了这么多“和我们ä¸�ä¸€æ ·çš„äºº”。有的网民甚至用“æ�¥è‡ªä¸å›½çš„侵略”æ�¥å½¢å®¹è¿™å¤§é‡�涌入的移民和客工。
虽然政府å�¯ä»¥ç”¨å�„ç§�æ•°æ�®æ�¥è¯´æ˜Žå¼•入外国移民和客工对于ç»�济的好处。但一直没有说明的是 – 引入这大é‡�çš„ç§»æ°‘å’ŒåŠ³å·¥ï¼Œæ–°åŠ å�¡ç¤¾ä¼šæ•´ä½“上è¦�ä»˜å‡ºä»€ä¹ˆä»£ä»·ï¼Ÿä»¥æ–°åŠ å�¡è¿™ä¹ˆå°�的人å�£åŸºæ•°ï¼Œæœ‰èƒ½åŠ›åœ¨è¿™ä¹ˆçŸçš„æ—¶é—´“消化”这些外æ�¥äººå�£å�—?
到最å�Žï¼Œåˆ°åº•是“他们”èž�入了“我们”,还是“我们”å�˜æˆ�了“他们”?
å‰�å¸¸ä»»ç§˜ä¹¦ä¸¥å´‡æ¶›æŠ•ä¹¦æµ·å³¡æ—¶æŠ¥çš„æ–‡ç« ï¼Œå°±å¾ˆæ¸…æ¥šçš„è¯´æ˜Žäº†è¿™ç§�担忧。他写é�“:“我ä¸�æ„¿æ„�æ�žäººå¿§å¤©ï¼Œä½†æˆ‘的一个ä¸�æ–é‡�å¤�的梦é�¥å°±æ˜¯æˆ‘们会å�˜æˆ�自己土地上的外人”(海峡时报,24-9-2009,《Lest we become strangers in our own landã€‹ï¼‰ã€‚ä»–æ‹…å¿§æ–°åŠ å�¡å�ªä¼šå�˜æˆ�国际人æ‰�çš„åž«è„šçŸ³ï¼Œä¹Ÿæ‹…å¿ƒèº«ä¸ºç§»æ°‘çš„å®¶é•¿ä¼šå»ºè®®åœ¨æ–°åŠ å�¡å‡ºç”Ÿçš„å„¿å�åœ¨è¶³é¾„æ—¶ç¦»å¼€æ–°åŠ å�¡ä»¥é€ƒé�¿å›½æ°‘æœ�役的责任。(We risk having them use us as a stepping stone. Foreign fathers may advise their sons born in Singapore to leave when they reach the national service age of 18.)
å¹´å‰�,æ�Žæ˜¾é¾™åœ¨æŽ¥å�—媒体访问的时候就清楚的æ��到,我们è¦�å°½å�¯èƒ½çš„æ•´å�ˆå’Œèž�å…¥æ–°ç§»æ°‘åˆ°æ–°åŠ å�¡ç¤¾ä¼šï¼ˆassimilate and integrate)
但一年过去了,这个èž�入的过程看起æ�¥ä¸�是更近,而是更远。新移民里头有人认为“èž�å…¥”æ ¹æœ¬æ˜¯ä¸ª“伪命题”,有人认为å�ªè¦�“èž�å�ˆ”,ä¸�需è¦�“èž�å…¥”。有人认为“å�ªè¦�守法交税就是èž�å…¥”,也有人认为“èž�å…¥”æ²¡æœ‰æ ‡å‡†ï¼Œè°ˆä½•èž�入?
更有那ç§�è®¤ä¸ºæœ¬åœŸæ–°åŠ å�¡äººå�ªæ˜¯“å…ˆæ�¥çš„人”,是“è€�移民”ï¼Œå…¶å®žå’Œæ–°ç§»æ°‘æ²¡æœ‰ä»€ä¹ˆä¸¤æ ·ã€‚æ—¢ç„¶å¤§å®¶éƒ½æ˜¯ç§»æ°‘ï¼Œæ ¹æœ¬æ²¡æœ‰å¿…è¦�谈什么“èž�å…¥”ã€‚ç”šè‡³è¿˜æœ‰äººè®¤ä¸ºæ–°åŠ å�¡çš„æ–‡åŒ–æ ¹åŸºå¤ªæµ…ï¼Œä¹Ÿæ²¡æœ‰èµ„æ ¼“èž�å…¥”他们的说法。
è¿™ç§�趋势的继ç»ï¼Œå�ªèƒ½è®©æœ¬åœŸæ–°åŠ å�¡äººå’Œæ–°ç§»æ°‘之间的隔阂越æ�¥è¶Šå¤§ã€‚ä»¥æ–°åŠ å�¡è¿™æ ·çš„å°�å›½ï¼Œèƒ½å¤Ÿæ‰¿æ‹…çš„èµ·è¿™æ ·çš„çŠ¶å†µå�—?
æ–°åŠ å�¡äººèµ°è¿‡äº†ç§�æ—�冲çª�的过去,和英文社群和å�Žè¯ç¤¾ç¾¤ä¹‹é—´çš„猜忌。一直到今天都还在å°�心翼翼的维æŒ�ç�€è¿™ä¸ªä¸�å�Œçš„è¯æ–‡ï¼Œç§�æ—�和宗教之间的æ•�感。
但éš�ç�€è‹±æ–‡çš„æ™®å�Šå’Œå›½æ°‘认å�Œçš„åŠ å¼ºï¼Œè¿™ä¸ªæ°‘æ—�和宗教之间æ–层å�¯ä»¥è¯´æ˜¯å·²ç»�é€�æ¸�的弥å�ˆã€‚æ–°åŠ å�¡äººèµ°è¿‡äº†é‚£ç§�å› ä¸ºå½¼æ¤è¯æ–‡ä¸�å�Œè€Œè€�æ»ä¸�相往æ�¥çš„过去,独立å�Žæ–°ä¸€ä»£çš„æ–°åŠ å�¡äººåŸºæœ¬ä¸Šéƒ½å�¯ä»¥è·¨è¶Šç§�æ—�çš„å·®å¼‚æ— éšœç¢�的沟通和生活。
但æ�¥äº†è¿™ä¹ˆå¤šçš„外æ�¥äººå�£ï¼Œå��义上å�˜æˆ�了“我们”的一分å�,但实际上å�´ä¿�æŒ�了“他们”的对于原ç±�国的çƒçˆ±å’Œå›½å®¶è®¤å�Œã€‚æœ‰å¼ å…ƒå…ƒé‚£æ ·ï¼Œä»¥äº®å‡ºæ–°åŠ å�¡çš„æ°¸ä¹…居民身份è¯�æ�¥è¯´æ˜Ž“报效祖国是她的最大心愿”的新移民,也有已ç»�å…¥ç±�äº†æ–°åŠ å�¡å�´è¿˜æ˜¯è®¤ä¸ºè‡ªå·±“永远是ä¸å›½äºº”çš„æ�Žå�¶æ˜Žã€‚ï¼ˆè®¿æ–°åŠ å�¡æ–°ç§»æ°‘“éš�笔å�—æ´‹”网创办者 æ�Žå�¶æ˜Ž(2008-12-24 13:19:41), 新浪网)。
这些言论和行为,难é�“ä¸�ä¼šå¼•èµ·æœ¬åœŸæ–°åŠ å�¡äººçš„疑虑å�—?
去年æ�Žæ˜¾é¾™æ€»ç�†åœ¨æŽ¥å�—汤姆森-è·¯é€�集团主办的对è¯�会ä¸å°±è¯´è¿‡ï¼Œèž�入就是“让他们(新移民)é€�æ¸�接å�—æ–°åŠ å�¡äººçš„价值观和æ€�åº¦ï¼Œä¹Ÿè®©ä»–ä»¬çš„ä¸‹ä¸€ä»£åœ¨æ–°åŠ å�¡å‡ºç”Ÿï¼Œæˆ�ä¸ºåœŸç”ŸåœŸé•¿çš„æ–°åŠ å�¡äººã€‚” (总ç�†å…¬ç½²ç½‘ç«™ ï¼� PRIME MINISTER LEE HSIEN LOONG’S DIALOGUE AT THOMSON REUTERS NEWSMAKER EVENT ON 6 MAY 2008)
å�¯æ˜¯åœ¨è¿™è®¸å¤šçš„讨论ä¸ï¼Œè¿™ä¸ª“æ–°åŠ å�¡äººçš„æ€�度和价值观“似乎已ç»�å�˜æˆ�了一个ä¸�æ–在演å�˜çš„å�˜é‡�。éš�ç�€å¤§é‡�的新移民æˆ�为新公民,自然他们也å�¯ä»¥åˆ©ç”¨ä»–们手ä¸çš„一票è¦�求改å�˜æ–°åŠ å�¡ç¤¾ä¼šåŽŸæœ‰çš„ç”Ÿæ€�,价值观和æ€�度。
会ä¸�会到了æŸ�ä¸€å¤©ï¼Œæ–°åŠ å�¡äººå†�也ä¸�需è¦�强调å�•一的,排他的国家认å�Œï¼Œå†�也ä¸�需è¦�å¼ºè°ƒæ°¸ä¹…å±…æ°‘ç¬¬äºŒä»£åŠ å…¥å›½æ°‘æœ�役的必è¦�,å†�也ä¸�需è¦�强调“å�Žäºº”å’Œ“ä¸å›½äºº”çš„ä¸�å�Œï¼Ÿ
未æ�¥çš„“æˆ‘们”到底是è°�?我已ç»�æ— æ³•æƒ³è±¡ã€‚
From our Correspondent
In yet another sign that the ruling party is running out of ideas to placate its disaffected and disgruntled citizens, its propagandist mouthpiece – the Straits Times has published another article from a PR blaming Singapore citizens for not being “appreciative” of their country.
Mr Sam Ahmed began his letter by announcing unashamedly that he is a “new PR”:
“I REFER to Thursday’s report, ‘Singapore a top choice for migrants. I am a new permanent resident, and this report not only makes me proud, but also affirms my fundamental belief that Singapore is destined to be a global centre from a financial standpoint and a cultural and social perspective.”
Strangely enough, for a self-proclaimed “new PR”, Mr Sam had the cheek to claim that Singaporeans do not share his “passion” for Singapore:
“My only beef with Singapore is that its citizens do not necessarily share my passion for this country…..Perhaps Singaporeans should be prouder of their country. Cab drivers complain about everything and university graduates I come across talk of saving up and moving to Spain or Italy.”
Mr Sam Ahmed should ask the cab drivers why they are so unhappy with the government why university graduates are considering leaving Singapore for good instead of blindly believing the spins, myths and half-truths propagated by the state media.
He ended his rather one-sided and subjective article with a question on why foreigners from all over the world are still flocking to Singapore:
“If foreigners from all over the world can see this and are coming to Singapore, why can’t Singaporeans?”
A key reason is because the ruling party has done a remarkably good job in branding and promoting itself overseas.
Being a relatively safe, prosperous and affluent country, it is only natural that Singapore is a magnet for foreigners from less developed nations in the region.
However, Singapore is not an attractive destination at all for the creme la crop in other countries.
According to a recent Gallup, the top immigration destination for Chinese is the United States, followed by South Korea and France.
Based on anecdotal evidence, the majority of PRC PRs and citizens in Singapore are from the poorer inland provinces and not the affluent coastal cities like Shanghai, Guangzhou and Beijing.
Mr Sam Ahmed should walk his talk and take up a Singapore citizenship. Perhaps after living a few years in Singapore, he will come to understand why most Singapore citizens are not passionate about their country.
September 24, 2009 by Manisha
Filed under Top News
From our Correspondent
A survey of new citizens and Permanent Residents has thrown up some positive results. Of the 360 newcomers polled by a work group from government feedback vehicle REACH, close to 78 per cent said they feel welcomed in Singapore. New citizens, who have to pledge their allegiance at such ceremonies have been in the spotlight recently.
The Singapore government is now focused on getting them to integrate better into society. Of the 360 surveyed, 88 per cent said they don’t have problems communicating with Singaporeans. 95 per cent said they would recommend Singapore as a place to live in and another 91 per cent intend to work here over the next five years. The survey also found that many of them did not have any problems adjusting to Singapore’s political system and the civic rules and regulations in the country.
Furthermore eight of ten surveyed supported the concept of national service in Singapore. However, some of them came up against some resistance. Dr Terence Chong, REACH Workgroup on Population and Integration, said: “There are still some new citizens who feel that they are unwanted competition in the workplace. They also feel that there are higher expectations placed on them because they are new citizens and PRs and so these needs to be addressed.
“You need a variety of ways. Education is important. You need to foster a sense of inclusiveness and for new citizens it is important to get them to realise Singapore’s historical heritage and the importance of multiculturalism as well.” The workplace is also the subject of another work group on economic issues. It is urging the government to go easy on withdrawing the fiscal stimulus measures announced in the government’s Budget.
Dr Chua Hak Bin, REACH Workgroup on Economic and Employment Opportunities, said: “With the recent property measures, there is fear that there would be a double blow if you withdraw a lot of stimulus measures introduced in February and there are already hints that the Jobs Credit scheme would be withdrawn and that’s quite a big component – nearly four billion.
”We have to bear in mind that could have a negative impact on the economy, perhaps a gradual withdrawal is in order.” On Tuesday, the government had said that it will announce whether to extend the Jobs Credit scheme next month. Moving forward, REACH has decided to form three new policy work groups to address the dynamic changes in Singapore society.
They will gather feedback on healthcare, manpower and national integration and present the findings in a year. Minister for Community Development, Youth and Sports, Dr Vivian Balakrishnan, said: “We owe it to you to respond equally conscientiously to your proposals. We will ask the relevant ministries to say ‘Yes’, ‘No’ or ‘Maybe’ and to give your reasons for the responses. “REACH has evolved beyond merely being a channel for feedback although feedback remains important. Today, REACH is part of the concept of deliberative democracy – a platform for responsible citizens to come together, identify the key issues, analyse data, formulate innovative policy options and ultimately co-create solutions to the many fundamental challenges we face.”
November 14, 2008 by admin · 2 Comments
Filed under: Voices of the People
Rejected ST letter written by Mr David See Leong Kit
HDB’s reply “Market-based pricing of flats fairer to all” (ST Nov 11) is a good example of the frequent exasperating “half-answer” replies from our public bodies that Forum writers have impatiently tolerated for years.
It did not address various points I raised in my letters nor Forum writer Tan Kim Chuan’s contention that “the HDB is either over-pricing its flats or is profiteering from the property boom”.
Our private property market is now facing a downturn. But the HDB resale flat market is still firm due to Permanent Resident buyers pushing up prices.
Under such a scenario, HDB’s pegging the price of its new flats to the prevailing market price of similar resale flats will result in prices of new flats and resale flats chasing each other in an upward spiral that is detrimental to buyers of both new and resale flats.
The Total Breakeven Cost of a new flat comprises Construction Cost (CC), Land Cost (LC) and Other Related Cost (ORC).
Its Pinnacle@Duxton project comprise 1,848 units in 50-storey blocks occupying a very small plot of land.
From available public tender information, the CC component of each unit is known to be $150,000. It now remains for the HDB to be transparent in disclosing the remaining LC and ORC components so that HDB buyers will know the actual Total Breakeven Cost
A quick estimate of the LC plus ORC is about $70,000, leading to an estimated Total Breakeven Cost of each new flat to be around $220,000.
When launched in 2004, average Selling Price was $370,000 (actual range: $288,000 to $450,000), which translates to an average profit to the HDB of $150,000 per unit sold.
428 unsold units were recently relaunched at average Selling Price of $550,000 (actual range: $450,000 to $645,000), which is $180,000 higher than initial launch prices. This arose from the HDB market-based pricing approach as the prevailing market prices of similar resale flats in the vicinity was in the $593,000 to $670,000 range.
Applicants of HDB new flats are mostly young Singaporeans wanting to get married, move into their own homes and start a family by producing babies.
Why then is the HDB not living up to its role as a not-for-profit low-cost public housing developer by passing on to such citizens the economy-of-scale cost savings in its hugh developments through pricing new flats on a cost-based breakeven basis?
