And in conclusion, what makes the information the US announces valid to the full extent? In the Gulf War, they claimed that Iraqi soldiers were marching into Kuwaiti hospitals and killing innocent children and newborn babies. If you do not know, this was an absolute LIE made by the US media and officials. It was set up by the ambassador's daughter of Kuwait. The propaganda did do what they intended it to do - make Iraq look like the bad guy. A lot of Americans then percieved Iraq to be "evil" and it created the view of the United States as being a savior and ridding of such "evil." A lot of the things that Bush says in his speeches are very biased towards American sidings, as he is an American himself. He does not mention any risk of innocent Iraqi lives being lost, except that all efforts will be made to prevent it. It's hard to tell who is innocent or not when hundreds of people try to protect their own home from being demolished. What is true? What is not? Don't just listen to what someone else says and believe it correct and as your own standpoint, in the agreement of what you believe to be the majority.There is no point for you to try to prove otherwise. The media may be biased, but how can you prove that Iraqis soldiers did not carry out the killing????? By the OTHER MEDIA of course!!!!!!! Unless you are there to witness it, your decision CAN ONLY be shaped by the MEDIA.
Originally posted by CX:Which brings us to the US's justification of war (or so they claimed), that it is because Iraq still possessed WMDs that lead to the use of force!
to be absolutely fair, if the UN charter is to be applied without bias, i find the latest diplomatic developments bizarre...
the US military strikes IS ILLEGAL... cos it failed to acquire a security council resolution... but i support it cos the UN has failed to support a just cause fairly.
but at this time, saddam would be fully justified in using WNDs against the "aggressors" the UN charter allows for that... self defence is just cause... however, the french have decided to support the US [b]only if iraq uses WND against coalition forces
c'est bizarre...
ApplauseOriginally posted by BillyBong:For many who support this war, most agree on several factors:
a. Iraq had 12 long years to disarm. They failed to do so and even after drafting 3 separate resolutions, saddam is as defiant as ever.
b. Iraq has a long history of hatred for the US(the iraqi regime at least, not the ppl). They have a long history of using biological weapons and conventional warheads. Just ask israel and kuwait, Iran and the northern kurds. Who's to say they will not support terrorists organisations by supplying dirty bombs or biological weapons to exact "jihad" reprisals against them or any other ally for that matter? They obviously had no qalms in offering incentives to the families of suicide bombers in palestine.
c. The Iraqis made a mockery of the UN weapons inspection team. Clearly, they were unable to unearth convincing evidence due to deliberate deception. The inspectors were tailed, bugged and misguided at every turn. The iraqis merely provided unconvincing proof that they were disarming by showing the world empty al-samoud warheads. This act of deceit is like tossing hungry dogs a few bones to chew on, keeping the fresh meat well hoarded - in effect, keeping nations guessing but at the same time, insufficient grounds to pass a new UN resolution sanctioning stern action.
d. Diplomatic efforts by the US were thrwarted by France, Russia and China at every turn, the former 2 nations coincidently having serious investments in Iraq. Was it just to be different from the US or protecting their own interests..i leave that to others to decide.
e. The UN has failed to be firm and fair in its handling of Iraq. They have apparently disregarded resolution 1441, sanctioning the use of force in the event of a breach. If anything their handling of the affair has been a farce...discrediting their ability to manage future world issues. That and the threat of firm vetos by the 3 permanent members of the UN security council pursuaded US and britain to withdraw their attempts at diplomacy.
Is it then fair to call the US actions illegal? As they have mentioned the 3 prior UN resolutions gives them sufficient right to act where other nations talk but do not have the stomach to match their words with force of arms.
No one wants war but in difficult times, one has to act to ensure security for the future. Are we going to wait for a bomb to go off right next to us before we say "Whack them first! Evidence be damned..."?
interesting ! anyway, War had oredi started ! now is time for US to take over Iraq. Hopefully, they win !Originally posted by gasband:SImple.
