Singaporean Soldier Found Saddam, Says Pentagon

The Pentagon confirmed today that it was Lance Corporal Hock Kian Peng, a full-time National Serviceman from Singapore, who found Iraqi dictator Saddam Hussein hiding in a hole in Tikrit.
LCP Hock, part of a Singapore Armed Forces detachment providing support services to US troops in Iraq, had been attached to the First Brigade Team of the 4th Infantry Division as a MRE (Meals Ready to Eat) specialist.
“Na beh,” said LCP Hock lighting up a cigarette while squatting on a chair at Bagram Airbase. “The chao ang mor all arrow me to come because they were damn sian of their hard tack and hojjiber MRE. Then got one of their occifer saw me making Maggi mee in the barracks, and arrow me to come and make for them. Chee bye!”
As with most patrols in Iraq, the troops came under fire at some point. LCP Hock, at that moment about to open a packet of Chu Qian Yi Ding, immediately put his infantry training into operation.
“I immeelly take cover, lor,” he said.
LCP Hock said he scrambled for the nearest dwelling place, an adobe-type mud house. He noticed that there was a hole in the ground, barely obscured by a rug and a piece of styrofoam.
“I thought, ho say leow!” he recounted. “But then, when I try to go inside, nao hiah, got somebody oreddy inside.”
That someone was former Iraqi president Saddam Hussein.
“Acherly, I din’ch recognize him at first,” LCP Hock confessed somewhat sheepishly. “When I jump in, I immeelly shout at him, siam ah! Lim peh wan’ to take kah-ver here! Then I look closely and… eh!”
“Then he say to me, ’Yes, I am Saddam Hussein.’” Said LCP Hock. “Acherly, I thought he was the mee goreng man from my house hawker centre there, and I was going to ask him what is he doing here in Iraq. But when I heard ‘Saddam Hussein’, I immeelly thought, wah lan eh, tio beh pio ah!”
LCP Hock will be presented with his US$25m reward by Iraqi administrator Paul Bremer later this week.
He has not decided what to do with the money. “Nao hiah, first must pay off the Ah Long,” he smiled. “Maybe after that set up my own KTV launge cum massage parlour in J.B.”
Why Johor Baru?
“Na beh,” said LCP Hock. “Take back to Singapore, Gahmen sure kapo, mah. Otherwise how to pay minister?”