u want our reason or govt reason? govt reason is they want people to stop smoking and to decrease the amt of carsOriginally posted by TheBird`:Why is it increasing at such an alarming rate !!! i really buay tahan liao
Whats your best guess?Originally posted by TheBird`:Why is it increasing at such an alarming rate !!! i really buay tahan liao
Got wat, our wages.Originally posted by GrimR:well in Singapore everything only goes up especially prices but nothing comes down..ironic![]()
Originally posted by BillyBong:i won't bat a single eyelid if cigarette prices go up tenfold.
As for petrol prices, i guess its time mankind invented a revolutionary engine that does not require fuel oil to run...i.e. a non-combustion engine.
This, frankly is long overdue....it's time to put those fat rich bummers of OPEC outta business.
to be honest, i'm waiting for electric cars to take off (and prices to fall). there're several models in the japanese market that i'm hoping will be coming to our shores soon. they look so much better (from a designer's point of view) than the pathetic 2 we have now.Originally posted by the Bear:i think the moving force would have to shake off political pressures...
in the US, big money from the big oil firms move the political process and lobbying..
i think this quest u must go and ask our govt...Originally posted by TheBird`:Why is it increasing at such an alarming rate !!! i really buay tahan liao
Because we are not buying enough.Originally posted by TheBird`:Why is it increasing at such an alarming rate !!! i really buay tahan liao
We can change to electric driven cars, in place of cars powered by petrol or diesel engines.Originally posted by nismoS132:to be honest, i'm waiting for electric cars to take off (and prices to fall). there're several models in the japanese market that i'm hoping will be coming to our shores soon. they look so much better (from a designer's point of view) than the pathetic 2 we have now.
Which brings us back to the need for a new non-combustion engine...Originally posted by Atobe:We can change to electric driven cars, in place of cars powered by petrol or diesel engines.
Unfortunately, we will still depend on these fuel to generate electriciity, with which we will charge up the battery - that store the electric energy to power these Electric Driven Cars.
Prices for Electric Powered Cars may fall till it reaches a critical mass, then the Government will greedily feed on these numbers to raise electricity rates even higher - so as to compensate their loss of revenue from tax on fossil fuel.
Back to Square ONE.
To come up with something as complexed as a non-combustion engine is possible but its still under research. It involves the 2nd law of thermodynamics.Originally posted by BillyBong:Which brings us back to the need for a new non-combustion engine...
Back to Square ONE.Originally posted by BillyBong:Which brings us back to the need for a new non-combustion engine...
The one thing i am unhappy abt is that they increase the price with min notice and in extremely fast speed. Just like the EZlink card. It had been the talk of the town, as usual the government impliment the rule so fast that we have no time to react and therefore totally zero chances to overthrow the rules.Originally posted by TheBird`:Why is it increasing at such an alarming rate !!! i really buay tahan liao
because our goverment all don't smoke and their petrol pay by company.Originally posted by TheBird`:Why is it increasing at such an alarming rate !!! i really buay tahan liao
Correction. Petrol pay by u & me tax payers. FYG, there is so much gahmen can influence like tax & etc. They (the gahmen) are under Oil company's pressure.Originally posted by F.O.S:because our goverment all don't smoke and their petrol pay by company.![]()