Pretty screwed up... those people there...Originally posted by Fanatical_Knight:I was in Indonesia once when i was young, i go there with my Mother for shopping, i went to Jakarta. I was about primary 6 that time. THen when we leaving Jakarta for Singapore, the Indonesian immigration guy told us to go to his office cos he wanted to speak to us about our passport visas or something. THen we went to his office with him, and then there was 1 buffy security guard there, very intimidating. Then the immigration guy said there was a problem with our visa and we cant return to Indonesia or something, this whole thing in his office took like 1 hour or something, immigration guy told my mum she had to pay him like $150 to clear the matter up. My mum was angry and argue with him lor, i also got restless and play with the chair (go round and round; 1 HOUR LEHhhhh). THen the immigration guy said i was nottie and he would hit me. MY mum got so furious she scolded him and said she was not paying, she would complain and that she did not need to pay cos we did not intend to return to Jakarta anyway. Then in the end, the immigration guy said to my mum something like "Gimme rupia buy coffee lar". Then me mum and me walked out lor, then we back here in Singapore.
I think Indonesia very corrupted one, dun go there.
this has absolutely nothing to do with dignity. the fact is, this is an isolated incident and it benefits no one to blow it out of proportion.Originally posted by albertson:Dear CX, this guy does not seem to be a horny guy who went there for the sleazy entertainment. If it is, then I have nothing to say. He appeared on TV-Channel U and told his misfortune.
As a people of dignity, we ought to stand by him to pursue the matter with those Indonesians who have a tendency or inclination to bully us, as though we were the minority in that country who were subject to all kinds of discrimination and incrimination.
We claim sovereign laws and accuse Western nations of interfering when they complain about us caning their nationals for vandalism or hanging them for drug running. Yet here some of us are advocating doing the same to Indonesia. A little double standards here aren't we?Originally posted by albertson:CX's attitude is quite typical of a kiasi S'porean. If everyone shuts his mouth under unfair and unjust treatment, S'pore will go under. No wonder former Indonesian presidents B J Habibie tried to belittle us and Gusdur suggested to Dr Mathathir to join hand with him to cut off supplying water to S'pore.
The reason why Americans feel proud of their country and stay loyal is largely because their government always take care of their interest, especially with respect to unfair treatment by other countries. Though we are small, it doesn't mean we can tolerate any one jumping on our head!
We must live honorably and no country must be allowed to bully our people ! This is the most fundamental of a nationhood. Or you want us a be a crouching dog and hidden cat ?
Originally posted by albertson:u very cartoon u know... are pple kicking us around left right centre? it was an isolated incident. i'm sure u're not stupid so please use that little blob in your skull and put things into their proper perspective before u shoot your mouth off.
CX's attitude is quite typical of a kiasi S'porean. If everyone shuts his mouth under unfair and unjust treatment, S'pore will go under.
No wonder former Indonesian presidents B J Habibie tried to belittle us and Gusdur suggested to Dr Mathathir to join hand with him to cut off supplying water to S'pore.typical armchair analyst... don't have the facts right, read nothing but straits times, CNA, and claims to be oh so prescient AFTER the events have already unfolded... they were doing it for a domestic audience lah... and its not that Habibie doesn't like us... he just doesn't like LKY... long story which u obviously don't know so why bother? as for that half blind and senile buffoon, i really don't think people care what he was saying when he started ranting and raving...
The reason why Americans feel proud of their country and stay loyal is largely because their government always take care of their interest, especially with respect to unfair treatment by other countries. Though we are small, it doesn't mean we can tolerate any one jumping on our head!ha ha ha... thats cute... thats REALLY cute... don't be a idiot lah... a little knowledge is a dangerous thing... i'll say one thing: when it suits them to do so! you won't hear about the rest. and even when it does, it often opens up a diplomatic can of worms and exposes them to international condemnation.
We must live honorably and no country must be allowed to bully our people ! This is the most fundamental of a nationhood. Or you want us a be a crouching dog and hidden cat ?you're either ignorant or naive... i admire your patriotism, but i find it mis-placed. as mentioned by Viper52 above, you hold YOUR nation's safeguard sacred. what about other countries?
double post
Originally posted by albertson:repeating the same points without bringing in new facts/arguments to support them again? sigh...
It is regretable that there are some people here who still sweep snow in front of their own house but do not care about those atop others roof. The manhandling by Indonesian official of a S'porean in Batam without any reason is a serious matter as it could happen to any of us. We ought to feel outraged if there is no investigation conducted by the authorities. It is a matter of human rights and we cannot just let our people bullied by others.
Come on CX and Viper 52, do not be a kiasi and make an excuse that it is an isolated case and does not deserve our sympathy.it doesn't deserve sympathy at all because cases like these should be judged on merit, not emotions and only after a thorough investigation on both sides. since the indonesian side was not heard, it would be grossly unjust to judge them!
Next time when you kena the same thing, don't expect us to come to your rescue. But frankly We ought to come to support you if you are in the right. This is nationhood,without which we are very insecured.i'm not stupid enough to land myself into THAT kinda ridiculous situation. as i said before: any traveller worth his salt will tell u the same thing. when overseas, keep your nose clean and your arse outta trouble, don't behave like u own the place, avoid confrontations with the authorities there, most important thing is to settle your business and get home safe!
Originally posted by chaar123:Did u all hear the news other day? Singaporean guy go Batam he kena beaten up by immigatation officer. Whoa lan if it was me i will gun tao bu him ah! But then i very angry that this kind of thing happen in Batam. We should take revenge at have our irrigation officer beat up all the Indonesains iszit? (The country that ownz batam is Indonesai right?) Or the nationals of that particular countrylar dor revenegh!
agree...frm his post i can c he is a muslim hater...Originally posted by Stevenson101:chaar is an example why the future is so grim for humans.