still lower than the principle, but its is all by CPF, a cash you may not survive to see or even touch it, so might as well use it.
Originally posted by angel7030:still lower than the principle, but its is all by CPF, a cash you may not survive to see or even touch it, so might as well use it.
The last time some singaporean mentioned not being able to live long enough to see or touch his cpf money, dunno how many ministers had to justify their explanations on newspapers for like 3 weeks consecutively.
Originally posted by ditzy:The last time some singaporean mentioned not being able to live long enough to see or touch his cpf money, dunno how many ministers had to justify their explanations on newspapers for like 3 weeks consecutively.
The minimum sum keeps increasing every few years.
No joke, but you won't be able to touch your cpf money in the next 10-20-30 years time.
The more Singaporean compliant, the higher property price increases. The problem is Govern bearer are speculator themself.
Nowadays HDB flats priced like condo or bungolow.
Originally posted by βÎτά:
A loan of $200,000 for 30 years at 4.5% interest, at the end of 30 years you would have paid $168,349 in interest.
if the banks dun earn....where got financial hub?
if HDB dun earn...where got more "affordable" pigeon holes?
So does anybody think HDB flat prices will drop soon?
Or will it be a relentless march towards the big 1 million dollar mark ?
Originally posted by charlize:So does anybody think HDB flat prices will drop soon?
Once it hit 1 million mark, it will become 2 million, 3 million and soon, condo and bungalows are cheaper than HDB flats liao
Originally posted by charlize:So does anybody think HDB flat prices will drop soon?
ppl will still believe they can sell their HDB flats for a good price one de.
your singapore
If the prices now are higher than the true market price equilibrium, then the prices will surely come down, i.e. there exists a property bubble, which will burst.
The alternative, more scary idea is... current prices are at or even below price equilibrium, which explains the high COVs and ever-increasing valuation prices while the market adjusts towards the price equilibrium.
From the looks of it, I think HDB prices will just continue to rise at least until the population control policy changes. It's only a matter of fast or slow. Think about this: the government controls the supply (number of HDBs built), and the demand (number of humans in Singapore). They do indeed have the power to influence the HDB prices.
Think about what the government has said:
- we will not allow a HDB property bubble to form
- as the economy recovers, HDB prices will continue to rise
- HDBs are still affordable
- we will not control HDB prices through artificial means
Originally posted by angel7030:
If you only allow PR to rent and not to buy, rental is going to be expensive and also price of housing will also go up. Now, let us be more logic here, who are the sellers of HDB flats?? Singaporeans, greedy Singaporeans asking for sky high profits, and when PR bought it, they start to blame PR spoiling the market...Fair? Why not you turn around and ask you yourself as a Singaporeans, how much have your benefit from selling your flat to a PR.Because the demand for resale flat is there, Singaporean take this opportunity to sell their flat at cut throat prices, make a profit and careless those still unable to buy a house. So, dun alway blame it on the supply market or the demand one, PR can be right or wrong, Singaporeans also need to take the blame for the high cost of resale flat. No PR would know the market well and thereby get cheated in one way or the other, a PR staying here for 10 years will not go and buy a flat costing nearly a million.
You obviously do not have brains. It's precisely because of the huge influx of PRs that resulted in the spike in demand. How can you blame singaporeans for asking for sky high prices? Any rational person will sell at a higher price if the demand is strong. Going to the root of the problem, it's because demand is higher than supply. Why is this so? Because the government has failed to control BOTH the demand AND the supply effectively. Or in another point of view, perhaps the government planned to allow the demand to outstrip supply just to inflate property prices and boost GDP. Either way, we have only one party to blame, we all know who.
Originally posted by godchuanz:If the prices now are higher than the true market price equilibrium, then the prices will surely come down, i.e. there exists a property bubble, which will burst.
The alternative, more scary idea is... current prices are at or even below price equilibrium, which explains the high COVs and ever-increasing valuation prices while the market adjusts towards the price equilibrium.
From the looks of it, I think HDB prices will just continue to rise at least until the population control policy changes. It's only a matter of fast or slow. Think about this: the government controls the supply (number of HDBs built), and the demand (number of humans in Singapore). They do indeed have the power to influence the HDB prices.
Think about what the government has said:
- we will not allow a HDB property bubble to form
- as the economy recovers, HDB prices will continue to rise
- HDBs are still affordable
- we will not control HDB prices through artificial means
I spoken to people they all said there is a bubble....but on the other hand they said govt is making sure there is a price support.
So thats the end of story....at what point would the govt hands off.
Originally posted by sbst275:
ppl will still believe they can sell their HDB flats for a good price one de.
yes...and if they migrate...fine...if not...stay under the expressway flyover?
sell high but also buy high....in the end only financial institutions win.
Originally posted by charlize:does anybody think HDB flat prices will drop soon?
I dont think it is not going to come down anytime soon...
Originally posted by VivId CrItiQuE:You obviously do not have brains. It's precisely because of the huge influx of PRs that resulted in the spike in demand. How can you blame singaporeans for asking for sky high prices? Any rational person will sell at a higher price if the demand is strong. Going to the root of the problem, it's because demand is higher than supply. Why is this so? Because the government has failed to control BOTH the demand AND the supply effectively. Or in another point of view, perhaps the government planned to allow the demand to outstrip supply just to inflate property prices and boost GDP. Either way, we have only one party to blame, we all know who.
