Originally posted by Rob Chen:pay with our money?
Hi there,
while Mr. LKY remembered 'how efficient our systems are' and no airline in the world can convert a plane into a flying hospi in 2 days (I[b] seriously doubt that, i m sure other airlines can do so, the issue is no airlines - at least in western democracies like US, Australia, Germany etc is WILLLING to do so and so quickly as if the airline is a privately owned one).
Can someone give an idea how will the bills be paid and costs incured in Diverting the SIA plane to pick SM lee be recovered...., guess mr lee's salary over the years are sufficient to pay for that right? i guess his is going to pay lah...
Does Mrs LKY nee Madam Kua qualify to be a Civil Servant ?Originally posted by sgboy2004:Civil servant medical claims lor...![]()
Originally posted by Rob Chen:Question should be asked would be - Why was a SIA Plane not sent to bring home the four Singaporeans severely burnt during the Jakarta Marriott Hotel bombing ?
Hi there,
while Mr. LKY remembered 'how efficient our systems are' and no airline in the world can convert a plane into a flying hospi in 2 days (I[b] seriously doubt that, i m sure other airlines can do so, the issue is no airlines - at least in western democracies like US, Australia, Germany etc is WILLLING to do so and so quickly as if the airline is a privately owned one).
Can someone give an idea how will the bills be paid and costs incured in Diverting the SIA plane to pick SM lee be recovered...., guess mr lee's salary over the years are sufficient to pay for that right? i guess his is going to pay lah...
Unfortunately, your memory concerning the Jakarta Marriott Hotel bombing serves you inaccuratelyOriginally posted by whispery:If i had not remembered wrongly, Singapore sent our army planes to bring them back that very night, those who needs medical care.
the article about Mrs Lee is to tell you all to appreciate the medical care here in Singapore. Imagine your family member suffer a stroke and u rush him/her to a nearby hospital only to hear :" sorry, the equipment is kept for the day. we not going to bring it out cos it's outside operating hours" den are you going to spend 12 hours worrying if he will die or wat? over here, u can check at all hours and operate immediately if you need it. so stop complaining about the cost. if you die, you can enjoy ANYTHING. Singapore has one of the best medical facilities, so stop whinning
Well said well said. The whole episode, if anything, shows how high the ivory tower our ministers live in, has become, and how that high ivory tower, has become the frog's well to them, when these same minsters have to fly back to their La-La Land because they can't accept having their privileges reduced when they're outside their well.Originally posted by kanzer:in my opinion, whether we can make it or not is not judge by how things work for the top echelon... it is judge by how the system operates for the average joes and janes........
Originally posted by Rob Chen:Of course SIA will be compensated with taxpayers money lah.... but only for extra expenses incurred....but any revenue loss will not.... SIA Goodwill comes to play.... but who suffer for it..its employees...take more paycut and now someone says cannot even expect to get it back.....heh!
Hi there,
Originally posted by Rob Chen:This statement, IMO, has caused much embarassement to many gov official. Now London's Downing St corrected SM's claim about
while Mr. LKY remembered 'how efficient our systems are' and no airline in the world can convert a plane into a flying hospi in 2 days
Hear HearOriginally posted by Atobe:Question should be asked would be - Why was a SIA Plane not sent to bring home the four Singaporeans severely burnt during the Jakarta Marriott Hotel bombing ?
They were brought home by their own insurance arranged and paid Air Medical Evacuation.
Originally posted by Gun:This statement, IMO, has caused much embarassement to many gov official. Now London's Downing St corrected SM's claim about
getting special treatment !
I am curious would Mr. LKY say 'how efficient our SAF trainings are' if one of his grandson die in a commondo POW training. Nothing hurts more if a crisis involves one of your love ones. I think Mr.LKY's experience in London has exposed the sort of "I expect special-treatment" lifestyle he and his family had enjoy for so very long.
For the sack of Singapore's future, it is time to move beyond that "Lee Family Inc" centric system.
Sure, UK have some 'weakness' in their health system, who don't, ours are overly priced... but please don't get out of point here. We are not here to discuss weakness in UK's or Singapore's health system. Anyway, with SM lee's $$ from his Ministerial salary plus his knowledge of UK,Originally posted by whispery:If i had not remembered wrongly, Singapore sent our army planes to bring them back that very night, those who needs medical care.
the article about Mrs Lee is to tell you all to appreciate the medical care here in Singapore. Imagine your family member suffer a stroke and u rush him/her to a nearby hospital only to hear :" sorry, the equipment is kept for the day. we not going to bring it out cos it's outside operating hours" den are you going to spend 12 hours worrying if he will die or wat? over here, u can check at all hours and operate immediately if you need it. so stop complaining about the cost. if you die, you can enjoy ANYTHING. Singapore has one of the best medical facilities, so stop whinning
I don't c any letters questioning 'who pay' in ST forum - most likely 'cut' by those editors which i heard when senior enough, needs to be 'approved' by someone / somegroup ....Originally posted by LoveNLight:good observation. This thought occurred to me too.
Well, times are different. In the past, who dare to question in the first place? It is this very reticence that encourages such actions.
Have u also noticed that the National newspapers are also very quiet about it? I wonder if anyone wrote to STForum. And if they did, I wonder about the fate of those letters.
Like u, I am also thankful for the Internet.![]()
Totally agree, having made contributions in earlier days does not mean anyone can used past credit as excuse to do 'incorrect' / 'questionable' things now. Otherwise our system which SM lee worked hard to set up will be heading towards trouble....Originally posted by kanzer:i am deeply disappointed with the response in the ST forums from some of the people....
one even commented that let's not be small minded, etc even an expat joined in....
those that it is ok for him to use public funds in this issue has missed an important point.... the money is not the issue here. it is the principle.
the first generation leaders has done alot to make our system work..... it has significantly reduced corruption and so on..... so if same person who made the system work destroys the system, then as a nation, we are finished.... there must be checks and balances...... if because he is lky and the tax payers must foot the bill, then he will set a precedent . a very bad precedent...... corruption will once again crept into our system again..... so this is the cruz of the issue here...... the amount of money spent by tax payers is peanuts considered the damage done.