Originally posted by angel7030:
I am not been compacent, i got close friend working in PSA and NOL, so dun give me shit of your knowing, keep it to yourself , when 50 years down the road, we are still nos 1 and not even a grass at Kra was removed, then you can eat your words if you are still alive.I picture you the scenarios when Kra Canal is open, pirates will delighted to trade along the bay of bengal, India will fight for their right for toll, Mynamar will claim the Aceh sea lines to collect tax, so is Indonesia sumatra states, so is Thailand and malaysia, all would want a piece of the cake, and when that happen, as you know in these third world and militants countries, war will broke out leading to more damaging then gain. On the other side of the Kra, the line to east, South China sea, Thailand will be there, so are China, Vietnam, philippines, Malaysia and the Borneo states. It is a opportunity for them to collect toll and taxes if that Canal is open. In it, there are muslim, chinese, thais, mynamar juntas, aceh extremist, you name it.
So i hope you understand that why the Kra was never built in the first place, it is of the utmost national security and peace reason, the japs and koreans are more then willing to tender to built it, so are those western and russian contractors, but they knew that by building it, or before building it, a war will begin. So, dun play play with mei mei hor
It is not a surprise for a Taiwanese "hum" to imagine it has close friends in PSA and NOL - as the "hum" is in the habit of dropping names like the "hum" drops it filth as it travels across the sea bed with the help of PSA and NOL to arrive into Singapore.
The only pirates that will continue to appear when the Kra Canal open is probably the Taiwanese "hum" - which will surely open its Bar to the flood of sailors, and robbed them as they sleep with the Taiwanese "hum' and all its other "hums" that it recruit.
We can depend on the Taiwanese "hum" to believe that the Thai, Malaysian and the Indonesian Governments will be so incompetent to allow the sea pirates to threaten the success of the Kra Canal, but to let the Taiwanese "hum" to exist to steal.
Obviously, the Taiwanese "hum" must have forgotten that it had probably been eliminated with the Pirates of the Carribbean with the opening of the Panama Canal - when the US Navy, the Mexican Navy and Panamian Coast Guard became active to guard this new economic corridor.
What is the basis for the negative views ofl the Taiwanese "hum" that are merely based on simplistic reasons and will not accept the broader geo-political and other economic and social studies that have been concluded that have called for the canal to be built to overcome the congested Straits of Malacca ?
The reasons are quite obvious, as it is singing the tune of the PAP Government to kill the project - even as it will quietly make plans to find a role for Singapore in the project.
The Taiwanese "hum" is no more then another proxy tool used by the PAP to create clouds of hot gas to befuddle the issues and lull reasons of concern to sleep - and to maintain a picture perfect calm in the horizon for Singapore.
This is the ignorance that the Taiwnese "hum" can hope to spread that can only benefit the grip on a population whose voice has already been silenced and put into a corner, and is now even attempting to put a cap on critical thinking.
Originally posted by soul_rage:As I said, she has 16800 postings (more than you and I combined), but 90% of them are utter rubbish.
Imagine her commenting on maritime when she has absolutely no idea what is going on... sheesh
Back to the problem of foreign professional, the paper reported that due to the influx of foreign professional into this country, there were also about 5000 locals moving out of the country, out of these 5000, 1000 of them gave up their local citizenship n the rest of them managed to get PR of their neww countries.
I am not been compacent, i got close friend working in PSA and NOL, so dun give me shit of your knowing, keep it to yourself , when 50 years down the road, we are still nos 1 and not even a grass at Kra was removed, then you can eat your words if you are still alive.I picture you the scenarios when Kra Canal is open, pirates will delighted to trade along the bay of bengal, India will fight for their right for toll, Mynamar will claim the Aceh sea lines to collect tax, so is Indonesia sumatra states, so is Thailand and malaysia, all would want a piece of the cake, and when that happen, as you know in these third world and militants countries, war will broke out leading to more damaging then gain. On the other side of the Kra, the line to east, South China sea, Thailand will be there, so are China, Vietnam, philippines, Malaysia and the Borneo states. It is a opportunity for them to collect toll and taxes if that Canal is open. In it, there are muslim, chinese, thais, mynamar juntas, aceh extremist, you name it.
So i hope you understand that why the Kra was never built in the first place, it is of the utmost national security and peace reason, the japs and koreans are more then willing to tender to built it, so are those western and russian contractors, but they knew that by building it, or before building it, a war will begin. So, dun play play with mei mei hor
Sorry, you may claim what you want, but I don't buy that idea you have friends in PSA or NOL. I was personally from the maritime industry for several years, knowing people from NOL, PSA, Maersk, Evergreen, Cosco, etc.
