the second part of ur statement is true.Originally posted by the_don:a personal observation:
a lot of people from so called "under achieving" schools have a fixed mind set that those from "over achieving" schools would definately be snobs. as such, would not even bother to get to know person.
i would say, look at the person, not the school they are from. if you take time to get to know each other, u may find that everyone ain't that bad after all.
Your cause and effect is faulty. Wearing big pants does not make you fat, being fat makes you wear big pants.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Sometimes, it's not by choice, its just that when you reac a certain level of intellect, its frustrating to endure the feebleness of others.Again I'm not saying that it's pleasant but Im just showing both sides of the coin.
then i must be one of those hated by them, being someone who is more than happy to mix with poly, ITE and even o level people.Originally posted by Viper52:I'd be amazed too, if not for the fact that I've seen some of such attitudes myself. Have seen in NS how some from these "top schools" would not mix with those from schools not as "good" as theirs/family background not as good/English not as powderful as theirs. I was not given such shrift, because although I came from one of the "better" neighbourhood schools and poly (like ST I could have gone JC but didn't), my command of English could make some if these elitist s-h-i-t-e weep and had a more "middle-class" background.
Of course, not all are like that, but enough of them are for me to notice.
Still, I preferred to mix with the drivers and other Hokkien-pengs when I was there. Not as pretentious and b-i-t-c-hy (yes thats the word I'd use to describe them). The drivers are a more fun bunch of guys anyway
not all lah.Originally posted by bismarck:because of this and many other observations,
i feel raffles ppl are nothing but arrogant snobs who think they are so clever and there must be this buffer zone between them and any other lower ranking students. always trying to flaunt how westernised they are by speaking with an utterly fake accent.never to fail how much money their parents have and look only for money in their boyfriends and husbands.
im neither. how?Originally posted by ShutterBug:There are only two types of people in Singapore:
Those who "thinks" they are "someone", and those who "knows" they are "someone".
And the differences, are great.
lidat lidat loh!Originally posted by wuming78:im neither. how?
hmmm..... a bit chim. but... ok since u mentioned me....Originally posted by laurence82:Well, I am someone, in my own right and capacity.
HENG@ is also someone, in his own right
So is wuming78.
We are all great only in ourselves.
Originally posted by HENG@:hmmm..... a bit chim. but... ok since u mentioned me....
kakaka![]()
eh dun du lan lah. me a bit dumb u knowOriginally posted by laurence82:![]()
No leh, me not du lan.Originally posted by HENG@:eh dun du lan lah. me a bit dumb u know
jeez, i totally agree.Originally posted by the_don:a personal observation:
a lot of people from so called "under achieving" schools have a fixed mind set that those from "over achieving" schools would definately be snobs. as such, would not even bother to get to know person.
i would say, look at the person, not the school they are from. if you take time to get to know each other, u may find that everyone ain't that bad after all.
heh? ok.Originally posted by laurence82:No leh, me not du lan.
Hmm, my age? got impression, but I dont mix around in AC. Anti social hehe..Originally posted by HENG@:heh? ok.
laurence is smart boy leh.
hey ACJC, u know Kenny or not? pool club one?
i don't want to tar ACJC people but my friends from that school really have an arrogant attitude, they don't try to do that on purpose, but it still comes out naturally, and the worse part if they themselves can't feel it, even when it got to the point of stupidityOriginally posted by LazerLordz:I'd appreciate it if you didn't tar all ACJC ppl with the same brush.No doubt there are arrogant people in all places but you should not have singled out all the people in a single school because of one person..This has just made you as arrogant and nasty as the others who denigrate and look down on others.Be objective and cicumspect in your criticism..I'm sure there are snobbish people in your school too..Sometimes, it's not by choice, its just that when you reac a certain level of intellect, its frustrating to endure the feebleness of others.Again I'm not saying that it's pleasant but Im just showing both sides of the coin.
not everyone but almost all, maybe its the mindset they have from studying in those schools due to the pressure to do better than the rest?Originally posted by the_don:a personal observation:
7. Argument by bizarre definitioni've actually heard this before
Example: We are not snobbish or elitist, it's just that we do not believe in mixing with people of lower classes.
8. Total logical disconnectlol and these as well
Example: I am a good person because I study alot.
11. Ignorance of statistics
Example: We are the best in the world, we have no need for them except slaves.
18. Following the advice of known idiots
Example: Some dude in the gar'men said there would be genetic dilution if we crossbred with lesser castes, and I'm gonna listen to him!
19. Reaching bizarre conclusions without any information
Example: These people have no paper qualifications. They must be simpleton ah bengs who hang out at far east with no personality worthy of being defined as an individual.
21. Failure to recognize whatÂ’s important
Example: What? Why do you care that I am maladjusted, social inept and have the personality of a snobbish self-annointed ruler of the lesser people? I have paper qualifications and come from a good school you know!
26. Judging the whole by one of its characteristics
Example: My mother has no paper qualitfications, therefore I would be better off without them.
32. Proof by lack of evidence
Example: I have never seen you in a JC uniform, therefore you must be a worthless person.
call it "fierce loyalty"
i don't want to tar ACJC people but my friends from that school really have an arrogant attitude, they don't try to do that on purpose, but it still comes out naturally, and the worse part if they themselves can't feel it, even when it got to the point of stupidity
hes a clerk in my previous unit. anyway i waz more anti-social in JC. i don't even just don't mix around, im barely in sch at all.Originally posted by laurence82:Hmm, my age? got impression, but I dont mix around in AC. Anti social hehe..
You know him?