dun generalize. i m RI boy, and im not xia lan, hao lian, ego and proud, and neither are my classmates or pple i noe. of course, there r those i dun noe...*sigh*Originally posted by hlmilksmellsgood:{ i found this email sent to me. what do you people think? Are Rafflesians really that bad?}
What i received:
RJC BROKE SINGAPORE A'LEVEL RECORD. RJC PEOPLE ARE XIALAN AND HAOLIAN.
[Super interesting facts about Singapore, if you receive this by mail, please forward it to your friend to show them how xiao rjc is]
Before I start rambling, allow me to shed some light onto Singapore's 2003 A'level results.
Here is the ranking of schools:
1st. Raffles Junior College
2nd. Hwa Chong Junior College
3rd. Victoria Junior College
4th. National Junior College
5th. Temasek Junior College
[The results are compiled with absolute reliability]
What message I hope to raise in this essay is the likelyhood of elitism in Singapore. As we know, and as proven by many countries, elitism is an insidious form of attack that would tear Singapore apart inside out. Raffles Junior College, and the typical Rafflesian we know, are ultra smart but also ultra xialan, ego and definitely proud. Raffles Junior College, founded in 1985, inherited its 180 years of rich tradition from Raffles Institution. A premier and top junior college, RJC stands out not only in academic performances but also in CCAs and sports (So? Does that mean these people have the right to be so hao lian and act like as if the country owe those smartasses something?) To highlight elitism in Singapore, let me reaffirm my stand with the following statistic:
[Percentage of 4A(s) among total school population in A'level 2003]
1) Raffles JC: 51.3% [* broke record in Singapore's A'level history by going past the 50% mark (So scary hor!) ]
2) Hwa Chong JC: 41.8% [* Lost to RJC by 9.5% (approx. 10%) ]
3) Victoria JC: 30.6% [* Lost to HCJC by 11.2% (approx 10%)]
4) National JC: 20+% [* 20+% but exact figures unknown]
5) Temasek JC: 14.5%
Look at the percentage of 4A(s). RJC has clearly proven itself to be a chao-ji super crazy college with mad results. And look at these statistics. This is an example of social polarisation. Each college has a difference of approximately 10% for the top 3 jcs (see the vast difference?). Who would have thought that a college can actually have 1 in 2 students flushing with 4 straight As? Now let me present another set of statistics. The list of colleges with the number of students who acheived 4 A'level Distinctions, 3 S paper Distinctions, 2 A0 Level A1(G.P and MTL) [Total of 9As]
1) Raffles JC [Kwek Li Ern Joy & Tan Shin Eik]
2) Hwa Chong JC: Zero
3) Victoria JC: 1 [Chen De Feng Clarence]
4) National JC: Zero
5) Temasek JC: Zero
Now what's this controversy about a neighbourhood-school boy who dated a RGS girl? RJC guys do not condone it. Yes, they do not wish other Singaporeans from neighbourhood schools to date their girls. And RJC girls will smirk if you tried to approach them or something (They don't want to stick with a redneck for the rest of their lives.) Now you know how sucky these people are. RJC people are : HAO LIAN, XIALAN, SMART, INTELLIGENT... they definitely love to despise and look down on other people.
So the bottom line is: Next time you see a RJC person, don't hesitate. Go up to him and kick his ass.
[ Fellow Singaporeans, what do you think? Should RJC people be allowed to stick together and form a elite colony? Or should the ministry close their school? Do you think RJC people are xialan? Share your experiences! Thanks! ]
Credits: [email protected] [Email or msn messenger]
Sources: Raffles Junior College [http://www.moe.edu.sg/schools/rjc/achievements-academic-2004.html]
HwaChong Junior College [http://wwwnew.hjc.edu.sg/2002A/Summary_of_2002_GCE_A_Level_Results_files/frame.htm]
Victoria Junior College [http://www.vjc.moe.edu.sg/about_vjc/alevel/2003/Overall%20Analysis%20of%20Performance%202003.pdf]
National Junior College [http://www.njc.edu.sg/news20040305_gcealevel.html]
Temasek Junior College [http://www.tjc.edu.sg/2003ALevelResults.htm]
haha agreed.... haha.. we cannot change it one lah... ppl want to think what they one.. we cannot control your mouth or mind.. haha..as long as u are happy.. then why care so much. hahaOriginally posted by HENG@:quite frankly i dun really care. elitist or not, what matters is that I AM going to do something i love.
and THAT, is happiness.Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):haha agreed.... haha.. we cannot change it one lah... ppl want to think what they one.. we cannot control your mouth or mind.. haha..as long as u are happy.. then why care so much. haha
The way i see it, the lot of you have already decided to burn the 'raffles' community with your narrow-minded reviews. Clearly these are not the comments of impartial observers. They are more likely the voices of ppl who sense an innate fear. Fear of being subjugated by an elitism among the cream of singapore's student population.Originally posted by subudei:The point being made is not that ALL Raffles people are unsavoury characters, but that enough of them are such that they will pose a problem. We are not judging ALL Raffles people by the actions of a select few; we are simply judging that select few, and the whole reason why we're focusing attention on them (instead of brats with similar arrogance in other schools, for example) is that the System is inclined to put Rafflesians, in particular, in positions of great power and influence. Would you want incredibly arrogant people, without the ability or intelligence to justify that arrogance, ruling over you, deciding how you live your life?