If what you said was true, I would have known it long ago. In fact, the exact opposite was mentioned, that the Kra Canal is a risk.
Your scenarios about extremists, war, are nothing but wild speculations. In fact, its the dumbest remark I have ever read (xtreyier is ranked close to you). The thing is, I doubt you even know how investment works. Whichever investors who invest into this project will naturally have a stake in the results of the project. Therefore whoever wants to collect tolls, etc, will have to invest.
It's just pure economic decisions, full stop. What rubbish is this about everyone wanting to stake a claim on it? You think it's some island that was unhabited for years till someone found oil resources beneath it, that countries start to stake their claim? Even so, I haven't seen those being escalated into your so-called wars
I don't play with you, I just find you very ignorant. Fancy arguing about someone else's domain, when you know nothing about it. Fancy arguing and exposing your lack of knowledge in investments. You should just stick to pubs, rather than listen to rumours from people.
To end, I think you never even use your eyes to read. I told you PSA is ranked 3rd largest in the world. We are not 1st. And in 50 years, I do hope PSA still continues to be strong, NOT just in Singapore, but across the world (with its global expansion plans successful)
Originally posted by will4:
Back to the problem of foreign professional, the paper reported that due to the influx of foreign professional into this country, there were also about 5000 locals moving out of the country, out of these 5000, 1000 of them gave up their local citizenship n the rest of them managed to get PR of their neww countries.
Hey welcome back! Haven't seen you in a while.
I am one of the 5000 as well. But I don't think I will give up my citizenship, coz I am proud to be a Singaporean (not proud of our govt though)
well talking about kra canal, dun worry la. it wun be materialised anytime soon. Thailand doesn't have the means to do it now as the political situation not that stable yet also it do not have the funds needed to construct the canal, unless POTNETIAL ENEMY OF SG who is bent on bringing sg down willing to fund thailand on building the canal.
my penny thoughts
Originally posted by kengkia:well talking about kra canal, dun worry la. it wun be materialised anytime soon. Thailand doesn't have the means to do it now as the political situation not that stable yet also it do not have the funds needed to construct the canal, unless POTNETIAL ENEMY OF SG who is bent on bringing sg down willing to fund thailand on building the canal.
my penny thoughts
dear friend, it's not a matter of enemy of SG. It's a decision based on practical and economic benefits. To equate investors aiding the construction of the canal to being an enemy of SG, is likened to saying that just because we help China build a dam, means we are an enemy of USA. The world doesn't run like that, but is run based on practical needs and benefits.
The above also sounds like the rabbit that is close to the finishing line, falling asleep, while the tortoise catches up without the rabbit being aware. Like security, a corporation that is in an industry must be ever-vigilant of its competition and surroundings, and what is happening within its industry, in order to pro-actively react to reap the best benefits (or minimise its losses).
Any corporation that sleeps on this monitoring, or becomes complacent and not keep tabs of its surroundings, will very soon become a giant of yesterday, given the fast-paced nature of global trade
Sybase was a database company with lots of potential in its heyday, but made ONE SINGLE mistake that resulted in its immense fall in popularity. It failed to look around at its database competitors, and rejected SAP when SAP came to knock on its door requesting to build compatibility of SAP applications to Sybase (other database companies had agreed to it, including Oracle). The result is a massive loss of competitiveness when the next era of business computing (ERP), led by SAP, became the hottest thing in the industry (and still is now).
Originally posted by soul_rage:Sorry, you may claim what you want, but I don't buy that idea you have friends in PSA or NOL. I was personally from the maritime industry for several years, knowing people from NOL, PSA, Maersk, Evergreen, Cosco, etc.
If what you said was true, I would have known it long ago. In fact, the exact opposite was mentioned, that the Kra Canal is a risk.
Your scenarios about extremists, war, are nothing but wild speculations. In fact, its the dumbest remark I have ever read (xtreyier is ranked close to you). The thing is, I doubt you even know how investment works. Whichever investors who invest into this project will naturally have a stake in the results of the project. Therefore whoever wants to collect tolls, etc, will have to invest.
