bo bian ma
they all not cheaper faster and better leh
and lazy somemore, according to mm
so can oni blame themselves.
T.T
not all are like that.
if that is what they became....then you should find out why thats so instead of condemning and scrapping it as lost cause.
if your grenade launcher jams then u should find out the cause of it so u wont get same problem when u really need it....do u throw it away and get a new one when its much more easier to fix it??a grenade launcher isnt a chocolate cake....a human isnt a chocolate cake either!
cant he go back to china?
i am sure with his specialized skills he can find a job anywhere outside singapore.
Heard this phase before:
"Business doesnt care"
Sporean suffer if all local empoyers think like that.
does that mean even if u are well educated to phd level degree ,you will still not see any jobs in singapore?and one still ends up as a cab driver after all those years of experience and education.
whats the difference between educated or uneducated?whats the point of upgrading skills anyway if you were to end up as a taxi driver with so much education,upgrading and high tech experience?
it simply dont make much sense in spore!perhaps its broken somewhere.
This is to allow Singapore to have a first! I.e. to have the most highly qualified taxi drivers on the road. This really deters people from pursuing a higher education.
This is why Singaporeans are losing jobs
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2435891
we had to be cheaper, faster and better.
i expect foreign phd degree holders in engineering to at least get a job as a technician rather than a cab driver. if thats so why do they still need foreign talents and foreign workers??what about its own highly educated sporean citizens then???Drain cleaners to unemployed seems to be in the cards very much for its very own precious sporean citizens from any unbias and objective outlook!
it tells a lot from the interpolation of things in spore.
if PHD holders in engineering cant get a related job in small and accessible spore with advanced high tech factories, then what about the sporeans who are in the same boat as him?
i believe he has tried his best, a phd in engineering would never be a cab driver unless he had no choice as from age discrimination at job interviews to whatever odd reasons.if he wanted to be a cab driver then he would have done it when he was in his 20's or 30's or before even goin to school and not now.
singapore first is a farce for starters. education first could be a farce too from above tale.singaporeans first in jobs dont really exist.
Topic: Singaporeans shun coffeeshop jobs paying $2500 a month
"His coffee shop job here pays about $2,500 - '10 times more' than what he earned at home, said the 26-year-old"
Is it true that Singaporeans shun coffeeshop jobs? Is it true that coffeeshops pay $2500 monthly salary to employees?
Regards,
===========================
July 14, 2008
UPFRONT
Filipinos are your new servers
By Diana Othman
WORKERS WITH 'THE RIGHT APPROACH': Botak Jones' Mr Wilwin Zandaza and Ms Marilou Satieda are among the growing number of Filipinos who are helping to ease the staffing crunch in coffee shops. -- ST PHOTO: EDWIN KOO
FILIPINO faces are already commonly seen delivering frontline service in restaurants, clubs, and bars here, but they are now popping up in a new arena - the coffee shops.
Most are serving drinks and clearing tables, but they come a lot more qualified than their foreigner counterparts doing the same job on work permits. The Filipinos are here on S-passes, typically granted to those with at least a diploma, or employment passes, which are granted to graduates.
They are not complaining, because the job they have and the money it brings are much better than being jobless back home.
Mr Eric Dellosa, 38, is an electrical engineering graduate who is serving up cups of teh-O, kopi and Milo Dinosaur at a Holland Village coffee shop.
He arrived in May last year, hoping to find work in a restaurant or office. Finding nothing, he settled for the coffee shop job, which gives him a take-home pay of 'about $1,500'.
With this sum, just shy of the minimum $1,800 S-Pass workers typically earn, he has to pay off the instalment on the $3,500 fee charged by an employment agency he used; he also has to budget for his monthly rent at a Tanglin flat he shares with three others.
NO AGE BARRIER
'In the Philippines, it's very hard for people above 30 to get a job, so I feel lucky to have found one here.'
MR ERIC DELLOSA, 38, an electrical engineering graduate who serves teh-O, kopi and Milo Dinosaur at a Holland Village coffee shop
... more
THE RIGHT MINDSET
'They come here with a more invigorated attitude, to do jobs people here might find mundane.'
