oh man................ are u really really old? U sound like it. Im not a chinese, im a Singaporean. I may be Chinese in ethnicity, but i seriously cannot feel a connection between myself, and a bunch of people with terrible fashion sense, bad hairdos, atrocious manners, and no money?Originally posted by ProudSGChinese:I'm opening this thread due to the disgraceful attitude i see in Chinese nowadays.
Singaporean Chinese nowadays have no feelings for the Chinese Culture, the Chinese Language. I have never have seen a race which have detioriated into such extent. The Chinese in Singapore has forgotten the roots. Some can't even write their Chinese names. Why? They say that Chinese ain't important and that English is more important. The importance is not so importance. What erks me is that they are actually forgetting themselves, the blood that flows in them, the culture they have been brought up in..
I wish to cancel all doubts by distancing my article on Chinese as a Singaporean Chinese race and not some stuff propagating China Chinese. Even though i do treat all Chinese equally as the Malays treat one another, i do not feel so much for the China Chinese as for the Singaporean Chinese.
SG Chinese has dropped so far back that they are looking down on their race rather than looking up to it. Such is the mentality of "Jap and Korean" that many Singaporean Chinese would rather be a Jap or a Korean than a Chinese. I find that it is a downright shame. Imagine looking up to a race that invaded our ancestor's homeland and killed without blinking a eyelid. I do not understand what is so great about the japanese that wil make Chinese feel that Japanese is more cool and hence wants to "disown" Chinese. Some even rather have Japanese names den Chinese names. Some are even afraid to say their Chinese names, caus they feel it will make them look uncool.
I find that the Singapore Government has been a failure. In this aspect. In their strive for a multi-racial country they have been neglecting the Chinese race, leading it into total disarray. Their bloody lack of confidence makes them polticise every attempt to invoke a sense of pride in Singaporean Chinese. They fear of the backlash if SIngaporean Chinese turns communist. Big Joke. They are so insecure. So what has happened since? SIngaporean Chinese have lost their roots. Compare it with races like the Malay one. I am proud of them, why? They closely knitted society and they are proud to be a Malay. When Iraq was attacked, their arab brothers all around the war rose up to speak against it. What do we call people from China? Cheena. When someones say that they do not have an english name? You are a cheena-kia.
Such is the mindset of today's chinese that i feel disgusted. The PAP government has groomed a Chinese race that ain't so chinese. I hate it when people confuse Chinese with Singapore. Being a proud Chinese doesn't mean i support China. Being a proud Chinese does not mean you are not a good Singaporean.I feel that we should widen this cultural gap between the Chinese in SIngapore. Or else in the near future, we should not even learn chinese and call ourself a Chinese.
precisely...Stick in the mud...Originally posted by CenturionMBT:dun stereotype those from china.Some of them are not what they seem to be.If you look at shanghai, many of them exceeds us both acedamically and socially.
so the problem here is that not enough shanghainese come here to study right? thats why we got screwed up impression of mainlanders...Originally posted by CenturionMBT:dun stereotype those from china.Some of them are not what they seem to be.If you look at shanghai, many of them exceeds us both acedamically and socially.
CX, I agree with you completely. You made some valid points.Originally posted by CX:forget "race" lah... i hate that term... too loaded... ethnicity... its a much more apt term.
here's a more messy question... what is a chinese?especially when u bring the question of the overseas chinese... the huaqiao and huayi...
is language a requisite to chinese-ness? or is it adherence to customs and cultures? or is it adherence to a set of beliefs and mindset? does the absence of either one make us any less "chinese"???
hey, there are tons of overseas chinese all over the world who can't speak mandarin, don't subscribe to confucianism and almost certainly, don't practice buddhism (which originated from india anyway) or taosim but will strongly assert that they are CHINESE if asked the question...
of course i don't agree with those posers who wanna act jap or korean or ang moh lah...
but its important to draw the distinction between one who is ashamed of his heritage vs one who is proud of it, but know very little about it due to the passage of time and weakening links with their heritage.
no need to go on a rampage and steamroll all yellow skinned people who can't speak mandarin... thats just cultural chauvinism for u... most indonesian chinese can't speak mandarin... doesn't make them any less chinese if u ask meto some of them, their wealth is testimony of their chinese blood.
and what about thai chinese? try asking thaksin sinawatra... no big secret that he's ethnic chinese too... don't think he speaks the language though...
oh by the way, i can write my name and speak it properly... can't write it that well though
Originally posted by ProudSGChinese:sigh... quite obvious that u're not putting things into their proper perspective...
And regarding those issues in which a person said that China people have bad hairdos, bad fashion sense, and no money. Haha, it seems that this guy either have no IQ or doesn't read the papers. Each culture is different. We may find people from China with wierd fashion sense, but in their country, that may not be the case. We are a nearly-westernised country, hence to judge them from the westernised views of ours is duely unfair. If that is so, ain't women in the Arab World has worse fashion sense, covering every part of their body? But it's part of the Arabic culture.