It's just pure economic decisions, full stop. What rubbish is this about everyone wanting to stake a claim on it? You think it's some island that was unhabited for years till someone found oil resources beneath it, that countries start to stake their claim? Even so, I haven't seen those being escalated into your so-called wars
I don't play with you, I just find you very ignorant. Fancy arguing about someone else's domain, when you know nothing about it. Fancy arguing and exposing your lack of knowledge in investments. You should just stick to pubs, rather than listen to rumours from people.
To end, I think you never even use your eyes to read. I told you PSA is ranked 3rd largest in the world. We are not 1st. And in 50 years, I do hope PSA still continues to be strong, NOT just in Singapore, but across the world (with its global expansion plans successful)
Since you said sorry, i accept your apologise, I only knew those stockbroker dealing with NOL shares, as for PSA, I got to know their former boss, Mr Stephen Lee on a party, he likes my Vietnam girls which i introduced to him, he took two of them up swissotel, very generous in giving tip, the gals love him, but he is out of PSA, some kind of employer chairmanship he is holding now. He told me the nos 1 sport if taking from month to month, it switches, sometime it is the holland port, sometime, the Chinese, and of course sometime is our port, it become very vague, but no doubt many still view us as one of the best. He is saying that all canal needs United Nation peace keeper to take care, because many vessels are at stake, it is not easy to mend and manage. Pananma canal is managed by the USA management with panama's govt, same goes to Suez, management by a group of European private enterprise, and all of them need protection.
In fact Asia had another problem in shipping line, be it suez or Strait of Singapore or kra, if the ice thining in the northern scandinavan melt at a rate of a singapore per year, another line will be create on the northern hemisphere, in fact, today, it is sailable, if that happen, trade and shipping route will have another option to move by the north, which is more faster and quicker. Then we are all history.
Since you said sorry, i accept your apologise, I only knew those stockbroker dealing with NOL shares, as for PSA, I got to know their former boss, Mr Stephen Lee on a party, he likes my Vietnam girls which i introduced to him, he took two of them up swissotel, very generous in giving tip, the gals love him, but he is out of PSA, some kind of employer chairmanship he is holding now. He told me the nos 1 sport if taking from month to month, it switches, sometime it is the holland port, sometime, the Chinese, and of course sometime is our port, it become very vague, but no doubt many still view us as one of the best. He is saying that all canal needs United Nation peace keeper to take care, because many vessels are at stake, it is not easy to mend and manage. Pananma canal is managed by the USA management with panama's govt, same goes to Suez, management by a group of European private enterprise, and all of them need protection.In fact Asia had another problem in shipping line, be it suez or Strait of Singapore or kra, if the ice thining in the northern scandinavan melt at a rate of a singapore per year, another line will be create on the northern hemisphere, in fact, today, it is sailable, if that happen, trade and shipping route will have another option to move by the north, which is more faster and quicker. Then we are all history.
Again, I doubt you got the correct info, and I seriously doubt you met Stephen Lee. The top port in throughput is usually between Hong Kong and Singapore in Asia. The maritime award of top ports are divided by region. In Asia, It's always either Hong Kong or Singapore (in fact, Hong Kong was ahead until just a few years back when we caught up).
China was never in the picture, their port operations cannot beat us at all. It's about how the port is being used. Hong Kong and Singapore are HUBS, many other ports are receivers.
In size, we are ranked 3rd. Hutchison is always 1st. So again, you did not get it right.
The northern hemisphere is a very recent thing, but the ice caps only melt every 6 months or less, therefore that route isn't open 100% of the time.
Originally posted by Stevenson101:Personally, given the mega projects that China has been doing i don't really think it's a technical issue that the Kra Canal can't be built. Even then, the Japanese would definitely be interested in giving the technical support for such a project since it imports pretty much all its raw materials and would benefit from a shorter route.
It's only a matter of whether China feels that the Malacca Straits is no longer a secured trade route and wish to opt for a route which is more easily defended and can't be cut off as easily. That is what i feel to be strategically important.
I can see the Kra Canal benefitting 5 countries - China/Japan/Korea/Thailand/Malaysia.
Personally i believe that social unrest stems primarily from poverty and that areas that run along trade routes tend to be more prosperous than those that aren't. Thus it benefits Thailand to have the Canal attract trade and investment into the area and hopefully more non Muslim Thais into the area to stablize the region.
Personally i think Malaysia would also benefit from having a trade route running so close to its Northern border. I went to Trengganu once, and got the impression that it was pretty much a backwater compared to the seemingly more prosperous West Malaysia.It could certainly gain by having goods flowing through the North East.