MR BERNIE UTCHENIK, owner of the Botak Jones food chain, on his Filipino workers
... more
He still has money left over to send home to his wife and eight-year-old daughter.
Long hours at a low salary and having only two days off a month are not a problem for him, even if these are exactly the reasons many Singaporeans shun the job.
He is still better off than when he worked as a sales executive for a Philippine packaging company till it folded in 2000, plunging him into several years of joblessness.
He said, beaming: 'In the Philippines, it's very hard for people above 30 to get a job, so I feel lucky to have found one here.'
His colleague, who only wanted to be known as Domingo, also has a degree, in political science. Back home, the best he managed was being a server in McDonalds, where he worked for five years.
His coffee shop job here pays about $2,500 - '10 times more' than what he earned at home, said the 26-year-old.
Not only do Filipino nationals want these jobs, they are helping to ease what appears to be a staffing crunch for coffee shop owners.
These heartland bosses have to keep within quotas for workers from countries like China who come in on work permits.
Coffee shop owners can also hire workers from other approved countries, but hesitate to do so because those workers may have language problems with customers.
Mr Bob Tan, 33, a general manager who oversees three food courts in Tampines and Bukit Panjang run by Astar Food Court, said his workers are Singaporeans, Malaysians or China nationals.
'It is important that we are able to communicate with our employees to train them and also that they are able to communicate with our customers, who are mostly Chinese-speaking,' he said.
He said he did not rule out hiring Filipinos if they were willing to work in coffee shops.
Foreign S-Pass holders, therefore, may well hold out some relief for the staffing crunch faced by coffee shop owners.
Only up to a quarter of the coffee-shop workers can be foreign S-Pass holders, but there is no restriction on where they come from. The employment levy is lower too - $50 a month, compared to at least $150 a month for a work permit holder.
Botak Jones, a kopitiam-based Western food chain, has hired at least 16 Filipinos across its eight outlets.
Owner Bernie Utchenik said he has found them diligent and carrying 'the right approach' to the job.
'They come here with a more invigorated attitude, to do jobs people here might find mundane,' he added, noting that his Filipino staffers are trained in a broad range of skills relevant to the service industry.
Mr Christopher Tan, the head of commerce in the Foochow Coffee Restaurant and Bar Merchants Association, said the Filipinos' command of English also gives them an edge in areas like Holland Village, which has many expatriates.
They may have a problem with heartlanders though, he added.
'How are they able to communicate with the heartlanders - especially the old Chinese grandmas? Filipinos don't know our languages and our dialects,' he said.
Ms Marilou Satieda, 25, a supervisor at the Botak Jones outlet in Toa Payoh who has been here just over a year, said she does not find language a problem: She just hollers for her Mandarin-speaking colleagues when necessary.
But the local lingo, of course, can be picked up.
Mr Dellosa can now get his head around kopi-O, teh-si and Milo-peng, respectively black coffee, tea with evaporated milk and iced Milo.
'I hear the words every day so I picked them up,' he said cheerily, as he rushed off to call in his next order of teh-si and teh-halia (ginger tea).
For Ms Satieda, who has a degree in hotel and restaurant management and now lives with her Singaporean boyfriend in Woodlands, the job keeps her independent.
Back home, when she ran her own business selling telephone top-up cards, she earned less than the $1,800 she gets now, she said.
'Ultimately, I am open to working in any industry.'
http://www.funkygrad.com/forum/read_msg.php?tid=1684&forumid=yourshout
tells me how well the industries in high technology is doing in singapore.
now thats scary.
coffee shops servers dun earn $1000 even let alone $2500!
even a high tech factory where no sporeans like doing a production operators job only pays $1100 average.
the forigners at least could have told better lies than this!
January 2, 2010
EDITORS’ NOTE:
NTUC’s Deputy Secretary-General and PAP MP Madam Halimah Yacob had written to The Temasek Review to clarify her stance on underemployment in an article we published on 31 December 2009. We have made the necessary amendments to the article to better reflect her views.
The letter below is republished here as it is without any editing with kind permission from Madam Halimah Yacob.
Dear Editor of Temasek Review,
I refer to your article dated 31 December 2009 (read article here)
Your article did not accurately reflect the essence of what I had said during the interview.
