Originally posted by BillyBong:1) Seen what HK pple do when there is "no change in the political stage" of their country?
[bI think Mr BillyBong is either naive or a govt propagator.Do u think we really have only these choices to choose! I don't like the govt, doesn't mean i don't like spore and leave just because ot these group of people(govt)!I love spore(The lasksa,char kuey teow,friends......)but not the govt.
We stay doesn't mean spore citizen have the only choice of following govt laws and rules blindly. Fellow singaporean unite and fight for our right!
Naiveity depends on your understanding of the overall picture. It is simplistic to make outrageous claims and call the response mute when you dun like the answer. Short of the whole population, i can safely say that most ppl want changes but unless there's a radical reform in the political stage, there's little the masses can do accept continue to write and express their various dissatisfactions.
And before you go mouthing about forum-users as "govt propagator" (actually it should be govt propaganda), read more topics in this forum; you might realise most ppl are just looking for a qualitative, objective argument. And many do not agree with our gahmen's policies either.
Spore without freedom of expression is a total true fact. What BillyBong mention of the channel of expressing through forums in ST,Streats r self-deceiving.We all know these r govt control,not all letters and complaints send to will be published.Govt will decide what to show and what cannot. Do u call that a right!(except internet)Have any of our complains about those laws that have passed been heard? Wage reform,CPF reduction,GST,increase of public transport fares and.......! In the end ,it just passed accordingly to what the govt want.There shall be a balance of power between people and govt or else why r we call republic? If the power is one side,then one day a group of corrupted people make it to the parliament and control all the important positions.They will just implement anything they like
(100% taxes).Yes, our spore past record had shown good management by the govt.Doesn't meant they will always be right in the future!Just like what i mention abt the one day...! Some power needed to be given to the people to check the govt of their policy.Just like what's happening in HongKong,After the handover in 1997,the govt try to be funny and implement 23 laws to control the freedoms and rights of hongkonger.500,000 people gather and protest against them and china backed down.
How can serving notice to the masses through forum pages be termed as 'self-deceiving'? It is the passing of information or criticism that keeps ppl in check. Knowledge that there are certain elements within our society who abuse power or unscrupulously use them for their own ends is hardly rubbish. It sometimes takes such letters and voices to be heard b4 our leaders sit up and take notice. Yes it might seem relatively futile but at least others know, and isolated incidents will receive more publicity...especially those our leaders wish to sweep under the carpet. (like our SM's recent usage of SIA)
What Mr Marlboro trying to convey is the intentions of the govt! Do u think govt really concern about yr health.They r more concern about the money.
If not,as what billybong mentions
It is obviously transparent to all except those who wear blinds that taxation of cigarettes is two-fold:
1. to fatten the buldge of the govt
2. to reduce the number of smokers in singapore.
How you determine which one holds greater value is purely subjective.[/b]
Your inability, or more likely, refusal to see reason and explore the problem in it's full complexity, seems to indicate you are one of those Singaporeans you accuse of being "bloody stupid".Originally posted by panja_v:Just face it. Singaporeans deserves the PAP. And it is PAP is getting worse, not Government is getting worse. There is a difference.
The PAP tells Singaporeans what to do because they think Singaporeans are bloody stupid. Cannot think for themselves. But then, how not to come to the conclusion that Singaporeans are stupid when year in year out they vote for the PAP, no matter what crap they recieve from them?
pls keep your religion views out of thisOriginally posted by pikamaster:are we back to following ourbasal instinct of dominance? what happened to over 500000 years of biological and social evolution?
gosh, its commanders like you who end up with incidents like that involving the drowned OCS recruit last year. pple who think "be tough at all costs". repent. reflect. it is Lent. (oh, i forgot. u might not be Christian. if youa re, then it is even more shameful of you to adopt such an attitude.)
the disgusted pikamaster
I like this one.Originally posted by marlboro:Geez.. I didnt realise that a nick can actually describe someone so well, u sure is dumb and pretty much blind to facts as well.I'm not complaining JUST becos govt raises cigarette prices, its still well within my reach. I'm complaining becos they make it sound like they are so noble when in actual fact they are so hypocritical..
Read my post again(and again) if necessary to get the facts in your numb skull
I'm sure I'm not the only one against your sweeping, over simplistic statement said with a total disregard to the pratical difficulties of Singaporeans voting in a government they really want, the only exception being in this case, is that I was one of the few who bothered to point out the flaws in your logic, while most people would have left you to go about rambling in your innane circles.Originally posted by panja_v:exceptions always proves the rule.... out of the millions.. or at least in this forum... you the only one against the statement that when it comes to voting in PAP and giving them blank cheque... sporeans are bloody stupid to keep on doing it...
oh jeez, it's not like my whole post was dedicated to religion...Originally posted by oldbreadstinks:pls keep your religion views out of this
the Straits Times. Mass feature with days of discussion following and much shame for the SAF. remember that drowning simply refers to getting water in your lungs.... you dun need to be at sea or in a swimming pool to drown.Originally posted by NathanG5:sori..is there a case of drown OCS cadet last year?
pls state where u get the news from pika...
its the drowning of Sgt Hu(Gds Sniper)..not a ocs cadet..Originally posted by pikamaster:the Straits Times. Mass feature with days of discussion following and much shame for the SAF. remember that drowning simply refers to getting water in your lungs.... you dun need to be at sea or in a swimming pool to drown.
the pikamaster