Of course, that is assuming that the Malaysian government could actually see things that way. But it is my impression that they are more interested in political infighting rather than make decisions of strategic importance.
But right now i think, the decision hinges on the currently cash rich China feeling secured enough with its relation with Thailand to have the Canal. I'm reckoning the recent political turmoil would have turn China off on the idea or perhaps China feels secured enough with its incoming 3 aircraft carriers.
And of course, that we're compliant enough not to give it cause for concern. They could do it, they just haven't got a good enough reason for doing it yet.
As it was rightly pointed out, technically building the canal is not an issue, the issue is its economic viabiblity. There is no lack of interested parties with the money to build, single handedly or as a group, the problem is the eventual control of the route which would on the soil of Thailand, as an alternative route through international water.
The other important issue is whether Thailand will have the political will settle the local problem and push through the project.
Malaysia will have to balance the benefits of a prosperous northern state, which is now under the PAS, with the loss of business for Port Klang and PTP. That should not affect much on the decision to build.
I fully agree that the greatest beneficiary of the project will be Thailand.
Despite all that, kray canal is an alternative to the congested malacca straits. The question to us has been what impact it would have on Singapore.
Singapore today is not a convenient port of call for vessels plying between the indian ocean and the pacific ocean, an R&R or a pee stop for sea faring sailors. Vessels which can take a short cut to its final destinations can also sail pass Singapore without stopping. But over the years Singapore has developed into a logistic hub where containers vessels could come with 15000 containers from Europe and re distribute to many other destinations in the region. With the kra canal, HK would be the ones who would rival Singapore for distribution in north asia. But port of Singapore would remains relevant to countries in SEA and Australia in such activities.
The oil refineries in Singapore will continue to boost the port and other marine activities rather than the other way round, Singapore remains the preferred bunkering port, and this is not likely to be replaced with a canal.
Kra canal can be an alternative to the Malacca straits, but a port at the entrance or the exit need to be built to replace PSA.
In summary, is kra canal technically feasible? yes. Is it economically viable? nobody say yes, yet. Will it affect Singapore? Sure; Will it wipe out PSA, no. Will it happen in the next 5 years? nothing that we’ve heard suggests that. So what do we need to do? probably nothing more than what is being done, unless there are other suggestions.
Should we be worried? Better be worried that Singapore could be ruined by a Tsunami, or an earthquake, or we would be accused of being complacent. Hehehe..
If only the Taiwanese "hum" will learn to keep its "hum" shut - no one will know it exist and will probably find it less obnoxious.
Since you said sorry, i accept your apologise, I only knew those stockbroker dealing with NOL shares, as for PSA, I got to know their former boss, Mr Stephen Lee on a party, he likes my Vietnam girls which i introduced to him, he took two of them up swissotel, very generous in giving tip, the gals love him, but he is out of PSA, some kind of employer chairmanship he is holding now.
If you are a professional "hum" - the least to be expected is some degree of professional confidentiality.
Why will you boast of "Mr Stephen Lee likes my Vietnam girls" - "took two of them up swissotel, very generous in giving tip" ?
If nothing is more despicable, it is the social climbers that pretend to mix with the rich and famous and influential - and drop bombshells in the same manner that it spreads its filth as a "hum".
It is not surprising that Taiwanese politicians hate Singapore politicians, and should we be surprised that a Taiwanese "hum" will wish to assassinate the reputation and good character of Mr Stephen Lee in this Speaker's Corner ?
He told me the nos 1 sport if taking from month to month, it switches, sometime it is the holland port, sometime, the Chinese, and of course sometime is our port, it become very vague, but no doubt many still view us as one of the best. He is saying that all canal needs United Nation peace keeper to take care, because many vessels are at stake, it is not easy to mend and manage. Pananma canal is managed by the USA management with panama's govt, same goes to Suez, management by a group of European private enterprise, and all of them need protection.
Did Mr Stephen Lee opened the cockle shell to talk cock to the insufferable vanity of a Taiwanese "hum" ?
The Suez Canal is the sovereign territory of Egypt and the Panama Canal is the sovereign property of Panama - what United Nation peace keeping force exist in these two canals ?
Which USA management is managing the Panama canal with the support from the Panamian Government ?
Which European private enterprise is managing the Suez Canal ?
The only protection that the Suez Canal and Panama Canal has is the protection that these are international water ways - and subject to international laws.
What other ignorant foolish views will the Taiwanese "hum' intend to offer with the idiocy to inflate its vanity ?
