yea..n after tat all the countries will answer UN "screw u"..den UN will answer him back "screw u 2"..Originally posted by duotiga83:u wan prevent war n damocracy ah....send letter to UN, ask all countries to disarm..........possible? u try.....
Originally posted by leexiancikevin:wat about ur responsibilities? all u think is about urself.. singapore is DOOM!
yea..u can call tat bigot or wat in anyway...how do u noe we dun have our own belief? by our post? did we bash him? no i dun c any..im posting my own view too rite?Originally posted by the Bear:if we do not have the courage to stand up for what we believe in... do we deserve anything?
is a person with the courage to stand up, go to jail if need be, in order not to betray himself a lesser man than those who fear and "do their duty" not because they wanted to, but because they were forced to?
in a society like this, where the social structure created by the lea-duhs is so rigid, where do people who do not fit in go?
some break and conform, betraying their very being... becoming less than nothing...
some have the courage to stick to their own principles... and sadly, those who do not think, were programmed to think in certain ways, start bashing those who are different because of bigotry...
what they do not know, they do not understand
what they do not understand, they fear
what they fear, they hate...
here is someone with a different point of view, and immediately, hatred drips..
alas
Originally posted by NathanG5:yea..u can call tat bigot or wat in anyway...how do u noe we dun have our own belief? by our post? did we bash him? no i dun c any..im posting my own view too rite?
i dun fear him...wat i fear is tat kids nowadays dun understand wat NS is all abt...i believe in NS it make me a better man..n i am able to protect tis land n my family...i dun hate him..im glad he have his own view..gd for him
i dun serve becos of fear..i serve becos it is necessary
i serve becos it ensure freedom for others...i suffer while others can reap frm my pain...n ensure life goes on
so can u help him answer wat is the solution to prevent war? other den NS..is there any answer?
dude i agree wif most of the thing u say..but i think ur side tracking to other view...Originally posted by the Bear:you do not serve out of fear... but how many do?
i believe NS made me a better man... but i've seen NS make monsters out of some...
what is right for you may not be right for other people...
what is right for you and works for you, may destroy others...
what is right for me, may destroy you...
if it is right for you, will you, if you are a leader, make it compulsary for everyone if it would destroy most? would you refuse to see it?
as for war, it is what comes about from people who do not question... it gives the lea-duhs power... a thinking army is never a good one as if the command to commit atrocity comes through, they will never...
the command to go against their very being comes through, would they? the thinking army will not...
the thinking man now is asked to go against his very being.. where NS is everything he is not... and takes a stand... has the courage to go to jail for his beliefs...
those are DANGEROUS to the lea-duhs who would herd their followers like sheep...
if his army did not fear saddam, and had freedom to think and the courage to do, would they have lobbed mustard gas into a sleeping village of Kurds?
Originally posted by NathanG5:dude i agree wif most of the thing u say..but i think ur side tracking to other view...
the question was..is NS redundant? is there other solution for it?
n yes abt Saddam army killing the kurds...wat if they do it willingly? they may have take pride in wat they have done..
the lea-duhs of tis country have done nothing for tis present problem...n im not sure wat we can do abt it?
just have to wait till the next election den..
but how do we noe who r not attacking?Originally posted by the Bear:unfortunately, if we keep on thinking that NS is and will be the only answer, like armies is and are the only answer, it will become a self-fulfilling prophesy....
in a world if everyone is educated and given to personal responsibility, and that they exercise that, and are not apathetic to what goes on around them, who their leaders are and what their leaders do, would there really be a need?
think on this for one moment... every damned armed force in the world is there on a pretext of defense...
if everybody is defending who is actually attacking?
what has HE done for the country?Originally posted by the Bear:already singapore is doomed... albeit slowly... ask any senior business person who has his finger on the pulse of singapore
if you call him irresponsible for thinking only about himself, he learnt it from the highest...
but he hasn't... he has asked pertinent questions no one has answered.. all you people have done is obfuscate, confuse and attack the person who questioned...
i have a question, more direct..
what has been done lately for the people?
the current situation shows the true colours of our lea-duhs...
NS is not the only answer, it is just part of the answer. Can you see that govts are trying to build diplomatic ties, educate people on tolerance etc etc.Originally posted by the Bear:unfortunately, if we keep on thinking that NS is and will be the only answer, like armies is and are the only answer, it will become a self-fulfilling prophesy....
in a world if everyone is educated and given to personal responsibility, and that they exercise that, and are not apathetic to what goes on around them, who their leaders are and what their leaders do, would there really be a need?
think on this for one moment... every damned armed force in the world is there on a pretext of defense...
if everybody is defending who is actually attacking?
for law abiding ppl following the law n being a good citizen is never a challenge... the biggest challenge in all ur life is to follow the law, abiding it carefully in ur life thus claiming to be a good citizen is URS!Originally posted by urlaopei:the pro is u all like to do ns but not me....
the law say u must do else u go jail...
to me the simplest wish in my life is to do something i love but not something i hates
MAYBE the biggest challenge in all ur life is to follow the law, abiding it carefully in ur life thus claiming to be a good citizen...
is this what u gonna live ur life for or simply live so cause u have no choice...
so go ns to be a better person?
i dun know...
the way this society shaped its future generations mean u all say going ns to do ur bit means u are protecting ur nation...
really if u have ur choice to choose ns or not....
