\Originally posted by Medicated Oil:Dear Mr Relevation,
You have spend your time and effort in writing the great essay.
There will always be supporters and opposition opinion about your essay.
So, take heart when the critics hit back.
Welcome them with open hand, they have took their time to read what you have written.
In that aspect, you are already a victor.
Keep up the good essay coming !
Welcome them with open hand, they have took their time to read what you have written.
Dear SingaporeMarcoss,Originally posted by SingaporeMacross:So we have no choice but to trust PAP. But what happens if they fail? We die already ah?
Dear laurence82,Originally posted by laurence82:All in all, quality oppostion is hard to build up. But like business, sporting clubs and even CCAs, there must be so called competition.
Why? It gives PAP a run for their money...haha
Without a competition, credible or not, if PAP do not find themselves challenged, they might go slack. Without Pepsi, Coke might not maintain the quality of their drinks and safety mark. Similarly, if PAP are not challenged, two things. Self assurance and slackness.
Self assurance is already happening. Examine the political arena nowadays, and we will know. NCMP Steve Chia has already challenged the government on several issues, and PAP has stumbled on these cases. Yet examining the speeches most ministers give, there are air of assurance gahmen has done things rite. Hell, we can take up speeches from 90s till now, there are tendency for flowery and politically correct speeches, yet lack in substance. I gave up reading minister answers to many reporters questions regarding any cases here. The remarks became more and more mundane.
Without oppostion = no check and balance = self assurance = slacking.
This is what I am worried about. Lets not just see the political arena.NSFs can see their officers displaying "PAP style of thinking"
Urm, what I meant, I think there is a good reference here in Military Nuts or SAF forums. A medic challenged his officer who cock up a training programme. Most officers, by right could charge the medic, if they do go by book, even if its the medic is in the right.
Another case, my friend's friend who is a driver for a BG. However, the BG used the car alone one day came back drunk, with the GP car in wreck. The driver was charged for negligence. Logically, the BG is in the wrong. But "going by the book'. the driver is chargeable for the above offence. Lets not talk about LPPL, lets talk what would happen if the driver legally challenge this case. No matter what, educatedly speaking and going by book, the driver is in the wrong.
If you see the way this is going, one worrying aspect would be everyone adopting this mode of talking "Using the laws of economics blah blah, examing this psychological aspect using blah blah theory....."
PAP has been going on this mode already. Thats why the meaning of "effective" thoughts and actions has been lost. Truthfully, the only person whom I seen so far who apply thought and actions effectively are the Old Guard, especially LKY, with their policies which has shaped SG into what is it today
We should worried what PAP will be like in the near future, coz its affecting us all.
Actually, I hope opposition is not a seasonal thing. Having a constanly strong and credible opposition is a good thing, as it keeps PAP on the edge and maintain proficiency in whatever they are doing. In that way, PAP wouldnt be slacking as it is now.Originally posted by dumbdumb!:just wondering.. say if there is no more opposition.. then if got problem. can rise again right?
Unfortunately, people who do not care are 'FOOLS'.Originally posted by men_@_arms:Singaporeans are not fools, well not all of them, they are just people. And people don't care.
Originally posted by relevation:Dear All,
I have found that SIngaporeans are fools from various episodes.
Let me elaborate with the following:
1) We allow an absolute party to rule us for 44 years without any opposition to ensure an alternative government
2) We readily agree to take unfavorable measures like CPF cuts, higher cost of payments for HDB, and any increment of fees by our government without question or protest.
3) We fight among ourselves - trying to gain favors from the PAP echelon.
4) We laugh and cheer when oppposition leaders fail.
Now the supporting details:
1) I think other than Japan's LDP and Taiwan's KMT, Singapore is the only state that gives up oppositional power willingly. What makes us so sure after LKY's demise, Singapore is as safe and as uncorrupt? Who will guarantee us that the Lee Family will continue to be honest and will continue to give us the prosperity that was delivered for the last 44 years?