No money? I've a feeling the guy whom said this must not be rich, or do not have a wealthy family. Those in middle class and above families should now knoiw that China is growing, growing at a rate 7 2.5 times ours. Our GDP growth rate was 2-3%, China's was 7-9%. Idon't be silly lah... if u break down the figures regionally, u'll find that most of the growth is happening in the south eastern coastal region. so how equitable is the growth anyway? duh... china very big u know... are u sure every single area is growing at the same rate and every chinese citizen's income is increasing at the same rate?
In this world like this where people belittle their own race.They may well be better off dead. As the famous Chinese saying goes "ying shui shi yuan" Never forget your roots.i keep asking u... do we sound like we're belittling our roots??? all i can think of is that u're hanging out with some really screwed up people man...
No money? I've a feeling the guy whom said this must not be rich, or do not have a wealthy family. Those in middle class and above families should now knoiw that China is growing, growing at a rate 7 2.5 times ours. Our GDP growth rate was 2-3%, China's was 7-9%heh dude....you do know there was a report in news week that questions China's growth index due to the fact that that country is courropt to hell.....i mean every year they report growth NATION wide.......even in counties in the interior.This is highly suspicious and most experts belive the growth rate is between 3% to negative 2.5% and their budget is confrimed to be in deficit and that was before they increase their defence budget but what? 10%?[/code]
......You know what? People in Arab countries do have terrible fashion sense. And so what if I think people in China look ridiculous? Just because im Chinese, i have to think that Chinese people look good? So, is it right to say that just because you are indian, u have to eat roti prata, or just because you are malay, you have to listen to metallica and skateboard? I really don't see your point. From what I gather, you think we should'nt say that people from China are badly dressed just because they have a different culture? Come on... And please, don't be so naive. Just because their growth rate is higher than ours, doesnt mean they are richer. It just means that their economy is growing faster. That's because they're poor. Back in the 60s - 80s in Singapore, our growth rate was very high too. This was because before that, we were relatively poor. Currently, our GDP doesn't grow so much because our country is rich. And how exactly do you arrive at the conclusion that I'm poor? My father earns more in one month than some chinese dude probably earns in a year. Do you even know anything about economics? A country's GDP is not a measure of the average income of a person. Please get your facts right before you come n talk rubbish, because you just end up looking damn bloody stupid. I think you're the person with a low IQ. I'm not ashamed to be a Chinese. However, I do find mainlanders to be rude and obnoxious. Is that wrong? It's a free country. That's my opinion. Live with it. I think you're the more pathetic one. You're the overseas Chinese with an inferiority complex, who needs to link himself to a big country like China and blow the trumpet of Chinese culture just to make himself feel important. You may think you're a Chinese, they're Chinese, we're all one happy family, but when you go there, you'll realize you're not one of them. You may have the same color skin, speak the same language, but you're still not one of them! To them, you speak Chinese weirdly, you have western mannerisms, etc. You're a singaporean, get used to it.Originally posted by ProudSGChinese:And regarding those issues in which a person said that China people have bad hairdos, bad fashion sense, and no money. Haha, it seems that this guy either have no IQ or doesn't read the papers. Each culture is different. We may find people from China with wierd fashion sense, but in their country, that may not be the case. We are a nearly-westernised country, hence to judge them from the westernised views of ours is duely unfair. If that is so, ain't women in the Arab World has worse fashion sense, covering every part of their body? But it's part of the Arabic culture.
No money? I've a feeling the guy whom said this must not be rich, or do not have a wealthy family. Those in middle class and above families should now knoiw that China is growing, growing at a rate 7 2.5 times ours. Our GDP growth rate was 2-3%, China's was 7-9%. I
In this world like this where people belittle their own race.They may well be better off dead. As the famous Chinese saying goes "ying shui shi yuan" Never forget your roots.
stop draggin the word chinese to china chinese?? ahahah what is a person from china called??Chinese......what is a person from malaysia called? Malaysian.....what is a person from hmm...i dunno why dont you pick a country?Germany maybe? what is he called? a german....you dont see themselves proudly proclaiming to be a goth or a Norwigian? though they came from the same place.But i do not see them complaining! Face it dude we are no longer Chinese......we are now Singaporeans!Originally posted by ProudSGChinese:And for goodness sake.. stop dragging my term "Chinese" To CHINA CHINESE.. It just makes thing complicated.. ANd why should You when u are already making things so complex. If you are not proficient in your CHINESE.. Den AT LEAST be PROFICIENT IN YOUR ENGLISH for GOD's SAKE.. Dont embarrase SINGAPORE by ur LANGUAGE's USAGE...
(sarcasium on)Ya and i'm ashame that people drive instead of using a rickshaw ,a horse draw cart or even a sedan chair!(sarcasium off)Originally posted by pocketpig II:i agree with ProudSGChinese, i am really ashame of chinese when my friends bring a calculator instead of a abacus to school.
Because this is an English forum and Chinese aren't the only ones participating and reading. Perhaps You'd like to translate the last sentence of yours for the benefit of others.Originally posted by FireIce:jus wondering why this discussion is not in Chinese.....
hua ren, hua yu, hua wen
HAHAHAHAAHA..... eh how ignorant can you be?Originally posted by ProudSGChinese:No money? I've a feeling the guy whom said this must not be rich, or do not have a wealthy family. Those in middle class and above families should now knoiw that China is growing, growing at a rate 7 2.5 times ours. Our GDP growth rate was 2-3%, China's was 7-9%.
