Originally posted by Shaahs84:dubai is a rising monster in the world...singapore is surely less competetive...dubais policies are so huge that with in 5 years it will be much much much ahead of singapore...
Considering what i've read of Dubai's sewage problems i can't really see that happening.
Of course, it also depends on what you define as being ahead.
well i visited singapore in 1999 and then in 2004 and found it pretty much the same...i visited dubai in 2000 and when i visited in 2002 i couldnt recognise...i am dubai right now on a business trip and believe me...i cant believe i am in the place i came in 2002...dunno how it will be when i come in 2011
So be it, if dubai goes up, isn't it go for us too, same goes to China, at first we were worry about Chinese coming up, but MM enlightened us that China coming up is actually an opportunity for us, it is of great blessing that we had a multi-racial society, the chinese can tap on China progression, the Indians can tap on India progress and the Muslims can alway tap on the Arab business opportunity. So, if we look at competition in another way, we actually gain from it.
Any country great economy blom is not going to say that someone will fall, we ride the wave of the boom by servicing and provide auxillaries industrial for them, and in turn, we also enjoy the fruit of the booming, but if you are to negatively sit there and complaining about competition here and there, you are just killing yourself.
China economy upsurge itself had brought upon great economy for Asia, even Taiwan, Korea and Japan gain from it tremedously. The south americans had benefit very much from USA economy blooming period too. So, in conclusion, we should embrace any economy that is moving up by networking and doing business with them.
Originally posted by redDUST:it doesn't take an old dick to know that singapore latched on taiwan's offer of a military training facility because it was a marriage of convenience. taiwan was yearning for any form of recognition and singapore needs a military training base. of course there is this big brother USA which is also selling military wares to taiwan to balance off the chinese communists threat then. singapore can always hide behind US's ass if there is any blow-ups.
the geo-politics in the 70s & 80s were very different. china wouldn't bat an eyelid on singapore then.
today, it is a different political proposition. if china (want to) force singapore's hand, the latter would withdraw unconditionally out of taiwan. but of course china won't. after all, what is singapore to china? singapore is like another wanna-be BFF to paris hilton; eager to impress at any cost.
singapore in fact has scale back it's military training in taiwan in the last decade; in favor for more `non-confrontative' locations like USA, australia and soon india.
and of course, nothing is for free. singapore pays considerable $$$ to these countries facilitating land areas for the training. on the account of diplomatic ties alone, singapore can't find a square foot of sand to set foot in.
lastly, you need to get your timeline right before you gloat.
singapore started its military training exercise in taiwan in 1975, and established diplomatic ties with china only in 1990.
post-1990, especially of late, singapore will not make a big deal out of conducting its military exercise in taiwan. in fact, singapore `diversified'.
you bringing it up and beaming about how singapore can maintain and balance both ties will only make the singapore defence ministry's guys cringe.
it's so 1970s....
The fact remains, singapore has not moved out of Taiwan, and it has not much headway into Malaysia and Indonesia, and have to go all the way to india and even south africa.
Singapore actually doesn't need to keep the training camp in Taiwan. It can easily move to Guangxi and Yunan province, which was offered to us but rejected. Why are we continuing to keep the risk to antangonize china? what is taiwan to us? Obviously something hasn't changed since the 70s
Originally posted by sgdiehard:The fact remains, singapore has not moved out of Taiwan, and it has not much headway into Malaysia and Indonesia, and have to go all the way to india and even south africa.
Singapore actually doesn't need to keep the training camp in Taiwan. It can easily move to Guangxi and Yunan province, which was offered to us but rejected. Why are we continuing to keep the risk to antangonize china? what is taiwan to us? Obviously something hasn't changed since the 70s
U never read history ar?? Taiwan is kuomintang, a USA supported party, obviously, we, as supporters of America democrary and military, cannot anyhow put our army in a communist land.
angel7030
one kilo hum...i want the big ones only!!!and i want the ones still moving wiv mouth wide open one!!!
Nani Nani Poo Poo..shit hitman!!! hit you head!!
Originally posted by sgdiehard:The fact remains, singapore has not moved out of Taiwan, and it has not much headway into Malaysia and Indonesia, and have to go all the way to india and even south africa.
the deeper question is why singapore hasn't moved out of taiwan? or set up base in china?
it is for good reasons.....
