Am I the only one who thinks the whole thing is ridiculous? No wait, thats too mild a word, farcial will be more apt.
Singtel is majority-owned by Temasek
Starhub is majority-owned by (cue drumroll) Temasek...
Wouldn't this simply be a case of taking out from one's right pocket, and putting it into ones left pocket? Other than for "wayanging" the fact that Singapore has a "deregulated, independent and competitive"(my a***) telecoms industry, I don't see whats the point to this farce (theres me calling a spade a spade again).
Meanwhile, a sizeable chunk of taxpayers money will be used to conduct court proceedings etc etc, and not to mention a whole lot of Singaporeans are stuck without cable TV or broadband internet access while these 2 sorry excuses for telcos perform their opera in court and the press laps it all up.
A wired island, indeed.
this is stupid, they r jz making a drama for the press. or mayb the court need money for renovation....
Accusing SingTel of not disclosing weapons of mass telecommunications, Starhub is now calling for a coalition to invade SingTel and liberate its manholes.
The call came on the heels of an acrimonious dispute between SingTel and StarHub Cable Vision (SCV), which has led to nearly 15,000 homes facing delays in getting wired for cable television and cable broadband Internet access. Starhub is apparently alleging that SingTel, afraid of the competition Starhub poses to its broadband services, is now obstructing StarhubÂ’s access to SingTelÂ’s manholes.
“We’re tired of the endless delays and excuses,” said Starhub spokesman Yong Heng Fong. “We can’t have a dictator hold us to ransom like this. We call on SingTel to give us immediate and unconditional access to their weapons of mass telecommunications.”
Despite this, however, SingTel has not responded favourably.
Accordingly, Starhub is calling for a coalition of its shareholders to put pressure on SingTel.
“We have ST Telemedia, British Telecom, NTT Com, SPH and MediaCorp already supporting us,” said Mr. Yong. “We must show SingTel that it cannot get away with such behaviour. They still haven’t been punished sufficiently for their annexation of Optus.”
SingTel, meanwhile, is accusing Starhub of conducting a policy of aggression.
“It is clear to the entire world that they just want to liberate our manholes for themselves,” said SingTel spokesperson Kah Thean Wei.
The acrimony of the disagreement has baffled the public, considering that both Starhub and SingTel are ultimately owned by Temasek Holdings, the holding company of the Gahmen.
“It’s like some family squabble over who gets to watch TV,” said Biggers Ballas telecoms industry analyst Quah Seng Lee.
SingTel’s Mr. Kah agreed with the characterization. “We call for a peaceful resolution of the problem, like a family should. But Starhub still insists on this immature behaviour. Wait our CEO tells his father, then they chai see!”
Starhub’s Mr. Yong retorted, “Tell, lah! Scared what?”
Meanwhile opinion polls suggest that the public just wants someone to knock their two bleddy heads together.
Now I wonder which Law Firm will be representing SingTel and StarHubs ?
More farce added to an already farcical play ?
Are times so bad that money has to be generated into the legal system, and subsequently filtered down to the laymen in the streets ?