Originally posted by likeyou:
ya I read it too.
strange that they're doing it this way.
this means that all young ppl recently ord, get.
all the old birds are left out.
this sure going to make many ppl unhappy.
Originally posted by 4sg:
ya I read it too.strange that they're doing it this way.
this means that all young ppl recently ord, get.
all the old birds are left out.
this sure going to make many ppl unhappy.
I dont know whether we have miss out any clause or not....
Not that fair for those who has completed ns early.....liao pang.
We still do ns mah....:(
Because they think only the younger 20 somethings are not happy.
The 30, 40, 50, 60 somethings are all a bunch of happy people with only small minor problems like unemployment/retrenchments, rising cost of living and too little CPF retirement funds.
Simple logic.
Young soldier have more resistence in serving NS.
They dun want them to gang up and create issues later.
As for lao peng, they are already out of the army and not holding a gun.
So, why would they want to reward the lao peng ?
The present policy was never about taking care of the old.
Just scan the job market and you will know that employers are reluctant to hire workers above 35.
It is making the young generation happy that is more important.
The middle age generation are already saddled with enough debts to keep them here as slave here.
I have already guessed that this will happened.
There are still naive people who believed that the money is for all men serving the country.
The money is for keeping future slave here.
But, the young people have suffered enough insults from the foreigners who are enjoying all the perks and none of the hardship.
Originally posted by likeyou:
This is what you get
$0 or
$0.00 or
$00.00 or
$000.00 or
$0000.00
Originally posted by charlize:Because they think only the younger 20 somethings are not happy.
The 30, 40, 50, 60 somethings are all a bunch of happy people with only small minor problems like unemployment/retrenchments, rising cost of living and too little CPF retirement funds.
I suspect they want to win the young over.....left out all those liao pang....shit!
Lao Peng - If you are still around, mean that you are not elite or you are not going any where.
In the first place, there is nothing to be excited about as the price of the flat will be inflated to cover the 9000 dollar.
So, it is just a paper exercise for all.
Originally posted by charlize:Because they think only the younger 20 somethings are not happy.
Agree. Younger generation are unhappy.... and they dare to do things that you can never imagine....
30s - 40s.... can expect the payout mah... 2nd and 3rd payout.... provided they still doing reservist....
Agree 50 - 60s happy people.... economic recession all tat... retrenchment... all siam...
40 - 50 you have no money and you are screwed.
Originally posted by Junyang700:Agree. Younger generation are unhappy.... and they dare to do things that you can never imagine....
30s - 40s.... can expect the payout mah... 2nd and 3rd payout.... provided they still doing reservist....
Agree 50 - 60s happy people.... economic recession all tat... retrenchment... all siam...
Those stuck in betwwen 40s to 50s....no money!!!!!! Eat air.
The purpose of the National Service Recognition Award (NSRA) is to provide sustained recognition for Singapore citizens who serve National Service (NS). Milestone (1) (2) (3) Eligibility criteria Completion of full-time NS Completion of 3 High-Key In-Camp Training (ICT), Completion of ORNS training cycle Milestone (1) (2) (3) Quantum per serviceman Commanders $3,500 $3,500 $3,500 Non-Commanders $3,000 $3,000 $3,000 Payment Mode PSEA CPF CPF
National Service Recognition Award for Singapore Citizens
Email Article Print Article
Posted: 31 Aug 2010, 1130 hours (Time is GMT +8 hours)
Quantum of Award
The NSRA is a monetary award of a total of between $9,000 and $10,500 for each citizen National Serviceman by the time he completes his Operationally Ready National Service (ORNS) training cycle. The award will be disbursed equally at three significant milestones during the servicemen's full-time NS and ORNS. Eligible National Servicemen will each receive $3,000 at each of the milestones. National Servicemen who are commanders (ranks of Third Sergeant and above for SAF servicemen and Sergeant and above for HomeTeam servicemen) will receive $500 more; that is $3,500, at each milestone to recognise them for their heavier responsibilities.
Eligibility Criteria
Singapore citizens who meet the eligibility criteria below for each of the milestone on or after 29 August 2010 will be eligible for the award.
