No Choice no U-turn? Guess that's too bad for the rest of you guys then.....But i still think NS is a burden to you guys, that's wat the topic about. Time is money, what a waste.Originally posted by CX:of course not... thats exactly my point. if u're smart enough to get a degree, why aren't u smart enough to keep your area clean while in the Army? not as if we have a choice anyway... those with means could always choose to emigrate... the rest of us just do what we have to while we're here.
Well, as least you recognised that SAF never holds a monopoly on teaching people respect and humility instead of glorifying it as if it is the only way for you guys to learn something which can be learn through other means. There's no problem here. My point is that NS would be way too long a time for you guys to learn those stuffs and not to insult your precious memoryOriginally posted by CX:yes. the SAF is a good place to learn all the above things u mentioned. four letter words, u learn everywhere... just observe the kids in the playground...
humility and respect for your fellow man is an important lesson which i think many has learnt in the SAF... and its not just the SAF... ask ANY former military man from ANY military in the world... they'll tell u the same thing. if u haven't been through it, i don't think its fair for u to comment on anyone's behalf.
now, i never said that SAF holds a monopoly on teaching people respect and humility... as u mentioned, u learnt it at work. so what's the problem here? i learnt it in the SAF. are u going to insult the memory of my experiences?
Not everyone got the time and money to care about these thing when tax are paid to the government to do the jobs. Do you help out your maid to clean when you are paying for her service? Do you want to help your government to clean the street everyday then?Originally posted by CX:yeah... they take care of the streets... but its not necessarily their problem should u disregard their measures... and if tax-payers never specifically said that they wanted a pedestrian crossing placed there, why should the gov't put one there?
REASON: they WANT to keep people SAFE from traffic. in the same way, National Service keeps the people SAFE from external threats.
Well, what could i say? We have a model good singaporean here. Glad for the country thenOriginally posted by CX:throwing rubbish everywhere is just plain uncivilised! its not about getting caught! its about doing the right thing.
and people jay-walk all the time... at most they'll just get run over and die right? without military defence, what's the worst that could happen? ah we'll just get invaded... no biggie... right?
You are right with all these. But still with the "No U-turn syndrome" mentalilty, singaporean do not dare to create but work under the government's control and hence need foreign talent to help out. Pathetic right?Originally posted by CX:ha ha... u're taking that too seriously... sure, Singaporeans are some of the most boring people in the world... but to actually believe that they're obedient and conforming? if u're EVER an employer, u do that at your own peril...
its human nature to follow paths that are not too contary to one's interests. it inhibits entrepreneurial spirit, that i agree. but it doesn't make Sg workers any more "obedient" than any workers on the planet. passive resistance can take many forms and it can be very powerful... ask Gandhi...
so we're not very vocal and militant. so? does it help the matter if we were? NO! for every strike and riot u see in South Korea, the korean stock exchange goes into a tailspin... does that help? u tell me...
Originally posted by MYPR:well, some of us think of it as a good break from studies... i remember that i was farking drained after my 'a' levels... really wasn't in the mood to move on to 3-4 more years of books immediately...
No Choice no U-turn? Guess that's too bad for the rest of you guys then.....But i still think NS is a burden to you guys, that's wat the topic about. Time is money, what a waste.
Well, as least you recognised that SAF never holds a monopoly on teaching people respect and humility instead of glorifying it as if it is the only way for you guys to learn something which can be learn through other means. There's no problem here. My point is that NS would be way too long a time for you guys to learn those stuffs and not to insult your precious memoryand why wouldn't i realise that?
Not everyone got the time and money to care about these thing when tax are paid to the government to do the jobs. Do you help out your maid to clean when you are paying for her service? Do you want to help your government to clean the street everyday then?
Well, what could i say? We have a model good singaporean here. Glad for the country then"model"??? heh... u don't know me...
You are right with all these. But still with the "No U-turn syndrome" mentalilty, singaporean do not dare to create but work under the government's control and hence need foreign talent to help out. Pathetic right?sigh... u still don't get it... its not a question of not u-turning when there's no sigh! its a matter of not u-turning because your destination is straight ahead, further up the road!
Originally posted by gUms:If singapore goes to war , i think maybe we in trouble cos we spent more of our time doing area cleaning damn pissed off always area cleaning and is not like just 1 hr some time is like 2 to 3 hrs , think our army has de best sweepers in de world!,
I suggest If a guy had any say in de matter... he would choose 0 yrs and ORD immediate, start his career and be a successful businessmen. Do you see most of rich and successful business men wasting their time?Originally posted by boy in blues:if u had any say in de matter...wud u choose to ORD after 2 yrs as a lobo kengster or ORD after 1 yr as a commando cheongster?...select your destiny...
i guess tat will onli be u..n some other guys who hate NSOriginally posted by MYPR:I suggest If a guy had any say in de matter... he would choose 0 yrs and ORD immediate, start his career and be a successful businessmen. Do you see most of rich and successful business men wasting their time?
