Originally posted by angel7030:logically speaking, our wages or earning also increase tremedously over the last few decades, unless you are those lazy bum who eat, sleep and posting here and there, got work dun work kind of people then, i got nothing to say. Cos, i am also like this, but luckily got ah kong's coffer to support me and perhap my next generation.
Are you sure that if opposition took over the govt, they are not going to increase but instead decrease the bills?? think first hor
Who knows right? Maybe opp party will increase gst to 20% and up pub bills by 50%.
To be great opposition, history already told you that by aggression you get nothing but jail and bankruptcy, so be calm and cool, dun fall into PAP trap again like your great old lfool eaders did, just imagine, if you are rallying for the opposition in clarke quay and a young potential female voter with lots of talents and friends who trust her vote, got up, make a comment and suggest something to you, and you turn around and tell her off, you think opposition is going to win??? I think they will have their election downpayement money confiscated for zero vote.
Originally posted by angel7030:To be great opposition, history already told you that by aggression you get nothing but jail and bankruptcy, so be calm and cool, dun fall into PAP trap again like your great old lfool eaders did, just imagine, if you are rallying for the opposition in clarke quay and a young potential female voter with lots of talents and friends who trust her vote, got up, make a comment and suggest something to you, and you turn around and tell her off, you think opposition is going to win??? I think they will have their election downpayement money confiscated for zero vote.
Just like one case where GCT walk around the hawker center and one gangster shouted at him. Imagine, if the world leaders saw this incident, what will they think of Spore Opp party? Mafia?
Originally posted by likeyou:Who knows right? Maybe opp party will increase gst to 20% and up pub bills by 50%.
I dunno lor, words are like sweet, just like boys courting me, they can come in with all kinds of sweet and pleasant words, even raining day also bring umbrella to you, wait for you outside public toilet holding your Gucci female bag, open door and car door for you, light up your bedroom with flowers, chocolate, cakes and bears on your birthday etc etc...but if you look at those couple after 10 years of marriage, husband walks in front, wife walk at the back, a few words only, not happy liao, start quarrelling and with kids around, more worst, feel like killing each other, and some dun even remember that birthday existed.
Opposition is behind a curtain, till now, it is all words against the ruling, nothing of a manifesto on what are going to do, they can bill increased, but what are they going to do if they are the govt, decrease it?? can decreasing it sustain the economy??? etc etc. So, we have yet to witness opposition in action. As for PAP, it is real term, we living in it and seeing it. You can judge them easily.
It is like seeing someone making laksa, you think it is easy and find that the person making it is stupid and he should do this and that, add more this and that, ...but when you are making it yourself, you will really feel the word you said going against you, and someone else will be commenting and criticising your laksa or mee siam mai hum.
Originally posted by angel7030:
I dunno lor, words are like sweet, just like boys courting me, they can come in with all kinds of sweet and pleasant words, even raining day also bring umbrella to you, wait for you outside public toilet holding your Gucci female bag, open door and car door for you, light up your bedroom with flowers, chocolate, cakes and bears on your birthday etc etc...but if you look at those couple after 10 years of marriage, husband walks in front, wife walk at the back, a few words only, not happy liao, start quarrelling and with kids around, more worst, feel like killing each other, and some dun even remember that birthday existed.Opposition is behind a curtain, till now, it is all words against the ruling, nothing of a manifesto on what are going to do, they can bill increased, but what are they going to do if they are the govt, decrease it?? can decreasing it sustain the economy??? etc etc. So, we have yet to witness opposition in action. As for PAP, it is real term, we living in it and seeing it. You can judge them easily.
It is like seeing someone making laksa, you think it is easy and find that the person making it is stupid hand he should do this and that, add more this and that, ...but when you are making it yourself, you will really feel the word you said going against you, and someone else will be commenting and criticising your laksa or mee siam mai hum.
When your laksa does not suit the customers' taste, you lose customers.
Just like in politics, if you ignore the voters, you lose votes.
When you lose sufficient number of customers, you close shop and in politics, when you lose sufficient number of voters, you will be replaced or voted out.
Originally posted by Seowlah:When your laksa does not suit the customers' taste, you lose customers.
Just like in politics, if you ignore the voters, you lose votes.
When you lose sufficient number of customers, you close shop and in politics, when you lose sufficient number of voters, you will be replaced or voted out.
Question is, should we boycott the laksa seller with no returning back to him and go for another one which we do not exactly know his laksa taste at all except some sweet talks from him???. Or, should we be loyal and have dialogue and listen to the current laksa seller which we have all the while patronised him??. After all, he can change his ingredients to suit us.