The three milestones of a serviceman's NS journey are:
Completion of full-time NS
Mid-point of Operationally Ready NS (ORNS) training cycle
Completion of ORNS training cycle
or
Completion of 5 ICT (of which 2 are High-Key ICT)
whichever is earlier
Payment
The award at the first milestone will be deposited into the Post Secondary Education Account (PSEA) to meet full-time National Servicemen's aspirations to further their studies after they complete their NSF. The PSEA can be used for education in approved local institutions. The second and third milestone awards will be deposited into the servicemen's Central Provident Fund (CPF) accounts, and distributed to the Ordinary, Medisave and Special Accounts in the same proportions as prevailing CPF contribution rates. This will allow the servicemen to use the awards for housing, healthcare and retirement.
Summary
A summary of the National Service Recognition Award is shown below:
Table: Design of the National Service Recognition Award for Citizens
Completion of NSF training
Mid-point of ORNS training
Completion of ORNS training cycle
The NSRA is effective from 29 Aug 2010. National Servicemen who reach the milestones on or after this date will be eligible for the respective milestone awards. For example, full-time National Servicemen whose ORD is on or after 29 Aug 2010 will be eligible for the first milestone award. This includes those whose ORD was originally on or after 29 Aug 2010, but had been brought forward due to the fitness incentive of a two-month reduction in full-time NS duration.
The award will be paid out to eligible servicemen within two months of reaching the milestone. The first disbursement for full-time National Servicemen and NSmen will start from February 2011 onwards.
Contact Info
For more information regarding the National Service Recognition Award, please call the NS Call Centre at 1800-3676767 or email to [email protected].
Originally posted by eagle:You missed my point totally. I'm not against NS.
Anyway, let me talk at your point. Allow me to point where your logic is very flawed:
You have to take into account that without NS, I would have graduated earlier. I would not have stayed with an A level cert for that 2 yrs, but instead, been halfway through uni.
It would have been an extra 2 years in the job market with a uni cert. It is these 2 years that I'm talking about. Think about it
And FYI, I graduated in 2008, and in the midst of the recent "crisis" and retrenchments, I can still easily find a job and further increase my income via different means. Do not use your "insert adjective" friends to compare with me.
Cannot dispute with you on your experience, and I think you are good at doing what you want to do. But I find it hard to generalize that coming out into the job market early is definitely better. While acknowledging that I would always have 2 years of income difference, these 2 years in NS were actually quite a pleasant difference for me, compared to my life as students, later at work, Physical training and specialist knowledge were nothing compared to living and working together with a bunch of guys who are still very much in contact today, much were achieved over the 2 years.
I think this is kind of similar to spending 2 years backpacked travelling in europe, a different experience in life, never had the money to do though.
But, having said all these, I made the best out of whatever time I have to spend in the NS, or even in the present job. Whether ns should be 1 or 2 yrs really depend on many other things. My time is over, stretching the reservist training is not good for me. Travelling schedule affected, also sometimes find it difficult to cope with changes in the army.
haiz...the old guards are forgotten.....expected la...
i forecast more oppositions
Originally posted by sgdiehard:Cannot dispute with you on your experience, and I think you are good at doing what you want to do. But I find it hard to generalize that coming out into the job market early is definitely better. While acknowledging that I would always have 2 years of income difference, these 2 years in NS were actually quite a pleasant difference for me, compared to my life as students, later at work, Physical training and specialist knowledge were nothing compared to living and working together with a bunch of guys who are still very much in contact today, much were achieved over the 2 years.
I think this is kind of similar to spending 2 years backpacked travelling in europe, a different experience in life, never had the money to do though.
But, having said all these, I made the best out of whatever time I have to spend in the NS, or even in the present job. Whether ns should be 1 or 2 yrs really depend on many other things. My time is over, stretching the reservist training is not good for me. Travelling schedule affected, also sometimes find it difficult to cope with changes in the army.
Don't get me wrong, my time inside were well spent too.
Granted, it's different for different people; we can't generalise that it is indeed better to come out earlier. But the same can be said that it cannot be generalised too that it is not.
There's both good and bad. Others might not, but I do look forward to reservist :)
whatever the true intentions of the carrot slices.....sg men were not rewarded at all but helping out all sections and levels of our society till they r discarded with time
really dun know how to write the word "JIA LARD" liao
What about those already MR? No $9000 for them?
NS was introduced in 1967, which is more than 40 years ago, so those who enlisted in the sixties are already 55 and above by now; so they can withdraw some funds from CPF, so why no money for them?
Originally posted by Vote PAP OUT to Save SG:National Service Recognition Award for Singapore Citizens Email Article Print Article Posted: 31 Aug 2010, 1130 hours (Time is GMT +8 hours)
The purpose of the National Service Recognition Award (NSRA) is to provide sustained recognition for Singapore citizens who serve National Service (NS).