Bush and UN: Hey Saddam, hand over all ur WMD and u will be spared.
Saddam: (innocently) but...but...we dun have, u check lah! We DUn have!
...and this goes on for 12 years.....
Bush: I cannot take it liao, they say dun have, i am sure they have, lets attack Iraq.
Saddam: Wah i say i dun have WMD u dun believe, if u attack me, i attack u with WMD, no choice liao.
...So its pretty clear whos the liar here.
hopefully less people will die...Originally posted by kim_hwoarang:interesting ! anyway, War had oredi started ! now is time for US to take over Iraq. Hopefully, they win !
A. Prior to the latest inspections the inspections before those were US-led, questioning some possible manipulation in extension of that time. Saddam does not defy the inspections, for Hans Blix himself said that progress was moving along well, until they were forced out of the country from Bush's so-called "deadline."Originally posted by BillyBong:For many who support this war, most agree on several factors:
a. Iraq had 12 long years to disarm. They failed to do so and even after drafting 3 separate resolutions, saddam is as defiant as ever.
b. Iraq has a long history of hatred for the US(the iraqi regime at least, not the ppl). They have a long history of using biological weapons and conventional warheads. Just ask israel and kuwait, Iran and the northern kurds. Who's to say they will not support terrorists organisations by supplying dirty bombs or biological weapons to exact "jihad" reprisals against them or any other ally for that matter? They obviously had no qalms in offering incentives to the families of suicide bombers in palestine.
c. The Iraqis made a mockery of the UN weapons inspection team. Clearly, they were unable to unearth convincing evidence due to deliberate deception. The inspectors were tailed, bugged and misguided at every turn. The iraqis merely provided unconvincing proof that they were disarming by showing the world empty al-samoud warheads. This act of deceit is like tossing hungry dogs a few bones to chew on, keeping the fresh meat well hoarded - in effect, keeping nations guessing but at the same time, insufficient grounds to pass a new UN resolution sanctioning stern action.
d. Diplomatic efforts by the US were thrwarted by France, Russia and China at every turn, the former 2 nations coincidently having serious investments in Iraq. Was it just to be different from the US or protecting their own interests..i leave that to others to decide.
e. The UN has failed to be firm and fair in its handling of Iraq. They have apparently disregarded resolution 1441, sanctioning the use of force in the event of a breach. If anything their handling of the affair has been a farce...discrediting their ability to manage future world issues. That and the threat of firm vetos by the 3 permanent members of the UN security council pursuaded US and britain to withdraw their attempts at diplomacy.
Is it then fair to call the US actions illegal? As they have mentioned the 3 prior UN resolutions gives them sufficient right to act where other nations talk but do not have the stomach to match their words with force of arms.
No one wants war but in difficult times, one has to act to ensure security for the future. Are we going to wait for a bomb to go off right next to us before we say "Whack them first! Evidence be damned..."?
Just one point. U would rather let a liar like Saddam get away scot-free then? A liar who do not lie on small scales but lie about not having WMD. Alright then, as i said, go tell Kuwaitis, Kurds and Iranians that Saddam is not a dangerous person. If they agree with u, then i think war shld stop.Originally posted by Nighth4wk:A. Prior to the latest inspections the inspections before those were US-led, questioning some possible manipulation in extension of that time. Saddam does not defy the inspections, for Hans Blix himself said that progress was moving along well, until they were forced out of the country from Bush's so-called "deadline."
B. Yes Iraq has a long hatred for US, but don't you find sanctions on military weapons a bit absurd? "You may not use this and this and this," yet USA has access to any biological agents it desires. It's someone hypocritical, and I'm sure that most countries dissaprove of such "bullying." Many other countries also hold a hatred against the US, like North Korea. Do you see the US attacking North Korea?
C. Is it not the UN's job to "inspect" as they are instructed to do? Surely any deceptions is their responsiblities to unsolve. Iraq was also at good cooperation before the deadline ended.