A recent Trade and Industry Ministry reply on the huge electricity price hike had stated that “the Government’s approach is to price goods and services at their full cost”. Why then the double standards in the HDB statement that “the prices of new HDB flats are based on the market prices of resale HDB flats, and not their costs of construction”?
For the average Singaporean, his HDB flat is the single most expensive purchase item in his lifetime. Thus, it is of utmost urgency for the HDB to clear the air once-and-for-all through providing transparent direct replies to the above two simple questions, and to disclose actual cost figures for its Pinnacle project.
Source: http://www.sgpolitics.net/?m=200811&paged=4
September 29, 2009 by admin01
Filed under Top News
From our Correspondent
A Filipino had lavished generous praise on Singapore for the ease of PR application.
Writing on a pinoy forum, he described his personal experience of applying for Singapore PR.
“Today, we completed the formalities for our Singapore Permanent Residence at the ICA building on Lavender St. We first had to go for an X-ray and blood exam to check for Tuberculosis and HIV. We had the exam done at the Raffles Hospital near Bugis Station a few days before. That took us about half a day.
Then the formalities stuff at the ICA today also took about half a day. We didn’t even have the earliest appointment which was at 8:30. Ours was at 9 am.
The thing I like about Singapore is the efficiency. From the time we arrived at the Permanent Residence processing area, you take a queue number for the self service kiosk, then just wait for your number to be called. Everything’s computerized and what’s best is that all the counters are manned! So there’s really very little waiting time,” he wrote.
There is a large number of Filipinos working in Singapore mostly as nurses, IT engineers and domestic maids. In recent years, they are found themselves in some jobs usually held by locals such as clinic assistants, tele-marketers and even counter staff at government agencies.
The post sparked off an active discussion with queries from other Filipinos who are interested to work in Singapore.
Naveen asked:
“Can you please let me know if Employment Pass is one of the pre requistie to complete PR formalities? If PR is approved but the applicant has lost job, left singapore, no longer holding valid employment pass, can he re-enter singapore on visit pass and complete the PR formalities?”
Ramonette, who is working in the Philipines enquired about getting a job in Singapore:
“I’m currently working here in the philippines as a call center agent and im so much interested to work in Singapore with the same job I have right now, is it easy to look for a job there in singapore? What are the things i need in order to land a job there?
Another netizen, Saleh added:
“My LPR application has been granted and I was told to book an appointment with the eappointment system. Could you please let me know that on the average how many days it takes to book an appointment? I mean if I log on today to book an appointment what could be the earliest time (like 2 days, 7 days or more?) that I can get an appointment slot?”
It appears that many Filipinos are keen to work in Singapore as the wages here are much higher than in their homeland.
Furthermore, they are highly prized by Singapore employers for their English proficiency.
According to statistics released by the National Population Secretariat, there are more than 70,000 PRs and 20,000 new citizens in 2008. The number of non-residents had increased from 1.2 million to 1.35 million.
Singaporeans are becoming increasingly disgruntled at the rising number of foreigners coming to work and live in Singapore.
Instead of addressing their concerns, the government will be setting up at $10 million community fund to make the newcomers feel “welcomed” in Singapore.
References:
1. pinoysingapore.into
2. National Population Secretariat
August 27, 2008 by admin · 6 Comments
Filed under: Current Affairs, Parliament
Written by Ng E-Jay
27 Aug 2008
The issue of foreign workers depressing local salaries has cropped up again in Parliament. Acting Manpower Minister Gan Kim Yong attempted to dismiss this view on Tuesday in his reply to a question from Non-Constituency MP Sylvia Lim.
Sylvia Lim had reiterated the point that wages for the lowest income earners for the last 10 years had stagnated, due to the presence of foreign workers. (ST, “Simplistic to say foreign workers depress local pay”, 27 Aug).
Given rapidly rising inflation, it is fair to say that real wages for the bottom earners have even outrightly declined.
Mr Gan attempted to discredit this idea by stating that foreign workers form a big and growing pool in the services industry, yet wages there are comparatively better.
He said, “In 2007, total wages went up by 5.9 per cent in the overall economy. Services sector wages went up by 6.5 per cent, and this is a sector with growing numbers of foreign workers in 2007.”
I think Mr Gan should pay careful attention to what Sylvia Lim was saying. She was referring to wages at the lower end of the pay scale, not to overall wages.
Mr Gan also claimed that during a recession, foreign workers would be retrenched faster than Singaporean workers, but his claim has yet to be empirically tested in a real life recession. Talk is cheap.
Why would there be an incentive for companies to retrench foreigners first during a recession, when there is no legislation governing this aspect of employment, and no monetary incentives awarded for such acts?
Foreigners, if they are without families in Singapore, would in fact be in a better position to bargain for less pay in exchange for keeping their jobs, as compared to local workers who might have mouths to feed in high-cost Singapore.
As usual, the government’s obsession with overall statistics clouds the real issue of the poor and lower-income households being the first to bear the brunt of rising inflation and an overly-liberal policy of importing large numbers of foreign workers, many of them unskilled.
Source: http://www.sgpolitics.net/?m=200808
July 4, 2008 by admin · 8 Comments
Filed under: Civil and political rights, Political Discussions, Voices of the People
Singapore Democrats interview with activist Jaslyn Go
03 July 2008
What prompts a young mother of two to stand up for her rights and the rights of her fellow citizens in a country known for crushing dissent with frightening efficiency? This is a question that many Singaporeans will ask if they met Jaslyn Go Hui Leng.
This is because Ms Go is one of the 18 Singaporeans charged with taking part in an assembly and procession without a permit on 15 Mar this year.
That event launched the Tak Boleh Tahan! campaign which is aimed at highlighting the PAP Government’s raising of prices and fees that has thrown hundreds of thousands of Singaporeans into economic disarray and hardship.
And what will be her answer?
“I will not live by the fear the PAP seeks to instill in its citizens,” explains Ms Go. “They can try to cripple me with arrest, jail or fine, but they can’t stop me from speaking up.”
So what does the financial plight of workers have to do with a successful businesswoman who leads a more-than-comfortable lifestyle with her family?
“I used to be very poor when I was young,” explained Ms Go, “now that I am better off, I hope I can do my part and highlight the plight our elderly and poor in Singapore are going through.”
“If we continue to allow the PAP to rule with an iron fist, the people’s problems will not be addressed and I fear that the younger generation will suffer more than we are now as the cost of living are skyrocketing and our jobs are being taken over by foreigners.”
The Singapore Democrats first came to know Ms Go during the vigil outside the Burmese embassy in September 2007. Since then, the vivacious and determined advocate of democracy has been actively helping to promote human rights in Singapore.
“Prior to the protest, I tried in my own ways to engage the government by writing to my MP, Tanjong Pagar GRC MPs, and the Straits Times. But time and again they refused to reply to me, or publish my letters,” she writes in her blog.
There is a steely quality about Ms Go that pushes her on. And it is not just starry-eyed ideals that propels the lady’s actions; she makes no bones that she is also doing this for the sake of her two children, aged 3 and 5.
Children in Singapore have been deprived of quality life which is so stressful even for young children, she points out.
“Child suicide has been on the rise. The root of the problem lies in the stiff competition that our children are being put through in school,” says Ms Go. “I hope this can be a thing of the past.”
Asked what she hopes for in the next 5 to 10 years, Ms Go replies that she would like to see elderly folks who have contributed to Singapore’s progress be taken care of by the government and not reduced to collecting cardboard boxes and empty drink cans to eke out a living.
And how does she think this can be achieved?
“I hope to see a change in government to a more humane one that puts the country and the citizens first.”
Ms Go will appear in Subordinate Court 23 together with the other 17 activists.
Many Singaporeans shy away from engaging in the public process by claiming that they have their families to think about. Such fear is a damning indictment of the PAP. Be that as it may, Ms Go’s example and courage should be a ringing call to citizens of this country to overcome their fearful inertia and become actively involved in matters that concern their everyday lives as well as their future.
Singaporeans can get involved by taking the first step next Friday, 11 Jul 08. Come down to the Subordinate Courts at 9 am to lend your support to this woman of incredible courage as well as to the other activists who have stood up for justice and democracy in Singapore.
If Singapore had more committed citizens like Ms Go, this country would be a much better place to live in.
Thursday, 29 May 2008, 7:00 am | 1,612 views
Eddie Choo
Why? Because in NS, it really goes like this: I pretend to be a soldier, and you pretend to treat me like a soldier. NS has become so ritualised that serving the nation has lost its meaning.
When something becomes a ritual, it loses its meaning, and whatever passion there was is lost, and what you get are the tired faces and the bad-ass attitudes that are commonplace among the guys serving.
Unless and until the question of purpose and service can be answered, Singaporean men (and some women) will find themselves losing passion for the country they’ve been asked to serve, longing for greener pastures always.
I don’t exactly know where this story should start. Should I start when I left the camp gate for good on the day I officially achieved Operationally-Ready Date (ORD) status? Or should I start when I began school and my first National Education (NE) lesson?
I guess the only way to truly begin this narrative/commentary is at the hospital, where mothers give birth to their baby boys. The moment a baby boy is born and registered, a chain of paperwork is created for him, culminating in him receiving the conscription letter at 18 and donning the camouflaged green uniform, serving out his time on an offshore island roughly northeast off the coast of Singapore.
Of course, all this is provided the baby boy is and remains young and healthy right up to the time he enlists to become a citizen soldier for the Republic of Singapore – a soldier who swears that he will protect the President and the Constitution of our Republic.
Why National Service?
I mean, any decent Sec 3 student will be able to tell you why Singapore needs National Service (NS). He would need to know that, because it is examinable and part of the Social Studies syllabus. If not, it’s likely he would know anyway, because he’d have been told the reason for it enough times in NE – National Education – lessons that he would be able to answer just as well.
Well, we all know how the story begins. Once upon a time, a prince from some Indonesian kingdom chanced upon a piece of rock, encountered a beast he called “Singa”, and promptly called it Singapura. Fast-forward a few centuries, and a British fella came along, bought this place on behalf of the British East India Company (yes, the very same from Pirates of the Caribbean, no Johnny Depp here, sorry), called this place a colony and set up shop here, for the next one hundred years or so.
Then the British abandoned us (sort of, despite investing in defences as well), and the country’s people suffered under the Japanese Occupation. After the Japanese surrendered, the Brits came back, but didn’t stay for long. Then, for a brief moment, we joined Malaysia; but just as quickly as we came together, we parted. Absorbing the lessons from our history, the leaders then decided that to defend ourselves effectively, we had to have our own military, and since we didn’t have the numbers for a full-time army, we learned from the Israelis, and created a soldier out of every able-bodied man.
A sacrifice of 2 – 3 years of each man’s life, spent in training to be a soldier. Then we release them and let them contribute to the economy as workers, recalling them when we need to.
This is the whole scheme known as National Service.
With such good intentions, how come NS didn’t make me patriotic?
Why, because in NS, it really goes like this: I pretend to be a soldier, and you pretend to treat me like a soldier. NS has become so ritualised that serving the nation has lost its meaning. It’s one thing to have parades every 3 months, but having it every other week is senseless. When something becomes a ritual, it loses its meaning, and whatever passion there was is lost, and what you get are the tired faces and the bad-ass attitudes that are commonplace among the guys serving.
I am not questioning the commitment of military regulars – I merely wish to highlight that sometimes, inevitably, even they might get drawn into this attitude of going through the motions. This is not an issue of complacency or throwing caution to the wind. This is about the nature of military work. Yes, a soldier should behave professionally, but professionalism is hard to come by when being a soldier is a really. boring. job. Just watch Jarhead. Yes, we would all like to be the heroes in Blackhawk Down, but unfortunately, military life is more Jarhead than anything that exciting. And then sometimes you encounter the military professionals who serve in the military not out of a sense of duty or patriotism, but for the need of money.
What exactly are we defending?
Sure, we are all here to ‘defend the nation’, but then, ever so often, the question comes to mind: what exactly are we defending? I don’t think anyone has ever sufficiently answered that question. Sure, we say we are “protecting our way of life” and “keeping our families safe”, but at the core of it, what are we really doing? I mean, if war comes, I think most people would have already sent their families away on any available flight to anywhere. Other families would be safe overseas, and might even have had the time to transfer their assets overseas to begin anew. So, with our families safe, would there be anything left to defend?
Would we be left to defend those who couldn’t manage to buy the tickets in time? Does that mean that the rich would have had priority in getting out? If only the rich get to survive, then would we still be committed to this nation’s defence? If there was a threat of mass military desertion, would the state actually hold our families hostage to force us to stay here and fight? Of course, if it comes to that, we would take up arms, but with a heavy heart. Even if we won the war, we’d have lost any loyalty and love for this country, and it wouldn’t be worth staying here at all.
For me, I would rather be a second-class citizen elsewhere than be treated like collateral here. But of course, this is only a hypothetical scenario – a gedanken (“thought”) experiment. Whether such a scenario plays out remains to be seen.
What other options are there? Are we defending our multi-racial society? That might actually be something worth defending. But then again, around the world, there are so many cosmopolitan global cities which are melting pots of various ethnicities., where an industrious and innovative Singaporean would be welcomed. Of course, these other places might never be as efficient and effective as Singapore, but if we could live reasonably well, why not? So why, then, would any Singaporean stay to defend our unique, multi-racial way of life?
A question of purpose and service
So let’s consider the question again. What is it about Singapore that we are actually defending? If the values that we are defending are not unique to Singapore, then what is left? A happy island, by virtue of geography and geology?
As it is, the importance of NS is inscribed into nearly every Singaporean’s heart – from National Education in school to the hard, physical tests at Pulau Tekong. It isn’t as if NS is pointless – we still need to guard against conventional military threats or terrorists – but security alone can’t be the be-all and end-all of National Service.
Because at its core, National Service is about defending what is dear to us, and from there, deriving meaning and passion to the things that we do when we fulfil our NS duties. But if NS brings boredom and disillusionment, then the hearts of Singaporeans will be drawn elsewhere, and the hearts of those that stay will be conflicted over whether this nation deserves their defence.
Unless and until the question of purpose and service can be answered, Singaporean men (and some women) will find themselves losing passion for the country they’ve been asked to serve, longing for greener pastures always.
About the author:
Eddie Choo, 20, served as a Field Engineer Pioneer during his National Service. He is waiting to study Chemistry at NUS.
———–
Why we employ FT? Support LHL policy !!
What is wrong to employ FT? there is nothing but good point than getting a singaporean.
1. They not leave by 6pm on the dot. I no need to refer to the clock if it 6pm just by looking at the seat of the singapore. While for FT, as they go back home also face the small room that they rent, they rather work in office to past time. Even its action, they also put in effort to action in front of boss, Singaporean just do not care.
2. They do not treat employer like a baby ATM machine. They never tell you when to eat " red egg " and will give you a surpise by telling you that they r having a baby when the stomach cannot hide. Even they had make plan to resign after the birth, they will tell u how much they love the company and will die for the company if given the chance. Even during their maternity leave, they will tell u how much they want to come back to work. The best is that you keep the job vacent for them for 3 month and when they back to work, they will pass you their resignation letter with the red egg. As employer , due to the labour law, we had to " happyily " thank them for their hardwork in the company. my friend had the honor to have a admin girl having baby for 2 year in a row, that position is always vacent for her to come back if she like.
If it a FT, we will just ask her to fly kite back in home town.
3. FT levy is very welcome by employer than the horrible CPF!! The higher the salary, the higher the % from employer. For FT, all Levy settle all. No need to argue.
4. FT listen and treat employer like god. cos they know that if they cannot perform , they will be broom away. Singaporean employer need to treat them like god. a fresh grad will ask for 2k with Zero experience under their belt.
of course, i refering to part of the "special" singaporean that i encounter.
Source: http://sammyboy.com/showthread.php?t=38336
Monday, 12 November 2007, 3:12 pm | 142 views
By Eddie Choo
There is the dreary boredom that saps the life out of us, the hours merely standing and waiting for things to happen, where the only thing that keeps us sane is that far-off hope that everything is going to be over soon – that being a lie we have to convince ourselves of in order to keep going.
All that I’ve experienced can’t be put neatly into words, words simply fail to describe the fullness of our NS experience. These are the endless days in bunk, training under the hot sun, full of perspiration – there are the endless nights digging holes in the ground, filling up sandbags, walking with our gear, under the moonlight, the stars, or the clouds. There is still so much to write about. So many words to say that can’t be spoken.