If singaporeans is to get united and refuse to sell to PRs, guess what will happen?
The party that created the scenarios have other objectives beside housing, housing prices or so call property booming is only a by product of that objectives, and to clarify abit of it, one of the main objective is to increase population here due to low fertility rates of Singaporeans, me not included. And when the flood gate open, tons of peoples troll in leading to so much by product created.
Originally posted by angel7030:
If singaporeans is to get united and refuse to sell to PRs, guess what will happen?The party that created the scenarios have other objectives beside housing, housing prices or so call property booming is only a by product of that objectives, and to clarify abit of it, one of the main objective is to increase population here due to low fertility rates of Singaporeans, me not included. And when the flood gate open, tons of peoples troll in leading to so much by product created.
Your thinking is so childish, "if singaporeans is to get united and refuse to sell to PRs...", if you are a seller, would you refuse to sell your flat to someone who is willing to pay a crazy price for it? I think most singaporeans who sold their flats at crazily high prices to the PRs probably thought that the PRs are stupid suckers anyway. The only way to solve the problem is not through some childish "let's ostracise the PRs" method, but rather to shift the market equilibrium through proper demand and supply control.
Originally posted by VivId CrItiQuE:
Your thinking is so childish, "if singaporeans is to get united and refuse to sell to PRs...", if you are a seller, would you refuse to sell your flat to someone who is willing to pay a crazy price for it? I think most singaporeans who sold their flats at crazily high prices to the PRs probably thought that the PRs are stupid suckers anyway. The only way to solve the problem is not through some childish "let's ostracise the PRs" method, but rather to shift the market equilibrium through proper demand and supply control.
i am looking and asking question as alway to find an answer...the true all these problem is that SIngaporean dun want to give birth leading to population decreasing and old age population booming, so what you do?? let singapore sink and people disappear one by one until you and me around in the Garden of Eden again.
Originally posted by VivId CrItiQuE:
the key words is "if" let say only
I agree with godchuanz. The reason for the higher hdb price now is because the market is adjusting towards the real price equilibrium. Most ppl was paying too low for their flat before and actually could afford more. Just that there was no catalyst for this price hike until recent years.
Actually, i think HDB prices will ceiling at 600-700k which is now.
Why? because the salary ceiling for cpf contribution is $4,500.
Assume husband and wife both hit the salary ceiling :-
Mthly cpf contribution to ordinary account is $9000 x 28.5% x 0.667 = $1710
Loan amt for 30 years period with mthly repayment $1710 ~ $450k
If a couple want to pay their flat fully by CPF, their max loan is $450k ( at interest rate of 2.6%) Assuming they are 30 yrs old when they bought their hdb , rough total cpf they have in CPF ordinary acct will be $175k.
If a couple does not want to fork out any cash when buying a flat, their invisible ceiling is ard 625k. Until now , most of singapore will not fork out cash to pay their housing mthly repayment.Thus, my take is HDB price will ceiling ard 600-700k. Yes, there will still be rare flat sold at exceptionally high prices but most of the flats @ good location will ceiling at this range.
Now guys let's get real...in the past we work for a family now ppl like me work for a nest egg to get out ofSG!! Why ppl like me wanna leave...look at the problems at this forum and you know why...so dun think of having a peaceful happy life in a material culture here...
u cant leave....what bout yer folks that u couldnt bring....ya need to bring everypne over to migration country or u have no choice but to fight it out at city hall not next year but rather tonight if u need the nightmare to end!
ok...we now already know price will go up and will never come down......now what????
u have the below choices:
1)migrate and forget bout mom n pop stuck back in spore
2)fight it out until u can afford the pigeon hole shelter thats already too overpriced years ago
3)go live on pulau ubin
4)go live in JB which sounds cheaper now even though it was expensive years ago
5)dont get married....dont have children...live wiv parents..cross fingers dat u would strike lottery 1 million which probably would give u a shelter before shelter gets reclaimed by SER or whatever
6)build yer own yacht n live on it.
Originally posted by charlize:It's "affordable" .
over lifetime.....and beyond...ha ha ha
Originally posted by Ccjt:I agree with godchuanz. The reason for the higher hdb price now is because the market is adjusting towards the real price equilibrium. Most ppl was paying too low for their flat before and actually could afford more. Just that there was no catalyst for this price hike until recent years.
Actually, i think HDB prices will ceiling at 600-700k which is now.
Why? because the salary ceiling for cpf contribution is $4,500.
Assume husband and wife both hit the salary ceiling :-
Mthly cpf contribution to ordinary account is $9000 x 28.5% x 0.667 = $1710
Loan amt for 30 years period with mthly repayment $1710 ~ $450k
If a couple want to pay their flat fully by CPF, their max loan is $450k ( at interest rate of 2.6%) Assuming they are 30 yrs old when they bought their hdb , rough total cpf they have in CPF ordinary acct will be $175k.
If a couple does not want to fork out any cash when buying a flat, their invisible ceiling is ard 625k. Until now , most of singapore will not fork out cash to pay their housing mthly repayment.Thus, my take is HDB price will ceiling ard 600-700k. Yes, there will still be rare flat sold at exceptionally high prices but most of the flats @ good location will ceiling at this range.
See this is a big "If" that your income stayed unchanged and not affected by economics downturn or illnesses............