The entire interview was on the issue of underemployment and how middle aged degree holders could be more affected than others. Although there are no available statistics on underemployment here, I acknowledged that this is a possibility and is an area for greater tripartite focus in 2010.
I did not say that it is unavoidable that middle aged degree holders end up driving taxis. I am not quite sure how you came to that conclusion. I was asked what are the possible causes for a higher number of underemployed middle aged degree holders.
I responded that one reason could be the poor economic situation which made this unavoidable as there are less job opportunities for them. Hence, underemployed older PMETS would have reckoned that it is better to do whatever jobs that are available rather than have no jobs and no income at all.
I had also pointed out that this is sustainable only in the short term as, in the long term if not corrected, people will be demoralised as it is an underutilisation of their skill and earning capabilities. This point was also repeated over 938 Live.
Based on my experience as a Governing Body member of the International Labour Organisation, this is a global phenomenon apparent even in the US where there are higher numbers of white collar workers affected because of the financial crisis. ILO, too, recognised the need for more support for PMETs at the national, regional and international levels. In fact, in many developed countries, the young (both PMETs and non PMETs) has become the casualty as the rate of unemployment is much, much higher among them.
Trying times like these require us, as Singaporeans, to remain focussed and in solidarity so that each and everyone of us can do our part to provide support and understanding to all who need our help.
I would appreciate it if you could make the necessary correction for the sake of accuracy.
Halimah Yacob
To be fair to Singapore unemployment statistics,
The questions to put into most singapore uncles or aunties are as follow, is it true that..
You are unemployed because you dun want to be employed as the factors surrounding you demoralised you to work?, or
You truly cannot a find job because there is no job, even if you really lowered your expectations?
Let us step into an employer shoes, given a cleaning job, bangala workers can take in $600/mth ++OT + lounging +levies+others = $1,000++, hungry for work, work everyday, puntual, young, respect and obey orders well.
A Singapore middle age Uncle as a cleaner, $1200 ++ O/T and other allowances = $2000, everyday grumbling, sick often, not puntual, slow moving, argue alots, mood changes often toward working and play lots of poltics.
U choose who??
nowadays bangla dont wanna come to spore,pay too low....jobs in spore not guaranteed and often bluff people .
and other developed counrtries pay people from vietnam and brazil to werk as cleaners and pay is $3600/mth.no need know english even!
angel70...u think they come out from a cave in bngladesh with no internet is it???even in afghanistan they already got internet!!they all not so poor and not so stupid like your ideal sucker!
Originally posted by laurence82 father:nowadays bangla dont wanna come to spore,pay too low....jobs in spore not guaranteed and often bluff people .
and other developed counrtries pay people from vietnam and brazil to werk as cleaners and pay is $3600/mth.no need know english even!
angel70...u think they come out from a cave in bngladesh with no internet is it???even in afghanistan they already got internet!!they all not so poor and not so stupid like your ideal sucker!
Originally posted by Johnpennreturn:"The largest umbrella trade union NTUC is a pseudo-government organization which is always headed by a PAP minister. Mr Lim Swee Say is a minister in the Prime Minister’s Office while Madam Halimah Yacob is a PAP MP.
Neither is there any opposition in parliament to check on the ruling party’s pro-foreigner policy either. Singapore PMETs have no choice but to put up with the current situation.
Even taxi-drivers are now facing stiff competition from cheaper workers from China and Vietnam.
"
But singaporeans are the ones who continue to let them win. non-stop. 50 years.
This suggests a possibility:
either
1. there are many who dislike or dissent or disapprove.
or
2. there are many more who like or approve.
who counts the papers?
January 4, 2010 by Our Correspondent
Filed under Headlines
Written by Our Correspondent
Deputy Secretary-General of NTUC and PAP MP Madam Halimah Yacob was praised by netizens for engaging them in cyberspace.
Madam Yacob had written a letter to The Temasek Review which was published in full without editing on its site in response to an earlier article about her views on underemployment in Singapore.
In her letter, Madam Halimah explained that underemployment is unavoidable in Singapore due to the poor economic situation which resulted in less job opportunities for Singapore workers.