In fact Asia had another problem in shipping line, be it suez or Strait of Singapore or kra, if the ice thining in the northern scandinavan melt at a rate of a singapore per year, another line will be create on the northern hemisphere, in fact, today, it is sailable, if that happen, trade and shipping route will have another option to move by the north, which is more faster and quicker. Then we are all history.
How does the Taiwanese "hum" intend anyone to understand the meaning of its term "shipping line" ?
Does the Taiwanese "hum" intend shipping line to mean "shipping route" - or does the "hum" intend it to mean "shipping company" ?
If it cannot decide between "Asian had another problem in shipping line" and its idiocy in knowing that "trade and shipping route will have another option to move" - perhaps it is better for the Taiwanese "hum" to shut itself with the "cock in the cockle shell".
Originally posted by sgdiehard:As it was rightly pointed out, technically building the canal is not an issue, the issue is its economic viabiblity. There is no lack of interested parties with the money to build, single handedly or as a group, the problem is the eventual control of the route which would on the soil of Thailand, as an alternative route through international water.
The other important issue is whether Thailand will have the political will settle the local problem and push through the project.
Malaysia will have to balance the benefits of a prosperous northern state, which is now under the PAS, with the loss of business for Port Klang and PTP. That should not affect much on the decision to build.
I fully agree that the greatest beneficiary of the project will be Thailand.
Despite all that, kray canal is an alternative to the congested malacca straits. The question to us has been what impact it would have on Singapore.
Singapore today is not a convenient port of call for vessels plying between the indian ocean and the pacific ocean, an R&R or a pee stop for sea faring sailors. Vessels which can take a short cut to its final destinations can also sail pass Singapore without stopping. But over the years Singapore has developed into a logistic hub where containers vessels could come with 15000 containers from Europe and re distribute to many other destinations in the region. With the kra canal, HK would be the ones who would rival Singapore for distribution in north asia. But port of Singapore would remains relevant to countries in SEA and Australia in such activities.
The oil refineries in Singapore will continue to boost the port and other marine activities rather than the other way round, Singapore remains the preferred bunkering port, and this is not likely to be replaced with a canal.
Kra canal can be an alternative to the Malacca straits, but a port at the entrance or the exit need to be built to replace PSA.
In summary, is kra canal technically feasible? yes. Is it economically viable? nobody say yes, yet. Will it affect Singapore? Sure; Will it wipe out PSA, no. Will it happen in the next 5 years? nothing that we’ve heard suggests that. So what do we need to do? probably nothing more than what is being done, unless there are other suggestions.
Should we be worried? Better be worried that Singapore could be ruined by a Tsunami, or an earthquake, or we would be accused of being complacent. Hehehe..
No, it will not wipe out PSA, but if PSA had no foresight to expand its ports overseas and reduce its reliability on Singapore, then it would weaken considerably. Acquisition of a port or building a port is a long process, that spans years. Therefore PSA is very right in keeping very close tabs on the Kra Canal, so that it can react at the very first instance something happens. If you undermine that, you are undermining business fundamentals, in which, I got nothing else to say to you.
And may I remind you, most times, reports do not tell what is going on behind the scenes. Only people in the industry have more intimate knowledge.
And I think you did not notice, that the earthquake epicenter has been shifting nearer to Singapore for the past few years. From 700km in 2001 to the current 570km this year. That's a 130km shift in 8 years. If it continues at this rate, it will reach much nearer to us in another 16 years. So should you be worried, or you think it will NEVER happen, which is complacency thinking that Singapore will forever be disaster-free.
Originally posted by soul_rage:No, it will not wipe out PSA, but if PSA had no foresight to expand its ports overseas and reduce its reliability on Singapore, then it would weaken considerably. Acquisition of a port or building a port is a long process, that spans years. Therefore PSA is very right in keeping very close tabs on the Kra Canal, so that it can react at the very first instance something happens. If you undermine that, you are undermining business fundamentals, in which, I got nothing else to say to you.
And may I remind you, most times, reports do not tell what is going on behind the scenes. Only people in the industry have more intimate knowledge.
And I think you did not notice, that the earthquake epicenter has been shifting nearer to Singapore for the past few years. From 700km in 2001 to the current 570km this year. That's a 130km shift in 8 years. If it continues at this rate, it will reach much nearer to us in another 16 years. So should you be worried, or you think it will NEVER happen, which is complacency thinking that Singapore will forever be disaster-free.