Originally posted by angel7030:
U never read history ar?? Taiwan is kuomintang, a USA supported party, obviously, we, as supporters of America democrary and military, cannot anyhow put our army in a communist land.
USA supports kuomintang? ROC wasn't kuomintang for 8 yrs. We don't put our base in Taiwan because of US, if we pull out of Taiwan, where we go is another issue, not likely China, communist or not.
Why do Singaporeans keep complaing about foreign Talent ? I am a Singaporean working overseas. Lived and worked in many countries. Singapore has no resources to speak of, no man power to back the economy. if we do have the brains to work out a solution. Singapore will not be a clean and politically safe country to invest in. How many singaporeans are working for foreign invested companies in Singapore? All the major banks, Biotech companies. Yes, they do recruit foreigners in their companies as well but most for manufacturing sector where no young singaporean wants to work in a factory. No young Singapore is able to withstand hardships.
Apparently. LKY's policy is the only workable policy now. dont think he has a better choice
Originally posted by sgdiehard:USA supports kuomintang? ROC wasn't kuomintang for 8 yrs. We don't put our base in Taiwan because of US, if we pull out of Taiwan, where we go is another issue, not likely China, communist or not.
Aiya, Uncle, you anything about international relationship or not, there are many confidential and sensitive issue in putting your army in a country. If malaysia allow us, indonesia may not be happy, and the people of malaysia may feel threatened, likewise, if you put our army in Indonesia, thailand or mynamar, surely, sensitively will be there to be reckon with, so dun play play hor.
Singapore army is not new to ROC, long long i saw sg ah bing ke training in taiwan already, that time was kuomintang, democrats, fully supported by americans, is it not that we dun go s korea or japan, it is too cold for us, and korea is dangerous with language barrier too. The high echelons decision is to co ordinate all these above mentioned country, including Thailand as a military influence to deter Muslim and Communist invasion, of course, with America as the big brother.
Originally posted by angel7030:
Aiya, Uncle, you anything about international relationship or not, there are many confidential and sensitive issue in putting your army in a country. If malaysia allow us, indonesia may not be happy, and the people of malaysia may feel threatened, likewise, if you put our army in Indonesia, thailand or mynamar, surely, sensitively will be there to be reckon with, so dun play play hor.Singapore army is not new to ROC, long long i saw sg ah bing ke training in taiwan already, that time was kuomintang, democrats, fully supported by americans, is it not that we dun go s korea or japan, it is too cold for us, and korea is dangerous with language barrier too. The high echelons decision is to co ordinate all these above mentioned country, including Thailand as a military influence to deter Muslim and Communist invasion, of course, with America as the big brother.
what are we arguing? malaysia don't want our soldiers on their land, not because they are worried about indonesia. we have camp in thailand, but we won't have any military tie with the burnese junta, vietnam training areas would be full of mines left during the vietnam war, not safe for us, china remains communist politically, and we could be construed as the third china if we have soldiers trained there, not acceptable to us and our neighbors, besides, we don't want our equipments, mostly fromt the US to be exposed to china. there are many different considerations.
who is talking about muslim and communist invasion?
go and handle your groups of international girls...still waiting for the US sailors?
Originally posted by sgdiehard:what are we arguing? malaysia don't want our soldiers on their land, not because they are worried about indonesia. we have camp in thailand, but we won't have any military tie with the burnese junta, vietnam training areas would be full of mines left during the vietnam war, not safe for us, china remains communist politically, and we could be construed as the third china if we have soldiers trained there, not acceptable to us and our neighbors, besides, we don't want our equipments, mostly fromt the US to be exposed to china. there are many different considerations.
who is talking about muslim and communist invasion?
go and handle your groups of international girls...still waiting for the US sailors?
I am referring back to history, in the late 70s and 80s, i believe we already engaged with communism, and if you tell me muslim (referring to those extremist) are not a worrying issue, I think our National security agency can retrench peoples liao.
Economy is different from military perspective, if we go into China, what happen is, American, South korea, taiwan and japan diplomatic relationship will be chaos, for that we are not going to loose all these ties. So, inorder to save the bruises, we better stay status quo and nothing happen, by the way, our forces are disintergrating, with lesser birth and boys been born due to weak Singapore men, next time Tekong and Ubin can already, dun waste so much tax payer money ya
hoi!!!
laksa beehoon ooo borr!!hoi char bor!!get me a tiger while doin da laksa!!!
and add more hum and chilli in da laksa....!
give me mee siam mai hum....and a glass of Singapore Sling without lime
very sorry to jump in the middle again...but if not cuz of china, singapore would have still been a part of malaysia...and pity that singapore thinks of competing with China...very sorry again and no offense to anyone please just taking about the ground reality...singapore cannot even stand near in the race with china...
Singapore following the Americans and trying to compete with China...believe me when china will run over you...no america or any other country will come to protect you...
I like Singapore personally but sorry again if you think singapore is competing with someone like china...singapore competing with Shanghai or Hongkong is possible but no way China...
in btw the point of oppertunities being created is correct...
Originally posted by sgdiehard:I dont judge who are the smart, the brave nor the arrogant, but the arrogant who is quick identify himself only shows that he is not only arrogant, he is also foolish.
Is there standard philisophy? hahaha...do not think what you believe is standard, the world out there is more varied and different than your little brain.
there are problems that I cannot resolve, for it is beyond my ability, for it does not impact me as much as it would impact others,...going around a problem does not solve the problem. You just avoid the negative impact of the problem. the problem remains there, and those who do not know how to avoid it will still be affected by it. so a) and b) are not the same.
So you think running to america will solve the problem brought about by the FT policy in Singapore? NO, the problem is still there, many singaporeans in singapore are still affected by it, the problem is not solved just because you ran away to america. complaining and whinning behind the comfort of your room behind the computer is NOT the action needed to solve the problem, period.
Singapore get burnt in China and Taiwan affairs? hmmm....we are still the only country with diplomatic relationship with PRC but military tie with ROC. The political world is more complicated than what your limited brain can imagine.
I suggest you better back off before I start quoting the standard philosophy's originator. Playing punk with philosophy is like playing with fire, because I can see you don't even know there is such thing as standard philosophies
Your posting again reflects your arrogance. You better do some self-examination, before you embarass yourself even further. The more you respond, the more arrogant you have become, thereby becoming Type (c) (according to your own twisted philosophy)
And you are displaying your ignorance of philosophies. Resolution of an issue does not meant removing the issue as an obstacle, but entails how you work past the issue, regardless of the method. Your feeble attempt to defend your twisted philosophy only goes to show how you take philosophies on a superficial level, and not being able to see that philosophies are NOT rules, but is a flexible way of viewing how to live life
Your hands are getting more and more burnt as we speak.
And given the last statement, I trust you don't even read the news, when our leader took a trip to Taiwan, got the flak of China, said he was there to help China work with Taiwan, got the flak of Taiwan.
Arrogance with ignorance. Even worse than ignorance. Kindly go educate yourself more before you come here to post.
By the way, is it your intention to insult all Singaporeans outside of Singapore? Just because we are overseas do not mean we are not concerned with the issues of our friends at home. What gives you the right to make a comment about overseas Singaporeans being "running away" to other countries, and that we are "in the comfort of our room" complaining?
This is the greatest display of arrogance of them all. You belong truly to the Type (c) in your twisted philosophy.
And, some people don't run overseas. Some people go overseas because they are invited to, so kindly stay off this topic if you are ignorant about it.
Originally posted by Anon123:soul_rage from ur posts i can see that ur a pesimist and have very negatives feelings on other peoples perspective and try so hard to pin those who u have negative feelings against down.You failed ur education.Uni student still. hais God bless you. Forgive me for my spelling.I know nothing about philosphies.my perspective:Your jus someone who will fail in your job,people will dislike you,Fail EQ.Pathetic. -----I aint gona return to see ur reply. This is my perspective of you.
No hard feelings to you, since you are only 13 yo, just joined this forum this month, and haven't understood the attitude of xtreyier and sgdiehard, who always blame Singaporeans rather than the govt, for problems in Singapore.
Whether I am successful or not, is not related to you. After all, I am experiencing life outside of SG now, so my perspectives are much better about how things are going on in SG.