I'm sure your Rafflesian best friends are lovely, and we'd all really like to meet them some time. But the fact of your own fortunate personal experiences does not invalidate the very real, practical concerns being voiced here.
It would be nice if we all lived in a nice pink fluffy world where we could all be friends. But unfortunately, as you may or may not have noticed, there are many people out there who don't want to abide by simple rules of human conduct or conscience. We need to be on our guard against such people, instead of deluding ourselves into believing that Everything Will Be All Right In The End Even Though We May Do Nothing.
And I think the tenor of many posts has contained the very clear implicit message that if any elitist arrogant but yet so inept Raffles goons would like to wake up and join the human race, they'd be more than welcome among our ranks. We're not condemning anyone unto perpetuity, we're only laying down basic, fundamental rules, which are the terms of friendly association with us and the rest of humanity. Not an unreasonable thing to do, surely.
i dunno about you but to me it seems that all my JC\poly friends look down on people who are not in JCs and polys, i often hear them making snide remarks on their other friends' educational levelOriginally posted by BillyBong:The way i see it, the lot of you have already decided to burn the 'raffles' community with your narrow-minded reviews. Clearly these are not the comments of impartial observers. They are more likely the voices of ppl who sense an innate fear. Fear of being subjugated by an elitism among the cream of singapore's student population.
And the manner in which you have said 'I'm sure your Rafflesian best friends are lovely, and we'd all really like to meet them some time.' are obviously cynical and sarcastic at best. The reverse is probably true.
Apart from the pathetic example illustrated (or not illustrated) by the email, no one here has really stated a strong case as to why rafflesians in particular draw flak for sheer arrogance and egoistic behaviour.
No one likes elitism. But be careful not to carelessly associate the wrong parties with it. That amouts to hearsay at best, slander at worst. It is exactly these kind of irresponsible comments that we dun need.
Well, the way *I* see it, you've gone to the other extreme and adopted a posture whereby the slightest casual comment is interpreted as a vicious attack on anything and everything Rafflesian. Sure, there are some posters here who have gone a bit overboard with anti-Rafflesianism, but your response to that shouldn't be to swing to the other extreme.Originally posted by BillyBong:The way i see it, the lot of you have already decided to burn the 'raffles' community with your narrow-minded reviews. Clearly these are not the comments of impartial observers. They are more likely the voices of ppl who sense an innate fear. Fear of being subjugated by an elitism among the cream of singapore's student population.
And the manner in which you have said 'I'm sure your Rafflesian best friends are lovely, and we'd all really like to meet them some time.' are obviously cynical and sarcastic at best. The reverse is probably true.
Apart from the pathetic example illustrated (or not illustrated) by the email, no one here has really stated a strong case as to why rafflesians in particular draw flak for sheer arrogance and egoistic behaviour.
No one likes elitism. But be careful not to carelessly associate the wrong parties with it. That amouts to hearsay at best, slander at worst. It is exactly these kind of irresponsible comments that we dun need.
So it's paranoid now? Let's see...my initial interest in this thread came from the heading....I think if you claim that there was nothing 'extreme' in the opinions stated, perhaps you'd care to explain the 'xialan' term? Has it any place here?Originally posted by subudei:Well, the way *I* see it, you've gone to the other extreme and adopted a posture whereby the slightest casual comment is interpreted as a vicious attack on anything and everything Rafflesian. Sure, there are some posters here who have gone a bit overboard with anti-Rafflesianism, but your response to that shouldn't be to swing to the other extreme.
Cynical and sarcastic, and "the reverse is probably true"? There you go with your paranoia again. My comment was intended as sarcastic *only insofar as* I was trying to tell you that you may be fortunate enough to have nice Rafflesian friends, but your own good personal experiences do not invalidate the argument. Taken to another level, what I was saying was that you should not allow your personal experiences to *completely* colour your views on the matter and lead you to a zealously pro-Raffles viewpoint that is totally lacking in objectivity.
As a matter of fact, I think I *would* enjoy meeting your nice Raffles friends; but you don't seem to believe that, which is a shame, because this reinforces a rigid, black-and-white, us-versus-them mentality : just because I don't like elitism in the Raffles system, and I'm afraid of what awaits the country if and when these people become Cabinet ministers, it doesn't mean that I can't appreciate the company of *nice* Rafflesians, because it's not the nice ones I'm worried about. Two of my best guy friends are ex-RI (and one ex-RJ), and one of my ex-girlfriends (with whom I am still on excellent terms) was ex-RJ, so really, I'm perfectly capable of accepting shades of grey in my views on Raffles people, you know.
I've already stated my own reasons for why I've singled out arrogant Rafflesians, in particular - because the System is particularly predisposed to turning them into powerful civil servants, ministers or GLC executives, and therefore the potential damage they can do is immense. I hope you haven't chosen to ignore this.
"Be careful not to associate the wrong parties with it"?? Have you taken a look at the lineup of Gahmen people at an NDP rally? Have you noticed that most of them come from certain schools whose names begins with "R"? Have you noticed that the all-white uniforms they wear bear a striking resemblance to the uniforms of those schools? Have you noticed that a lot of folks don't have very good things to say about most of these Gahmen people?
Although I must say, I'm surprised to see that they let a lone ACS boy into the Cabinet. A sign of an embryonic progressiveness? Go, Tharman!![]()