PSA today is not just a harbor or a port, but a collective facilities and terminals for maritime trades. It handles conventional cargo, container cargo, bulk cargo, dangerous cargo, transshipment....and is connected to over 600 other ports in 123 countries spread over 6 containers. This doesn't take into considerations the shares of many ports it has acquired over the years. Is there anything else they should do in order not to be complacent?
so what are you doing now in case Singapore is struck by earthquake or tsunami?
when singapore destroyed , they can rebuild again, PAP is expereinced in this
Originally posted by ☃®:when singapore destroyed , they can rebuild again, PAP is expereinced in this
Exactly, that is call re-engineering
Originally posted by soul_rage:Again, I doubt you got the correct info, and I seriously doubt you met Stephen Lee. The top port in throughput is usually between Hong Kong and Singapore in Asia. The maritime award of top ports are divided by region. In Asia, It's always either Hong Kong or Singapore (in fact, Hong Kong was ahead until just a few years back when we caught up).
China was never in the picture, their port operations cannot beat us at all. It's about how the port is being used. Hong Kong and Singapore are HUBS, many other ports are receivers.
In size, we are ranked 3rd. Hutchison is always 1st. So again, you did not get it right.
The northern hemisphere is a very recent thing, but the ice caps only melt every 6 months or less, therefore that route isn't open 100% of the time.
Huh!!! what?? Hongkong.//my gosh, HKees are good in Shipping due to it business with china and act as a port for them, but today, Dailian and shanghai are there, u see shanghai port from potong or not, the design is exactly the same as singapore, and the stretch is like from Tuas to Changi and back again. Wah lau!!! still HK, Tong will be laughing if you said that HK is a major port today.
Stephen Lee can be met anything at those tripartite seminar, I am alway invited on behalf of my Dad SME business, we got the employers, we got MOM Gan Kim Yong, and we got that NTUC Sec Gen there too, he likes to joke alot. I mingled with them during networking period, why not??
As for the north Hemp, it is more appropriate for the West to move on that line, and moreover it is a natural opening and internation water, and it is happening, those ice breaker hull ships are trading on that line with Russia down into Japan. Unlike KRa which you have to built it with alots of political issues with countries wanting a piece of it, if not the surrounding seas territory.
China may not in the picture because of Corruption and Trust is not there, even Cosco trust PSA more than their own port, but once China get the system and Trust right, they will control the Pacific lines, and that is why NOL bought APL, an American Shipping company.
In term of trading directly with singapore, yes may loose to HK or Holland, because our populations dun demand that much of the goods, by in term of transitional trading services, we are nos 1, all over the world, put their goods in containers here waiting to be transit. So in term of world best port, you not only look at the busy part of it or the loads, you need to grade on the services, the trust and the competency of our workers. Each ports will like to claim they are the best, market it in whatever they like, cos this bring about good image to them and the country itself, but does the statistics in carrying out these grading perfect or corrupted. Think hor, most of the think is not by the book, I also blended an Angel Cocktail in my pub which many ladies customer love it very much, and it is not out of the book or any paper, you need to have that niche to compete.
Exactly, that is call re-engineering
re-engineering is the only logical way left for city states like us.. In this re-engineering , lives will be lost. but to gain something, some thing needs to be sacrificed.
Its like a battlefield now and a war is raging. To end it without losing is to wipe out everything and rebuild again. Drop a nuke and everything is over. Our nuke seems to be the foreign talent policy.
Int he 2nd world war, if US had not dropped a nuke in japan, japan would have continued waging the war and refused to stop. What US did was to end the war without losing> but they cannot win the war with just normal warfare. More soldiers lives and more civilians will be lost.It cost more lives if they were to keep on fighting even though they may eventually win. The nuke was the only logical answer once and for all.
Originally posted by ☃®:re-engineering is the only logical way left for city states like us.. In this re-engineering , lives will be lost. but to gain something, some thing needs to be sacrificed.
Sacrifice a few is nothing compare to the success of a nation. Even Ah jesus scarificed himself so as to be well known, and so is buddha.
Politic is same like a corporate ladder, there is only one way up for one man, if 10 men is climbing infront of him, he has to use all his wits, muscles, strength, shrewdness and kill without remorse to surpass all these 10 men so as to be the top, and on top of that, he has to make sure these men will not be able to climb the ladder anymore, whatever come next on the bottom of the ladder, is nothing to him anymore, cos, at the top of the ladder, you can shift it, topple it or lay trap on it. You are therefore, in control. It happen to everywhere. UNDERSTAND.