In that 2.5 years, i got 2 promotions and even setup my own sideline business. As for getting lost to some place, what do you mean? I am here just for work. Are you suggesting getting rid of all foreigner and contradicting your government's aim? Your government like to give out blue IC, what can you do?Originally posted by NathanG5:i guess tat will onli be u..n some other guys who hate NS
dun assume everybody is like u..
guess ur not local eh?..if not get lost to some place where there is no NS..
its onli 2.5 years n ur whining like a baby.get a life..my uncle finish his ns too..n now also a successful business men...if u cant make it after 2.5 years of NS..blame urself for being useless n CMI..dun blame NS
Originally posted by CX:most will choose somewhere in between lah...
imagine:
Commando - burn weekend, siong training, brain damaged until jump outta a perfectly functional airplane
Lobo - do nothing, do sai kang, kena arrow, sometimes siong until balls drop but nobody appreciate, sometimes sian until count cock hair...
we all hope to get somewhere in between... do something so that time passes faster, train and work but not until kam beh lan... and have a vocation that u can more or less tell people with some sense of pride and dignity lah...
u hear it all the time... "what! C.B... i train like siao u chao keng kena OOC... u farked up, cannot make it lah..."
gd for u den..guess u dun understand wat im toking abt eh?Originally posted by MYPR:In that 2.5 years, i got 2 promotions and even setup my own sideline business. As for getting lost to some place, what do you mean? I am here just for work. Are you suggesting getting rid of all foreigner and contradicting your government's aim? Your government like to give out blue IC, what can you do?![]()
Seletar camp?Originally posted by gUms:i from a old camp ,
seletar camp
kudos!Originally posted by MS:Seletar camp?
which unit?
35SCE? I HQ ARMCEG.
I'm a specialist in the Army. Although I'm a regular, I don't really like SAF. this place sux big time. But no matter how it sucks, someone must do his fair share of the job for our nation. I know it sucks. Sometimes I tell my junior specilists and men not to grumble so much about the fuck up army. Becos all guys who're able bodied to put in their bit for the country has done so. Whether its 2 years or 2.5 years. By going thru the same shit is also fair. Imagine the regulars must eat the same shit for 6 years. And when we meet up with those trouble seeking crazy short circuit superiors, we still suffer together.
NS sux. But its a duty we all need to contribute as guys. Haven't you realised that most guys 'grow up' in the Army?
Kudos = ?Originally posted by wuming78:kudos!![]()
kudos! an accolade or compliment or praise.Originally posted by MS:Kudos = ?
oh i c. I tot what language? At first thot it was african.Originally posted by wuming78:kudos! an accolade or compliment or praise.![]()
Hey, you better learn how to control your emotion. And learn not to get too personal in forums.Originally posted by NathanG5:gd for u den..guess u dun understand wat im toking abt eh?
or just plain stupid 2 understand?
did i say to get rid of all expat? dun put words in my finger(mouth)
sighz...nowadays pple just like to accuse..tsk tsk
i wonder how u got ur promotion?
read me again..not happy leave...but i guess my Govt better den ur Govt..n u earn gd SIng dollar 2..gd for u..![]()
im emotional? u can say all the shit thing abt NS watever u like..cos ur an PR not a home grown Singaporean...im also saying my view even if i say something bad abt u..its my view y get so emotional?Originally posted by MYPR:Hey, you better learn how to control your emotion. And learn not to get too personal in forums.
As for my promotion, can you have any objection? You the boss? I'm sorry, my boss is not even a singaporean neither do most of my colleagues. Well, i can say i deserve my promotion due to my capabilities and of course, i seldom take leave but work hard all round the clocks = no disruption.
Did i say i am not happy? If I m not happy, why bother to get PR? Of course, who would be stupid enuff to go for citizenship when it will put them into much more disadvantage.
As for which government is better, it's a subjective question. Well, i do agree your government is better for me in the sense that they allow PR status so easily. Of course, i m earning good singapore dollars or else how can i own a car here plus so much land property and a car in my own country?
NB: This thread is free for everyone who has some views on the topic to post. If those who had gone thru NS find it meaningful, then that's their own personal view, noone is stopping them. Likewise, i am just pointing out facts regarding the waste of time in NS, you can disagree.
Originally posted by MYPR:the emotion here is fine... i do however, take offence at YOUR tone. if this forum is about freedom to express views, who are u to tell us to control our emotions
Hey, you better learn how to control your emotion. And learn not to get too personal in forums.
As for my promotion, can you have any objection? You the boss? I'm sorry, my boss is not even a singaporean neither do most of my colleagues. Well, i can say i deserve my promotion due to my capabilities and of course, i seldom take leave but work hard all round the clocks = no disruption.bah, your promotion is not even of marginal interest here.
Did i say i am not happy? If I m not happy, why bother to get PR? Of course, who would be stupid enuff to go for citizenship when it will put them into much more disadvantage.ah... an opportunistic scum... how nice... so many of them around these days... citizenship has both its duties AND its privileges. name one country that gives u perks and freebies without taking anything from you.
As for which government is better, it's a subjective question. Well, i do agree your government is better for me in the sense that they allow PR status so easily. Of course, i m earning good singapore dollars or else how can i own a car here plus so much land property and a car in my own country?here we are, hardworking, honest, Singaporeans who did our N.S, and have no jobs, but here's an opportunistic scum who waltzes in and gets a job, a car and spirits Sing Dollars OFFSHORE.
NB: This thread is free for everyone who has some views on the topic to post. If those who had gone thru NS find it meaningful, then that's their own personal view, noone is stopping them. Likewise, i am just pointing out facts regarding the waste of time in NS, you can disagree.now, lets not start on the wrong foot now shall we. i'm not a rabid, xenophobic, ultra-nationalist maniac... but i CAN be...