u will reply me yes i will...
so u dun understand actually it is not u who shaped urself but this society...
problem is tat not everyone thinks like u... if everybody thinks like u so peace loving etc etc no war liao then of cos no need army at all... but history is a different storyOriginally posted by urlaopei:there are many questions which fools can ask that wise men cannot answer...
do occupying earth, the natural habitant of living beings means we need to betray our ownself...
does this means this very land that mother earth gives to us without asking for any return becomes a land for lease...
give what u have to give here??
else.....
many of life's circumstances are created by three basic choices...Be a hero? I don't think any one of us who speaks here have any interest in being a hero. But how do you know if we have no choice if you do not bother to try out and see?
the disciplines you choose to keep...
the people you choose to be with...
and, the laws you choose to obey...
u means we have no choice but ns and be a hero
this country should not be built by men who relied on one way to take care of it...Is not building this country considering one of the ways you mentioned then? Are not men who believed in themselves and dared to shape their own lives believers that their way is correct? Thus, do they not rely on one way to take care of it? Then, what differences are there?
It should built by men who belived on themselves, who dared to shape their own lives....
who had enough courage to blaze new trails....
enough confidence themselves to take the necessary risks...
and i believe ns should not be the only way
I see a Chamberlain in the making......goodbye Singapore, if everyone thinks this way.Originally posted by the Bear:you do not serve out of fear... but how many do?
i believe NS made me a better man... but i've seen NS make monsters out of some...
what is right for you may not be right for other people...
what is right for you and works for you, may destroy others...
what is right for me, may destroy you...
if it is right for you, will you, if you are a leader, make it compulsary for everyone if it would destroy most? would you refuse to see it?
as for war, it is what comes about from people who do not question... it gives the lea-duhs power... a thinking army is never a good one as if the command to commit atrocity comes through, they will never...
the command to go against their very being comes through, would they? the thinking army will not...
the thinking man now is asked to go against his very being.. where NS is everything he is not... and takes a stand... has the courage to go to jail for his beliefs...
those are DANGEROUS to the lea-duhs who would herd their followers like sheep...
if his army did not fear saddam, and had freedom to think and the courage to do, would they have lobbed mustard gas into a sleeping village of Kurds?
*clap *clapOriginally posted by Stevenson101:Who i am is forged by the society around me, i treat NS merely as a means of returning that favour. A social obligation.
I don't treat NS as some compulsory law, i treat it as a social club when i get to learn some discipline and perhaps gain some life long friends. True friends are the one that has gone through thick and thin with you and know you for who you really are, not the front you chose to put on most of the time.
the pro is u all like to do ns but not me....don't be an idiot... we don't like it. but it is a commitment we're man enough to face anyway. some of us come out of it stronger and better person. but thats not what we do it for.
the law say u must do else u go jail...not really... declare yourself to be J.W and u'll be tending a beautiful vegetable garden 7 days a week for 3 yrs. you'll also be free of ALL ns liabilities after that. they mark your i.c though...
to me the simplest wish in my life is to do something i love but not something i hatesselfish scum... since when is it all about you? are we to let u go berzerk and rape pillage and plunder if thats what u so love?
MAYBE the biggest challenge in all ur life is to follow the law, abiding it carefully in ur life thus claiming to be a good citizen...challenge? thats no challenge. thats life itself. where on earth can u lead the life of an anarchist and get away with it?
is this what u gonna live ur life for or simply live so cause u have no choice...i told u... u have a choice. its nobody's fault but yours that u're too chicken to exercise it.
so go ns to be a better person?neither do i... but i went through it anyway and made it meaningful.
i dun know...
the way this society shaped its future generations mean u all say going ns to do ur bit means u are protecting ur nation...its not social conditioning. its a FACT. look around u... we're not everybody's favourite country u know... and USA is only a friend when its interests happens to coincide.
really if u have ur choice to choose ns or not....given a choice, OF COURSE I'LL RATHER NOT DO IT! and there is a choice. i chose to be a soldier instead of a gardener. i'm none the worse for it...
u will reply me yes i will...
so u dun understand actually it is not u who shaped urself but this society...society doesn't shape or mould. it offers paths. u choose them. there are limited paths here to choose from, i agree. but since u are forced to choose, pick one, live with it, and stop complaining.
We are the hero of our own story...Well 3 choices??But what if my 3 choices differ from your's/??
i think we may choose to be hero or villian...
many of life's circumstances are created by three basic choices...
the disciplines you choose to keep...
the people you choose to be with...
and, the laws you choose to obey...
u means we have no choice but ns and be a hero?
Originally posted by CenturionMBT:I see a Chamberlain in the making......goodbye Singapore, if everyone thinks this way.![]()
pk him lehOriginally posted by pker:u tink 7-eleven...k get nulcear so ez meh
ns waste of time...but good la
if sg no pple def...other pple will makan us![]()
So you are saying we should vote against national service?Originally posted by the Bear:here's the thing.. everyone thinks the extreme...
a person who will not kill for his country is deemed a coward.. but what if he was willing to die for it?
was the Mahatma a coward?
there is a time to fight... there is a time to die...
if we do not protect the rights of EVERY citizen, then we do not protect the rights of anyone at all...
not the conventional is it?
sometimes, the needs of one will outweigh the needs of the many...
no democracy should vote away the rights of the minority... if it does, it's just disguised fascism