Originally posted by ☃®:re-engineering is the only logical way left for city states like us.. In this re-engineering , lives will be lost. but to gain something, some thing needs to be sacrificed.
Its like a battlefield now and a war is raging. To end it without losing is to wipe out everything and rebuild again. Drop a nuke and everything is over. Our nuke seems to be the foreign talent policy.
Int he 2nd world war, if US had not dropped a nuke in japan, japan would have continued waging the war and refused to stop. What US did was to end the war without losing> but they cannot win the war with just normal warfare. More soldiers lives and more civilians will be lost.It cost more lives if they were to keep on fighting even though they may eventually win. The nuke was the only logical answer once and for all.
Let Professor Angel teach you about the concept of re-engineering and re-structuring.
You got a piece of A4 size paper in front of you, you draw your plan about what to do during these coming holiday to an exotic place. After an hour, you find it not right, you think and think whether to carry on rubbing off part of the lines or put in between those plans with remarks or extend the plan, if you go ahead and alter it, it is call re-structuring, but if you trashed the whole damn paper into a ball and throw it into a waste paper basket and start with a new A4 size paper, and start all over again, that is called re-engineering...Understand.
NUS
Originally posted by angel7030:Let Professor Angel teach you about the concept of re-engineering and re-structuring.
You got a piece of A4 size paper in front of you, you draw your plan about what to do during these coming holiday to an exotic place. After an hour, you find it not right, you think and think whether to carry on rubbing off part of the lines or put in between those plans with remarks or extend the plan, if you go ahead and alter it, it is call re-structuring, but if you trashed the whole damn paper into a ball and throw it into a waste paper basket and start with a new A4 size paper, and start all over again, that is called re-engineering...Understand.
NUS
Wow, "professor in what"
Originally posted by Greytan49:Wow, "professor in what"
mixing drinks
Originally posted by sgdiehard:PSA today is not just a harbor or a port, but a collective facilities and terminals for maritime trades. It handles conventional cargo, container cargo, bulk cargo, dangerous cargo, transshipment....and is connected to over 600 other ports in 123 countries spread over 6 containers. This doesn't take into considerations the shares of many ports it has acquired over the years. Is there anything else they should do in order not to be complacent?
so what are you doing now in case Singapore is struck by earthquake or tsunami?
I am talking about you, not PSA
what PSA has done is to not let its success take over its head, and we have continued to aggressively grow over the years. That's what I meant when we took the Kra Canal seriously, we monitor developments there very closely.
PSA has grown over the years. If it had been like you, thinking of things only in 5 years intervals, it would not have grown so much as of today. The acquisition of ports across the world has been a painstaking process, taking years of planning, and sometimes ending in failure (Yemen port which lost 450m)
Urban planning has 5 years plan, but they plan up to 20 years in advance. This is because it takes time to get things into place. It's the same for the port industry. We plan years ahead, and keep tabs of things that might happen 20 years into the future, and then have mid-term plans to keep us going. As things develop, the 20 year plan may change, and the mid-term plan will evolve to adapt accordingly.
The question you should ask is, what is the Govt doing, after the epicenter has move 130km closer to Singapore? I am NOT an urban planner, it's not in my expertise to look into that. But the question is, is the Govt making plans in case the epicenter shifts much closer to Singapore, or will it be complacent to think that earthquakes will NEVER happen to Singapore? I cannot answer that, coz I am not in urban development, but I sure have highlighted this to my young PAP pals
The question back to you then is, what are YOU doing about it?
Originally posted by angel7030:Huh!!! what?? Hongkong.//my gosh, HKees are good in Shipping due to it business with china and act as a port for them, but today, Dailian and shanghai are there, u see shanghai port from potong or not, the design is exactly the same as singapore, and the stretch is like from Tuas to Changi and back again. Wah lau!!! still HK, Tong will be laughing if you said that HK is a major port today.
Stephen Lee can be met anything at those tripartite seminar, I am alway invited on behalf of my Dad SME business, we got the employers, we got MOM Gan Kim Yong, and we got that NTUC Sec Gen there too, he likes to joke alot. I mingled with them during networking period, why not??
As for the north Hemp, it is more appropriate for the West to move on that line, and moreover it is a natural opening and internation water, and it is happening, those ice breaker hull ships are trading on that line with Russia down into Japan. Unlike KRa which you have to built it with alots of political issues with countries wanting a piece of it, if not the surrounding seas territory.