Originally posted by angel7030:
Question is, should we boycott the laksa seller with no returning back to him and go for another one which we do not exactly know his laksa taste at all except some sweet talks from him???. Or, should we be loyal and have dialogue and listen to the current laksa seller which we have all the while patronised him??. After all, he can change his ingredients to suit us.
One can stop buying from the laksa seller when there is no other good laksa sellers around. When there are good laksa sellers setting up stalls, we will buy from these new and good laksa sellers.
Just like in politics, one can give spoilt or protest votes when there are no good opposition around. But when there are good opposition come around, one will vote for them.
Originally posted by Seowlah:One can stop buying from the laksa seller when there is no other good laksa sellers around. When there are good laksa sellers setting up stalls, we will buy from these new and good laksa sellers.
Just like in politics, one can give spoilt or protest votes when there are no good opposition around. But when there are good opposition come around, one will vote for them.
Yes, certainly, that is what demorcratic is about, you hv the freedom to flock to another new laksa seller, but if more peoples are still going back to the original old laksa seller after tasting and pondering over other new sellers, it is their choice, and you have to respect that, and if the situation said that the best seller will rule over all the laksa shops in Singapore, the old seller will still be the nos 1.
x:my laksa tastes like shit!!!is rthis a joke??!!!!
laksa shop owner: no joke,its how i made it for years!
x:how come the shop down the street tastes better than yours?
laksa shop owner:then my laksa not good enough for u!
x:leaves table with laksa untouched mostly
laksa shop owner:gathers the laksa bowl n puts it in cryogenic.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
10 years later
x:your laksa still taste the same!!!
laksa shop owner:its alright....its the same one u left on table 10 years ago!
x:how do u do it???
laksa shop owner: thru high tech
x:how do u keep yourself in business for so long?
laksa shop owner:its easy!i just put myself into cryogenic freeze too when business isnt good.then after 10 years i setup shop in same spot!
x:why are you doing this?
laksa shop owner: im a demon!
x:runs away from laksa spot!!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
50 years later
x grandson:your laksa taste like shit!
laksa shop owner: no joke,its how i made it for years!
x grandson:how come the shop down the street tastes better than yours?
laksa shop owner:then my laksa not good enough for u!
x grandson:leaves table with laksa untouched mostly
laksa shop owner:gathers the laksa bowl n puts it in cryogenic.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
10 years later
x grandson:your laksa still taste the same!!!
laksa shop owner:its alright....its the same one u left on table 10 years ago!
x grandson:how do u do it???
laksa shop owner: thru high tech
x grandson:how do u keep yourself in business for so long?
laksa shop owner:its easy!i just put myself into cryogenic freeze too when business isnt good.then after 10 years i setup shop in same spot!
x grandson:why are you doing this?
laksa shop owner: im a demon!
x:runs away from laksa spot!!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
AFTER ALL THE GENERATIONS....WHAT HAVE WE LEARNT?NOTHING REALLY!
wow
talking about laska
i feel like eating now
Katong Laska!!!
now selling 3.50 per bowl hor
Originally posted by angel7030:Yes, certainly, that is what demorcratic is about, you hv the freedom to flock to another new laksa seller, but if more peoples are still going back to the original old laksa seller after tasting and pondering over other new sellers, it is their choice, and you have to respect that, and if the situation said that the best seller will rule over all the laksa shops in Singapore, the old seller will still be the nos 1.
The issue is that a lot of existing customers are not buying from the old laksa sellers anymore.
In view of the declining numbers of customers, the old laksa seller resorts to advertising and promotion to get new customers to which they are successful for the time being.
However, these new customers might move on to other greener pastures ie go to buy other food from other sellers.
well said
very 深奥�
shÄ“n'ào】; profound
Originally posted by Seowlah:The issue is that a lot of existing customers are not buying from the old laksa sellers anymore.
In view of the declining numbers of customers, the old laksa seller resorts to advertising and promotion to get new customers to which they are successful for the time being.
However, these new customers might move on to other greener pastures ie go to buy other food from other sellers.
You dont buy laksa from new seller that doesnt even show you the plates and utensils do you?
So my original question stands.
Originally posted by angel7030:Yes, certainly, that is what demorcratic is about, you hv the freedom to flock to another new laksa seller, but if more peoples are still going back to the original old laksa seller after tasting and pondering over other new sellers, it is their choice, and you have to respect that, and if the situation said that the best seller will rule over all the laksa shops in Singapore, the old seller will still be the nos 1.
Remove the credit card payment (tracebility - or known as serial numbers on the votes) for buying laksa and you will see which one customers like best.
Originally posted by Johnpennreturn:Malaysian doctor: Singapore should be grateful to Malaysians for its success
December 6, 2009
A Malaysian doctor by the name of Chen Jiayi who had chosen to return to Malaysia after working for a number of years in Singapore wrote in the Malaysian Chinese newspaper Sin Chew yesterday that Singapore should be grateful to the Malaysians for its success today.
