Congratulations and good for you. You are already better off than the 111,100 citizens who are jobless.Originally posted by thinkloud2004:I have a good job, a happy family, a safe place to live in and a forseeable stable future for my children - am I a fool to be enjoying all these?
Originally posted by relevation:
Dear All,
I have found that SIngaporeans are fools from various episodes.
Let me elaborate with the following:
1) We allow an absolute party to rule us for 44 years without any opposition to ensure an alternative government
2) We readily agree to take unfavorable measures like CPF cuts, higher cost of payments for HDB, and any increment of fees by our government without question or protest.
3) We fight among ourselves - trying to gain favors from the PAP echelon.
4) We laugh and cheer when oppposition leaders fail.
Now the supporting details:
1) I think other than Japan's LDP and Taiwan's KMT, Singapore is the only state that gives up oppositional power willingly. What makes us so sure after LKY's demise, Singapore is as safe and as uncorrupt? Who will guarantee us that the Lee Family will continue to be honest and will continue to give us the prosperity that was delivered for the last 44 years?
Next, we are a full fledge democracy with full democratic institutions with 1 man 1 vote and we willingly surcum ourselves to unfavourable policies to make us poor and less rich. We willingly surcome under a democratic dictatorship where there is no force or coersion like Taiwan who was under martial law. Why are we so willing to listen to the PAP and refuse to give oppositional forces a chance to develop. Very much we laugh at them and seem to want them to fall from grace.
Do remember they are our hope if PAP ever fails us. They are also working for our national interest. Without them what is the difference between Singapore and Communist China?? Just so much similarities- ONE PARTY STATE and RULE OF MAN. LKY>GCT>LHL- all MAN. So we are fools- all of us whether smart or stupid, including me because I am not there to prevent this. But whether me or any oppositional forces are useless without the support of the people and worse when Singaporeans are naive and foolish. Look at how happy we are to see JBJ, CHIAM SEE TONG, Chee Soon Juan and STeve Chia fall from grace.
2) Whay are we so happy to take pay cuts. Let me define happy. Happy is a state of happiness to the extend of having become contented with the situation or relent with the situation without any action taken to prevent it. That's happy. CPF cuts, increase fees during our worst times, SIA pliots being bullied by the government and LKY, ERP and COE to increase our running cost, artificially inflated property prices to satisfy developers like Far East and CDL. All these to make SIngaporeans POOR so that we have no choice to to squeeze ourselves here. Worst of all PAP always justify their pay increment to keep good man. Good man are good because they are willing not when they are not willing and have to be seduced. When good man refused to expose evil man, that 's when a nation will ultimately fail. We are all so foolish!
3) You won't believe it, so many people are happy that Steve Chia falls. Do we know that for every oppoistional force that fails, it makes Singapore worse off. How are we so sure that PAP is really doing a great job. They are good in cosmestics- upgrades, $ in CPF etc, how are we sure that they are really that good. Who in us audit them? Where are their statements? Where are they financial and performance records? If they are so clean, why are they not publishing the performance of GIC and Temasek holdings? Where are our money and how are they performing? Isn't Singapore Tech, Singtel, SPH, SIA all public companies that belong to Singaporeans? Why are we not getting any dividents from these companies. What have they done to make us better in our livelihood? Are we not fools? We have lost people are who there to help us and make our lives better. PAP had given us a standard life but never a comfortable one! They always make our lives difficult.
4) Singapore is the only country where political awareness is the lowest. Without oppositional forces, tehre is no way we can ever ensure that our interest are secured. We will only have the PAP's views and actions. We lost the chance to explore issues and ensure that our ineterest is secured. How are we so sure that the decisions the PAP make is not Pro-PAP and their members or pro-a certain group of people? So stop cheering and being so happy when our opposition leaders fail and fall, because we all will lose out. Let us see things beyond what is show to us by the PAP and learn to see things in our own way. Lets be open minded and accept diversity. Its only when there is choice that we have the power. For now we are all just FOOLS , all to willing and happy to be fooled.
Relevation.