Originally posted by Anon123:soul_rage from ur posts i can see that ur a pesimist and have very negatives feelings on other peoples perspective and try so hard to pin those who u have negative feelings against down.You failed ur education.Uni student still. hais God bless you. Forgive me for my spelling.I know nothing about philosphies.my perspective:Your jus someone who will fail in your job,people will dislike you,Fail EQ.Pathetic. -----I aint gona return to see ur reply. This is my perspective of you.
Very perceptive of you, regardless if you are a young adult or a senoir citizen. Guess some stuff are just so plain to see that there can be no hiding.
Bodes well for you and your future, at least you are able to identify points and rather than to indulge in blame games like him - blaming and humiliating ineffectively everyone else who disagrees with him, denigrate fellow citizens and their elected officials of the majority - the only thing he is capable of, you will be in a better position to discuss and find a solution and help our society.
Cheers.
Originally posted by xtreyier:Very perceptive of you, regardless if you are a young adult or a senoir citizen. Guess some stuff are just so plain to see that there can be no hiding.
Bodes well for you and your future, at least you are able to identify points and rather than to indulge in blame games like him - blaming and humiliating ineffectively everyone else who disagrees with him, denigrate fellow citizens and their elected officials of the majority - the only thing he is capable of, you will be in a better position to discuss and find a solution and help our society.
Cheers.
You finally found ONE supporter that is 13yo, and you are so elated.
Congrats! Have you asked the rest in this forum what they think of you, by the way?
Foriegn policies are complex and rather sensitive issues. As long as it doesnt interfere with our daily lives, most will just allow the status quo to remain. Are americans demostrating on the streets and the mall in Washington over China-Taiwan issue? Are americans demostrating over China human right abuses, stop their trade anytime recently?
None at all. Foriegn policies requires much tact, diplomacy and patience over time to achieve aims. It cannot be achieved overnight or rushed. China is not doing any harm to Taiwan such as embargoes, cutting critical lifelines that demand immediate arm conflict to resolve. No, none of these are happening.
There is no need to be overly concern with conflicts. Let diplomacy and time takes its course. Let diplomats do their jobs with our encouragement and support, rather than to play diplomat. The pompous Soul_rage will piss off everyone in the room with his attitude, just let him be. Safer him here than on the stage, if he can even make it as a doorman at international conferences.
We have more critical issues such as trade and putting food on our tables in this recession.
Originally posted by soul_rage:
You finally found ONE supporter that is 13yo, and you are so elated.Congrats! Have you asked the rest in this forum what they think of you, by the way?
Supporter? Did he mention me in anyway? Are you that shallow in your perceptions? Do you hate them so much for simply disagreeing with your views that you must humiliate or denigrate them as kids, or supporters of this or that person? Are they not allowed to have a mind of their own?
But that's typical of you, and its getting too familiar of what you really are and stand for. Stick to humiliating me with your best efforts, clown, and leave the others alone, free to speak their mind. You dont own this site, oaf.
Originally posted by xtreyier:Foriegn policies are complex and rather sensitive issues. As long as it doesnt interfere with our daily lives, most will just allow the status quo to remain. Are americans demostrating on the streets and the mall in Washington over China-Taiwan issue? Are americans demostrating over China human right abuses, stop their trade anytime recently?
None at all. Foriegn policies requires much tact, diplomacy and patience over time to achieve aims. It cannot be achieved overnight or rushed. China is not doing any harm to Taiwan such as embargoes, cutting critical lifelines that demand immediate arm conflict to resolve. No, none of these are happening.
There is no need to be overly concern with conflicts. Let diplomacy and time takes its course. Let diplomats do their jobs with our encouragement and support, rather than to play diplomat. The pompous Soul_rage will piss off everyone in the room with his attitude, just let him be. Safer him here than on the stage, if he can even make it as a doorman at international conferences.
We have more critical issues such as trade and putting food on our tables in this recession.
Yea, that's to you, putting food on the table, since you are nothing more than a small fry who is begging everyone to spend more to save you. You, who cannot even discern between saving and hoarding.
We have better things to do than you, since we take a longer term view on how problems in Singapore will impact everyone in the long-term. Foreign policies in Singapore will soon drive the locals to the edge.
Teach a man to fish, or give a man fish. I prefer the former. You on the other hand, want everyone to give you fish.