But all of these, all of these will end, and then finally, the joyous daybreak of freedom from the endless nights of oppression.
And after that, onward to my dreams. Everytime I think about this, I feel a lot happier. I’m still wondering if I should be a chemist or a writer , or perhaps I should do both. But on another level, I’m thinking about life-work, the stuff you do that defines your life, who you are, more than anything else. Do you think of this?
We all know the truth, that Singapore is really too small for our dreams.
But even that is peripheral to the goal we have to simply make life better for the people around us, our community, and even beyond, to the world.
Maybe I’m too stuck on all these, but I can’t think of another way to live my life.
Then there are those who live each day getting by on what they have. Our friends who strive to make a career, climbing the ladder of success, who participate in this endless rat race striving for fame, wealth and a comfortable life. Well, if they are smart enough, if they are talented enough, if they are hardworking enough, they’ll get to where they want to be.
But I do hope you understand why I’m telling you all these – the rat race is for them, not for you. Their means – this rat race that consumes their soul, if for their end. And what is their end? That’s the thing, they have no real ends. I hope eventually you’ll find an end worth your life, and join not their race, but your own.
I guess these sort of things might be too young for us who are just only starting our lives to understand, but I hope its not too late for you to sidestep this trap that so many others have fallen into.
Eddie wrote this as an afterthought to a friend.
Wednesday, 6 August 2008, 9:03 pm | 2,458 views
Benjamin Cheah / Senior Writer
It goes against ethical principles of reciprocity to demand so much from servicemen, and giving so little in return — especially since many servicemen would not willingly serve their country in the military
The burden of the Full-time National Serviceman is a heavy one. Usually called up against his will, he is thrown head-first into a new, unfriendly world, with neither rule book nor directions, separated from his loved ones, loses two years of work experience and education to his female and foreign peers.
He is expected to fight, kill and die for his country when deemed adequately trained — a country that he may not even acknowledge.
When he completes his service, he is ejected into the civilian world two years older, and armed with mainly irrelevant skills, much of his equipment, a Certificate of Service, the recognition to be called up again for In-Camp Training (ICT) until he has fully discharged his National Service liability at the age of 40 or 50 – and a duty to take up arms if needed. For all the personal hardships incurred, one would expect, even demand, that the NSF is adequately compensated.
But he is not.
Disadvantaged as a serviceman
The Full-time National Serviceman is severely disadvantaged compared to his female and foreign peers. The NSF spends two years of his life training and preparing for war, and is expected to be called up for in-camp training for at least twenty years after his Operationally Ready Date (ORD). In those two years, female and foreign youths his age would have gained a considerable advantage over him in terms of work experience and/or education in a tertiary institute. Their employers, further, need not worry about losing experienced and competent staff to the SAF every time an ICT cycle begins.
Allow me to illustrate this difference. As an administrative support assistant, I work about 288 days a year, not including half- or full weekends when I do need to return to the office for work, and have to stay in camp during the working week. In that time, I am expected to do the work of at least two men, more often three, liaising with civilians and superiors, keeping track of dozens of pieces of paper as they move around Singapore, understand and tolerate the inner workings of the SAF’s online infrastructure, and other administrative work. For this, I earn an “allowance” of S$16.67 a day; I can only hope that this will one day increase to about S$20. Admittedly, this is only a rough guide; it is rather difficult to calculate an NSF’s allowance by day, because it is pro-rated.
Now consider my friend. She is a temporary staff in her job description, but is effectively a clerk. She works from 8 to 5 on weekdays, just helps out whenever she is needed, and her job scope does not require her to effectively look after the needs of over a hundred people at the same time. She may take leave any time she chooses, and quit when she wants to. She also gets to enter university, and the working world, two years before I do. For all this, she is paid S$54.27 a day — over two and a half times of my maximum allowance.
Of course, the difference in salary/allowance is not as dramatic as it appears to be. My meals in camp are free of charge; her meals are not. Unlike her, I can make transport, medical, dental and food claims to blunt the cost of making certain payments. I also need not pay for medical treatment at government hospitals and polyclinics. Most noticeably, I have a legal duty to my country; she does not.
Moral duty of the State
The State, too, has a duty to National Servicemen – a moral duty. It takes away the sons of Singapore, most of them against their will, and prepares and demands them to provide for the common defence. This unwilling sacrifice makes the burdens of service even heavier, and more acute. It goes against ethical principles of reciprocity to demand so much from servicemen, and giving so little in return — especially since many servicemen would not willingly serve their country in the military, as seen in the relatively few numbers of recruits who wish to sign on in every intake. The above-mentioned benefits do not completely discharge the State of its duties, for the above-mentioned reasons.
The greatest complaint National Servicemen have about NS is that it is an artificial barrier to entry into tertiary education and jobs. NSFs must wait for two years before they can matriculate into universities; eligible females and foreigners may do so when the next term begins. Employers could well favour foreigners and local women to Singaporean men, because the last are obliged to turn up for in-camp training, which will disrupt work inside the company.
Levelling the field
The very least the Government can do to even the odds is to provide NSFs with an end-of-service gratuity. This gratuity will be paid in one lump sum, following an NSF’s ORD. The actual amount will be tied directly to his rank; vocation; rating in his Certificate of Service; participation in operations and exercises; and participation in national events such as the National Day Parade.
For example, a full lieutenant in the Guards who has earned a double “Outstanding” rating may be entitled to $20,000, while a lance corporal who served as a clerk and has been rated as “good” may receive $5,000. The principle behind the gratuity is to allow the serviceman to make up for the two years he has lost to his peers, by helping to defray the costs of the first two years of higher education, making up for any difference in pay when he enters the work force, and so on. More importantly, it demonstrates to the serviceman that the SAF cares about the future of its servicemen, shoring up the faith of the soldier in the institution.
In addition, it goes without saying that being a soldier is one of the more dangerous occupations in the world. Death and injury can come in many forms: a hostile bullet, an accidental fall, and everything and anything in between. Most soldiers around the world know and accept these risks. But not the average Singaporean soldier; he is a conscript, and would, if given a choice, most probably not face this danger.
Yet the State will nevertheless place the trained children of Singapore on the frontlines, often without giving them a chance to object or a way to prevent a mobilisation. This much is understandable, because should Singapore go to war, Singapore’s survival is at stake. But asking NSFs to straddle the line of fire when diplomacy fails will redouble their existing burdens, and rightly so. Should the sons of Singapore perish in war, then who shall take care of their families? The answer is the State, through the Singapore Armed Forces. It is the only ethical answer, for it is the State that has sent them to die. Yet, all the SAF is obligated to provide are funeral wreaths and letters of condolences. Currently, it is up to the serviceman to take up life insurance, and pay for it from his own allowance.
Mandatory life insurance for servicemen
Because of this, I further propose that NSFs will be placed on a mandatory life insurance policy. Currently Aviva has a virtual monopoly on life insurance for National Servicemen, because they offer the best rates for soldiers who are wounded, maimed, or killed in the line of duty or in accidents. What the SAF can do is to place all NSFs on a basic life insurance policy with Aviva, and foot the bill. The policy will last for two years, because it covers the period of time in which an NSF is most likely to be injured, namely during training while serving his National Service. Servicemen who wish to extend the policy, or opt for premium plans, will make up the difference through their allowance. The policy may also be further amended to meet the contingencies of Operations Other than War, such as overseas humanitarian missions, In-Camp Training, and the outbreak of war.
These, I believe, are just the bare minimum. More can be done. The families of servicemen may, for example, be awarded additional subsidies for health care, to compensate for any loss of income, real or potential. The cap of claims of all sorts may be raised. Allowances may be revised upwards, or perhaps even tied to a benchmark of certain jobs in the private sector. The State needs to understand that the average NSF is bearing a huge burden on his shoulders against his will; in a rich country like Singapore, it is not out of the question for the SAF to lighten this burden through financial schemes.
Mindef is able