Dear Medicated Oil,Originally posted by Medicated Oil:Dear Relevation,
http://www.youngpap.org.sg/phpbb/index.php
You can try to express your opinion in the above mentioned forums.
You will definitely get a "overwhelming" response.
relevationOriginally posted by thinkloud2004:In Italics posted by relevation:
My response follows
I love my country- Singapore and surely hope that all of us, Singaporeans will wake up. All of us should be concern for our future and our children's future.
> Obviously you have changed your tune somewhat. Who is not concerned for his future and that of his family? It is exactly because of this that I find that Singapore is a better place to bring up my children. Don't tell me about those "billion dollar scandals" or "family indulgence stuff". I dont want to pretend I understand any of those...and does it matter. For my info, please put it in clear layman terms with all the facts and figures. I may be convinced but then - does it matter?
We need to be better than what we are today and stop thinking and being satisfied with what we have and how good we are vis-a-vis others.
> Pray tell me how?
In case any of you feel insulted or misunderstood my intentions by the title of this posting, please forgive me.
> I accept your apology. Be careful when you put your thoughts into writing. Choice of words is important.
The title is meant to instil the sense of urgency, it is meant to wake all of us up.
> Good try if your intention is to call out names hoping to make your audience feel ashamed or guilty so that they will rally behind you. But this may backfire. In less developed countries, budding politicians use treats, threats and shaming tactics to win votes. Don't try it here.
Please take it in stride as in the posting I have also indicate that I am also a fool in my inaction at the moment.
Take care and I wish all Singaporeans well and may we one day be a wise, great and highly respected nation.
> Same to you. Until the day comes, let us live and let live. The last I want to see in this country is unrest, protests and riots. Look at the countries that resort to all these --- are they any better off after many lives are sacrificed?
Finally, everybody is entitled to his or her opinion. Freedom of speech invites equally freedom of reply. Happy new year.
If we are to be concerned with OUR FUTURE, and also that for the GENERATIONS AFTER US, we should in the next election vote for a stronger OPPOSITION in Parliament - especially in all contested areas, since the Ruling Party would already have won the election in a Walk-Over in UNCONTESTED constituencies.Originally posted by thinkloud2004:In Italics posted by relevation:
My response follows
I love my country- Singapore and surely hope that all of us, Singaporeans will wake up. All of us should be concern for our future and our children's future.
> Obviously you have changed your tune somewhat. Who is not concerned for his future and that of his family? It is exactly because of this that I find that Singapore is a better place to bring up my children. Don't tell me about those "billion dollar scandals" or "family indulgence stuff". I dont want to pretend I understand any of those...and does it matter. For my info, please put it in clear layman terms with all the facts and figures. I may be convinced but then - does it matter?
We should be responsible for OUR FUTURE, and that of the FUTURE OF OUR SUCCEEDING GENERATIONS, by ensuring that a stable political process exist in Singapore.continuing post by thinkloud2004:We need to be better than what we are today and stop thinking and being satisfied with what we have and how good we are vis-a-vis others.
> Pray tell me how?
Agreed! It's about time! No, in fact it's way past time! But better late than never.Originally posted by relevation:All of us should be concern for our future and our children's future ... the title is meant to instil the sense of urgency, it is meant to wake all of us up.
Don't tell me the problem. I heard that many times in the coffee shops, theTurf Club and some exclusive private clubs.Originally posted by Atobe:We should be responsible for OUR FUTURE, and that of the FUTURE OF OUR SUCCEEDING GENERATIONS, by ensuring that a stable political process exist in Singapore.
There is too much reliance on a SINGLE PREMIER FAMILY, with SM LKY as the Chairman of the GIC; 'Baby' LHL as the Chairman of Monetary Authority of Singapore (effectively the Central Bank) and soon to be the PM of Singapore; and Mdm HC ('Baby' LHL's wife) being the CEO of Temasek Holdings.
The entire Civil Service (including the SAF and Police Force), Government Agencies, and GLCs are all politicised by appointment holders owing allegiance not to the State of Singapore, but to the Ruling Political Party.
Will there be any orderly transition to an ALTERNATIVE POLITICAL PARTY if ever the Ruling Party lose its premier position with the Singapore Electorate ?