Next, we are a full fledge democracy with full democratic institutions with 1 man 1 vote and we willingly surcum ourselves to unfavourable policies to make us poor and less rich. We willingly surcome under a democratic dictatorship where there is no force or coersion like Taiwan who was under martial law. Why are we so willing to listen to the PAP and refuse to give oppositional forces a chance to develop. Very much we laugh at them and seem to want them to fall from grace.
Do remember they are our hope if PAP ever fails us. They are also working for our national interest. Without them what is the difference between Singapore and Communist China?? Just so much similarities- ONE PARTY STATE and RULE OF MAN. LKY>GCT>LHL- all MAN. So we are fools- all of us whether smart or stupid, including me because I am not there to prevent this. But whether me or any oppositional forces are useless without the support of the people and worse when Singaporeans are naive and foolish. Look at how happy we are to see JBJ, CHIAM SEE TONG, Chee Soon Juan and STeve Chia fall from grace.
2) Whay are we so happy to take pay cuts. Let me define happy. Happy is a state of happiness to the extend of having become contented with the situation or relent with the situation without any action taken to prevent it. That's happy. CPF cuts, increase fees during our worst times, SIA pliots being bullied by the government and LKY, ERP and COE to increase our running cost, artificially inflated property prices to satisfy developers like Far East and CDL. All these to make SIngaporeans POOR so that we have no choice to to squeeze ourselves here. Worst of all PAP always justify their pay increment to keep good man. Good man are good because they are willing not when they are not willing and have to be seduced. When good man refused to expose evil man, that 's when a nation will ultimately fail. We are all so foolish!
3) You won't believe it, so many people are happy that Steve Chia falls. Do we know that for every oppoistional force that fails, it makes Singapore worse off. How are we so sure that PAP is really doing a great job. They are good in cosmestics- upgrades, $ in CPF etc, how are we sure that they are really that good. Who in us audit them? Where are their statements? Where are they financial and performance records? If they are so clean, why are they not publishing the performance of GIC and Temasek holdings? Where are our money and how are they performing? Isn't Singapore Tech, Singtel, SPH, SIA all public companies that belong to Singaporeans? Why are we not getting any dividents from these companies. What have they done to make us better in our livelihood? Are we not fools? We have lost people are who there to help us and make our lives better. PAP had given us a standard life but never a comfortable one! They always make our lives difficult.
4) Singapore is the only country where political awareness is the lowest. Without oppositional forces, tehre is no way we can ever ensure that our interest are secured. We will only have the PAP's views and actions. We lost the chance to explore issues and ensure that our ineterest is secured. How are we so sure that the decisions the PAP make is not Pro-PAP and their members or pro-a certain group of people? So stop cheering and being so happy when our opposition leaders fail and fall, because we all will lose out. Let us see things beyond what is show to us by the PAP and learn to see things in our own way. Lets be open minded and accept diversity. Its only when there is choice that we have the power. For now we are all just FOOLS , all to willing and happy to be fooled.
Relevation.
Poor chap....you must have been suffering all these years. Two options for you my dear friend -
1. Join an opposition party and articulate your grievances to the whole nation. I am sure there are many like minded individuals out there who will worship you......."No action Talk only" will bring you nowhere.
2. Leave the country and throw stones from afar, hopefully it will hit some people you hate very much.
Of course the other option is to continue staying here and suffer. What is the word for a person who enjoyed suffering ???![]()
Dear BLIM,Originally posted by BLIM:Hi Revelation,
Regards to your post, I don't think that singaporeans agree to CPF cuts and pay cuts. But what can we do? Can we oppose? This is a very stupid thing to say.......
If we were to voice out, will there be any change? The answer is Hell NO!!!!!
x 2Originally posted by relevation:Dear BLIM,
Singapore has many areas to bring out dissent and displeasure and of course to be heard. This forum is one of them. Others like the political parties'commentaries, Chamber of commerce, business groups, interest groups etc. Singapore's existience and survival lies with the business community. Whatever the business community wants especially the MNCs, the government will listen.
If that's a hint, you are able to do something!
Dear dumbdumb,Originally posted by dumbdumb!:just wondering.. say if there is no more opposition.. then if got problem. can rise again right?
Dear RevelationOriginally posted by FireIce:why are u still in singapore then?![]()