Certainly the SAF should not be constrained by budget. For FY2008, the Ministry of Defence has been allocated $10.8 billion – which is one-third of the entire national budget. Those monies should be sufficient to fund the above-mentioned schemes, in addition to paying for the daily costs of running the military. In addition, the military has initiated cost-cutting measures, ranging from mandating the temperatures of air-conditioning units to bidding procedures for outside contractors. Should there still be not enough money, the Government can always dip into its budget surpluses and readjust the following year’s budget accordingly. The Government, after all, did run up a budget surplus of about 6.4 billion dollars for FY2007, and keeps boasting of its strong economic policies.
Ultimately, it must be remembered that most NSFs do not have a reason to walk the fire for Singapore. They may fight for home, friends and family, but not for a country they are not rooted in. Given this mindset, it is the responsibility of the State to look after the citizens who might one day have to die for it. At the barest minimum, the SAF can help to even the playing field through end-of-service gratuities, and look after the needs of servicemen by introducing mandatory free life insurance schemes. The SAF could further expand this, by reviewing and improving the welfare scheme it has set aside for NSFs.
After all, should the government not adequately compensate a conscript for his services, especially if unwillingly given, then the government should not count on that conscript to feel obligated to fight for it. Or even remain in Singapore.
———
Why we need immigrants
SINGAPORE will go the way of the dinosaurs, without the influx of permanent residents and new citizens, Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong warned on Saturday night.
Making a compelling case for the need to take in more new immigrants, he trotted out various sets of figures to drive home the stark reality Singapore is facing: 'In the last 10 years, the number of people aged 65 and above has grown by about 100,000 while the number of children aged below 15 had shrunk by about 50,000.'
And despite all the efforts to encourage marriage and procreation, the total fertility rate climbed only marginally from 1.26 in 2004 to 1.28 last year - far short of the 2.1 needed to replace father and mother. In absolute terms, Singapore needs about 60,000 babies per year, but last year only 32,400 citizen babies were added.
Calling this an 'unsustainable demographic structure,' SM Goh told residents and grassroots leaders at a Deepa Thirunal event at the Braddell Heights Community Club: 'If we do not take in any more new immigrants, our population will begin to shrink in 2020. That is only 11 years away!
'To sustain our present standard of living, we need to top up our population with immigrants, particularly those with skills, entrepreneurial drive and talent. Without them... our growth rate would be easily 1 to 2 percentage points lower.
'Without the foreign workforce, our flats and MRT will not be built, our buses will come to a standstill, our healthcare services will degrade, and many investors, including Singaporean ones, will uproot and go where talent is abundant. Instead of sacrificing just 1-2 percentage points of growth, our economy will shrink, and our quality of life decline.'
Beyond just sustaining the quality of life here, immigrants enrich the society, said Mr Goh, adding:' Immigrants inject a certain vitality and diversity to our society, adding vibrancy to our economy, and broadening our horizons in other fields like the arts, music, sports, and philanthropy.'
http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_451508.html
Originally posted by Berries tan:
October 29, 2009 by admin
�永欣 from Lianhe Zaobao
æ¯�年国庆,政府都会邀请æŒ�有其他国家永久居民æ�ƒçš„æ–°åŠ å�¡äººå›žæ�¥å�‚åŠ åº†ç¥�活动,包括出å¸å›½åº†æ™šå®´ã€�念信约和唱国æŒï¼Œé‚£äº›å›½å®¶ä¸�ä¼šå› æ¤è€Œé�žè®®è¿™ç¾¤æ–°åŠ å�¡äººã€‚è¿™ä¹Ÿæ˜¯æ–°åŠ å�¡äººåº”æŒ�有的心æ€�ï¼Œæ–°åŠ å�¡äººå¿…é¡»æ„�è¯†åˆ°æ–°åŠ å�¡æ°¸ä¹…å±…æ°‘ä¸�是公民,它å�ªæ˜¯æˆ�ä¸ºæ–°åŠ å�¡å…¬æ°‘å‰�的一æ¥ã€‚
国务资政å�´ä½œæ ‹æ˜¨å¤©åœ¨ç¦�建çœ� (Fujian province) 泉州市永春县å�´å²æ�‘的祖乡探亲å�‚è§‚å�޿ޥå�—本地媒体访问时,谈å�Šè¿‘æ—¥åœ¨æ–°åŠ å�¡é—¹å¾—æ²¸æ²¸æ‰¬æ‰¬çš„å¼ å…ƒå…ƒ“报效祖国”事件。
å�´èµ„æ”¿è®¤ä¸ºï¼Œå¼ å…ƒå…ƒçš„é€‰æ‹©æ²¡æœ‰é”™ï¼Œèº«ä¸ºä¸€å��ä¸å›½å¹´è½»äººï¼Œèƒ½å¤Ÿå�‚åŠ ç¥–å›½60周年国庆的检阅礼是æž�为光è�£çš„äº‹ã€‚æ›´ä½•å†µï¼Œå¼ å…ƒå…ƒå�ªæ˜¯æ–°åŠ å�¡æ°¸ä¹…居民,还ä¸�æ˜¯æ–°åŠ å�¡å…¬æ°‘。
现年29å²�çš„å¼ å…ƒå…ƒåœ¨23å²�æ—¶ç¦»å¼€åŒ—äº¬åˆ°æ–°åŠ å�¡å¦ä¹ ,三年å�Žç”³è¯·æˆ�为永久居民,两年å�Žå›žåŒ—京,其å�Žæ¯…然报å��å�‚åŠ äº†ä¸å›½60周年国庆阅兵的女民兵方队,接 å�—“党和人民的检阅”,结果æˆ�为ä¸å›½å®˜æ–¹åª’ä½“åŠªåŠ›æ‰“é€ çš„“爱国女海归”典型。有关报é�“è¢«ä¸€äº›çœ¼å°–çš„æ–°åŠ å�¡äººå�‘现,由æ¤åœ¨æˆ‘国è¡�生一场质疑新移民认å�Œæ„Ÿçš„çƒ è®®ã€‚
å�´èµ„政说,更应该关注的是,如何å�¸å¼•这些永久居民æˆ�ä¸ºæ–°åŠ å�¡å…¬æ°‘。当然,如果一个人æˆ�ä¸ºäº†æ–°åŠ å�¡å…¬æ°‘,他自然就ä¸�应该å�‚åŠ å…¶ä»–å›½å®¶çš„å›½åº†æ£€é˜…ç¤¼ã€‚
他也说,新移民å�³ä¾¿æˆ�ä¸ºäº†æ–°åŠ å�¡å…¬æ°‘,也ä¸�æ„�味ç�€ä»–们必须与原属国家切æ–å…³ç³»ã€‚æ–°åŠ å�¡æ˜¯ä¸ªå°�国,历å�²è¾ƒçŸï¼Œè‹¥ä¸ŽåŽŸå±žå›½å®¶åˆ‡æ–关系将æ„�味ç�€å¤±åŽ»è‡ªå·±çš„æ–‡åŒ–å’Œæ ¹ï¼Œæ–°å…¬æ°‘å°†æ„Ÿåˆ°è‹¥æœ‰æ‰€å¤±ã€‚å› æ¤ï¼Œä»–鼓励新公民与原属国家尽é‡�ä¿�æŒ�è�”系,但è¦�è®°å¾—è‡ªå·±å·²æ˜¯æ–°åŠ å�¡äººã€‚
å�´èµ„æ”¿è¡¨ç¤ºï¼Œæ–°åŠ å�¡è¦�建立的是一个å�«æœ‰åŽŸå±žå›½å®¶æˆ�åˆ†çš„ç‹¬æœ‰æ–°åŠ å�¡æ–‡åŒ–ã€‚ä»–ä¸¾ä¾‹è¯´ï¼Œè·Ÿå…¶ä»–æ–°åŠ å�¡äººè®²ç¦�建è¯�时,他会说“我è¦�å�ƒroti(é�¢åŒ…)”ã€�“我去 巴刹”ã€�“ä½ è®²simi(什么)”ï¼Œè¿™äº›æ–°åŠ å�¡å¼�çš„ç¦�建è¯�å�ªæœ‰æ–°åŠ å�¡äººå�¬å¾—懂,ä¸�è¿‡ï¼Œæ— è®ºå¦‚ä½•ï¼Œä¸å›½çš„ç¦�建人还是能了解一二,毕竟里头的è¯�汇ä»�有很多是相 å�Œçš„。
å�´èµ„政昨天是第一次回到å�´å²æ�‘的祖乡,他告诉记者,回祖乡探访å�‚è§‚çš„åŽŸå› ä¹‹ä¸€ï¼Œæ˜¯å› ä¸ºæ–°åŠ å�¡è¿‘日掀起了一股针对新移民的çƒçƒˆè®¨è®ºï¼Œä»–觉得æ¤è¡Œæœ‰åŠ©äºŽæŠŠè¿™ä¸ªè¯¾é¢˜æ¦‚å¿µåŒ–ã€‚“å½“ç„¶ï¼Œè¿™ä¹Ÿå› ä¸ºæˆ‘çš„ç¥–ä¹¡åˆšå¥½æ˜¯åœ¨å‰�往泉州的路上。” – Zaobao.com
November 4, 2009 by Lee Chong
作者:冀居·è°¢
大选的脚æ¥è¿‘了,ä¸�æ˜¯å› ä¸ºè¡ŒåŠ¨å…šå¼€äº†å…šå¤§ä¼šï¼Œå®£å¸ƒå·²ç»�找到许多精英候选人或者第四代领导ç�å�å·²ç»�æˆ�型,而是第一波的主打——哀兵政ç–。
è¦�化上新妆之å‰�,一定è¦�æŠŠè¿™ä¸‰å‡ å¹´æ�¥å�„路人马涂上的è€�粉都铲下æ�¥ï¼Œæ‰�会让新上的èƒè„‚看æ�¥ç²‰å«©ã€�粉嫩的。所以æ�¢å¤�ç´ é¢œçš„æ–¹æ³•å°±æ˜¯ç”¨å“€å…µæ”¿ç–。所谓“哀兵必胜”出自《è€�å�》第å…å��ä¹�ç« ï¼š“ç¥¸èŽ«å¤§äºŽè½»æ•Œï¼Œè½»æ•Œå‡ ä¸§å�¾å®�ï¼Œæ•…æŠ—å…µç›¸åŠ ï¼Œå“€è€…èƒœçŸ£ã€‚” 王弼注:“哀者必相惜,而ä¸�趣利é�¿å®³ï¼Œæ•…必胜。”任继愈注:“å�Žé�‚è°“å› å�—压而悲愤的一方,定能克敌制胜。 ”——打的是“人心å�¯ç”¨”的心ç�†æˆ˜ã€‚
行动党å�‘æ�¥äºˆäººéª„傲ã€�蛮横ã€�唯利是图的形象,如今è¦�争å�–民心,当然è¦�扮出谦虚ã€�éš�æ—¶å�—æ•™ã€�为人民æœ�务的形象,第一:“æ�Žæ€»ç�†ã€�æ�Žèµ„政与å�´èµ„政å�Œå£°å‘Šè¯«è¡ŒåŠ¨å…šå…šå‘˜ï¼Œä¸–ä¸Šæ²¡ä»»ä½•æ”¿å…šèƒ½æ°¸è¿œæ‰§æ”¿ã€‚”,其二:“HDBäº�æ�Ÿå€�增达21亿。”
å�Žä¸€æ�¡æ–°é—»åˆ�å�¬ç›¸ä¿¡ä»»è°�也ä¸�ä¿¡ï¼Œå› ä¸ºåŽ»å¹´æˆ¿åœ°äº§å¤�è‹�,马å®�山把手头上积压多年的一万多间滞销租屋买个精光,还大展拳脚今年起准备建新的,怎么HDB在 2008/2009财政年度会äº�æ�Ÿå‘¢ï¼ŸåŽŸæ�¥æ³¢ä¸œå·´è¥¿è´¥å°†é©¬å®�山长久心里就有个阴影,深怕大选一æ�¥ï¼Œå�ˆé‡�演当年詹时ä¸ç®—组屋æˆ�本,结果算一算就把他拉下马 了。所以æ¯�到大选,他就先æ�¥ä¸ªå“€å…µæ”¿ç–:看ï¼�HDB建广å¤�å�ƒä¸‡é—´ï¼Œæ˜¯ä¸ºäº†å¤©ä¸‹å¯’士尽欢颜,我们ä¸�但没有赚钱还äº�钱咧。
è¯�说“公民在线”有个财ç»�专家å�«å�šæ¢�实轩,他在看了整份报告之å�Žï¼Œå°±è§‰å¾—是作å�‡ã€‚å› ä¸ºHDB怎么讲也是国è�¥å»ºç‘商,是以买å�–为其主è¦�业务,但是æ¢�实轩看了报告之å�Žï¼Œæœ€å¤§çš„疑问乃是:为何在这份报表里,没有把售å�–租屋的所得当æˆ�收入呢?当然还有其他的细节问题,有兴趣者å�¯ä»¥ 点击这里看原文。一个商家如果在报税的时候,ä¸�报门市的è�¥æ”¶ï¼Œå²‚ä¸�是有作å�‡é€ƒç¨Žä¹‹å«Œï¼Ÿ
这是马å®�山第二次踩线,刚刚过去让PAPå�Žæ¸¯è´¥å°†åˆ˜é”¡æ˜Žå®£å¸ƒè¯¥åŒºçš„电梯翻新,就è¿�å��了“市镇ç�†äº‹ä¼šæ³•令”。而他们辩解的时候,丢弃å�‘æ�¥å¯»æ‰¾æ³•æº�çš„å�šæ³•ï¼Œè€Œç§°ä¹ æƒ¯ä¸Šæ˜¯è®©è¯¥åŒºçš„“顾问”宣布云云。其实深究下去,一个区的“顾问”怎么ä¸�是该区的民选议员呢?ä¸�管是è°�委任“顾问”,为何èˆ�大多数,而就少数人支æŒ�的败将呢?难é�“å°±å› ä¸ºä»–æŠ•é� 的是执政党?
å�¯æ˜¯è¿™æ ·çš„äº‹æƒ…æœ€å¤šè®©ä½ åœ¨ç½‘ç»œé—¹ä¸¤å¤©å°±æ²¡äº‹äº†ï¼Œå› ä¸ºä¸»æµ�媒体并没有人敢深究这件事。所以《新报》å‰�总编辑,现å�—æ´‹ç�†å·¥å¤§å¦é»„é‡‘è¾‰ä¼ æ’与信æ�¯å¦é™¢äºšæ´²è®°è€…ç ”ç©¶å¦é™¢é™¢é•¿å·´åŸºï¼ˆPN Balji)认为,“ 许多本地ä¼�业å�³ä½¿æ›¾å‡ºçްç–�æ¼�ã€�大é‡�è£�员,或是æœ�åŠ¡ç´ è´¨æ¬ ä½³ç‰ï¼Œäº‹è¿‡å¢ƒè¿�å�Žï¼Œè¿™äº›ä¼�业ä»�能维æŒ�å…¶å£°èª‰ï¼ŒåŽŸå› åœ¨äºŽå®ƒä»¬çš„èµ„é‡‘é›„åŽšã€�æœ¬åœ°æ¶ˆè´¹è€…åˆ«æ— é€‰æ‹©ã€�国人是å�¥å¿˜çš„,以å�Šåª’体所扮演的角色。……媒体å�šå®ˆæ•™è‚²ã€�娱ä¹�å’Œä¼ è¾¾ä¿¡æ�¯çš„使命,但在æ�å�‘ä¼�业丑闻方é�¢è¿˜å�šå¾—ä¸�è¶³ï¼Œè¿™æ ·å°†æƒ å�Šä¼�业以å�Šæ”¿åºœçš„声誉。”
所以新闻自由索引排å��是é�žå¸¸é‡�è¦�的一件事,没有独立æ€�考的媒体人,人们就ä¸�知é�“什么是对ã€�什么是错;å�‘现和挖掘问题基本上还是知识分å�的责任,接下去讨论ã€�判æ–对错æ‰�æ˜¯ä¸€èˆ¬å¸‚æ°‘èƒ½åŠ›èŒƒå›´å†…çš„äº‹ã€‚å½“ç„¶ï¼Œä½ å�¯ä»¥æ��出1001æ�¡ç�†ç”±è¯´ä¸�å�—管制的舆论就如脱缰的野马,到时跳入一间陶瓷店,è¦�ç ¸ç ´çš„ä¸œè¥¿å�¯å¤šäº†ã€‚å�¯æ˜¯ä¸�管 脱缰的马有多野,释放的å�¯æ˜¯å®ƒçš„æœ¬æ€§ã€‚然而行礼如仪的仗马å�¯æ˜¯è¿žæœ¬æ€§éƒ½ä¸¢å¤±äº†ï¼Œå°±å¦‚去势的太监,会生出很多怪异行为的。
自称伯ä¹�其实是对马的最大迫害,庄å�曰:“马,蹄å�¯ä»¥è·µéœœé›ªï¼Œæ¯›å�¯ä»¥å¾¡é£Žå¯’。é¾�è�‰é¥®æ°´ï¼Œç¿˜è¶³è€Œé™†ï¼Œæ¤é©¬ä¹‹çœŸæ€§ä¹Ÿï¼›è™½æœ‰ä¹‰å�°è·¯å¯�ï¼Œæ— æ‰€ç”¨ä¹‹ã€‚å�Šè‡³ä¼¯ä¹�,曰:‘我善治马。’烧之,剔之,刻之,雒之,连之以ç¾�é¦½ï¼Œç¼–ä¹‹ä»¥çš‚æ ˆï¼Œé©¬ä¹‹æ»è€…å��二ã€�三矣;饥之,渴之,驰之,骤之,整之,é½�之,å‰�有橛饰之患,而å�Žæœ‰éžç–之å¨�,而马之æ»è€…已过å�ŠçŸ£ã€‚……然且世世称之曰‘伯ä¹�å–„æ²»é©¬è€Œé™¶åŒ å–„æ²»åŸ´æœ¨’,æ¤äº¦æ²»å¤©ä¸‹è€…之过也ï¼�”
如Balji所说,没有媒体的ç«è¯šè�Œå®ˆï¼Œ“治天下者之过”永远也没人知é�“,shitï¼�
��:大马论�
Source: http://www.temasekreview.com
æ–°åŠ å�¡è¦å‘Šï¼šæ¯«ä¸�犹豫对付网上煽动者
æ–°åŠ å�¡è¦æ–¹ï¼šç½‘上æ�¶æ¯’言论得负刑责
æ–°åŠ å�¡è®¯ï¼Œæ–°åŠ å�¡è�”å�ˆæ—©æŠ¥æ�´å¼•æ–°åŠ å�¡è¦æ–¹è¯´ï¼Œåœ¨äº’è�”网上蓄æ„�对他人作出ä¸�实指责的网民,都ä¸�能å…�é™¤åˆ‘äº‹è´£ä»»ã€‚å¦‚æžœæœ‰äººç¡®å®žè§¦çŠ¯æ³•å¾‹ï¼Œè¦æ–¹å¿…将彻查。
ä¸Šä¸ªæœˆï¼Œæ–°åŠ å�¡å›½ä¼šè®®å‘˜æˆ�汉通é�到纵ç�«çƒ§ä¼¤å�Žï¼Œç½‘上出现很多ä¸�å�‹å–„的言论。这æˆ�ä¸ºæ˜¨å¤©æ–°åŠ å�¡å›½ä¼šçš„一项讨论内容。
è�”å�ˆæ—©æŠ¥æ�´å¼•è¦å¯Ÿéƒ¨é˜Ÿè¡ŒåŠ¨å±€å±€é•¿é»„å®�å† åŠ©ç�†è¦å¯Ÿæ€»ç›‘å�—询时说:“在网络空间里作出的任何ä¸�当行为,都是è¦�é�¢å¯¹çŽ°å®žå�Žæžœçš„。包括对别人形æˆ�困扰或对个人ã€�团体ã€�ç¤¾åŒºç”šè‡³æ•´ä¸ªç¤¾ä¼šé€ æˆ�å�±å®³çš„行为或言论,å�ªè¦�是è¿�æ³•çš„ï¼Œæ— è®ºæ˜¯å‡ºçŽ°åœ¨ç½‘ç»œç©ºé—´æˆ–æ˜¯çŽ°å®žä¸–ç•Œé‡Œï¼Œè¦æ–¹éƒ½å°†å±•开调查。”
黄å®�å† æ‰€ä¸¾å‡ºçš„ä¾‹å�,包括过去曾有å�‘表æž�端ç§�æ—�主义言论的网民和å�šå®¢å�—到调查和起诉。
他说:”在互è�”网上作出è¿�法行为者,都ä¸�能å…�除刑事责任。”
è�”å�ˆæ—©æŠ¥è¯´ï¼š“最近从人民行动党议员所管ç�†çš„市镇ç�†äº‹ä¼šå› 投资金èž�结构产å“�è’™å�—äº�æ�Ÿï¼›æ�¨åŽ�港区议员æˆ�汉通在社区活动上被è€�汉放ç�«çƒ§ä¼¤ï¼›åˆ°å¸¸ä»»ç§˜ä¹¦é™ˆè�£é¡ºæ�ºçœ·åˆ°å·´é»Žè‘—å��çƒ¹é¥ªå¦æ ¡åº¦è¿‡äº”周奢侈å¦ä¹ 之旅ç‰äº‹ä»¶ï¼Œéƒ½æœ‰ç½‘æ°‘å’Œå�šå®¢åœ¨äº’è�”网上ä¸�顾å�Žæžœï¼Œé²�莽地å�‘è¡¨æ¯«æ— äº‹å®žæ ¹æ�®çš„言论去攻击他们,甚至有人æ��é€ è°£è¨€æŒ‡æ”¾ç�«çƒ§è®®å‘˜è€�æ±‰æ˜¯å› ä»˜ä¸�èµ·è´å±‹åˆ†æœŸä»˜æ¬¾ï¼Œç»„屋被建屋å�‘展局收回,æ‰�放ç�«çƒ§äººä»¥æ³„愤。”
报é�“说,对于这类匿å��åœ¨ç½‘ä¸Šé€ è°£ä¸ä¼¤å…¬åŠ¡äººå‘˜å’Œå›½ä¼šè®®å‘˜çš„ç½‘æ°‘å�šå®¢ï¼Œè¦æ–¹çš„æ€�度是ä¸�能姑æ�¯ï¼Œå¿…会对触犯法律者展开调查。
æ–°åŠ å�¡ç”µè§†å�°çš„䏿–‡æ–°é—»åˆ™æŠ¥é�“è¯´ï¼Œæ–°åŠ å�¡æ–°é—»é€šè®¯å�Šè‰ºæœ¯éƒ¨ã€�高级政务部长å�•德耀在国会上,以网民在网上谈论æ�¨åŽ�港区议员æˆ�汉通被人放ç�«çƒ§ä¼¤çš„事件为例指出,互è�”网并ä¸�是一个能有效自行管制的平å�°ã€‚
报é�“说,互è�”网上有ä¸�少网民讨论æ�¨åŽ�港区议员æˆ�汉通烧伤的事件,少数人表示å�Œæƒ…ï¼Œè€Œå¤§éƒ¨åˆ†çš„è¯„è¯æ˜¯æ²¡æœ‰ç›Šå¤„的。
å�•德耀说:“好一些是冷酷的,一å°�éƒ¨åˆ†åˆ™ç®€ç›´æ— æ³•è®©äººæŽ¥å�—,令人失望。”
�德耀认为,网民在驳斥一些�好言论的方�,�得并�足够。
他说,“这是一个迈å�‘高度自制的好机会,它å�¯ä»¥æ˜¯ä¸€ä¸ªæº�起的例å�ï¼Œæ˜¯å¡‘é€ ä¸€ä¸ªæ›´è´Ÿè´£ä»»ã€�更能自行管制平å�°çš„第一æ¥ã€‚”
å�•德耀说,è¦�建立一个负责任的网络世界,需è¦�政府ã€�网民ç‰å�„方的å�ˆä½œã€‚å�šå®¢å’Œç½‘主需è¦�建立公信力,而网民也应该å��助建立起一些ã€�能让人接å�—çš„ç½‘ä¸Šè¡Œä¸ºæ ‡å‡†ã€‚
海峡时报网站报é�“说,å�•德耀是在回ç”白沙榜鹅集选区议员刘梦ç�³è´¨è¯¢æ—¶ï¼Œä½œä¸Šè¿°å›žåº”。
刘梦ç�³æŒ‡å‡ºï¼Œç½‘上出现针对æˆ�汉通é�烧伤事件的调查,出现了很ä¸�公平的现象。
调查问,�更值得�情:�汉通还是施暴者王家财。王家财获得了200票,而�汉通获得56票。
Source: http://www.nanyangpost.com/forum/showthread.php?t=47107
æ–°åŠ å�¡äººå�‘ä¸å›½çš„移民潮?