Quantum of Award
The NSRA is a monetary award of a total of between $9,000 and $10,500 for each citizen National Serviceman by the time he completes his Operationally Ready National Service (ORNS) training cycle. The award will be disbursed equally at three significant milestones during the servicemen's full-time NS and ORNS. Eligible National Servicemen will each receive $3,000 at each of the milestones. National Servicemen who are commanders (ranks of Third Sergeant and above for SAF servicemen and Sergeant and above for HomeTeam servicemen) will receive $500 more; that is $3,500, at each milestone to recognise them for their heavier responsibilities.
Eligibility Criteria
Singapore citizens who meet the eligibility criteria below for each of the milestone on or after 29 August 2010 will be eligible for the award.
The three milestones of a serviceman's NS journey are:Milestone
(1)
Completion of full-time NS(2)
Mid-point of Operationally Ready NS (ORNS) training cycle(3)
Completion of ORNS training cycleEligibility criteria
Completion of full-time NS
Completion of 3 High-Key In-Camp Training (ICT),
or
Completion of 5 ICT (of which 2 are High-Key ICT)
whichever is earlierCompletion of ORNS training cycle
Payment
The award at the first milestone will be deposited into the Post Secondary Education Account (PSEA) to meet full-time National Servicemen's aspirations to further their studies after they complete their NSF. The PSEA can be used for education in approved local institutions. The second and third milestone awards will be deposited into the servicemen's Central Provident Fund (CPF) accounts, and distributed to the Ordinary, Medisave and Special Accounts in the same proportions as prevailing CPF contribution rates. This will allow the servicemen to use the awards for housing, healthcare and retirement.
Summary
A summary of the National Service Recognition Award is shown below:
Table: Design of the National Service Recognition Award for CitizensMilestone
(1)
Completion of NSF training(2)
Mid-point of ORNS training(3)
Completion of ORNS training cycleQuantum per serviceman
Commanders
$3,500
$3,500
$3,500
Non-Commanders
$3,000
$3,000
$3,000
Payment Mode
PSEA
CPF
CPF
The NSRA is effective from 29 Aug 2010. National Servicemen who reach the milestones on or after this date will be eligible for the respective milestone awards. For example, full-time National Servicemen whose ORD is on or after 29 Aug 2010 will be eligible for the first milestone award. This includes those whose ORD was originally on or after 29 Aug 2010, but had been brought forward due to the fitness incentive of a two-month reduction in full-time NS duration.
The award will be paid out to eligible servicemen within two months of reaching the milestone. The first disbursement for full-time National Servicemen and NSmen will start from February 2011 onwards.
Contact Info
For more information regarding the National Service Recognition Award, please call the NS Call Centre at 1800-3676767 or email to [email protected].
Related Content
FAQ: Illustrations of the NSRA for National Servicemen
31 Aug 10 - Opening Statement by Minister of State for Defence Associate Professor Koo Tsai Kee
31 Aug 10 - Details of award to recognise citizens' NS contributions unveiled [cyberpioneer]
31 Aug 10 - News Video
Interesting, so from what I read above, all of us who have completed NS will not receive $9000, but $6000 at most.
Interesting to see how our govt likes to put in so many conditions even when giving $$$ from left pocket to right pocket.
Originally posted by soul_rage:
Interesting, so from what I read above, all of us who have completed NS will not receive $9000, but $6000 at most.Interesting to see how our govt likes to put in so many conditions even when giving $$$ from left pocket to right pocket.
Increase their own pay to millions, there won't be conditions.
|
So maybe those MR will still receive some money, need more clarification.
Originally posted by Vote PAP OUT to Save SG:Completion of ORNS traning cycle: The award at this milestone will replace the current ORNS Completion Award of $300 per NSman. This award will be deposited into the NSman's CPF account.
Means its $300 cut back of cash entitlement instead?
the use of economics to justify the balanced framework without taking considerations of the emotional masses is deemed to fail in the long run ....
its just like combining 2 atoms of hydrogen and 1 atom of oxygen to make water...but what makes water water....that natural sense has been lost through the iron hand of academic economics
the use of economics to justify the balanced framework without taking considerations of the emotional masses is deemed to fail in the long run ....
its just like combining 2 atoms of hydrogen and 1 atom of oxygen to make water...but what makes water water....that natural sense has been lost through the iron hand of academic economics