Or will we see the messy handover of power as seen in Taiwan, where the Kuomintang's pervasive influence in all corners of Taiwanese Life, resulted in messy attempts to trip the effective rule of the new government formed by Taiwan's Opposition Party ?
Thirty years of good life in Singapore, since the late 1970's, have lulled us into deep political slumber, and any political awakening during the last thirty years was quickly repressed (as in the arrest of the 21 members of the Catholic Church in the 1980's).
The continuing deep slumber fulfilled SM LKY's philosophy of 'Filling the Stomach, and Dull the MInd', and allowed him to execute his tasks.
It is amazing that SM LKY was able to convince his fellow generation of 'Founding Fathers' to quit their positions in Government and Politics, by giving them the excuse that they have to make way for new blood - so as to prepare a new generation of political leaders for Singapore.
Yet at the ripe old age of 80 years when many would have sit back and relax, he continue to cling on to his own Parliamentary Seat, his own position in Government as SM, and ensured executive leadership positions in GLCs for himself and members of his family.
Does it matter whether or not you "wake up" ? What have you done after waking up? Simply agreeing to "orators" who cry their hearts out is easy. It is always heartening to hear somebody say something that you always want to say but dont know how. More heartening if the salvo is directed at a common target. But after all the crying and ranting what next?Originally posted by lowem:Agreed! It's about time! No, in fact it's way past time! But better late than never.
There are so many issues, so many problems, all of them fundamental, none of them solvable by trivial solutions.
If we don't wake up, we might as well return to our pods and plug back into the Matrix of our time and continue being human Duracell batteries.
Yes, I believe it does matter.Originally posted by thinkloud2004:Does it matter whether or not you "wake up" ? What have you done after waking up?
Why do you continue to ask for 'The Solution' ?Originally posted by thinkloud2004:Don't tell me the problem. I heard that many times in the coffee shops, theTurf Club and some exclusive private clubs.
Tell me the solution.
1. Yes, I am sure that gov.sg is thinking of something. But I'm afraid that this time, this may be beyond even government, PAP or not, lack of opposition notwithstanding.Originally posted by thinkloud2004:Send my regards to the 111,100. I don't know how i can be of help. I am sure the Government is doing something.
Very understandable. There is a long thread on EnergyResources titled "In denial".Originally posted by thinkloud2004:May I suggest you look on the brighter side of things and live life to its fullest. Dont make mountains out of a mole hill. There are many things you better not see because it only makes you frustrated as you cannot do anything about it. When it comes to the crunch, I am sure many Singaporeans will know what to do. But as it is now, we are relatively all right.
I will like to state here that I choose not to be drawn into a flame war over this "imposing of ideas" argument. I've had enough of this from other boards from as long as 10 years ago and I do not like to start all over again.Originally posted by thinkloud2004:I dont understand your statement. Let us not pretend to know everything. Every story has more than one version. Choose the version you want but do not impose it on others.
Yes sir. I read your post loud and clear. The problem you mentioned is an echo that is repeated every now and then, of course each time with more drama and added venom.Originally posted by Atobe:Why do you continue to ask for 'The Solution' ?
The problem or problems have been identified, as you have said, so 'many times in the coffee shops, theTurf Club and some exclusive private clubs' - and in this sgForums.
What have you been able to discern from these conversations ?
My apologies for asking, but have you no thoughts of your own ?
The solution or solutions have been mentioned in my last post, and also in postings before, yet you still ask for -
'The Solution' .
Is your position the result of our 'spoon-feeding' education system that prevent you from having an analytical and creative mind - a situation that even the present Government is also lamenting ?
Or is your helpless inability a result of the mind having been numb by the good years that the Government has created for you - in that almost everything is decided for you as the Government knows best, and you need not think for yourself but allow the Government to do so, with you only accepting what is decided for you ?
It will be a sad day, when your position becomes pervasive throughout the Singapore Population - (which boast of one of the world's highest standard of Primary and Secondary Education, but not so spectacular Tertiary Standards) - to the point that even when solution is stated so clearly, the question remains - ' What is The Solution ?' .
Would you attempt to read the post again ?