Dr Chen did not reveal the reason behind his return except that “the answer would be revealed in time to come.”
When he first came to work in a Singapore government hospital as a house officer, Dr Chen soon realized that he was working with many of compatriots, some of whom are his highest level superiors. Even the Singapore Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan was a former Malaysian citizen.
Malaysian Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak told the press that half the number of medical specialists at Singapore’s Mount Elizabeth Hospital are Malaysians during his recent visit to Singapore to attend the APEC Summit.
The exact number of Malaysians doctors working in Singapore is not known. About 5 to 10 per cent of the each year cohort of medical students are Malaysians.
While some Malaysians graduated from NUS, others like Dr Chen join the Singapore public healthcare service after they finished their studies overseas when they are lured here to work.
Dr Che was told by colleagues that Malaysian talents were the most sought after in Singapore and it not a surprise as due to cultural similarities between the two nations, Malaysians find it easiest to assimilate themselves into Singapore society.
During his years of working in Singapore, Dr Chen noticed that young Singapore doctors are encountering difficulties communicating with the older generation of patients due to language barriers.
“Due to their educational system, the younger generation of Singaporeans are proficient in English, mediocre only in Chinese. For Malay language, they are largely outsiders; as for Chinese dialects, that will have to depend on whether their gandpas and grannies are still around.
As such, young Singaporean doctors face communciation problems when they encounter aged patients, resorting to hand language at times just to get their messages across,” he wrote.
As a result of a chronic shortage of doctors in the public sector, the Singapore Ministry of Health has turned elsewhere to recruit foreign doctors.
The polyclinics employ many doctors from other countries like the Philipines, Vietnam, India, Thailand and Indonesia, some of whom are unable to speak Chinese or Hokkien, the lingua franca of elderly Singaporeans.
Most Singapore doctors will leave the public sector upon the completion of their mandatory 5-year bond if they are local graduates unless they decide to specialize further.
The meagre pay, long working hours and job satisfaction are often commonly cited as reasons for their departure and yet little has been done to retain senior medical officers within the public sector over the years.
Dr Chen ended his letter with a smug remark that Singaporeans should be grateful to the Malaysian (doctors):
“The more successful Singapore has become, the more I feel proud of my Malaysian compatriots who have crossed the Causeway to serve in the Lion City.
But sometimes I would have this perverted idea: You Singaporeans need to be grateful to us, the “Made in Malaysia” yet forsaken lot, for what you have achieved!”
As a matter of fact, Dr Chen should be thankful to Singapore for giving him an opportunity to succeed in life. Had he not come to Singapore, he would have to serve his internship in a Malaysian hospital which is much busier before being packed off to a remote corner to serve a rural community for three years.
After working in Singapore for a number of years, Dr Chen will probably be able to retire in his homeland with little financial worries for the rest of his life like many of his compatriots who enjoy the best of both worlds by being a Singapore PR and Malaysian citizen at the same time.
The borrowed success of Singapore
December 5, 2009
By Chen Jiaqi from Sin Chew Daily
I met up with some old classmates several times since my university graduation, and discovered that over half of my Form V classmates had gone to study, work, or even settle down in Singapore.
I knew many of the top talents from my school ended up in Singapore, but I was not aware that the number could be so big.
Those secondary school classmates of mine were among the most brilliant in school, and Singapore was more than happy to bring these independent Chinese secondary school students there so that they could get the opportunity to advance their ambitions.
Still on my internship at a government hospital here, I had a mixed bag of feelings, and to my own disbelief, I joined their rank several years later.
Only a few days in Singapore, I was told by my superior that there were plenty of my compatriots around me.
Indeed, beginning with my colleagues and looking upward level by level, I found that many of my highest level superiors were Malaysians.
They were doing their work conscientiously and had contributed significantly towards the success of the tiny city-state.
I suddenly had that feeling of pride that Singapore owed much of its success to the contributions made by Malaysian citizens.
I was told by colleagues that Malaysian talents were the most sought after in Singapore.
Due to cultural and geographical proximity, we are actually that group of foreigners who can best assimilate themselves into the Singapore society.
This can’t be more true, as the two countries were forced apart by nothing but politics!
Due to the nature of my job, I came to know many patients. Singapore is a multicultural, more so a multinational country. To these migrant workers, fundamental communication is never a problem: Chinese Malaysians are well versed in three languages plus an array of Chinese dialects.
Not all Singaporean doctors have this linguistic gift! Due to their educational system, the younger generation of Singaporeans are proficient in English, mediocre only in Chinese. For Malay language, they are largely outsiders; as for Chinese dialects, that will have to depend on whether their gandpas and grannies are still around.