China may not in the picture because of Corruption and Trust is not there, even Cosco trust PSA more than their own port, but once China get the system and Trust right, they will control the Pacific lines, and that is why NOL bought APL, an American Shipping company.
In term of trading directly with singapore, yes may loose to HK or Holland, because our populations dun demand that much of the goods, by in term of transitional trading services, we are nos 1, all over the world, put their goods in containers here waiting to be transit. So in term of world best port, you not only look at the busy part of it or the loads, you need to grade on the services, the trust and the competency of our workers. Each ports will like to claim they are the best, market it in whatever they like, cos this bring about good image to them and the country itself, but does the statistics in carrying out these grading perfect or corrupted. Think hor, most of the think is not by the book, I also blended an Angel Cocktail in my pub which many ladies customer love it very much, and it is not out of the book or any paper, you need to have that niche to compete.
Please go and study what I am talking about. I am talking about the Maritime awards, which PSA has won many years in this Asia region. In terms of throughput, Hong Kong was ahead of us, till just recently.
In terms of size, Hutchison is still the world's biggest port operator, followed by Dubai Ports, followed by PSA.
Within the short lines above, I already mentioned 3 different ways of assessing port operations. By criteria, by throughput, by size.
No matter what Shanghai is doing, it's still not a hub like Hong Kong or Singapore. As I mentioned before, Hong Kong and Singapore operate as a hub, while other ports operate as receivers. Shanghai is not in a really good position to be a hub, and if it really does become a hub, it will bite into Hong Kong's pie, and not Singapore's.
With the above, I doubt what you say about ever meeting Stephen Lee, or anyone else, but that's your business, not mine. I will not continue to comment on this matter.
Originally posted by soul_rage:
I am talking about you, not PSAwhat PSA has done is to not let its success take over its head, and we have continued to aggressively grow over the years. That's what I meant when we took the Kra Canal seriously, we monitor developments there very closely.
PSA has grown over the years. If it had been like you, thinking of things only in 5 years intervals, it would not have grown so much as of today. The acquisition of ports across the world has been a painstaking process, taking years of planning, and sometimes ending in failure (Yemen port which lost 450m)
Urban planning has 5 years plan, but they plan up to 20 years in advance. This is because it takes time to get things into place. It's the same for the port industry. We plan years ahead, and keep tabs of things that might happen 20 years into the future, and then have mid-term plans to keep us going. As things develop, the 20 year plan may change, and the mid-term plan will evolve to adapt accordingly.
The question you should ask is, what is the Govt doing, after the epicenter has move 130km closer to Singapore? I am NOT an urban planner, it's not in my expertise to look into that. But the question is, is the Govt making plans in case the epicenter shifts much closer to Singapore, or will it be complacent to think that earthquakes will NEVER happen to Singapore? I cannot answer that, coz I am not in urban development, but I sure have highlighted this to my young PAP pals
The question back to you then is, what are YOU doing about it?
since when you become PSA? hahaha...working a few years in there and you think you are the planner behind PSA development.
as for me, its none of your business what I do about kray canal, I tell you, I might invest in the project....
about epicenter, go ask the government.
and it is none of your business what I would do about the epicenter, but I tell you, nothing!
complacent huhhh? wu liao.
Originally posted by sgdiehard:
since when you become PSA? hahaha...working a few years in there and you think you are the planner behind PSA development.as for me, its none of your business what I do about kray canal, I tell you, I might invest in the project....
about epicenter, go ask the government.
and it is none of your business what I would do about the epicenter, but I tell you, nothing!
complacent huhhh? wu liao.
nothing left to say? At first you questioned whether the Kra Canal is feasible, and that there is nothing to worry about, to becoming you might invest in the project.
and then you question what I would do about the earthquake, and when asked back in return, have no answer.
there's nothing much left to say about you. Complacency with ignorance. I think there's nothing much left to be discussed given your poor attempt at trying to wriggle out of arrogant (and ignorant) statements which you made.
That's about it. Putting you on ignore mode, not worth discussing issues with.
Originally posted by sgdiehard:
as for me, its none of your business what I do about kray canal, I tell you, I might invest in the project....
what a big talker.....invest what? a canteen there serving kopi-o for the workers issit?
you have a bad habit of interjecting your comment with your unfounded almighty personal wealth and capability of yours to try to impress; `i am the (old) sex god here, i almost paid up my PRIVATE property so i will relax and count my money and now, invest in kra canal'.
talk is cheap. yours is probably the cheapest of the lot.