Originally posted by Demon Bane:By the time our kids grow up, it'll be insane price levels....maybe even S$500k for a small BTO 3 bdrm....
Maybe your kids will be making $16k a month next time? ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:Maybe your kids will be making $16k a month next time?
Not likely lah....it'll be their doom if they dun get a decent job that pays S$5K pm, otherwise can't afford even public housing....by then....
Housing prices are ridiculous, yet Singaporeans are still queuing up to buy. Why?
I can understand those who need a new place and have no choice, for reasons like getting married, but why the rest are willing to pay no matter how high the prices get beats me. Is it bacause they think that prices will go up further (meaning they will not lose money when they sell)? What goes up must come down, some people will get their hands burnt one day.
Originally posted by allkosong:Housing prices are ridiculous, yet Singaporeans are still queuing up to buy. Why?
I can understand those who need a new place and have no choice, for reasons like getting married, but why the rest are willing to pay no matter how high the prices get beats me. Is it bacause they think that prices will go up further (meaning they will not lose money when they sell)? What goes up must come down, some people will get their hands burnt one day.
For the people that wanna play properties to make a quick buck, beware....a downtrend is in place....possibly a huge one....
Originally posted by Demon Bane:Not likely lah....it'll be their doom if they dun get a decent job that pays S$5K pm, otherwise can't afford even public housing....by then....
Why u see your kids no up?
Maybe next time, they make millions in a year as ceo of some mnc. ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:Why u see your kids no up?
Maybe next time, they make millions in a year as ceo of some mnc.
Yah lah dream on man....lets be realistic abit leh....![]()
Originally posted by Demon Bane:Yah lah dream on man....lets be realistic abit leh....
There is always hope. ![]()
Even if both couples are working, it'll still be very tough to repay loans if they get a 5rm HDB flat....the future will be worse...prices seems like still can go up....
Originally posted by Demon Bane:Even if both couples are working, it'll still be very tough to repay loans if they get a 5rm HDB flat....the future will be worse...prices seems like still can go up....
Just stretch the loan to 40 or 50 years lor. ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:Just stretch the loan to 40 or 50 years lor.
Soon we'll have to stretch it to the next generation, lol!
Originally posted by allkosong:Soon we'll have to stretch it to the next generation, lol!
That's the idea. ![]()
Originally posted by allkosong:Soon we'll have to stretch it to the next generation, lol!
That is a scary idea....![]()
Originally posted by allkosong:Housing prices are ridiculous, yet Singaporeans are still queuing up to buy. Why?
this is not the first time housing prices go up, when they come down, it will not the first time. Many people got their hands burnt before, but you see the same people in the market again. Speculating in property is still quite profitable, making a few $100K in a few weeks is not unheard of in a growing market. and compared to stock and shares, the return is better, probably more secured.
To many who have money, parking the money in a Singapore property means you invest in S$, not likely to go down against other currencies, and properties market, in a land scarce Singapore, will retain its value in the medium and long term, so if value stays, currency stable, it is a good investment to begin!
So what is there for Singaporean? I think many Singaporeans are confused with buying houses for own stay and for investment, with buying HDB and private properties. If we expect the market to change to suit us, to pressure the government to control the market to suit us, then we will continue to be pessimistic, but the future is not doomed, many can still stay with their parents.
Singaporean should look at the HDB market, where foreigners and local speculators are not eligible, and go in when necessary; and if you have money to invest, then look at the condo and see where you can have reasonable rental returns to help your instalment, if you have a lot more money, look at the landed properties, sit and wait for capital appreciation.
Nobody serious in looking for a house, look at prices alone.
Speculators all laughing all the way to the bank. ![]()
Originally posted by Demon Bane:By the time our kids grow up, it'll be insane price levels....maybe even S$500k for a small BTO 3 bdrm....
maybe charge by room.
1 room 1 miilion
2 room 2 million
Originally posted by dragg:maybe charge by room.
1 room 1 miilion
2 room 2 million
That's not likely....I think the most will be S$500k for a brand new 3rm BTO standard flat...650+ sqft anything more than that, not much people can afford anymore....
Originally posted by charlize:Speculators all laughing all the way to the bank.
Be a speculator then....but I have seen them got burnt all over, not just hands. ![]()
Originally posted by sgdiehard:Be a speculator then....but I have seen them got burnt all over, not just hands.
Precisely, my frens got burnt by playing the pte pty markets...I dun dare to do that....its for the very rich....not the average joes like us....working to make ends meet...
Originally posted by sgdiehard:Be a speculator then....but I have seen them got burnt all over, not just hands.
You can speculate with no cash down?
I'm listening. ![]()
Originally posted by Demon Bane:Precisely, my frens got burnt by playing the pte pty markets...I dun dare to do that....its for the very rich....not the average joes like us....working to make ends meet...
One time I overheard some people talking on the bus.
Claimed his friend flipped a few private properties in 2008 to 2010 and ended up with $500,000 profits. ![]()
I guess with the ever increasing number of migrants and FTs, the prices will keep going up? Does that mean it is not too late to speculate? Hence the long queues still. Lol!
Originally posted by charlize:You can speculate with no cash down?
I'm listening.
did anybody say there is no cash down in speculation? I want to know too. ![]()
Originally posted by sgdiehard:did anybody say there is no cash down in speculation? I want to know too.
Everybody wants to know. ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:One time I overheard some people talking on the bus.
Claimed his friend flipped a few private properties in 2008 to 2010 and ended up with $500,000 profits.
Yeap, but it may also mean you can lose S$500K if you are being caught @ the low point of the market...basically like I've said, speculation is for the very rich....we can't afford to make any mistakes....
Originally posted by Demon Bane:Yeap, but it may also mean you can lose S$500K if you are being caught @ the low point of the market...basically like I've said, speculation is for the very rich....we can't afford to make any mistakes....
speculators make mistake all the time!!! No speculator wants to get caught @ the low point of the market. Speculators don't look at the peak and the lowest point, they look at very very short term, make the money and run, but when the market is not at the lowest, they went in again, then the market turns.....
The Rich speculate high, the not so rich speculate small, high risk high return, low risk low return, buy high sell low....everybody knows....the speculators take the risk!!
The important thing I learn from them is what are you prepared, or can afford to lose!!! if they lose, got burnt....wait for the next market upturn.....东山�起。
what is your risk profile?