D. How is rejecting a resolution requiring use of military force a thwart to diplomatic efforts? "The war for peace," is that not an oxymoron? Diplomacy does not involve military action, according to the United States, as they said so themselves, edging an effort to end the North Korea crisis using "diplomacy."
E. The US is also breaking resolutions by the UN from making a unjust attack on Iraq, no? It is acting like Israel, in many terms. Accusing another state of breaking resolutions and distrupting peace when they are doing it themselves. If you do not know, Israel has been breaking international law for a great amount of years by settling in Palestinian land, yet refusing to give it back, and they say they are doing all they can for a "peaceful solution" for the Palestinian people.
Iraq is was also not of threat to international security when the US had surveillence of every corner in Iraq. How can that make Iraq of any threat when you even had UN inspectors within the country? There was, and is no arguable justification for war.
World War 3 To Come From Event In Basra, Iraq?
1933 Demonic Vision of H.G. Wells
"After the Second World War, the United Nations will be the second attempt at World Government, but Wells understands that this attempt will also not be successful. Thus, the plan for the 'Modern World State' would succeed in the third attempt ... and would come out of something that would occur in Basra, Iraq."
by Dr. Dennis Cuddy
"The Globalist: The Power Elite Exposed"

Yes saddam did not, shall me say, "defy" the inspection teams. He ordered them tailed, bugged and obstructed in as many ways possible without international incident. Does it comfort you that someone welcomes teams to conduct weapons inspection but deliberately limits their progress?Originally posted by Nighth4wk:A. Prior to the latest inspections the inspections before those were US-led, questioning some possible manipulation in extension of that time. Saddam does not defy the inspections, for Hans Blix himself said that progress was moving along well, until they were forced out of the country from Bush's so-called "deadline."
Is there a chance that US will (for absurb reasons) use these chemical and biological weapons on innocent civilians? As for North Korea, there are other inclinations that bar the US from an immediate use of force against them...mega big factors like CHINA, RUSSIA ..
B. Yes Iraq has a long hatred for US, but don't you find sanctions on military weapons a bit absurd? "You may not use this and this and this," yet USA has access to any biological agents it desires. It's someone hypocritical, and I'm sure that most countries dissaprove of such "bullying." Many other countries also hold a hatred against the US, like North Korea. Do you see the US attacking North Korea?
As i argued previously, have they not had 12 years to inspect iraq? What has been the outcome each time? Lies, deceit, diplomatic games and stalling tactics.
C. Is it not the UN's job to "inspect" as they are instructed to do? Surely any deceptions is their responsiblities to unsolve. Iraq was also at good cooperation before the deadline ended
I agree. Diplomacy does not require military force. Let us consider for a moment that this resolution was passed. Do you think Iraq would comply? If we consider statistics, this would be the 4th UN resolution in an unending series. How do we justify the need to pass another resolution? Is that to be our only diplomatic action? Are we to let saddam continue to play tap dancing with the UN while their inspection teams continue to chase false leads and half chances?
D. How is rejecting a resolution requiring use of military force a thwart to diplomatic efforts? "The war for peace," is that not an oxymoron? Diplomacy does not involve military action, according to the United States, as they said so themselves, edging an effort to end the North Korea crisis using "diplomacy."
If you follow documented history, palestine is a disputed land. No one can claim it as their own. Neither the Israelis or the palestinians. Israel's actions are questionable but given the fact that they have been threatened militarily and economically by their muslim neighbours and fought 2 large scale wars in the space of 10 odd years, not to mention the entebbe raid.
E. The US is also breaking resolutions by the UN from making a unjust attack on Iraq, no? It is acting like Israel, in many terms. Accusing another state of breaking resolutions and distrupting peace when they are doing it themselves. If you do not know, Israel has been breaking international law for a great amount of years by settling in Palestinian land, yet refusing to give it back, and they say they are doing all they can for a "peaceful solution" for the Palestinian people.
farni....but wad if is true....Originally posted by CX: