Originally posted by relevation:
Dear All,
I have found that SIngaporeans are fools from various episodes.
Let me elaborate with the following:
1) We allow an absolute party to rule us for 44 years without any opposition to ensure an alternative government
2) We readily agree to take unfavorable measures like CPF cuts, higher cost of payments for HDB, and any increment of fees by our government without question or protest.
3) We fight among ourselves - trying to gain favors from the PAP echelon.
4) We laugh and cheer when oppposition leaders fail.
Now the supporting details:
1) I think other than Japan's LDP and Taiwan's KMT, Singapore is the only state that gives up oppositional power willingly. What makes us so sure after LKY's demise, Singapore is as safe and as uncorrupt? Who will guarantee us that the Lee Family will continue to be honest and will continue to give us the prosperity that was delivered for the last 44 years?
Next, we are a full fledge democracy with full democratic institutions with 1 man 1 vote and we willingly surcum ourselves to unfavourable policies to make us poor and less rich. We willingly surcome under a democratic dictatorship where there is no force or coersion like Taiwan who was under martial law. Why are we so willing to listen to the PAP and refuse to give oppositional forces a chance to develop. Very much we laugh at them and seem to want them to fall from grace.
Do remember they are our hope if PAP ever fails us. They are also working for our national interest. Without them what is the difference between Singapore and Communist China?? Just so much similarities- ONE PARTY STATE and RULE OF MAN. LKY>GCT>LHL- all MAN. So we are fools- all of us whether smart or stupid, including me because I am not there to prevent this. But whether me or any oppositional forces are useless without the support of the people and worse when Singaporeans are naive and foolish. Look at how happy we are to see JBJ, CHIAM SEE TONG, Chee Soon Juan and STeve Chia fall from grace.
2) Whay are we so happy to take pay cuts. Let me define happy. Happy is a state of happiness to the extend of having become contented with the situation or relent with the situation without any action taken to prevent it. That's happy. CPF cuts, increase fees during our worst times, SIA pliots being bullied by the government and LKY, ERP and COE to increase our running cost, artificially inflated property prices to satisfy developers like Far East and CDL. All these to make SIngaporeans POOR so that we have no choice to to squeeze ourselves here. Worst of all PAP always justify their pay increment to keep good man. Good man are good because they are willing not when they are not willing and have to be seduced. When good man refused to expose evil man, that 's when a nation will ultimately fail. We are all so foolish!
3) You won't believe it, so many people are happy that Steve Chia falls. Do we know that for every oppoistional force that fails, it makes Singapore worse off. How are we so sure that PAP is really doing a great job. They are good in cosmestics- upgrades, $ in CPF etc, how are we sure that they are really that good. Who in us audit them? Where are their statements? Where are they financial and performance records? If they are so clean, why are they not publishing the performance of GIC and Temasek holdings? Where are our money and how are they performing? Isn't Singapore Tech, Singtel, SPH, SIA all public companies that belong to Singaporeans? Why are we not getting any dividents from these companies. What have they done to make us better in our livelihood? Are we not fools? We have lost people are who there to help us and make our lives better. PAP had given us a standard life but never a comfortable one! They always make our lives difficult.
4) Singapore is the only country where political awareness is the lowest. Without oppositional forces, tehre is no way we can ever ensure that our interest are secured. We will only have the PAP's views and actions. We lost the chance to explore issues and ensure that our ineterest is secured. How are we so sure that the decisions the PAP make is not Pro-PAP and their members or pro-a certain group of people? So stop cheering and being so happy when our opposition leaders fail and fall, because we all will lose out. Let us see things beyond what is show to us by the PAP and learn to see things in our own way. Lets be open minded and accept diversity. Its only when there is choice that we have the power. For now we are all just FOOLS , all to willing and happy to be fooled.
Relevation.
submit to ST and see what happens.