As such, young Singaporean doctors face communciation problems when they encounter aged patients, resorting to hand language at times just to get their messages across.
To Singapore, Malaysian talents are what they are most avid to tout for.
Singapore’s meritocratic system knows no skin colours. But if it does, I could have bagged in more perks.
I later decided to return to my country. Many have asked me why I wanted to come back to Malaysia, which is filthy, messy, hard to make a good living, and plagued with partial government policies.
Why did I make such an unnatural decision? Perhaps the answer would be revealed in time to come, I was thinking.
The more successful Singapore has become, the more I feel proud of my Malaysian compatriots who have crossed the Causeway to serve in the Lion City.
But sometimes I would have this perverted idea: You Singaporeans need to be grateful to us, the “Made in Malaysia” yet forsaken lot, for what you have achieved! (By Chen Jiaqi (reader)/Translated by DOMINIC LOH/Sin Chew Daily)
Republished from Sin Chew Daily on 5 November 2009
Singapore's
Borrowed Success
A Malaysian writes about the longstanding role of his countrymen and women in this city-state. Sin Chew Daily
Dec 7, 2009
By Chen Jiaqi
I met up with some old classmates several times since my university graduation, and discovered that over half of my Form V classmates had gone to study, work, or even settle down in Singapore.
I knew many of the top talents from my school ended up in Singapore, but I was not aware that the number could be so big.
Those secondary school classmates of mine were among the most brilliant in school, and Singapore was more than happy to bring these independent Chinese secondary school students there so that they could get the opportunity to advance their ambitions.
Still on my internship at a government hospital here, I had a mixed bag of feelings, and to my own disbelief, I joined their rank several years later.
Only a few days in Singapore, I was told by my superior that there were plenty of my compatriots around me.
Indeed, beginning with my colleagues and looking upward level by level, I found that many of my highest level superiors were Malaysians.
They were doing their work conscientiously and had contributed significantly towards the success of the tiny city-state.
I suddenly had that feeling of pride that Singapore owed much of its success to the contributions made by Malaysian citizens.
I was told by colleagues that Malaysian talents were the most sought after in Singapore.
Due to cultural and geographical proximity, we are actually that group of foreigners who can best assimilate themselves into the Singapore society.
This can't be more true, as the two countries were forced apart by nothing but politics!
Due to the nature of my job, I came to know many patients. Singapore is a multicultural, more so a multinational country.
To these migrant workers, fundamental communication is never a problem: Chinese Malaysians are well versed in three languages plus an array of Chinese dialects.
Not all Singaporean doctors have this linguistic gift! Due to their educational system, the younger generation of Singaporeans are proficient in English, mediocre only in Chinese.
For Malay language, they are largely outsiders; as for Chinese dialects, that will have to depend on whether their gandpas and grannies are still around.
As such, young Singaporean doctors face communication problems when they encounter aged patients, resorting to hand language at times just to get their messages across.
To Singapore, Malaysian talents are what they are most avid to tout for.
Singapore's meritocratic system knows no skin colours. But if it does, I could have bagged in more perks.
I later decided to return to my country. Many have asked me why I wanted to come back to Malaysia, which is filthy, messy, hard to make a good living, and plagued with partial government policies.
Why did I make such an unnatural decision? Perhaps the answer would be revealed in time to come, I was thinking.
The more successful Singapore has become, the more I feel proud of my Malaysian compatriots who have crossed the Causeway to serve in the Lion City.
But sometimes I would have this perverted idea: You Singaporeans need to be grateful to us, the "Made in Malaysia" yet forsaken lot, for what you have achieved!
MySinchew
http://www.littlespeck.com/content/ForeignAfair/CTrendsFA-091207.htm
http://www.mysinchew.com/node/32432?tid=96
http://jayteoh.multiply.com/journal/item/651
((By Chen Jiaqi (reader)/Translated by DOMINIC LOH/Sin Chew Daily) The borrowed success of Singapore | My Sinchew ...
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/archive/index.php/t-2589826.html
http://forums.sgclub.com/singapore/saf_serviceman_critical_236110.html
This one dead dead must read -
Advertisment time!!!
Singapore gal, you are great a way to fly.......travel now to 15 feb on our SIA flight and get a 10% discount on fares....terms and conditons apply
More soluable, no more smell, Nippon paint, the world first no smell paint
Stomach pain, indigestion, constipation and gastric, insist on Poh Chai pills, the pills taken by all since 1888.
Close tranmission
Marikita ra ya singapulaksa, masa masa du hoooo...bahgiya, chita chita...
Originally posted by angel7030:Close tranmission
Marikita ra ya singapulaksa, masa masa du hoooo...bahgiya, chita chita...
Anyhow sing.
Originally posted by likeyou:
Anyhow sing.
just ignore