Originally posted by ProudSGChinese:i'm not referring to mainland china per se... just as u use your arab example to illustrate your point, i use china to illustrate my point that its pointless to see local chinese in the same way as mainlanders...
hey guys.. u guys still don't get the point don't u.. k.. i explain it in paragraph mode.
When referring to Chinese. I AIN'T referring to CHINA CHINESE, but SINGAPOREAN CHINESE. Why do u CX keep on harping on CHINA, when i ain;t even REFERRING TO THEM.
And for goodness sake.. stop dragging my term "Chinese" To CHINA CHINESE.. It just makes thing complicated.. ANd why should You when u are already making things so complex. If you are not proficient in your CHINESE.. Den AT LEAST be PROFICIENT IN YOUR ENGLISH for GOD's SAKE.. Dont embarrase SINGAPORE by ur LANGUAGE's USAGE...understanding that the matter u raised is complex beyond your original simplistic assertation is a good start... at least we've established the premises that being "chinese" means more than one thing. in fact, i feel that it means different things to different people.
BY the WAY, i AIN'T being PRO-CHINA.. I wasn'T even prasising it. UP TILL NOW, WHAT I HAVE SAID ABOUT CHINA was in DEFENSE of IT...why defend it at all? its full of holes. i for one, don't agree with all that crap about china being the land of opportunities. its just another economy. its big, of course, but like all economic systems, it always disappoints when u're not in the right line, at the right place, at the right time and with the right people.
You must have a hole in your brain, because obviously, you didn't really comprehend what I wrote. First of all, so I'm looking at it from a western viewpoint. Ok... So? I don't really get your point. I'm making things complex? Sorry if I am... Perhaps your gripes about my so-called language impairment are actually the cries of a tormented subconscious. The way I see it, you are the one who isn't literate in english. For example, look at your spelling. "Embarrase"? Look at your grammar and sentence structure. If you would have bothered to read my posts (which i find highly unlikely seeing as to how you appear to possess a grasp of the english language comparible to that of an ungulate), you'll find that they are at least grammatically correct, which is far more than I can say for yours. I think its amazingly ironic how you can tell me that my English is bad when it is plainly clear that yours is far worse. "ain't"? I hate it when people try to talk like niggers even though they aren't. So what... are you a Chinese, or an African american? Or perhaps you're just westernized. Which then leads me to wonder: "Why the hell are you complaining about Singaporeans being westernized?" Maybe you're the one who's wallowing in self-loathing. Think about what I've said, eh.Originally posted by ProudSGChinese:hey guys.. u guys still don't get the point don't u.. k.. i explain it in paragraph mode.
When referring to Chinese. I AIN'T referring to CHINA CHINESE, but SINGAPOREAN CHINESE. Why do u CX keep on harping on CHINA, when i ain;t even REFERRING TO THEM.
AND the M guy.. Look CAREFULLY, AIN'T u contridicting yourself. I SAID THE VIEWS of yours depend on wad sense are YOU LOOKING AT.. EG. For YOu you are looking in a WESTERN manner, HENCE the CHINAMEN may appear FUNNY... THAT's WHy i use the example of THE WAY WE VIEW THE ARABIC WORLD..
And for goodness sake.. stop dragging my term "Chinese" To CHINA CHINESE.. It just makes thing complicated.. ANd why should You when u are already making things so complex. If you are not proficient in your CHINESE.. Den AT LEAST be PROFICIENT IN YOUR ENGLISH for GOD's SAKE.. Dont embarrase SINGAPORE by ur LANGUAGE's USAGE...
BY the WAY, i AIN'T being PRO-CHINA.. I wasn'T even prasising it. UP TILL NOW, WHAT I HAVE SAID ABOUT CHINA was in DEFENSE of IT...
.... you're patting yourself on the back because you think you "owned" someone with your fanciful use of vulgarities? You're probably the only wannabe in this post.
Wahahaha... damn I'm good! Score one for me!
Mazohyst 1 - Stupid cheena nigga wannabe illiterate dog%@&@ mofo 0
In what way does that make me a wannabe? Don't see your logic. Sheesh... was i talking to you? Who the hell are you anyway... mind your own business, noob.Originally posted by Stevenson101:.... you're patting yourself on the back because you think you "owned" someone with your fanciful use of vulgarities? You're probably the only wannabe in this post.
SGChinese made some good points but different people have different opinions, your friend's opinion about wanting to be japanese is his choice not the majority's as a whole. All races have their rebels who feel that their race is inferior but they do not speak for the whole race.
Some people feel that they don't want to be Chinese, there are also people that are interested in Chinese Calligraphy, Literature, History, Art...etc. Surely you cannot expect us to all be interested in it. By what model do you consider the ideal Singaporean chinese ?
Also, it is not solely the government's responsiblity to ensure we keep our Chinese heritage. We are supposed to be a multi racial society, we cannot expect our government to play favouritism. That is also a reason why they can't embark too zealously on the campaign for Chinese.