å�—æ´‹è§†ç•Œç¼–è¯‘ï¼Œæ–°åŠ å�¡å…¬æ°‘网站“淡马锡评论”åˆŠè½½ä¸€ç¯‡æ–‡ç« ï¼Œè®¨è®ºæ£æ˜¾å‡ºç«¯å€ªçš„æ–°åŠ å�¡äººç§»æ°‘ä¸å›½çš„æƒ…å½¢ã€‚å°½ç®¡æ–‡ç« æ˜¾ç¤ºå…¶å¯¹æ”¿åºœçš„ä¸�æ»¡ï¼Œä½†å…¶ä¸æ¶‰å�Šçš„事实陈述部分,颇具震撼力。
æ–‡ç« ä»Žæ£åœ¨å±•开激烈辩论的ä¸å›½ç±�æ–°åŠ å�¡å±…æ°‘å¼ å…ƒå…ƒå�‚åŠ ä¸å›½å›½åº†é˜…兵事件谈起。
å½“å¼ å…ƒå…ƒåœ¨æŽ¥å�—ä¸å¤®ç”µè§†å�°è®¿é—®æ—¶ï¼Œå¥¹éª„傲地以æµ�利的å�Žè¯è¯´ï¼š“报效祖国是我最大的心愿”。她ç�¿çƒ‚的笑容溢满了å±�幕。
æ–‡ç« æŒ‡å‡ºï¼Œåœ¨æ–°åŠ å�¡ï¼Œä½ éš¾ä»¥çœ‹åˆ°æ–°åŠ å�¡äººä»¥å¦‚æ¤çš„信心,对媒体公开表达对自己国家感到骄傲。
作者写é�“:“我一é��å�ˆä¸€é��地看ç�€è¿™æ®µè§†é¢‘,我ç¦�ä¸�ä½�è¦�èµžç¾Žï¼Œå¼ å…ƒå…ƒé‚£æº¢æ»¡å¿«ä¹�和骄傲ã€�充满身份认å�Œå’Œçˆ±å›½æƒ…ç»ªçš„è„¸åºžï¼Œè¿™å¾ˆå°‘å‡ºçŽ°åœ¨æ–°åŠ å�¡äººä¸çš„脸庞。”
æ–‡ç« è¯´ï¼Œå¦‚æžœæ–°åŠ å�¡äººå¯¹è‡ªå·±çš„国家有ç�€çŸ›ç›¾çš„æƒ…感,他们的身份认å�Œå�±æœºï¼Œå°±ä¼šè¢«è¿‘å¹´æ�¥å¤–国人的大é‡�æµ�å…¥è€ŒåŠ å‰§ã€‚
他说,在过去,很多ä¸å›½äººæ€¥äºŽæŠ“ä½�ä»¥æ–°åŠ å�¡ä¸ºå®¶çš„æœºä¼šï¼Œä½†éš�ç�€ä¸å›½å½±å“�力日增,他们很多人就更愿æ„�待在ä¸å›½ã€‚
和本地生长在多元ç§�æ—�社会的å�Žäººä¸�å�Œï¼Œä¸å›½å¤§é™†äººæ°¸è¿œä¸�ä¼šé€‚åº”æ–°åŠ å�¡äººçš„生活方å¼�,ä¸�ç®¡æ”¿åºœç ¸ä¸‹å¤šå°‘é’±ï¼Œæˆ–ç¥ˆæ±‚ä»–ä»¬ç•™ä¸‹ã€‚
é‚£äº›ä¿ƒä½¿ä»–ä»¬ç•™åœ¨æ–°åŠ å�¡çš„æŽ¨åŠ¨åŠ›ï¼Œå·²ç»�ä¸�å†�具有,ä¸å›½çš„主è¦�城市æ£åœ¨è“¬å‹ƒå�‘展。
北京ã€�上海ã€�å¹¿å·žå’Œæ·±åœ³ï¼ŒçŽ°åœ¨çš„ç”Ÿæ´»æ°´å¹³å’Œæ–°åŠ å�¡ç±»ä¼¼ï¼Œè¿™å°±æ˜¯ä¸ºä»€ä¹ˆä½ åœ¨æ–°åŠ å�¡éš¾ä»¥çœ‹åˆ°æ�¥è‡ªè¿™äº›åŸŽå¸‚çš„ä¸å›½äººæ‹¿æ–°åŠ å�¡çš„æ°¸ä¹…居民或公民。
而å�Œæ—¶ï¼Œæˆ‘们看到了大é‡�æ�¥è‡ªè¾ƒç©·çš„内陆çœ�份的ä¸å›½äººï¼Œæ²³å�—ã€�æ¹–å�—ã€�è¾½å®�ã€�河北和黑龙江。
具有讽刺æ„�味的是,由于ä¸å›½æˆ�为了ç»�济å�‘åŠ¨æœºï¼Œå¹´è½»çš„æ–°åŠ å�¡äººèœ‚æ‹¥å‰�å¾€ä¸å›½ï¼Œè€Œæˆ‘们å�´ä»¥äºŒæµ�çš„ä¸å›½äººæ�¥æ›¿ä»£ä»–们。
ä¸å›½äººä¸æœ€ä¼˜ç§€çš„一æ—�å°†ä¸�会æ�¥æˆ‘ä»¬æ–°åŠ å�¡ï¼Œå› 为他们的国家会留ä½�他们,或者他们è¦�寻求更好的地方如澳洲ã€�åŠ æ‹¿å¤§æˆ–ç¾Žå›½ã€‚
ä¸å›½æ—¥æŠ¥æœ€è¿‘报é�“,大约有2万å��æ–°åŠ å�¡äººçŽ°åœ¨åœ¨ä¸å›½ä¼—多的å�ˆèµ„ä¼�ä¸šå·¥ä½œã€‚è¿™äº›æ–°åŠ å�¡äººä»¥å�Žä¼šå›žæ�¥æ–°åŠ å�¡å�—,这是一个很大的问å�·ã€‚
现在的ä¸å›½ç»™æ–°åŠ å�¡äººæ��ä¾›äº†æ— é™�çš„æœºä¼šå®žçŽ°è‡ªå·±çš„ç›®æ ‡ã€‚ä¸å›½çš„生活æˆ�本低廉ã€�æ–‡åŒ–ä¹Ÿå’Œæ–°åŠ å�¡ç±»ä¼¼ã€‚
é›ªä¸ŠåŠ éœœçš„æ˜¯ï¼Œä¸å›½çŽ°åœ¨æ˜¯é€€ä¼‘äººå£«å®‰åº¦æ™šå¹´çš„çƒé—¨åœ°ç‚¹ï¼Œå› ä¸ºæ–°åŠ å�¡çš„退休å�Žå¼€æ”¯å®žåœ¨å¤ªå¤§ã€‚
上个月,我去东莞,é�‡åˆ°ä¸€ä½�60å²�çš„å‰�æ–°åŠ å�¡çš„公务员。他å�–æŽ‰äº†æ–°åŠ å�¡çš„æ”¿åºœç»„屋å�•ä½�,在东莞郊区买了一个500平米的平房。他的妻å�两年去世,他的两个å�å¥³åœ¨æ–°åŠ å�¡æœ‰è‡ªå·±çš„å®¶åºã€‚他现在和一ä½�24å²�的情妇一起生活。
æ ¹æ�®ä»–的说法,越æ�¥è¶Šå¤šçš„æ–°åŠ å�¡ç”·äººå�‘现ä¸å›½å¥³äººå’Œä¸å›½çš„美妙。
“我们æ�¥å¾—太晚了,”ä»–é�—憾地说:“å�°æ¹¾äººå’Œé¦™æ¸¯äººæ¯”我们先æ�¥ã€‚ä½ çœ‹è¿™é‡Œï¼Œ10å¹´å‰�这里还是æ�‘庄,现在æˆ�了都市,å†�过10å¹´ï¼Œä¸œèŽžå°±èµ¶ä¸Šæ–°åŠ å�¡äº†ã€‚”
对于那些负担得起的人æ�¥è¯´ï¼Œä¸å›½ç¡®å®žæ˜¯åœ°ç�ƒä¸Šçš„å¤©å ‚ã€‚é™¤äº†ä¸œèŽžï¼Œå¤§é‡�çš„æ–°åŠ å�¡äººä½�在深圳ã€�广州和ç� 海。未æ�¥è¿™ä¸ªæ•°å—è¿˜ä¼šå¢žåŠ ã€‚
追求更好的生活是人性的一部分,没有人愿�一直工作到风烛残年,�养活自己,还房屋贷款。��希望尽早退休享�生活?
éš�ç�€è¶Šæ�¥è¶Šå¤šæ–°åŠ å�¡äººå‰�å¾€ä¸å›½ç‰åœ°ï¼Œæ”¿åºœå�ªèƒ½ç»§ç»å¼•è¿›ä¸å›½äººæ�¥ç»´æŒ�æ—�ç¾¤æ¯”ä¾‹ï¼Œæ–°åŠ å�¡æœ€å�Žæ˜¯å�¦ä¼šæˆ�为ä¸å›½çš„二æµ�çœ�份?
ç¼–è¯‘è€…æ³¨ï¼Œæœ¬æ–‡æš‚ä½œä¸ºå¼ å…ƒå…ƒäº‹ä»¶çš„è·Ÿå¸–ï¼Œé€‚å½“æ—¶å€™å°†ç§»ä¸ºä¸»å¸–ã€‚
æ–°åŠ å�¡æ”¿åºœå‡ºé’±æ•™å¤–åŠ³è‹±è¯ ç½‘æ°‘ä¸�满
å�—æ´‹è§†ç•Œæ–°åŠ å�¡è®¯ï¼Œæ–°åŠ å�¡å®£å¸ƒå°†æ‹¨å‡º1000万新元,å��åŠ©æ–°ç§»æ°‘å’Œå¤–åŠ³å’Œæ–°åŠ å�¡ç¤¾ä¼šèž�å�ˆï¼Œå…¶ä¸ä¸€ä¸ªä¸¾æŽªå°±æ˜¯æ•™å¤–劳å¦è‹±è¯ã€‚但是,这项举措é�åˆ°äº†æ–°åŠ å�¡ç½‘æ°‘çš„ä¸�满,他们认为纳税人的钱ä¸�应该用在这里。
在总ç�†æ�Žæ˜¾é¾™å�‘表谈è¯�呼å��å��åŠ©æ–°ç§»æ°‘å’Œæ–°åŠ å�¡ç¤¾ä¼šèž�å�ˆä¹‹å�Žï¼Œæ”¿åºœä¸»å¯¼çš„“国家èž�å�ˆç�†äº‹ä¼š”表示,推出1000万新元的资金,未æ�¥ä¸‰å¹´å��助社区举办å�„类活动,包括文化讲座ã€�社交郊游ç‰ï¼Œä»¥å��åŠ©æ–°ç§»æ°‘å’Œæ–°åŠ å�¡äººæ›´å¤šåœ°æŽ¥è§¦ã€‚
这项å��为“社区èž�å�ˆåŸºé‡‘”将会为这些活动支付多达80%的费用。
æ¤å¤–,基金也将为新移民æ��供基本英è¯è¯¾ç¨‹ï¼Œæ”¹å–„他们的è¯è¨€é—®é¢˜ï¼Œä»¥æ–¹ä¾¿å’Œæ–°åŠ å�¡äººæŽ¥è§¦ã€‚æ¤å¤–,也为新移民æ��ä¾›è¯¾ç¨‹ï¼Œè®©ä»–ä»¬äº†è§£æ–°åŠ å�¡çš„历å�²èƒœè¿¹å’Œä¹ ä¿—ç‰ã€‚
å…¶ä¸ä¸ºå¤–劳æ��供英è¯è¯¾ç¨‹çš„计划将于明年三月起展开。è�Œæ€»æ•™è‚²ä¸å¿ƒå°†å’Œå¤–劳ä¸å¿ƒå�ˆä½œï¼Œå…ˆæœŸä»Žé…’店业展开。
但是,这些举措似乎迎æ�¥æ–°åŠ å�¡ç½‘æ°‘çš„ä¸�满。在英文海峡时报有关新闻的网民留言ä¸ï¼Œå¤§éƒ¨åˆ†è¡¨ç¤ºä¸�赞æˆ�政府的这项å�šæ³•ã€‚
一些网民认为,这些钱是纳税人的钱,用æ�¥èµ„助外国人,与ç�†ä¸�符。有人写é�“:“外劳å�˜å¾—是第一ä½�çš„ï¼Œæ–°åŠ å�¡äººæ˜¯ç¬¬äºŒä½�的。”
有的网民说,政府在引进新移民的时候,应该确ä¿�他们能懂得基本的英è¯ã€‚他们举例说,一些西方国家在接纳新移民的时候,è¦�进行英è¯è€ƒè¯•。
对于举办å�„类活动å��助新移民,一ä½�网å�‹è¯´ï¼Œè¿™å�ªæ˜¯“美丽的罗曼蒂克的想法”。
他说,å�Žäººæ–°å¹´å’Œå›½åº†äººï¼Œä»–去å�‚åŠ ç¤¾åŒºè�”络所举办的活动。一些新移民å‰�æ�¥å�‚åŠ ï¼Œä»–ä»¬ä¸�是è¦�æ�¥“èž�å�ˆ”,而是æ�¥æ‹¿å…�费的礼包。他们拿了礼包å�Žï¼Œäººå°±ä¸�è§�了。
“æˆ‘ä»¬èƒ½æœŸæœ›æ–°åŠ å�¡äººåœ¨ä¸€è¾¹çœ‹ç�€ä»–们这么å�šå�—?”
他说,这1000ä¸‡å…ƒè¿™ä¹ˆç”¨ï¼Œå¯¹æ–°åŠ å�¡äººæ˜¯ä¸�公平的。
还有一ä½�ç½‘æ°‘ç”šè‡³è´¨ç–‘æ–°åŠ å�¡æ”¿åºœæŽ¨å‡ºçš„æ��å�‡æŠ€èƒ½è¯¾ç¨‹ä¸ï¼Œæœ‰å¤§é‡�æ�¥è‡ªä¸å›½çš„æ°¸ä¹…居民上课。
他说:“为什么我们è¦�为他们培è®ä»˜é’±ï¼Œç„¶å�Žæ�¥å’Œæˆ‘们竞争,然å�Žè¯´æˆ‘们必须对他们好一点,ä¸�然他们ä¸�会待在这里。”
Source: http://www.nanyangpost.com/forum/showthread.php?t=112064
October 27, 2009 by Lee Chong
作者:王如晨《第一财�日报》
27/10/09
金èž�å�±æœºä»¥æ�¥çš„产业å�˜å±€æ£ä¿ƒä½¿“人æ‰�战”å�‡æ¸©ã€‚最新的一个例è¯�æ˜¯ï¼Œæ–°åŠ å�¡æ”¿åºœä¸“程æ�¥ä¸å›½æ‹›æ�½å�Šå¯¼ä½“ç‰è¡Œä¸šçš„人æ‰�。
CBNè®°è€…èŽ·æ‚‰ï¼Œæ–°åŠ å�¡ç»�济å�‘展局 (Economic Development Board) 与人力部的è�”盟组织“è�”ç³»æ–°åŠ å�¡”è¿‘æ—¥æ£åœ¨ä»¥ä¸Šæµ·ä¸ºæ ¸å¿ƒçš„å�Žä¸œé«˜æ ¡å®£è®²ï¼Œä¸ºè¯¥å›½å�Šå¯¼ä½“ã€�æ•°ç �ã€�动漫ç‰è¡Œä¸šè¿›è¡ŒæŽ¨å¹¿ï¼Œæ‹›å‹ŸäººåŠ›ã€‚ä¸€ä½�å�‚åŠ äº†æŽ¨å¹¿æ´»åŠ¨çš„ä¸Šæµ·æŸ�è‘—å��通信芯片公å�¸å·¥ç¨‹å¸ˆç§°ï¼Œåº”募者众。
è¿™ä¸�由让人想起2004å¹´çš„ä¸€å¹•ã€‚é‚£å¹´ï¼Œä¹Ÿæ˜¯æ–°åŠ å�¡æ�¥ä¸å›½“挖人”,仅ä¸èŠ¯ä¸€å®¶å°±è¢«æŒ–èµ°160人,包括80å��熟练工程师和80å��一般æ“�作员工。ä¸èŠ¯æ€»è£�å¼ æ±�京事å�Žç›´é™ˆï¼Œè¿™å¯¹ä¸èН国际æ�¥è¯´æ˜¯ä¸€ä¸ªå¤±è´¥ã€‚
猎头å��å�«æ–°åŠ å�¡
“è�”ç³»æ–°åŠ å�¡”的主è¦�è�Œè´£æ˜¯ï¼Œå�¸å¼•国际人æ‰�åˆ°æ–°åŠ å�¡å·¥ä½œã€�投资å�Šç”Ÿæ´»ã€‚它在亚洲ã€�欧洲ã€�北美都设有办事处,在ä¸å›½è�˜æœ‰åŒ—京ã€�上海两个区域主任。
在å‰�日的一场宣讲会上,该机构带æ�¥ä¸¤å��åœ¨æ–°åŠ å�¡å·¥ä½œçš„ä¸å›½äººã€‚一å��æ�¥è‡ªè‹±é£žå‡Œå…¬å�¸ï¼Œå�¦ä¸€å��æ�¥è‡ªé«˜é€šå…¬å�¸ã€‚ä»–ä»¬çŽ°èº«è¯´æ³•ï¼Œå¤§è®²åœ¨æ–°åŠ å�¡å·¥ä½œã€�生活如何美好。
英飞凌系统与固件开å�‘ç»�ç�†è®¸å†°æ¶›è¯´ï¼Œä»–15å¹´å‰�ä¾¿åŽ»äº†æ–°åŠ å�¡ï¼Œæ¤å‰�ä»»è�ŒIBMä¸å›½ã€‚ä»–å�¦é™ˆï¼Œåœ¨IBM,他当åˆ�æ‹¿2000å¤šå…ƒï¼Œå½“å¹´å·²æ˜¯é«˜è–ªï¼Œä½†æ–°åŠ å�¡æ–¹é�¢å¤§çº¦å¼€å‡ºäº†6å€�的数å—。
ä¸�过,他说,å�¸å¼•ä»–çš„è¿˜æœ‰æ–°åŠ å�¡å�Žäººç¤¾ä¼šä¸‹çš„ä¸è¥¿æ–‡åŒ–氛围ã€�å…¨ç�ƒè§†é‡Žï¼Œä»¥å�Šæœ‰åˆ©äºŽå©å�教育的å�Œè¯ä½“制ç‰ã€‚
“这个多元化社会确实很å�¸å¼•我,当然我也喜欢å°�试新东西,这是一个好玩的国家。”æ–°åŠ å�¡é«˜é€šæµ‹è¯•工程师高强则如æ¤è¡¨ç¤ºã€‚他刚去两年。
æ�®“è�”ç³»æ–°åŠ å�¡”ä¸å›½åŒºåŸŸä¸»ä»»æŸ¯å¿—声介ç»�,目å‰�å‡ ä¹Žæ‰€æœ‰è‘—å��å�Šå¯¼ä½“ä¼�ä¸šéƒ½åœ¨æ–°åŠ å�¡è®¾ç«‹äº†ç ”å�‘ä¸å¿ƒï¼Œå¤§çº¦æœ‰40家。而且,还有è�”电ã€�英特尔ã€�特许ç‰14å®¶å�Šå¯¼ä½“工厂ã€�20å®¶å°�装测试工厂。许冰涛表示,从产业群è�šæ•ˆåº”çœ‹ï¼Œå…¨ç�ƒè¿˜æ²¡æœ‰å“ªä¸ªåŒºåŸŸèƒ½åƒ�æ–°åŠ å�¡è¿™æ ·å®Œæ•´è€Œç´§å¯†ã€‚
留在ä¸å›½çš„ç�†ç”±
é�¢å¯¹å›½é™…å�Œè¡Œçš„æ£é�¢ç«žäº‰ï¼Œå¼ æ±�京们当然ä¸�甘心å�šæ–°åŠ å�¡å�Šå¯¼ä½“ä¼�业的“åŸ¹è®æœºæž„”。
ä¸èНCFOå�´æ›¼å®�å�¦é™ˆï¼Œè¿‡åŽ»å‡ å¹´ï¼Œå…¬å�¸ç¡®æœ‰å‘˜å·¥æµ�失,去年英特尔还挖走ä¸�少人。但最新的趋势是,他们æ£ä»Žæ–°åŠ å�¡å�Šå…¶ä»–地方“陆ç»å›žæ�¥”。
她说,ä¸èŠ¯ç›®å‰�开出的薪水确实ä¸�是行业最高,新员工对æ¤ç¡®å®žæ•�感,但æˆ�熟员工ã€�ä¸é«˜å±‚人æ‰�的心ç�†å¹¶ä¸�ä¸€æ ·ã€‚“高薪越æ�¥è¶Šä¸�是唯一(çš„å†³å®šå› ç´ ),它ä¸�太å�¯èƒ½ä¸€ç›´æŒ�ç»ã€‚”å�´æ›¼å®�说,公å�¸ä¸€å¹´æ�¥æ��é«˜äº†ç ”å�‘的投入,对于人力培养也制定了相关的措施。
ä¸èŠ¯é€»è¾‘äº§å“�ç ”å�‘主管俎永熙表示,在一个æˆ�长型公å�¸èŽ·å¾—æˆ�就感æ‰�最é‡�è¦�。他说,å�³å°†è¿Žæ�¥10周年的ä¸èŠ¯ï¼Œå·²æ˜¯ä¸å›½å�Šå¯¼ä½“产业å�‘展的主力。
å�´æ›¼å®�与俎永熙都是ä¸èНæˆ�立之åˆ�è¿›æ�¥çš„ã€‚ä»–ä»¬è®¤ä¸ºæ–°åŠ å�¡å�Œè¡Œæ�¥ä¸å›½æ‹›å‹Ÿï¼Œæ•ˆåº”已大ä¸�如å‰�。背å�ŽåŽŸå› æ˜¯ï¼Œä¸å›½æ£æˆ�为全ç�ƒå�Šå¯¼ä½“产业转移的ä¸å¿ƒï¼Œå¸‚场ã€�ç ”å�‘ã€�生产环节都æ£å¤„于布局高峰期,对人æ‰�çš„å�¸çº³åŠ›åº¦æ›´å¤§ã€‚
“我们也有软实力。”ä¿Žæ°¸ç†™è¯´ï¼Œè¿‡åŽ»å‡ å¹´ï¼Œä¸å›½åœ°æ–¹æ”¿åºœåœ¨ä½�房ã€�员工å�女入å¦å�Šå…¶ä»–补贴上å�‡æœ‰ä¼˜æƒ 政ç–。
å�Šå¯¼ä½“è°ƒç ”æœºæž„isuppli高级分æž�师顾文军则认为,ä¸å›½å�Šå¯¼ä½“产业还没有走出“两头在外”模å¼�ï¼Œé•¿è¿œçœ‹ï¼Œæ–°åŠ å�¡çš„动作,å��而是ä¸å›½çš„æœºä¼šï¼Œå�Šå¯¼ä½“人æ‰�应该走出去,然å�Ž“å��哺”ä¸å›½ã€‚
��:凤凰网财�
æ–°åŠ å�¡æ¿€è¾©å¤–æ�¥äººæ‰�问题
å�—æ´‹è§†ç•Œæ–°åŠ å�¡è®¯ï¼Œç»�济ä¸�æ™¯æ°”ä½¿å¾—æ–°åŠ å�¡çš„失业率å�‡é«˜ï¼Œä¹Ÿå†�åº¦å°†æ–°åŠ å�¡ç©¶ç«Ÿéœ€è¦�多少外劳或外æ�¥äººæ‰�的争议å�‡çº§ã€‚ä½†æ–°åŠ å�¡æ”¿åºœåˆ™è¡¨ç¤ºï¼Œè¿™éœ€è¦�平衡处ç�†ã€‚
海峡时报报é�“说,昨天举行的一场社区对è¯�ä¼šï¼Œå¤–å›½äººå’Œæ–°åŠ å�¡äººçš„æ¿€è¾©æˆ�为主调,辩论å�Œæ–¹éƒ½æ„Ÿåˆ°ä¸�满。
ä¸€äº›æ–°åŠ å�¡äººè´¨ç–‘æ–°åŠ å�¡æ˜¯å�¦éœ€è¦�å¤–åŠ³ï¼Œç§°æ–°åŠ å�¡æ²¡æœ‰å¤–劳也会生å˜ã€‚其䏿œ‰äººç”šè‡³å‘¼å��政府,å�œæ¢å�‘出工作准è¯�。
å�¦ä¸€æ–¹é�¢ï¼Œä¸€å��æ°¸ä¹…å±…æ°‘åˆ™è¡¨ç¤ºï¼Œä»–å’Œæ–°åŠ å�¡äººä¸€æ ·ç¼´ç¨Žï¼Œç�†åº”获得相å�Œçš„å¾…é�‡ã€‚一å��雇主则宣称,他喜欢外劳,并抱怨本地员工的æµ�动率太高。
æ–°åŠ å�¡äººåŠ›éƒ¨é•¿é¢œé‡‘å‹‡å‡ºå¸äº†è¿™åœºç”±ä¸¹ç»’巴葛集选区的这个社区对è¯�会。
åœ¨å›žåº”æ—¶ï¼Œé¢œé‡‘å‹‡å¼ºè°ƒï¼Œæ–°åŠ å�¡å¼•入外æ�¥äººå£«ä¿ƒè¿›æ–°åŠ å�¡ç»�济å�‘展和ä¿�ä½�æ–°åŠ å�¡äººé¥ç¢—之间,需è¦�å�–得平衡。
他说:“外国人(å¯¹æ–°åŠ å�¡)是é‡�è¦�的,但我们还需è¦�è®¾æ³•è®©æ–°åŠ å�¡äººæœ‰ç«žäº‰åŠ›ã€‚”
在对è¯�会结æ�Ÿå�Žï¼Œé¢œé‡‘å‹‡å‘Šè¯‰ä¼ åª’ï¼Œå¯¹äºŽè¿™ä¸€ä¸ªå°�时的对è¯�ä¼šä¸Šå‡ºçŽ°çš„ç´§å¼ ï¼Œä»–æ„Ÿåˆ°ä¸�惊讶。但他指出,æ�Žæ˜¾é¾™æ€»ç�†ä¹‹å‰�å·²ç»�对这些问题作了分æž�。
“这些情绪还会继ç»å˜åœ¨ï¼Œè¿™åœ¨ç»�æµŽè¡°é€€æ—¶æœŸæ›´åŠ çª�å‡ºï¼Œå› ä¸ºæ–°åŠ å�¡äººå�—到了影å“�。”
在对è¯�会上,一å��æ–°åŠ å�¡äººè¯´ï¼Œå¥¹åœ¨ç»�济衰退时一直在找工作。“为什么ä¸�能å�œæ¢å�‘出工作准è¯�ï¼Œè¿™æ ·å°±èƒ½è®©æ–°åŠ å�¡äººèŽ·å¾—å·¥ä½œæœºä¼šã€‚”
æ–°åŠ å�¡çš„五大政治风险
这是路é€�社今天整ç�†å‡ºæ�¥çš„æ–°åŠ å�¡çš„äº”å¤§æ”¿æ²»é£Žé™©ã€‚è™½ç„¶æ–°åŠ å�¡ä¸€ç›´è¢«è®¤ä¸ºæ˜¯äºšæ´²æŠ•资风险最å°�çš„ç»�济体。但下列政治风险还是值得关注。
æˆ‘å…ˆæŠŠè‹±æ–‡ç‰ˆè´´åœ¨è¿™é‡Œä¾›å¤§å®¶è®¨è®ºã€‚ä¸æ–‡ç¼–译版ç¨�å�Žæ��供。
FACTBOX-Five political risks to watch in Singapore
Singapore is widely seen as one of Asia's least risky investment destinations, a key ingredient in its success as a regional trade and investment hub.
Following is a summary of key Singapore risks to watch:
* SECURITY
Militants have long had Singapore in their sights -- a Jemaah Islamiyah plot for multiple attacks was uncovered in December 2001. Internal security and policing are far ahead of neighbouring states, but the escape of al Qaeda-linked militant Mas Selamat Kastari from prison was a lapse that showed security is not infallible. The port remains a key potential target, and an attack on it could cause global disruption. There is also the risk Singapore will see the emergence of more home-grown militants who would be better able to evade internal security.
Key issues to watch:
-- Assessments of strength and tactics of Jemaah Islamiyah and its offshoots. Most analysts believe the main JI movement has abandoned attacks on civilian targets, while the a violent splinter group was badly weakened after the death of its leader Noordin Mohammad Top. If this changes, the threat could rise.
* POLITICAL CHANGE
As Singapore evolves, calls for a more open political system with greater diversity of views are likely to intensify. Singapore's restrictions on opposition activity and freedom of speech will also come under increasing scrutiny. Markets will be watching whether the ruling People's Action Party can manage the transition to greater openness smoothly, and find the appropriate balance between greater openness and continued stability.
Key issues to watch:
-- Any sign of growing social pressure for political change.
-- Government response to pressure for change. The government says it will amend the constitution ahead of the next general elections in early 2010, to allow more opposition representation. But the change is not expected to have a significant impact.
* CORRUPTION AND LACK OF TRANSPARENCY
Preferential treatment shown to government-linked firms is a source of resentment and may deter some foreign investment. And while Singapore is regularly rated as one of the least corrupt countries in the world, there are concerns over the stunted nature of political debate, and a lack of transparency in some areas -- including the collapse of the plan to install Chip Goodyear to run Temasek in place of the prime minister's wife.
Key issues to watch:
-- Corruption rankings. Any sign that Singapore is slipping in global corruption rankings would dent the investment attractiveness of the city state.
-- Government policies. Long-term investors will be watching for any trend towards greater or less transparency.
* RELATIONS WITH NEIGHBOURS
Singapore-bashing is a sure-fire way to win political capital in many regional countries. Relations with Indonesia, Malaysia and Thailand in particular are often thorny, and are further complicated by Singapore's heavy investment in regional economies and its reliance on neighbours for some key resources. As the debacle over the purchase of Thailand's Shin Corp showed, careful management of relations with neighbours is necessary not just for Singapore's security but also for its economic prosperity.
Key issues to watch:
-- Any signs of a fresh flare-up in tension with Singapore's unruly neighbours.
* DEMOGRAPHICS AND RACE RELATIONS
Singapore saw deadly race riots in the 1950s and 1960s, and while considerable progress has been made in achieving racial harmony, some tensions remain. The issue is complicated by demographic issues -- the majority Chinese population is growing at a lower rate than minority Malays and Indians due to different birth rates, and the government has made repeated efforts to encourage citizens to have more children. Labour shortages mean the country has to rely on immigrant workers for many jobs.
Key issues to watch:
-- Any sharp rise of racial tensions or unrest. This is considered extremely unlikely.
Source: http://www.nanyangpost.com/forum/showthread.php?t=117179
æ�Žå…‰è€€è¦å‘Šï¼šå…³é—外æ�¥äººæ‰�大门是å�±é™©çš„
æ–°åŠ å�¡è®¯ï¼Œæ–°åŠ å�¡å‰�总ç�†ã€�内é˜�资政æ�Žå…‰è€€æ˜ŸæœŸå››è¦å‘Šæ–°åŠ å�¡äººï¼Œå…³é—外æ�¥äººæ‰�的大门是å�±é™©çš„。
æ�Žå…‰è€€åœ¨ä¸€ä¸ªæ¼”讲ä¸è¯´ï¼Œæ²¡æœ‰äº†å�—è¿‡è‰¯å¥½æ•™è‚²çš„å¤–å›½å±…æ°‘ï¼Œæ–°åŠ å�¡å°±ä¼šé�¢ä¸´ç»�济下滑的å�±é™©ï¼Œè¿™æ˜¯å› 为劳动力ä¸�够。
他说,外æ�¥ç§»æ°‘å¼¥è¡¥äº†æ–°åŠ å�¡ç”Ÿè‚²çŽ‡ä½Žé€ æˆ�的人å�£ä¸�足。
æ�Žå…‰è€€ä»¥æ—¥æœ¬ç™½å�‘人å�£ä¸ºä¾‹å�说,“他们拒ç»�接å�—移民,所以他们的ç»�济没有力,也缺ä¹�活力。”
ä¸�过,æ�Žå…‰è€€ä¹Ÿå�‘æ–°åŠ å�¡äººä¿�è¯�ï¼Œæ–°åŠ å�¡æ”¿åºœé�žå¸¸æ¸…楚è¦�ä¿�æŠ¤æ–°åŠ å�¡äººçš„利益。
他在丹绒巴葛集选区的国庆晚宴上告诉700å��基层领袖和居民,外国居民的数é‡�将会得到å°�心的控制,以维æŒ�æ–°åŠ å�¡çš„å“�质和价值。
æ�Žå…‰è€€åœ¨æ¼”讲ä¸ä¹ŸæŒ‡å‡ºï¼Œè™½ç„¶ä¸è‹±å�Œè¯çš„人æ‰�å�¯ä»¥æœ‰ç�†äºŽå’Œä¸å›½æ‰“交é�“,但这并é�žè¦�牺牲英è¯ï¼Œè‹±è¯ä¾�ç„¶æ˜¯æ‰€æœ‰æ–°åŠ å�¡äººçš„å…±å�Œè¯è¨€ã€‚
ç›®å‰�ï¼Œæ–°åŠ å�¡æœ‰å¤§çº¦168万外国人。
æ�Žå…‰è€€è¯´ï¼Œå…¶ä¸70%是临时居ä½�åœ¨æ–°åŠ å�¡çš„,他们æŒ�有的是需è¦�æ›´æ–°çš„ç¾è¯�,主è¦�是就业准è¯�ã€�S-准è¯�和工作准è¯�。其余的是永久居民。
å¤–å›½äººå¤ªå¤šå¯¼è‡´äº†æ–°åŠ å�¡äººçš„ä¸�满。
“有人抱怨说,新公民和永久居民抢走了我们工人的é¥ç¢—,甚至售货员æœ�务员ä¸�会å�¬è®²è‹±è¯ã€‚”
但æ�Žå…‰è€€è¯´ï¼š“我们å�ªæŽ¥å�—那些能æ��å�‡æ–°åŠ å�¡äººæŠ€èƒ½æ°´å¹³çš„移民。”“他们必须有技能,至少是ä¸å¦å’Œé«˜ç‰æ•™è‚²çš„人。”
æ¤å¤–,æ�Žå…‰è€€ä¹ŸæŒ‡å‡ºï¼Œæ–°å…¬æ°‘和永久居民和本地人的整å�ˆæ˜¯ä¸€ä¸ªæŒ‘战。这个过程的快慢,å�–å†³äºŽæœ¬åœŸæ–°åŠ å�¡äººçš„开放程度,以å�Šæ–°å…¬æ°‘适应并æˆ�ä¸ºæ–°åŠ å�¡ç¤¾ä¼šä¸€éƒ¨åˆ†çš„æ„�愿。
æ–°åŠ å�¡è®¯ï¼Œæ–°åŠ å�¡æ˜ŸæœŸå¤©æ—¶æŠ¥ä»Šå¤©æŠ¥é�“ï¼Œæ–°åŠ å�¡å�°æ—�社区“å°�å�°åº¦”,越æ�¥è¶Šå¤šçš„é¤�厅è�˜è¯·æ�¥è‡ªä¸å›½çš„外劳,主è¦�æ˜¯å› ä¸ºæ–°åŠ å�¡çš„å¤–åŠ³æ”¿ç–æ‰€è‡´ã€‚
报é�“说,在“å°�å�°åº¦”地区的15å®¶é¤�馆ä¸ï¼Œçœ‹åˆ°äº†11å��ä¸å›½å¤–劳在工作。
é¤�馆è€�æ�¿è¯´ï¼Œè¿™äº›ä¸å›½å¤–劳通常从事清æ´�工作,由于è¯è¨€é—®é¢˜ï¼Œä»–ä»¬æ— æ³•æ‹…ä»»æœ�务员。这些ä¸å›½å¤–劳æŒ�有工作准è¯�,æ¯�天平å�‡å·¥ä½œ10å°�时,月薪为1000新元左å�³ã€‚
之所以请ä¸å›½å¤–劳而ä¸�请å�°åº¦å¤–åŠ³ï¼Œæ˜¯å› ä¸ºæ–°åŠ å�¡æ”¿åºœçš„æ”¿ç–所致。
å› ä¸ºæ–°åŠ å�¡æ”¿åºœè§„å®šï¼Œæ–°åŠ å�¡æœ�务行业å�ªèƒ½ä»Žå‡ 个æ�¥æº�地è�˜è¯·æŒ�有工作准è¯�的外劳。这些国家和地区包括马æ�¥è¥¿äºšã€�香港ã€�澳门ã€�韩国ã€�å�°æ¹¾å’Œä¸å›½å¤§é™†ã€‚
æ–°åŠ å�¡æ˜¯åœ¨ä¸¤å¹´å‰�å…�许ä¸å›½å¤–劳在本地æœ�åŠ¡ä¸šå·¥ä½œçš„ã€‚å› æ¤ï¼Œ“å°�å�°åº¦”çš„é¤�馆也开始雇用ä¸å›½ç±�的清æ´�员工。
在实龙岗ç»�è�¥ç´ 食é¤�厅的37å²�çš„å®‰å·´æ‹‰å¹²è¯´ï¼Œæ–°åŠ å�¡äººä¹Ÿä¸�æ„¿æ„�在本地的å�°åº¦é¤�厅打工。他的é¤�厅ä¸çš„å…å��员工都是兼è�Œçš„ã€‚å› æ¤ï¼Œå½“政府å…�许ä¸å›½å¤–åŠ³åŠ å…¥æœ�务业å�Žï¼Œä»–è�˜è¯·äº†ä¸¤å��ä¸å›½å¤–劳从事清洗碗碟和清æ´�工作。
æ–°åŠ å�¡å�°åº¦é¤�厅è�”å�ˆä¼šä¼šé•¿å°šç©†æ ¹è¯´ï¼Œå��会的æˆ�员é¤�馆其实是希望è�˜è¯·å�°åº¦å¤–劳,但政府规定,æ�¥è‡ªå�°åº¦çš„员工å�ªèƒ½æŒ�有S准è¯�或就业准è¯�æ‰�能工作。这æ„�味ç�€ï¼Œè�˜è¯·å�°åº¦å¤–劳支付的薪金,æ¯�月至少需è¦�1800新元。
å› æ¤ï¼Œé™¤äº†è�˜è¯·æ�¥è‡ªå�°åº¦çš„厨师外,è�˜è¯·æ�‚务工,å�ªèƒ½è�˜è¯·æ�¥è‡ªä¸å›½çš„外劳。
本身有ç»�è�¥é¤�åŽ…çš„å°šç©†æ ¹è¯´ï¼Œä»–çš„é¡¾å®¢å¯¹ä¸å›½å¤–劳还是能接å�—的。但也有顾客质疑,为何ä¸�把è�Œä½�留给本地的å�°æ—�人士。
å�—访的ä¸å›½å¤–劳表示,ä¸�是他们自己选择到å�°åº¦é¤�厅工作的,而是劳务代ç�†å®‰æŽ’他们去的。
æ�¥è‡ªå�‰æž—çš„28å²�的常å�¶è¯´ï¼Œä»–åœ¨å°šç©†æ ¹çš„é¤�厅工作了两年了。他承认,è¯è¨€é—®é¢˜å’Œä¸�å�Œçš„æ–‡åŒ–背景,使他难以和å�Œäº‹æ²Ÿé€šï¼Œä»–å�Œæ—¶ä¹Ÿä¸�适应å�°æ—�的食物。
但是,也有ä¸å›½å¤–劳则刻苦å¦ä¹ ï¼Œé€‚åº”è¿™æ ·çš„å·¥ä½œçŽ¯å¢ƒã€‚
æ�¥è‡ªç¦�建的23å²�的林俊雄,两年å‰�就在实利基路的å�°åº¦é¤�厅打工。他开始å¦äº›æ·¡ç±³å°”è¯ï¼ŒçŽ°åœ¨å�¯ä»¥ä»Žäº‹æ”¶é“¶å·¥ä½œï¼Œç”šè‡³ä¹Ÿå�¯ä»¥ä¸ºé¡¾å®¢å�šå�°åº¦ç…Žé¥¼ã€‚
è¿™ä½�说淡米尔è¯çš„ä¸å›½å¤–劳引起了很多人的好奇,纷纷å‰�æ�¥è´ä¹°é£Ÿç‰©ã€‚
Friday, 27 June 2008, 5:00 pm | 3,661 views
Andrew Loh
Ministers scheduled to be given a third pay hike this year
If you ask me, the future is really shining for us… We will survive; this is a red dot, which we can make redder and brighter. (MM Lee, 2006)
We are into a period of good economic growth and social development… If there are no wars or oil crises, this golden period can stretch out over many years… (Singapore in a golden period, says MM Lee, 2007),
Mdm Soh (not her real name) is more than 70 years old and has been working as an office cleaner for more than a year. Her daily routine starts at 7am and ends at 5pm, which means she puts in 10 hours of work, including a one hour lunch break. She works five and a half days per week – 55 hours in all.
She is paid $650 per month.
$2.95 per hour.
In January 2008, the Minister for Health, in advocating for the implementation of means testing starting at the median income, cited the figure of $2,170 for full-time employed residents. Mdm Soh clearly is not in this income bracket, even though she works full time.
Mdm Soh says that she started work when she was 10 years old, doing various jobs over the years. Although she finds life tough with the current rate of record inflation, she declines help from her children. “They also have their families,” she says. “I’ll just make do with what I have. I don’t go out except for work and maybe once in a while I buy a little 4D”, she says in Teochew, referring to the lottery. She quickly adds that she spends “at the most just one dollar’s worth” on the lottery.
The elites – a third pay hike
At the other end of the spectrum, top Government ministers had their salaries increased twice in 2007, the second one in December of that year. According to a Straits Times report:
Under the revised salary package announced by the Public Service Division (PSD) on Thursday, ministers at the starting grade will take home $1.94 million next year – an increase of 21 per cent over this year’s $1.6 million.
Also in the same report:
With the pay revision, the annual salary for President SR Nathan will go up from $3.1 million this year to $3.87 million in 2008, the Prime Minister’s from $3.09 million to $3.76 million, ministers and senior permanent secretaries, from $1.593 million to $1.94 million, entry superscale grade Admin officers, from $384,000 to $398,000 and MPs, from $216,300 to $225,000.
The Prime Minister’s salary was increased by $670,000 per year. That is about $55,833 per month. The PM’s salary is currently $3.76m per year ($313,333 per month).
According to the Reuters news report, “Singapore’s economic boom widens income gap” (9 November, 2007):
“The proportion of Singapore residents earning less than S$1,000 (US$690) a month rose to 18 percent last year, from 16 percent in 2002, central bank data released late last month show… and Singapore’s Gini coefficient, a measure of income inequality, has worsened from 42.5 in 1998 to 47.2 in 2006, and is now in league with the Philippines (46.1) and Guatemala (48.3), and worse than China (44.7), data from Singapore’s Household Survey and the World Bank show”.
The Government is expected to announce a third salary increase for civil servants, including ministers, later this year, as part of a three-step effort to close the gap in the benchmark for ministers’ salaries. This was explained by Minister in Charge of the Civil Service, Teo Chee Hean, on the 9th of April, 2007:
Salaries at the MR4 Grade are currently at 55% of the benchmark. Given the large gap, it is not realistic to close the gap fully in one go. Instead, we will close half of the current gap, that is, from 55% of the benchmark, to 77% of the benchmark by the end of this year.
This will be effected in two steps – one step now, and another step at the end of this year. Next year, we aim to close half of the remaining gap, bringing salaries to 88% of the benchmark by end-2008.
(Sprinter)
What is the Government doing about the income gap for ordinary Singaporeans, especially the poor? It prefers to take a “targeted approach”, giving periodic handouts and assistance and schemes like the Workfare Income Supplement (WIS). The Government has dismissed suggestions for the institution of a minimum wage and has also regularly warned that “subsidies will not solve Singapore’s problems”.
Give our elderly a sense of peace and security
Yet, with the anticipated third increase in ministers’ salaries, which is already the highest in the world, Singaporeans are beginning to wonder if only the top few are reaping the rewards of the hard work which everyone had put in during the boom times.
As was asked in an earlier article on TOC, “Why have Singaporeans, with one of the highest savings rates in the world, become so dependent on government handouts to even just get by?” With regards to the latest handout as reported by Channel NewsAsia, Over 780,000 households to receive $134m of utility rebates, one wonders why such a huge number of Singaporean households need such handouts to pay their utilities.
Have Singaporeans, consistently ranked one of the hardest-working and overworked, suddenly become beggars with hands extended towards the Government all the time, even as they continue to strive and compete with foreigners?
Perhaps it is time to seriously consider a more institutionalised approach to closing the income gap, such as having a minimum wage policy, and give Singaporeans, especially the working elderly such as Mdm Soh, a sense of security and peace in their twilight years. This is more pertinent now as the Government is also encouraging Singaporeans to work for as long as one can. Minister Lim Boon Heng even urged Singaporeans not to think of retiring (Channel NewsAsia).
To have someone like Mdm Soh work for $2.95 an hour is, in all honesty, quite shameful for a country which regularly trumpets its economic achievements. But more importantly, it says something about how we value those who have given practically their entire lives helping Singapore become this “world-class” city which the Government now boasts about.
While chatting with Mdm Soh, she was very anxious not to be seen talking to me too long. “I have to get back to work, or else my boss will be looking for me”, she would periodically say. I could not help but wonder: Are our elderly so frightened of not being able to find jobs that they would accept any jobs offered to them, even if they do not pay them fairly?
As former NTUC Income CEO Tan Kin Lian said here:
I believe that local workers deserve to have an adequate salary for a hard day’s work. This salary has to be commensurate with the cost of living. It should be adequate for a worker to feed a family, at least in a frugal way. The worker should not be expected to work for 12 hours a day, and still not earn enough for the family.
Indeed, our elderly who put in full-time work should not be struggling to keep up, or made to work for less than what would be minimum wage, all in the name of “globalisation” or “competition”.
Otherwise, ministers should be prepared for a severe backlash if and when they increase their own salaries later this year – the third time in two years – by millions of dollars again.
It seems that this “golden era” which MM Lee declared we are in is only for a select group – and we also wonder whose future it is that is “really shining”.
Source: http://theonlinecitizen.com
ST Forum 4 April 2008
Elderly toilet cleaners a sad reflection of society here
Recently, I was at a toilet in a shopping centre when I noticed an elderly woman with a bent and crooked back trying to clean the floor while fashionable young women applied their lipsticks and checked their hairdos in the mirror.
I find this scene to be a sad reflection of society here, one that is played out daily in numerous shopping centres.
During the course of my travels through China, from rural Yunnan to cosmopolitan Shanghai, I never once encountered an elderly toilet cleaner. This is perhaps because in China, it is considered a stain on the family honour if your mother, grandmother or aunt has to clean toilets to support herself, so the elderly are usually supported by the family network.
The situation is the same in the Philippines.
Singapore seems unique in having the highest density of elderly toilet cleaners in the world, surely not an accolade to be proud of.
Although cleaning toilets is easy to learn, it is far from pleasant, given the bad toilet habits of Singaporeans.
Besides this, it is a job that may be hazardous for the elderly, who are more likely to suffer serious fractures should they slip on the wet toilet floor.
To resolve this situation, perhaps the Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports and the Ministry of Manpower can work together to consider the following suggestions:
· Survey these elderly cleaners to find out more about their financial and social situation, to see what sort of aid can be provided.
· Devise incentives for the proprietors of food outlets, supermarkets and childcare centres to employ these elderly folk in the preparation or packing of food instead.
· Increase the wages of toilet cleaners as unpleasant jobs should command a higher wage so that younger people would want to take them up.
· Allow foreign workers to do the job.
Encourage students in schools to empathise with toilet cleaners and practise good toilet habits by periodically making them clean school toilets.
Dr Anne Chong Su Yan
Posted by LuckySingaporean
Why we employ FT? Support LHL policy !!
Wednesday, 29 October 2008, 10:37 am | 3,149 views
Gerald Giam / Senior Writer
I happened to sit next to an older relative at a wedding dinner recently, when our conversation turned to politics.
My relative wondered why I had not followed my parents to Australia, and mused that he was considering moving there too. When I asked why, he cited the fear of political instability in Singapore.
That remark surprised me since Singapore is seen by many to be one of the most politically stable countries in Asia. We have had no change of government – violent or otherwise – since 1959.
When probed further, my uncle said he feared the opposition taking over in a freak election. I assured him that given the current state of the opposition, the PAP government will not be under any threat of losing an election within his lifetime. More importantly, I told him I trust Singapore voters to be wise enough not to vote a lousy party into power.
He countered by pointing out that even when the opposition had fielded “criminals” and slipper-wearing candidates, they were still able to garner 20 to 30% of the vote.
I explained, from my limited knowledge of electoral sociology, that in every election, there will be at least 20% of voters who are hardcore oppositionists and will vote for anyone who ran against the ruling party candidate. In Sembawang GRC where I live, 23% still voted for the Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) team sans party chief Chee Soon Juan, even though it was running against a relatively strong PAP team helmed by the likable and Chinese-speaking Health Minister, Khaw Boon Wan. That was the largest margin of victory for the PAP in that election.
However the gulf between 23% and 50% — the latter being the percentage necessary to win a seat outright — is huge. Even in the most closely contested constituency of Aljunied GRC in the 2006 General Election, the PAP’s 55% win against the Workers’ Party would be considered a landslide in most other democracies. Consider the UK’s Labour Party, which won the 2005 election with just 35% of the popular vote. Put in this perspective, the PAP’s 66.6% overall percentage in 2006 was a blowout victory.
My uncle admires the PAP for what they have achieved, not just for Singapore, but for him personally. Growing up in a one-room flat, and now living in a private apartment, he has seen a dramatic improvement in his standard of living over the past 40 years. He reserved stinging criticism for some of his peers who “live in bungalows” and are still so ungrateful as to grumble about the government.
I cautioned him that past performance is no guarantee of future success, as investors always say. Just because the PAP has governed well in the past, does not mean that it will continue to do so for eternity. My uncle agreed that no country has had a particular party govern forever.
In the short term however, he was supremely confident that the PAP’s recruitment process will ensure that only top-notch candidates are presented in each election. In contrast, he said, the opposition was happy to take anyone who had a degree and was willing to pay the election deposit, even if they had no “track record”.
“What is your definition of a track record?” I asked him. Many of the new PAP MPs don’t exactly have a very long resume either. Nevertheless, he was sure that with the many interviews they had undergone with party leaders, coupled with the background checks, PAP candidates would definitely meet the necessary criteria for political leadership.
I asked him if he would consider voting for a non-PAP candidate if he or she were more “qualified” than the PAP candidate.
After initially saying he would, he later reasoned that it would be impossible for an opposition candidate to be as qualified as his PAP opponent. Firstly, the PAP’s recruitment process would throw up only the best men in the country. Secondly, anyone worth their salt, who genuinely desired to serve the people and make Singapore a better place would join the PAP instead of the opposition.
He was of the view that a capable person would be “out of his mind” to join the opposition, and that people who joined the opposition did so only out of self-interest or ulterior motives. Why else would someone want to oppose such an “excellent” government? Apparently, joining the opposition in and of itself indicated a character flaw.
He dismissed the possibility that some principled individuals joined the opposition because they could not see themselves joining the PAP due to fundamental disagreements with the latter’s style of governance. He also did not see the price many opposition members paid for their political beliefs as worthy of much respect.
Our heated discussion went on and on. In the end it was time to go home and we had to agree to disagree.
What the opposition fails to see
While I was slightly dismayed to hear these words from an educated senior citizen like my uncle, I have no doubt that he represents a significant constituency of citizens who have a “rags-to-riches” story to tell.
His point of view is particularly instructive for our opposition.
From my past conversations with many opposition members, I get the sense that many of them joined because they felt a need to “check” the ruling party — nothing else.
And many of them think that just because they are not the PAP, and they shake a few hands and show up on Nomination Day, voters will choose them over their rivals.
This is a recipe for defeat — again and again, election after election.
What they fail to see is that the “swing” voters (i.e., those who may vote either way on Polling Day and who effectively decide the outcome of an election) are largely voting for a party to form the Government, not individuals who merely snap at the heels of the PAP behemoth.
Therefore, to win their vote, the opposition parties have to prove to these voters that they are competent and honest enough to lead the whole country, not just their ward, and will not end up flushing half a century of progress down the drain.
The opposition has two crutches that it always falls back on: One, that the unlevel political playing field created by the PAP makes it impossible to mount any significant challenge to it; and two, that good people do not step forward to join their parties.
These are both true to a great extent, but it should not stop the opposition parties from improving themselves internally, so as to present a more professional face to the voting public.
People want to hear different, and better ideas from the opposition on how to run the country, not just gripes about every little fault of the PAP.
It is not unusual that many Singaporeans hold the opposition to a higher standard than they do for the ruling party. After all, the opposition has no track record of successfully running a nation, and therefore has to prove they are twice as good as their PAP opponents before they will earn the vote.
It is my hope that our opposition will shift to a higher gear soon, and that more good men and women will join them. The next election is due by November 2011. With the economy heading south, it is likely that the Prime Minister will call for an election much earlier than that (since a poor economy generally favours the PAP over the opposition).
Time is running out, and the people’s hopes are slowly getting dashed. Can the opposition turn things around and dispel people’s fear of their success?
———–
转帖:ä¸å›½äººçœ‹æ–°åŠ å�¡äººï¼ˆAuthor:å�´éŸ¦æ��)
其实å‰�å�Žä¸�到15年,ä¸å›½äººçœ‹æ–°åŠ å�¡äººï¼Œå�°è±¡æœ‰äº†å¾ˆå¤§è½¬å�˜ã€‚10å¹´å‰�ä¸å›½äººå�¬åˆ°“æ–°åŠ å�¡”,脸上会有股很感兴趣的表情,跟ç�€ä¼šå¸¦ç‚¹ç¾¡æ…•说:“ä½ ä»¬äººæ°‘ç´ è´¨é«˜ã€‚”
è¿™“ç´ è´¨é«˜”ï¼Œé™¤äº†æ˜¯æ–°åŠ å�¡äººçˆ±å¹²å‡€ï¼Œè¿˜åŒ…括æ€�度文明,办事有效率,英è¯äº†å¾—。
ä½†æœ€è¿‘å‡ å›žï¼Œç�«è½¦ä¸Šé�‡è¿‡äº›æ�žå¤–贸的ä¸å›½äººï¼Œåœ¨ä»–们以为我å�ªæ˜¯å�—æ–¹äººçš„æƒ…å†µä¸‹ï¼Œå°±å¥½å‡ æ¬¡å�¬åˆ°ä»–ä»¬å¯¹æ–°åŠ å�¡äºº“耳目一新”的看法。
尤其是从上海回北京那次,é�‡ä¸Šä¸€ä¸ªå›½é™…会计公å�¸çš„è�Œå‘˜ï¼Œä»–就对最近领导è�˜è¯·ä¸€å®¶æ–°åŠ å�¡ä¼šè®¡å…¬å�¸æ�¥ç›‘察数个项目的æ“�作,感到很ä¸�以为然。
他说,“å¼€å§‹æˆ‘ä¹Ÿä»¥ä¸ºæ–°åŠ å�¡å…¬å�¸æœ‰å¤šèƒ½è€�,看下去也ä¸�è¿‡å°”å°”ï¼Œä»–ä»¬æ ·æ ·äº‹æƒ…å°±æ˜¯æŒ‰ç…§æ¨¡å¼�进行,还真ä¸�会转弯。而且他们总是嫌这个嫌那个,以为懂英文就是处于一个高角度,其实就那两下å�çš„æ»å¦é—®ã€‚英è¯ä¹Ÿä¸�è§�得真有规范水平。”
å�ˆä¸€å›žå�¬åˆ°åŒ—京人说:“ä¸�知é�“他们是å�¦çœŸçš„æ²¡è¶£ï¼Œè¿˜æ˜¯ä»–们å�ªæ‡‚得计算和到办公室去上ç�。他们给人感觉åƒ�是没劲,什么都ä¸�懂,既æ�¥ä¸å›½å�šç”Ÿæ„�,连湖å�—æ²³å�—是两个地方的认识都没有。”
在一些ä¸å›½äººçœ¼é‡Œï¼Œæ–°åŠ å�¡äººå¥½åƒ�å�˜äº†ï¼Œå�˜å¾—跟他们“久闻大å��”的货ä¸�å¯¹åŠžã€‚ä½†æ›´æ‚²å“€æ˜¯äº‹å®žä¸Šå°±æ ¹æœ¬æ²¡å�˜è¿‡ï¼Œæ–°åŠ å�¡äººæ²¡å�˜ï¼Œæ˜¯ä¸å›½äººçš„眼界ä¸�å†�是å��å¹´å‰�çš„çœ¼ç•Œï¼ŒæŠŠæ–°åŠ å�¡äººçžªä¹…äº†ï¼ŒçœŸç›¸ä¹Ÿå°±è¶Šçžªè¶Šå¤§ç™½ã€‚å¦‚ä»Šçš„æ–°åŠ å�¡äººï¼Œå·²ä¸�是从å‰�那个亚洲神è¯�里的角色。
å› æ€•è›‡è€Œç•�绳
æ–°åŠ å�¡äººï¼Œå°±æ˜¯ä¸ªæ™®é€šçš„æµ·å¤–å�Žäººã€‚æ–°åŠ å�¡äººä»–概å�¬è¿‡å¤ªå¤šæœ‰å…³åœ¨ä¸å›½å�šç”Ÿæ„�的负é�¢ä¿¡æ�¯ï¼Œå¸¸å¸¸æ˜¾å¾—å› æ€•è›‡è€Œç•�ç»³ï¼Œä¹Ÿä¼¼ä¹Žå¯¹æ ·æ ·äº‹æƒ…æ›´å®¹æ˜“èµ·ç–‘å¿ƒï¼Œå› æ¤åŠžäº‹æ˜¾å¾—æ‹˜è°¨ï¼Œä¸�够ç�µæ´»ï¼Œç›¸å¤„èµ·æ�¥ï¼Œæ—¶æœ‰åˆ«æ‰ã€‚
æ–°åŠ å�¡äººæ˜¯ä¸€å��“应该论”ã€‚è¿™ä¸ªåº”è¯¥è¿™æ ·ï¼Œé‚£ä¸ªåº”è¯¥é‚£æ ·ã€‚å�ªè¦�åŽŸæœ¬åº”è¯¥é‚£æ ·çš„ä»¥ä¸�åº”è¯¥é‚£æ ·çš„æƒ…å†µå‡ºçŽ°ï¼Œä»–å°±é˜µè„šä¹±äº†ï¼Œå‡ ä¹Žä¸�懂如何应付,这包括在处ç�†å•†åŠ¡ï¼Œå¾…äººæŽ¥ç‰©ï¼Œç”šè‡³å¹³æ—¥çš„ç¤¾äº¤ç”Ÿæ´»æ–¹é�¢ï¼Œç”šè‡³å�œä¸€éƒ¨è½¦ï¼ŒåŽ»ç¼´ä¸€ä¸ªä»€ä¹ˆè´¹ç”¨ç‰ç‰ã€‚æ–°åŠ å�¡äººå¸¸å¸¸éƒ½ä¼šä»¥ä»–自己社会上那ç§�ç§�çš„“ä¹ æƒ¯æ³•”æ�¥å†³å®šä»–人应该拥有的水平。
æ–°åŠ å�¡äººæ²¡æœ‰å¾ˆå¥½çš„æ–¹å�‘感。在上海,北京,深圳这些城市还勉强足以应付,但跟他讨论ä¸å›½çš„å�„个çœ�县市场,他就有点茫然,地图在他é�¢å‰�æ‰“å¼€ä»–ä¹Ÿæ— æ³•è®¾æƒ³è·�离。地ç�†æ„Ÿä¸�足,会直接影å“�一个人的胸怀和眼界,但他并ä¸�知é�“自己有这方é�¢çš„弱点。
æ–°åŠ å�¡äººä¹Ÿæ²¡æœ‰å®�观的时代感。他对ä¸å›½çš„认识å�ªæ˜¯“ç»�济起飞å�Žçš„ä¸å›½æ¦‚况”。他ä¸�能ç�†è§£ä¹Ÿæ²¡æœ‰æ¸ é�“去ç�†è§£ä¸å›½äººçš„现时心æ€�。他以为所有的历å�²å�ªä¸�过是一ç§�过程。他的历å�²æ„Ÿå�‘æ�¥å°±ä¸�强,ä¸�看é‡�如何摘å�–历å�²ä¸çš„ç»�验,也ä¸�会明白历å�²å¯¹æ—¶ä»£çš„æ„�义。
æ–°åŠ å�¡äººä¹Ÿè®¸æ˜¯ä¸ªå¾ˆå¥½çš„员工,但ä¸�懂得分æž�时机。他ä¸�å¤§çœ‹ä¹¦æŠ¥ï¼Œå°¤å…¶æ˜¯ä¸æ–‡ä¹¦æŠ¥ï¼Œæ‰€ä»¥åœ¨ä¸å›½å�šç”Ÿæ„�,他看得并ä¸�远。
æ–°åŠ å�¡äººä¹Ÿè®¸æ˜¯ä¸€ä¸ªç”Ÿå‘½å¾ˆå�•调的人。å�ªæ‡‚å¾—å�šç”Ÿæ„�,å�ªæƒ³ç�€å�šç”Ÿæ„�,也å�ªä¼šå�šç”Ÿæ„�,生活视点竟是难以想åƒ�çš„ç‹çª„。他ä¸�介æ„�å�‚观文化演出,但从æ�¥æ²¡æƒ³è¿‡è¦�如何å†�作深入些欣èµ�。
é�‡ä¸Šæ–°åŠ å�¡äººæœ‰å…´è¶£çš„场é�¢,他会站在å‰�é�¢ç•™å½±çºªå¿µï¼Œä½†ä¸�æ„¿æ„�è¿›å…¥èƒŒæ™¯çš„æœ¬è´¨é‡ŒåŽ»çœ‹çœ‹ã€‚ä»–çš„ç”Ÿæ´»å‡ ä¹Žæ˜¯åˆ†äº†ç‚¹é¡¹æ�¥ä¾�æ¬¡è¿›è¡Œçš„ï¼Œå› æ¤ä»–挺没趣,没è¯�题,没劲,上ç�è¦�å�¬äººå¼€ä¼šå°±ç™½çº¸é»‘å—å�‘开会通告,下ç�就回家上网。
æ–°åŠ å�¡äººä»¥ä¸ºé™Œç”Ÿçš„大城市治安都会有点问题,也许10点钟就乖乖上床ç�¡è§‰ä¼šæ¯”较ä¿�é™©ã€‚æ–°åŠ å�¡äººè·Ÿä»Šå¤©æŽ¥è§¦é�¢ä¸�æ–æ‰©å®½ã€�眼界开阔了的ä¸å›½äººï¼ŒçœŸæ˜¯å¤ªä¸�ä¸€æ ·ã€‚
How to break the ice? å�‡å¦‚æ–°åŠ å�¡äººæœ¬èº«å†…容ä¸�足,冰èž�化了也ä¸�一定有利于å�°è±¡ï¼Œå†°èž�了就一滩水。