Geez.. I didnt realise that a nick can actually describe someone so well, u sure is dumb and pretty much blind to facts as well.Originally posted by dumbdumb!:hey. if u've got so much to complain because the govt made smoking hard for you,
we non smokers have alot to complain also. we have to tolerate your smoke, the poison, and the possibility of our kids being influenced by u folks.
if you want to shove your "right" around, what about our right to breathe fresh air, to hv a healthy environment for our kids?
we can't force u to give up smoking, so why should u complain when the govt decides to make smoking hard for you?
so just stfu, smoke your life and money away, or quit
sheesh.. having to hear u idiots rambling and yakking like a couple of old nags having pms![]()
Do we have a choice? change and draw a few lines n u dun even get a chance to vote...Originally posted by zenden9:For the next election, I will not choose P*P!
It is better to complain objectively then wallow in misery and self-pity. Better to voice out your concerns and disilliusions here then join in the masses of sheep out there. At least in here, you have a sense of reality.Originally posted by marlboro:Is singapore really opening up and being a better society? I dunno if it is becos i'm getting older but i feel more and more at the mercy of the govt everytime they unleash something new on us..![]()
To put it crudely, every citizen is at the political whim of their govt. But hey, you always have a choice. Follow the sheep or emigrate elsewhere.
Singapore seems to be reverting into a monarchy state, where the law is simply passed and we are expected to follow, with no avenues for us to protest. You can raise ur disapproval but at the end of the day, u wonder if the ppl high high up even hear what u say, and even if they did, simply ignore you. The govt is becoming like God, they unlease flood, droughts(eg. increase GST, bus fare) or watever on you and u go to temple(eg MPs, forums) to pray for them to stop. but they only stop if and when they feel like it, not becos u asked them to...
Laws and bills are passed in parliment. While many of them seem high-handed (actually they are) but we as the people have the right to voice our discontent - through the forums in ST, Streats, Today and in internet pages like this. It's easy to picture our 'republic' as a monarchy and perhaps to a certain narrow degree we are, but a closer look at their policy reforms will reveal that our gahmen is trying to move in the right direction. Brazen and thick-headed as they are, they just have a poor way of implementing them, both the timing and the methods.
recently a few more ridiculous policys. Get your windows chk or u will be held responsible if they fall. Even if after chking, it falls still ur responsbility, then in the 1st place why we chk? to let the contracters earn even more $$ due to their previous shoddy work? So we should all do a poor job 1st time round so we get paid to do it again the 2nd time?
This has already been mentioned in a previous thread regarding HDB inspection checks. High-handed as it is, you dun need to pay a cent if you retain the HDB-installed windows.
and the raising of cigarette prices(again). to discourage ppl from smoking n more imptly, to discourage young smokers. If really wan to discourage young smokers, raise the age limit by all means. Or do they mean those underage is still smoking? Is the govt not enforcing enough chks to ensure youngsters are not buying them? is that the fault of the govt then? are the rest of the smokers suppose to pay for the inefficency of the govt? If you really believe that smoking harms us and really mean well to citizens, i dare u to simply ban cigarettes, just like u did to chewing gum. But i know they won't, simply becos there is $$ to be earned. bloody hypocrites..
How will raising the age limit stop ppl from smoking? Younger addicts will still ask their older kin to buy for them. Raising the prices is the only effective method to curb smoking in the shortest possible time. And since only the smokers are affected, the monetary tariffs can only be absorbed as taxes. (forget abt any govt rebates like NSS)
and after rasing cigarette prices, lower prices for alcohal.. only reason i can think of is becos sg have Tiger Beer. Does drinking not cause health problems as well? Not only heatlh problems, what abt the social problems caused? How many fights and brawls are a result of drunken behavior? many even lead to death, n yet this move by the govt is encouraging us to drink even more? for $$ again..![]()
I would think alcohol and smoking go hand-in-hand. If the gahmen decides to take affirmative action, then raise the prices for both.
I know many ppl would say that it is useless to complain here in the forum, blah blah.. but what else can i do? I feel more n more helpless everyday...
Well I don't know about that, being a peasant. But I know this. No matter how noble a person can say he/she wants to be, when he/she finally gets what he wants, when he/she becomes God, they wont want to give it up, they reach a point where their previous noble ambitions and aims don't freaken matter anymore.Originally posted by Atobe:When Singapore 'was' independent in 1965, the Ruling Party put Singapore amongst the luminous company of West European Countries with like minded Governments that believe in Socialism and Democracy.
The Socialist-Democrat offered a new form of political system that offer social welfare empahsis of the Communist system, in a Democratic Political System that is totally different from Communism.
Unfortunately, the heavy handed manner of the Ruling Party earned Singapore the reputation of being kicked out from the august club of Socialist-Democrats by the Europeans.
To prevent such a loss of face, the Ruling Party pre-empted the move, and instead resigned early enough not to attend the process of being kicked out.
Even the European Socialist-Democrats had believed that Singapore was as Socialists as the Communists, and nothing resembling close to being Democrats.
Are we even a 'Republic', after abandoning the vainity of trying to be an imitation of being similar to European Socialist-Democrats ?
Well I don't know about that, being a peasant. But I know this. No matter how noble a person can say he/she wants to be, when he/she finally gets what he wants, when he/she becomes God, they wont want to give it up, they reach a point where their previous noble ambitions and aims don't freaken matter anymore.Originally posted by Atobe:When Singapore 'was' independent in 1965, the Ruling Party put Singapore amongst the luminous company of West European Countries with like minded Governments that believe in Socialism and Democracy.
The Socialist-Democrat offered a new form of political system that offer social welfare empahsis of the Communist system, in a Democratic Political System that is totally different from Communism.
Unfortunately, the heavy handed manner of the Ruling Party earned Singapore the reputation of being kicked out from the august club of Socialist-Democrats by the Europeans.
To prevent such a loss of face, the Ruling Party pre-empted the move, and instead resigned early enough not to attend the process of being kicked out.
Even the European Socialist-Democrats had believed that Singapore was as Socialists as the Communists, and nothing resembling close to being Democrats.
Are we even a 'Republic', after abandoning the vainity of trying to be an imitation of being similar to European Socialist-Democrats ?
Witth GREAT POWER comes GREAT RESPONSIBILITY...Originally posted by men_@_arms:Well I don't know about that, being a peasant. But I know this. No matter how noble a person can say he/she wants to be, when he/she finally gets what he wants, when he/she becomes God, they wont want to give it up, they reach a point where their previous noble ambitions and aims don't freaken matter anymore.
Example: I was a "chao" ncc recruit, i did not agree with corporal punishment, and the way things were done, as i rose through the ranks as a grunt, i still wanted things to change and stuff. But when I finally got my stripes as an NCO, i didn;t care anymore, I screwed those under me just like I had been screwed. I believe it is so with the "gahmen". It is basic human nature, live with it, survive it and leave to go where the pastures are more green.
are we back to following ourbasal instinct of dominance? what happened to over 500000 years of biological and social evolution?Originally posted by men_@_arms:Well I don't know about that, being a peasant. But I know this. No matter how noble a person can say he/she wants to be, when he/she finally gets what he wants, when he/she becomes God, they wont want to give it up, they reach a point where their previous noble ambitions and aims don't freaken matter anymore.
Example: I was a "chao" ncc recruit, i did not agree with corporal punishment, and the way things were done, as i rose through the ranks as a grunt, i still wanted things to change and stuff. But when I finally got my stripes as an NCO, i didn;t care anymore, I screwed those under me just like I had been screwed. I believe it is so with the "gahmen". It is basic human nature, live with it, survive it and leave to go where the pastures are more green.