She urged Singaporeans to remain “focused and in solidarity so that each and everyone of us can do our part to provide support and understanding to all who need our help.”
Madam Halimah’s letter brought a deluge of comments from netizens with many lauding her for taking the time and effort to draft a well-written reply to The Temasek Review.
Zero wrote:
“I note that this is the first time a PAP leader of her stature had humbled down to speak to mortals like the rest of us here, and I salute her honesty. We would like to see more of her views, if Madame is kindly enough to avail herself of the opportunity to explain some numerous things which make many Singaporeans agitated, bloggers would be most delighted.”
Toratoratora concurred:
“We ought to give Hamilah Yacob our due respects for clarifying her stand via writing to Temasek Review. How many MPs will bother to do that? I hope she is not in the list of 25. Stay on, Hamilah. We want you maintain this channel of engagement with us.”
southchinasea wanted to see more such online interactions with PAP MPs:
“TR should truely write a thank you letter to Halimah Yacob and encourage her to participate more and also invite her to ask her fellow PAP MPs to engage comments, views and opinions in TR positively like her. didn’t she talk about solidarity in difficult times.”
Sinkapore even said he would cast a vote for her based on her “gesture”:
“Having said that, here we see one ‘responsible leader’ who is willing to engage and correct, which is a good sign, as opposed to the ‘other bunch’ of arrogant so-called elites…….Disregarding bias blogs elsewhere, the ruling elites should seriously consider engaging Sinkaporeans on TR, where what you see is what you get. I have never in my life voted for ANY PAPies candidate but if I have a choice to vote, here’s one MP I would gladly TICK just based on this little but milestone gesture of hers.”
While is it unavoidable that some netizens have hurled brickbats at Madam Halimah’s reply and dismissed it as another “empty talk” from the PAP, it is nevertheless a positive development in Singapore’s new media landscape.
In Malaysia, the ministers and MPs take questions from netizens and answer them directly either on their own blogs on in popular news sites. Even China’s Premier Wen Jiabao held a free-for-all “question and answer” session for netizens without demanding they shed their cloak of anonymity.
At the present moment, the PAP is contented using only government portal REACH to engage netizens which will miss the majority of the online community in Singapore.
Furthermore, REACH provides only a one-way communication to the government and suffers from public perception that most, if not all of the “feedback” given will end up in a “black hole”.
PAP ministers and MPs need to get out of their comfort zone and engage netizens directly on their own turfs instead of waiting for them to express their views on feedback on government sites.
With more and more young IT-savvy Singaporeans becoming eligible voters each year, it is pertinent that the government stays engaged and not lose touch with them.
As the example of Madam Halimah has shown, a simple gesture like writing a reply will go a long way towards winning the hearts and minds of netizens, many of whom are peeved at the ruling party for not listening to them and addressing their genuine concerns.
Despite numerous attempts from some quarters to bring down Temasek Review, our traffic has doubled in the last few weeks alone. Our weekly traffic is now more than three times our nearest rival, 65 times that of REACH and only one quarter of the Straits Times.
Articles published here are often disseminated throughout the internet forums in Singapore and quoted by external news agencies as well.
Though our articles may appear to be slanted against the ruling party, we shall strive to remain neutral politically. PAP MPs and members need not be afraid of using our site to engage the online community.
We have received numerous complaints from PAP members and supporters that our articles are “anti-PAP” whose intention is to make the party “look bad”, but we are never a mouthpiece of the PAP in the first place and so why should we care about its public image?
PAP MPs, members and supporters are most welcomed to post their comments on our site or write in to us like what Madam Halimah did.
If you don’t bother to rebuke what is posted here or engage our readers directly, then you can’t blame us for not giving you the opportunity to do so.
To borrow a quote from Voltaire:
“We may disapprove of what you say, but we will defend to the death your right to say it.”
You can rest assured that other some other blog, we will respect your right of reply as well as privacy. We will allow you to refute anything which is published on our site without any editing or moderation and we will never publish your correspondences with us unless you give us explicit permission to do so.
Speaking of foreigners, you don't know what the Filipinos talk about us in their forum. You should see for yourselves. Here.